Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

L'Oreal Paris Excellence Cool Creme

L'Oreal Paris Excellence Cool Creme
Overall rating from 29 reviews so far:
4.3/5
Would use it again?
4.3/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.2/5

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

L'Oreal Paris Excellence Cool Creme

L'Oreal Paris Excellence Cool Creme

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Loreal Cool Creme Hair Colour

Love the new formula it seems to have toned down my unwanted yellow tones that l had previously in my hair . My grey hair was toned and coloured nicely, and like the tone it left on my grey hair . It seemed to have enough product to cover my long hair , It's great to have the protective mask and purple shampoo to continue the great work. Great new product Thanks Beauty Review and Loreal

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
22nd June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Great after care!

This hair colour looks upmarket, the packaging is sleek and looks like they aren't skimping. Easy to follow instructions and a nice surprise to find both a shampoo & hair mask after care. The product itself is a good consistency, not too thin but not too thick and lathers easily. Really like the optional hair comb attachment which distributes the products those the bottom. Makes doing your own hair faster! Hair looks and feel shiny & soft after it has dried. The colour is dimensional though don't feel the name matched the colour. Only issue I had was with the gloves, they broke easily and my hands aren't all that big. Would try other colours though as the products are good quality.

Tips: Have spare gloves handy. Check the picture of the hair colour.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
L'Oreal Paris Excellence Cool Creme - ash brown

My hair is originally black, fine texture, has been dyed multiple time by boxed dye at home. I had purple black, and then rose gold on top so that it looked a bit patchy (the rose gold lighten the end and the root but not the middle part that i had purple black) I chose ash brown in the trial, hopefully to blend the color evenly and it did exacly what i wanted. The L'Oreal Paris Excellence Cool Creme - ash brown shade has a neutral brown on darker hair. I think it would look more ashy on lighter hair color. The dye smell is not as strong as other brands. It comes with purple/blue shampoo and mask which is a bonus. Overall i would do this color again if im looking for a professional hair color look. But i will try different color to experiment more with the colo range.

Tips: Applying hair dye from top to bottom, front to back so that it will process nicely and evenly.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
22nd June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
L'Oreal Paris Excellence Cool Creme - 8.11

I wanted to trial this product as I had regrowth and my wash out dyes stick better to already lightened hair. The woman on the box looks like she has had some professional highlights put in and seems the dye is a lighter shade than what it is. Inside the box was gloves a standard dye bottle but also a lid you can put on the bottle after mixing the dye up like a streaking comb which is nice I did not need this part for the area in my hair but for my daughter who wanted "a hair cut" (shes 5) I thought I would use it to apply a little to her hair. I knew I was not going to need the whole lot so I tried to measure equal parts. The developer was fairly simple to measure but the tube of colour I think was difficult and I possibly added a bit too much for the amount of developer used. It smelt pretty standard for hair dye. My application was a bit hard because I did not want this dye to touch my bright coloured hair so keeping it on the regrowth only was a little challenging to do on my own and I did miss some areas simply because I could not see what I was doing. Using the lip with the comb part was ok and looked as if I was giving my daughter streaks/high lights to her light to medium brown hair. I applied it to some dark areas of her natural hair only while her hair was side parted to the side I did not do her whole head. This dye came with a shampoo to apply after using the dye to wash out residue. They claim it is a purple shampoo but seriously its literally almost white. The conditioning mask however is very purple even looked blue in some parts when I opened it to sniff. Smells good too. Now with the results of the dye on the hair: Subtle. I admit I was expecting a lighter result especially on virgin hair. My daughter has sort of warm caramel areas the tones look warm not cool because the toning mask - whilst impressive in terms of pigmentation did not do much for the hair as it was not a light enough shade to tone with purple. The back of the box for the shade indicator was not very true for us for reference the hair i used the dye on for my daughter was a lighter than the third of the three pictures of the result indicator and my regrowth was a little lighter than the second picture The result on my hair was similar to my daughter but the toner did make a bit of a difference making it look less warm toned as my natural hair is lighter than my daughters. In summary I like the scent and strength of the toning mask & the shampoo they included but this dye is not something I would reach for anytime soon. Expect it to be darker than the woman on the box. If you have light yellowy blonde hair all over this could be a good toner for you but do not expect much lift. The name of this shade "ultra light ash blonde" is misleading like the lighting and hair the lady has on the box. Would love to hear of others results with this one. I would possibly try some of their bright shades like purple red and burgundy in future.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
22nd June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Highly recommend

