Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

La Roche Posay® Effaclar Foaming Gel Reviews

La Roche Posay® Effaclar Foaming Gel Reviews
Overall rating from 38 reviews so far:
4.3/5
Would use it again?
4.1/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.3/5

Where to buy?

Gently purifies oily and acne-prone skin. Eliminates impurities and excess sebum while leaving the skin clean and fresh. Excellent tolerance. Non-skin drying formula. pH 5.5, soap-free, alcohol-free, colourant-free, paraben-free.

Website www.laroche-posay.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

La Roche Posay® Effaclar Foaming Gel Reviews

La Roche Posay® Effaclar Foaming Gel Reviews

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.0/5
3rd April, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Nice Product

Nice product packaging is great especially colour of tube but dried my skin out and it caused me to breakout. The gel was a nice consistency smelt nice and foamed really easily. It made my oily skin feel soft but had to alternate between this and another cream cleanser I use to help clear up the breakouts. I stopped using it and moved over to another foam facial cleanser which i love and gives far better results although being a foam cleanser does dry my skin out a bit which is a shame. I still have almost a full tube.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
26th February, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Gentle for sensitive skin

I received the 50ml travel/sample size version of this as a gift from a friend, and was curious to try this cleanser as I have never tried any products from this brand. The packaging is very simple and minimalistic; the foaming gel comes in a semi-transparent blue tube with white writing; it's nothing fancy. Most of the writing on the packaging isn't in English on my tube and is in French so there were no directions to follow and it was hard to tell what the product promoises to do or if I was using it correctly. The gel is clear in colour and it has a very clinical sort of smell to it; it does remind be a bit of hospitals lol! I think perhaps the idea is to not add excessive fragrance to a face product which I understand but I'm not really a fan of the scent. The gel is very nice and cooling on the skin, so it makes for a good summer cleanser. A little of this goes a long way, only a small amount of the gel is needed as it truly does foam up really well. I am impressed by this as I only have a mini version of the product; yet it has been lasting me for a while as I only need to use a tiny amount each time. The cleanser is very gentle, and I have sensitive skin so I enjoyed how gentle it was, and found it didn't irritate my skin or give me any breakouts. It does say it's for oily skin and I have dry skin these days, so I cannot comment if it helps deal with oily skin. It is not super drying though, as this did not exacerbate my dry skin so I do think anyone could use this regardless of skin type. I have found this cleanser to work well, and I have noticed less acne breakouts since using this, so I think it is doing an excellent job as a cleanser. It isn't the most amazing cleanser I have tried, or the most affordable, but it does the job well and keeps acne at bay. I would recommend this to those with sensitive skin who want a gentle cleanser, and who suffer from mild acne. I would happily use this again, particularly if it was on sale. Overall though, this is a good cleanser, and while it's not mind-blowing or my favourite, it's a reliable product.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd August, 2020
0 members found this review useful
A little goes a long way

A little goes a long way and your skin isn't stripped of moisture after. I'd recommend it to anyone with sensitive skin as it's only lightly scented

Tips: use a toner afterwards

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
14th July, 2020
0 members found this review useful
La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel Reviews

The La Roche-Posay Effaclar Micro-Peeling Gel Cleanser is made of thermal spring water which La Roche Posay claim will rehydrate and provide calm your skin. I found it easy to use from the squeeze tube and I little was enough to wash my face and neck with a foamy lather. It cleaned my face easily and no greasiness was experienced and made my face feel effectively cleaned.

The product had a subtle fragrance but as I am using it in the shower it did not make a difference. I found that my face was left refreshed and ready to apply my moisturiser. However, it just so happened that I had a bit of break out over my face during the same time I started using the product. I can’t say that it was due to the use of the product or that it was coincidental (rarely get breakouts).

The product was really easy to use and has a flip cap that seals easily, I have taken the product with me on travelling and had no spillage. The easy to use squeeze tube was ideal for a facewash. The product itself is watery and light and spreads easily. It fits in easily with my lifestyle and thought it was a great addition to the rest of my La Roche products. A little bit does a go a long way and using it every morning and night I expect the product to last for a few months.

The product is targeted for people with oily, blemish or/and acne-prone skin. The foaming body and facial wash are specially formulated for persistent and stubborn imperfections. Currently, it is far and in between that I have breakouts, but still find that this was a great product. Retails for between $28 and $35 for 200ml. It is quite expensive for a face wash. However, I could feel the removal of dead skin cell and have unclogged my pores and it left my skin soft, clean and refreshed.

