Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

MAC Lipstick Review

MAC Lipstick Review
Overall rating from 754 reviews so far:
4.8/5
Would use it again?
4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.7/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.7/5

Colour plus texture for the lips. Stands out on the runway. Simmers on the street! What made M·A·C famous.

Available in 11 finishes (Matte, Retro Matte, Satin, Dazzle, Glaze, Lustre, Cremesheen, Cremesheen Pearl, Amplified, Amplified Creme, Frost)

Available in 170+ shades

RRP: Little Mac $22 ; Full Size $40

Availability: Select Department Stores, Farmers and M.A.C Britomart, M.A.C Riccarton, M.A.C St Lukes, M.A.C Ponsonby, M.A.C Botany. Online at farmers.co.nz and smithandcaugheys.co.nz

Website:  www.maccosmetics.co.nz

RRP: $40.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

MAC Lipstick Review

MAC Lipstick Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Love Mac

Mac lipsticks are such a staple! You can always rely on a Mac lipstick to look good. I love all the different colours they offer and being a nude kinda girl they have many options. All sorts of finishes for any look you’re after.

Tips: Using a lip liner to prolong your lipstick trough out the day and can also change up the colour if you’re wanting to switch it up

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th April, 2019
0 members found this review useful
LOVE LOVE LOVE MAC!

I love Mac lipsticks and have been using them for years! From the sleek packaging to the smell they are iconic and a must in my collection. I always buy the Christmas editions to collect. My only bad point is that for my skin tone the nudes are too dark or else some just look like concealer on my lips, I want a pinky nude which I have found but in a limited :(

Tips: Lip liner! I always line makes the lipstick stay on soooo much longer. I find with mac lipsticks they are so creamy the formula is very forgiving for what colour liner you use.

Also I love back 2 Mac, a free lipstick or eyeshadow for returning any 6 empty plastic packaging!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th April, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Girl about town love

A classic, I love this colour! It has a nice moisturizing but not greasy texture, the perfect pigmentation keeps you looking fresh and fab for hours.

Tips: Always use a lip liner, I love blending colours mac blends super nicely, such a great brand to play with.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th April, 2019
0 members found this review useful
My first love

I remember buying my first Mac lipstick. It was over 10 years ago and I needed a trusty red that would not budge for dance shows.

I was introduced to Ruby Woo and I have not looked back since. Mac matte lipsticks dominate my rather large collection. I return to them time and time again. They are beautiful and I love all the different formulas. Now as a dance teacher I wear them most days as I can apply at 7am and they will still be on my lips at 8pm when I take my make up off.

Candy yum yum and show orchid my fave pinks and often what get commented on the most. There is every shade of nude so you are bound to find a good one. I tend to buy a new one for special occasions or when I need a pick me up.

Tips: Ruby Woo honestly is the most beautiful universal red lipstick. I have not met anyone who does not suit it. It can sometimes be a little drying so using a lip balm underneath can make it more comfortable.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
31st March, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Mac Matte Lipstick

I have only tried the Mac Matte Lipsticks and I have to say this range of lipsticks from Mac are amazing!! I love a good matte nude lipstick that stays on but doesn’t crack nor dry my lips and the Mac Matte Lipstick didn’t fail me. I mainly wore the shade Velvet Teddy as it suited my skin tone and day to day wear preference and I only had to touch up once after lunch. The lipsticks in the Matte range are beautifully pigmented and creamy on application setting with a beautiful matte long wear colour. I highly recommend the Mac Matte Range if your looking for beautiful shades that stand out with a long lasting wear and that do not crack.

Tips: I like to prep my lips with a gentle sugar scrub and regular paw paw/ balm application on days I don’t wear lipstick to keep lips soft. Provides a good base for application.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
27th March, 2019
0 members found this review useful
A Cult Fave

It's easy to see why the MAC lipstick range has the reputation it does. They're always smooth, creamy and pigmented, with good staying power. There's such a vast range of colours available, there's something for everyone. I tend to stick to nudes - I particularly enjoy MAC lipsticks for work wear for the above reasons, as well as how moisturising they are. My ONLY gripe is that I have had a couple just break off at the bottom. ARGH! Otherwise I'd give them 5 stars.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
26th March, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Omg!

