Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick Review

Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick Review
Overall rating from 16 reviews so far:
4.3/5
Would use it again?
4.4/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.3/5

Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick Join the cult. From stripped nudes and bloodhound reds to passionate purples and raven black, there’s a badass shade for every skin tone. One swipe is all it takes to lock bold, fearless color onto lips for 10 hours of wear (I’m looking at you, up-all-night superheroes). And cutting-edge Color Cushion Technology keeps your pout feeling comfy and velvety soft. The covetable case was designed by Kat herself after her signature studded cuff.

Website http://katvondbeauty.com/products/

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick Review

Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
25th October, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Beautifully Pigmented

I decided to add this to my Kat Von D haul I did a long time ago. I’d heard a lot about Kat von D over the years . What drew me in is Kat Von D Edgy style and individuality.

Packaging comes in a black studded case made of plastic . I’ve never seen a design like this before . Its a standout lipstick amongst my plane jane lippies. I got the shade Motörhead it’s a very deep wine shade . It feels matte and perfectly pigmented in its application. Sits perfectly on me throughout the day. Like all other lipsticks it does transfer . You will need to top up throughout the day .

I got my shade from Sephora nz in one of their clearance sales they had at the time . Overall definitely one to try out either in travel size just to get a feel for it. I do want to collect more in the future.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
28th May, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Hey all you cool Kats and Von D Kittens

I purchased Studded Kiss Lipstick in the shade L.U.V which is described as being a rich violet colour- They're not wrong. It is vibrant and beautifully pigmented. It does transfer but I expected that. I support cosmetic companies that make me happy beyond just being skin deep and this cruelty-free vegan lippy ticks all the boxes.

Tips: On a diet? be warned, Studded Kiss smells like Crème Brûlée, and lipstick in your teeth just ain't cute.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
1.0/5
3rd July, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Worst lipstick

I bought two lipsticks (Lovecraft and Noble) from this range and I can honestly say I wish I could have returned them.

The packaging is amazing, which is what drew me to them. However they smelt... plasticky. And they pigment was horrible. Very patchy. If I wanted an even application then I had to layer it on so thick my lips looked ridiculous.

I can't speak on how long they lasted on my lips as I had to wipe the lipstick off immediately as it looked that bad. I tried a couple more times to see if I could make it work, to no avail.

I wouldn't recommend, and I won't be buying any more from this range, lipstick or otherwise, especially from online where you can't test a product out.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
3rd July, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipsticks

I bought a couple of shades a while ago off Sephora, as well as receiving samples of a few shades. I really love the formula and packaging of these lipsticks and that there are so many unique shades.

All the shades I've tried seem pretty consistent in quality and they all work well for me. They are super creamy and go on smoothly. They don't dry out my lips - although I don't feel like they hydrate them either - but I always make sure I'm wearing a good lip balm underneath. They are very pigmented and bold. I didn't find they lasted 10 hours. I have to reapply after about 4 hours of wear, and after eating. They transfer a little bit, but not too bad.

Really nice bullet lipsticks and would recommend them! The only reason I haven't purchased more shades (and this is so silly!) is because they are a lot wider than all the other lipsticks I own and are too wide to fit into my lipstick holder and it just annoys me that they don't really have a place in my make-up storage lol

Tips: Wear a good hydrating lip balm underneath!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
21st August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
KVD Studded Kiss Cathedral - A Matte 90s Brown

I have Cathedral in a mini lipstick. It’s described as a satin-matte coco rose, but on me it looks a 90s brown with a very slight hint of pink undertone and matte finish. This could be a nude color for much darker skintones but I am an NC25 and it's a neutral not nude on me. This didn’t dry out my lips but it didn’t add any hydration. It felt light and I wasn’t wearing anything on my lips. I got a decent ammount of pigment for a few swipes but then Cathedral is a darker shade so I can’t speak for the lighter shades. I would say the wear time is good it was still on my lips after eating but came off completely in the middle. It’s not transfer proof but it doesn’t transfer that much if you don’t apply a lot of layers. The packaging for the Studded Kiss Lipsticks is unique and if you tend to feel around in your purse for lipstick it will be stand out from the other lippys. The cap also goes on nice and tight and won’t come off in your purse. I do like these lipsticks and if I found a shade that I did like within the Studded Kiss range I would get it.