When i opened the packet, their was alot of items in the packet. Firstly the hair dye x 2, their was also a purple shampoo and a purple conditioner, also a comb adapter to screw onto the hair dye for better application, and of course gloves.\nI mixed the hair dye then added the special comb. I thought this might of made it easier to use, but personally i much prefer the nozzle for application. Gloves.....hair dyes never come with nice gloves, i don\'t have huge hands and they are always too small and so hard to manage. This was the same, i found the gloves terrible but they served there purpose. \nI wanted my greys covered and i only just coloured my hair 6weeks ago, So i followed the instructions and applied to my roots for 20minutes. I colour my hair quite often with different hair dyes and i found that the mixture was quite runny and hard to control. It was dripping alot. After the 20 minutes i then applied the rest of the mixture to the remainder of my hair and left for a further 10min. I did like how it didn\'t have a really strong \'hair dye\' smell to it, and sometimes they can irritate my scalp but this didn\'t at all. After time was up, i rinsed it off on the shower and applied the shampoo. I love shampooing hair dye out its very satisfying, alot don\'t have a shampoo so i liked that. Nice shampoo aswell and smelt great. Rinsed that out, then applied the purple conditioner. The conditioner was so nice. I left it on for 5minutes then washed out. \nAfter drying my hair out was very soft and felt really nice, better than it usually does after washing my hair. It does not have that \'smell\' you get and almost feels like a salon job. The colour was a bit dark for me, but that\'s my fault. I had ash brown.\nOverall, i really liked this hair dye. The pros diffently outweigh the cons and i would diffently purchase again, but would go a lighter shade next time. Thank you for letting me review this product.

Tips: Just careful applying as it is very runny

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
22nd June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Great colour, great experience

I’d like to start by mentioning the unboxing. This dye has an impressive number of bits and pieces in the box; the usual developer and colouring cream but also a purple mask, purple shampoo and a neat comb attachment for easier application.

Mixing and application was straightforward. I have very thick hair that is below my shoulders but I managed to get good coverage from the one bottle. The comb nozzle made it very easy to disperse adding to its overall economy.

I’m a regular home hair-dyer and I often struggle with two things: hair dye not covering the few stray greys that I have, and underlying red tones that seem to appear when the colour starts to fade

Leaving the dye in for 30 mins I got good coverage and the greys can’t be seen. It will be interesting to see if after a few washes they are still covered. The colour is a lovely rich brown, very glossy and soft, and I really like it although again I do wonder how it will live up after a few washes.

Tips: After you’ve finished, rinse out the bottle with the comb attachment and keep it for future home dye jobs (if you use a different product that is) - it’s SUPER useful.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Very Cool

First of all, I love the clean looking packaging and I really love that this product gives you a shampoo and conditioner! And not just any shampoo and conditioner, but a purple shampoo and conditioner to protect the colour, which is fantastic! It also comes with a comb nozzle that attaches to the bottle and it is great for applying to roots initially but I think the original nozzle is easier to use. It is a little bit runnier than other hair dye products I have used in the past but that is fine, just have to be a bit more careful with drips. I have long hair, just below my shoulders, and one box was enough so that is definitely a win for me. The coverage was great, hid all my greys, and my hair was super shiny afterwards and the shampoo and conditioner smell really nice. The smell of the dye was quite strong but hair dye always is and it was not as bad as a lot of the cheaper options out there. At $23.99, it is one of the more expensive hair dye products on the shelf but when you take into consideration the quality shampoo and conditioner and you think of the salon prices, then it is not half bad. I would recommend this product and I will use it again.