Best lip stick! The colours are vibrant and beautiful. Such a great variety also. Goes on easily and sits well. Doesn’t start to look cracked or bad after a few hours like others. Has a nice smell, plus I love the texture!

Tips: Prime lips first

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd March, 2019
1 members found this review useful
Love!!

I love Mac lipsticks the formula is perfect site so well on my lips, without having to fix it up during the day/night. Even when eating and drinking. On of my favourite brands of all time!!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
20th March, 2019
0 members found this review useful
MAC in morange

Oh my! Yes, One of those lipsticks that every women should own at least one off. It’s quite rare to find a lipstick brand with a wide range of colours from nudes to brights, and at the same time, there’s this yummy vanillary scent you can’t stop sniffing. It’s truly addictive.

The mac colour palette is so diverse... There’s a colour for everybody, even in blue...?

I was never a fan of lipsticks due to their poor staying power.... However.. new generations of longer lasting lipsticks have brought back my interest to trying lipsticks again... and can’t believe i haven’t tried a mac till now.

I decided to give the mac’s amplified creme lipsticks a go.. as my lips are quite dry.. So thought it would be less drying on me. The texture is very creamy, which gives an easy glided application. The colour is matte and well-pigmented. The downfall is that it doesn’t look quite flawless enough on my lips. Instead, it looks a bit flakey. The majority of colour does transfer onto tissue after blotting, as most lipsticks do, leaving my lips feeling dry... You can also see the left over lip stain sitting in the fine lines of my lips. Those with drier lips, will either have to use a lip primer or have to exfoilate lips quite well before using a mac lipstick.

Although the colours are very pigmented.. and the texture is wonderful, they aren’t quite transfer proof.. If i do it in full lips, i lose almost all of the lovely pigment after a cup of water, leaving my lip in two tones. But again, I’m not surprised. At least they leave a nice pigmented stain behind. To use the most of this i actually put very little on first then blot it around my lips slightly to create a lighter base stain, then i put another layer on focusing in the middle, creating a gradient look.

Overall.. staying power is not great, but i do like the colour of the left over lip stain hahahaha. I will definitely recommend anyone to have one just for the scent alone.

Tips: To prevent you from looking like someone took a bite out of your lips, Just make sure you press those lips together often, and spread the remaining lip stain around, especially if you’re using a vibrant colour such as morange. This probably wont be as obvious if you wore the nude colours, or if you had nice smooth lips.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
8th March, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Hug me

I’ve had a few of these over the years and it definitely depends on the colour and finish as to your rating of this. If you don’t find the right one keep hunting. Definitely hit up a Mac store and test a few out or at least read a few reviews.

I’ve had a few that if I had written a review it would have been average - a lot of the colours I’ve had especially in my younger days definitely did not suit me. So once I realised what to shop for rather than impulse buy I was on a roll. I’m currently crushing on a few shades in my collection and it’s brought back the love.

These are super creamy formulas. And I love that you can have many finishes in them.. it does make it hard to choose though. At the moment “hug me” is a fave. It’s a sheer pinky brown colour. I have quite pink lips so it is very sheer on my lips as expected from a lustre. It’s subtle but I know it’s there and I don’t have to worry about when it wears off that I will have lines all over my lips. It does wear off!! Definitely don’t get me wrong it’s not long lasting at all so will need to be reapplied after a meal etc.. but it just adds this glow to your lips that’s like a wee highlighting halo. So for me it’s quite like a gloss which means a light application and one coat. Quite often no mirror needed for me to apply this one.

It’s a nice creamy lipstick with a subtle coconut kind of?? Smell and taste to it. Very smooth and snag free application. In terms of lipsticks this is one of the easier ones for me to apply given it’s texture and colour. A red for example would definitely require more time and attention.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No