Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

The Beauty Vault - Aug
The Beauty Vault - Aug

MAC Lipstick Review

MAC Lipstick Review
Overall rating from 732 reviews so far:
4.8/5
Would use it again?
4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.7/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.7/5

Colour plus texture for the lips. Stands out on the runway. Simmers on the street! What made M·A·C famous.

Available in 11 finishes (Matte, Retro Matte, Satin, Dazzle, Glaze, Lustre, Cremesheen, Cremesheen Pearl, Amplified, Amplified Creme, Frost)

Available in 170+ shades

RRP: Little Mac $22 ; Full Size $40

Availability: Select Department Stores, Farmers and M.A.C Britomart, M.A.C Riccarton, M.A.C St Lukes, M.A.C Ponsonby, M.A.C Botany. Online at farmers.co.nz and smithandcaugheys.co.nz

Website:  www.maccosmetics.co.nz

RRP: $40.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

MAC Lipstick Review

MAC Lipstick Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
2.3/5
5th November, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Dries my lips real quick

I tend to have dry cracking lips in general and apply enough lip balm before applying any lipstick. Tried MAC lipstick in Ruby red shade as it promised to be moisturizing. But it turned out to be really drying even when I applied a big load of lip balm before applying the lipstick. My lips started cracking and bleeding that I eventually stopped using it. Wouldn't buy it again for sure.

Tips: Would not recommend this for people with dry lips

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
1st November, 2018
1 members found this review useful
The wear is worth the price.

I own the iconic Ruby woo colour and I can understand why it's so popular. Mac lipsticks just have such good quality. The colour pay off is so good and they last a long time on the lips. I will say like most department store brands, Mac lipsticks are not very affordable, but you'll definitely get enough wears to make up for the price. The lipstick formula goes easily on the lips and doesn't dry out! I love the texture and the black packaging is always a plus for me.

Tips: The smell is not strong so it won't be distracting.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th October, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Go-to

I was gifted Velvet Teddy about a year ago and it is my go to everyday lipstick. It's matte without being drying or like looking into a crusty void where light is sucked into with no escape. It's pretty and a lovely colour. It's good stuff. It's lasted a good long while.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Can't go wrong

These are most certainly my favorite type of lipstick. I was a matte liquid lipstick girl for a long time and I have finally matured and brought a bunch of MAC lipsticks in different styles and shades. Oh my god they are the best.

What I love about MAC is they have HEAPS of shades in different formulas. They have matte ones that stay on your lips really well without drying your lips out. They're also super pigmented and really hold the colour. They also have a satin formula which is probably more of your traditional lipstick finish. Still super pigmented but a more glossy finish (but not too much) than the matte ones. These also stay on your lips really well. Satin finish is probably my favourite formula. They also have a few more formulas that are more sheer and less pigmented but look beautiful on your lips for a glossier look.

The obvious downside to the MAC lipsticks in NZ is the price. $40 is preeeeetty expensive but I think it's definitely worthwhile. They have a massive range of colours and I love every one that I have. They come in sleek and simple MAC bullets. I love picking up limited edition collection lipsticks from MAC for the different packaging fro something different!

Tips: Buy in duty free or overseas to save $$$

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
The Beatles of lipsticks

Everybody owns a MAC lipstick. I own several. They are not cheap but they deliver quality colour, innocuous taste, and usually last a long time on your lips. Despite their historically edgy hipster image, MAC lipsticks shine in their classic shades like the well-loved "Ruby Woo" and the almost-universally flattering "Velvet Teddy" (both mattes). "Ruby Woo" is like a Film Noir femme fatale- difficult at times but well-worth the effort. It has a notoriously dry consistency but this is also its strength as it won't leave your lips in a hurry. It is patamount that this applied sharply as it is a seriously bold red. "Velvet Teddy" is a soft rosy nude. It doesn't demand the definition of bolder colours like "Ruby Woo" as it is less overt in hue. Prices vary according to the lipstick finish but most are around the $40-$50 mark. It is a substantial investment but I have used mine a lot and I've had them for a couple of years.

Tips: Ask a MAC artist if you can try on a few before purchasing if unsure.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Mac Lipsticks

I first brought the lipstick shade Velvet Teddy which is a warm brown with a matte finish, it is definitely my favourite every day nude. You can also wear this out to dinner if you are a nude fan. You can wear this shade any where..I do. The other shade I have is Twig which is a warm mauve with a satin finish, this Is the perfect, your lips but better colour. I love both shades and once they have run out I’m going to be repurchasing them. I can’t wait to buy more Mac shades, their range is HUGE. They have amazing staying power for normal lipsticks. I have recommended the shades I have brought to many friends and family, some have brought them as well and love them. Overall worth the money you spend on them. 10/10

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st August, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Worth the price!

I have a few MAC lipsticks and they are definitely my fav! Especially the shade Velvet Teddy which is my go to, everyday lip shade! It is a nice nude brown shade that goes perfect with MAC lip pencil Spice to add in a slight pink.

The formula easily goes on the lips and doesn't dry out! Definitely long wearing too.

I think these lipsticks are worth the price, if you find one that suits you! That you can get everyday wear out of. Lucky enough MAC has a huge variety of colours to choose from.

Tips: Use a lip pencil to add a more defined look to your lips!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th June, 2018
0 members found this review useful
The best lipstick!

I've tried many lipsticks and most just never seem to stay more than a couple of hours on my lips - MAC lipstick does! I am a fan of the satin finish, plumful and brave are my favourite colours. I wore brave a lovely natural colour on my wedding day and only needed one touch up. There are so many shades and finishes you are bound to find one that suits you. The bullet shaped casing is simple, and I love the form. The only downside is in NZ this lipstick is much more expensive than it is when I first purchased in the UK! It does last though so I would still repurchase.

Tips: Ask a mac makeup artist for advice on colours and finishes, they will usually pick out a few for you to try and you can decide what you prefer before buying.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th June, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Newly addicted

I recently picked up my first MAC lipstick and safe to say I’ll be purchasing many more. I picked up Velvet Teddy which is a matte finish in a nude tone. Firstly the scent is sooo yummy vanilla cupcake-ish I could nearly eat it. The bullet is your standard slanted tip making for easy application. The packaging is nice and sleek and the cap has a nice click to it when you close it. As for the particular lipstick I picked up, it is so comfortable for a matte lipstick, is in no way drying and I can rub my lips together without it turning into a sticky flaky mess. Would 100% recommend. Wish it didn’t take me so long to pick one up but in saying that the $40 price tag is a bit hefty.. yay for cosmetic pricing in NZ.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd June, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Go to Lipstick

If only I could afford to buy more colours! Love MAC Lipstick, you can feel the difference when you wear a cheaper product. MAC keeps my lips more hydrated and doesn't dry out.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No