Tips: Use vaseline on the skin around you hairline and neck so you can easily wipe away any dye afterwards and avoid skin stains.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
21st June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Radiant Colour

I have been dying my hair for years and used different brands, among them L'Oreal. My hair is short and thick. I used 5.11 Ultra Light Brown. The final result pleases me as the colour is radiant, the hair is soft, and all the grey are covered.

The consistency of the colouring cream was thicker than other products I used. The comb applicator didn't work well in my hair . As usual with products containing hydrogen peroxide, the smell was strong and unpleasant.

After leaving the colouring cream for 30 minutes, I showered and used the caring, double action post-colour purple shampoo included in the package. It cleansed the scalp and hair, and rinsed nicely.

Afterwards, I applied the anti brass purple mask, also included in the package, for 5 minutes. I used a small amount that covered my hair.

I like how my hair looks nourished and shiny after the colouring. The 3 products work well together. I will definitely recommend the Excellence Cool Cream to my friends.

The packaging has a PAP logo for recycling. I do not know if the tubes can be recycled.

Tips: Don't let the product develop too long as the result will get darker.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
21st June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Interesting New Application Tool

When I first opened the packaging, the first thing I noticed was the distinctive ammonia smell and I checked the details, I hadn’t even thought about ammonia as the product I’ve been using doesn’t have it and I felt surprised there’s newer products still using it when no ammonia is safer. I dyed my hair in the afternoon, and I could definitely still smell that hair dye with ammonia smell later on that evening.

Once the colouring cream is mixed with the developer, you can choose to attach a little plastic comb to the end of the application bottle which I quite liked. It’s ideal for mid length, straight hair so worked for me. I did find it easier to use without using a separate tool, like a comb to separate sections, though I did find I ended up having to squeeze the bottle pretty hard for dye to come out. I’m not sure if that was just me as the user or if everyone would find that. I did find that it was messier in that I got it in places not on my hair which I don’t experience with other dyes though again that could just be me as the user! Overall though it probably did make it easier.

The shampoo when I went to use it snapped off at the end, I think it’s single use, or that’s all I could use it for and that’s fine. It comes with an anti brass mask which is good. It’s very purple which is fine as well. The recommendation for this is once a week use, so I’ve not used it much as yet though will continue to. I haven’t noticed that my hair looks brassy so that means so far so good in my book! I was most interested in grey coverage, as I do have a bunch of grey hairs poking through in certain areas and I found that it did do what it said I would and cover these pretty well – a big plus.

When I was trying out this product, I was comparing it to L'Oreal Paris Casting Creme Gloss, since it’s the same brand and similar product. I tried the Crème Gloss through Beauty Review, it was the first at home hair dye I’ve tried and I liked it a lot so have continued to use. By comparison, I would probably continue to the previous product and not convert. The reasons for this are the smell is more pleasant for me and safer without ammonia, and it doesn’t have that distinctive dye smell for the rest of the day. Personal preference as well with colour.

Tips: Don't use if you have a reactions to hair dye with ammonia

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.0/5
21st June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Excellence Cool Hair Colour

I was hoping that this trial would work out for me but unfortunately it didn't. Firstly the gloves are too tight and tore them when I put them on so I had to use other gloves, yes I do have big hands but the gloves should be a universal size.

The application was fine and it didn't have an overpowering smell. After you rinse the colour you shampoo your hair with a purple blue shampoo then followed with conditioner. Usually you don't wash your hair for several days to ensure the colour sticks. My hair once dry is soft and shiny.

I'm a brunette with grey and the light brown I used matched but unfortunately it didn't cover my greys. I have been colouring my hair for many years with great success. Yes my greys are stubborn but it should have covered them.

The colour on my previously treated hair is a beautiful cool brown close to my natural shade and is very shiny. If only it covered my greys I would continue to use this.

Tips: Before rinsing use the colour to remove any marks/stains from your skin. This one does remove well.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

L'OREAL REVIEWERS NEEDED!

We're putting together Trial Teams for several L'Oreal cosmetic products.

There are no catches to our Trial Teams - get selected, and we'll send you the full sized product for free. All you need to do is place a well-written and informative review!

Click the link to find out more - and put your hand up today!

CLICK HERE TO CHECK OUT THE LATEST L'OREAL TRIAL TEAM!