Tips: I would recommend the product for someone with acne or problems with blackheads

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th April, 2020
0 members found this review useful
gentle but effective

this is a very good gel wash for oily sensitive acne skin ,my face feels so clean and soothed after use ,it seemed reduce the acnes just after 1 wash and pores are smaller as well ,it foams up very nicely which you just need a little bit , its a liittle pricy but a really good product !

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.0/5
8th October, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Too drying

I have used a few of La Roche Posay's products and absolutely love them! However the Effaclar foaming gel wasn't one of them. I bought it when I had really bad acne, and while it stopped more from coming, it didn't do much greatness for my skin. I was getting very very dry, red and flakey - which I wasn't expecting from La Roche Posay.

Tips: Only use if you have really oily skin - those with combo or dry, stay away!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st April, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Beautiful skin

My skin has been in a terrible state over this stinking hot summer. I also work in an extremely hot environment which doesn't help. I was getting lots of breakouts, especially on my forehead and chin. It makes me feel so self conscious and I feel like putting makeup on top can make it look even worse especially when you are sweating.

I have tried La Roche-posay products before thanks to BR, so when I did a bit of research and saw they sold acne products I was intrigued. I read numerous reviews with most being really positive so decided I needed to give this a go.

I purchase the anti acne kit as it works out a lot cheaper at $65 for cleanser,  toner and moisturiser. It comes in an attractive blue squeezy tube with a flip top lid. It can be hard to squeeze out but I like it as you don't get wastage. The gel is clear and has a fresh scent, sometimes it smells like lemons to me.

I use a small amount and apply to a wet face, massaging around into a foam. I like to really concentrate on any areas which have breakouts especially. I have sensitive skin and get no reaction from this, yay! However the first couple of weeks I experienced weird dry areas  in a few places, the corners of my mouth, around my nose and on my eyelids. Fortunately this stopped and I have not had it happen again.

The results from this are amazing. My skin was literally clearer in a few days, it looks less red and looks healthy and soft. It definitely does not make my skin feel tight. I have hardly had any outbreaks since using this, if I do get one it is tiny and only lasts a couple days. I am in love with this cleanser and have already ordered 2 more kits so I don't run out. If you want clear skin you need to try this!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
A new holy grail

I have combination skin, dry at the edges and oily in the middle. The oiliness means I definitely look for a gentle but thorough cleanser, and this definitely does the job. I notice that my skin is incredibly soft after use, but does not feel stripped the way some cleansers have left it in the past. I have noticed it also doesn’t irritate my breakouts and does help clear them up. This also unclogs the pores in my nose really well. I’m on my third bottle and will repurchase once this one is done.

Tips: This is gentle enough to double cleanse with! I like to make sure I’ve gone over my T-zone twice when washing my face since that’s my trouble area and it really gets it all out.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
31st July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel

I really enjoyed this product!

The packing is in a tube style. It's solid, good quality and an attractive blue. It looks similar to my salon products. The cap is nice and secure. When squeezing product out, it comes out slowly through a small hole so no overload and wasted product - you don't need much!

A little product gives a good lather and made my face feel nice and clean without feeling tight or stripped.

I have sensitive skin when it comes to cleanser and I found this really comfortable.

It is not heavily scented and feels nice and fresh. I felt my skin had a nice glow after using - I really loved this cleanser and will absolutely buy again!

Tips: A little goes a long way!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
In Love With This Product

I have reviewed quite a few face washes in my time and to be honest this has been the best one I have used in quite a long time! First off, I'm an oily individual - my face creates quite a bit of oil and by the end of the day the amount of oil that appears on the surface of my face - you could use it to do some cooking. It's pretty gross. I have noticed that since using this face wash (and the moisturiser that goes along with it) my face is not creating much oil at all. My make up by the end of the day has stayed on as well...definitely an added bonus.

In terms of the face wash itself, a little goes a long way. I am using the tiniest bit of product and it foams up quite a bit. It's a little bit drying but to be honest I feel that this is beneficial as it helps control the natural oils on your skin. There is a slight scent, hard to describe. It's not overpowering, it sort of has a "clean" smell to it. Not chemically, just an average facial cleaner smell I guess. Because you don't need much I can see this is going to last a rather long time. In the past couple of weeks I haven't even used a quarter of it - and I've been using it two times a day.

Will I use it again? Heck yeah! It ticks all the boxes to be a standout facial cleanser that has definitely made its way into my beauty routine. I will be using it again for sure!!!!

Tips: Don't need much product at all to clean your face

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.