Tips: Due to the unique packaging this is good for people who feel around in the bottom of their purse for lippies maybe they have a lot of different ones the case will feel different than the rest.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
30th December, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Great range of unique matte shades

The Kat Von D lipstick range was one that I was eager to try because of the brand's edgy, Gothic image, and the range of cool shades available. There are a few shades in it that do not seem to be manufactured by other brands. So I was very glad when New Zealand finally got its own Sephora online, through which this brand is available.

Firstly, the packaging is so cool. I cannot help but feel awesome every time I pull one of these lipsticks out of my handbag. They come in a solid black case, which has a 3-D studded texture design on it. Kat Von D's initial's are in a 3-D Gothic-script pattern on the top of the lid. Like a lot of lipstick brands, the shade of lipstick is only indicated on the bottom of the case, so I have to store them upside-down in my lipstick holder. They feel nice and expensive to hold, and the limited edition silver case looks even fancier.

One of the drawbacks with these lipsticks is that the formula is inconsistent between shades. The darker the shade, the patchier the colour seems to be. The first Kat Von D lipstick I bought was a mini of the shade Homegirl, which is so patchy and awful that it put me off purchasing any more colours in the range for a long time. However, I believe Kat Von D is currently revamping the formula for these lipsticks, so hopefully they will be more consistent. I have found that the lighter shades go on very consistently and wear well.

The lipsticks in this range all appear to be matte. Some are solid matte, and others are a matte formula that includes a metallic sheen, such as Adora. The lipsticks have good staying power, however, I find them a bit more drying than other matte formulas I have used.

I think these lipsticks are definitely worth trying, especially if you are after unique lipstick colours.

Tips: The formula is quite drying, so I would alternate wearing these with more moisturising lipsticks.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd March, 2017
0 members found this review useful
I think I just died and went to lipstick heaven

I have always been a tried and true Mac girl and never really considered trying anything else until s friend of mine was in sephora in oz and brought me a Kat von d lipping to broaden my horizons.

Before this all I knew about Kat was that she was a kick ass goth chic that always had killer makeup and had had a huge bust up with Jeffery star.

With this my Kat von D virginity was popped and the rest is history

What I'll do is break the review

I think what will start with is first impressions, immediately after I opened the box I was absolutely blown away by how cool the packaging was. I mean I've been so used to just know Mac tampon like packaging which let's be honest is a little bit ugly. The studded packaging just gives it an ultra luxe feel which I love.

As soon as I looked at the shade my heart just melted. I have the shade Cathedral and as a very fair skinned person it's the perfect kinda nude/ pinky brown shade that just fits me perfectly.

Application is so silky smooth and it wears so well. In the average work day I might only have to touch up once and on a night out with more eating and drinking a couple of times. It's a matte shade but I don't feel like it's to drying and I can quite comfortably wear it for a good 12 hours a day a few days in a row without my lips screaming murder.

I have had so many compliments from friends and even people at work who I don't know telling me how nice the colour is.

It's safe to say I'm addicted to this lippy and I have a good 10 other colours on my must have list for when I next shop on sephora!

Tips: The only tip I have is if you don't own one, do it because thes lippies slay

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
4th February, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Stunning

I was given a mini version of this lipstick in a shade I wasn't sure would suit me. None the less I tried it out.

How amazing is this packaging? The studded bullet makes it fierce and interesting. Pull the lid of and twist the bottom and up comes the product from a sleek silver tunnel.

The formula is silky, creamy and soft. Glides on easily and easy to apply. I lined my lips and had no bleeding or feathering with this product.

It dried somewhat matte but still had a bit of movement which I found the lasting power wasn't as long as 10 hours more like 5. I applied it again when I had it on.

I like the formula I didn't like the shade as it wasn't for me!

I'm sure I'll love this product just in another colour!

Tips: Use a lip pencil and line the lips

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
29th June, 2016
0 members found this review useful
I need more in my life

Oh how I had lusted after all the Kat Von D lipsticks, all the swatches I have seen gave me the biggest heart eyes, so off to the Sephora website I went and picked out the shade 'mercy.'

When it arrived I was in love the packaging is so me, It's different and kinda punky. The shiny black tube is covered in like a stud pattern. It kind of looks like very small pyramids in neat rows. It has the KVD logo stamped on the lid and the colour shade on the bottom. I pull off the lid to reveal the lipstick encased in a silver tube I twist the lipstick up and WOW at the gorgeous colour.

The colour 'mercy' is a deep plum purple colour it's dark and it looked daunting, I am slowly pushing out of my comfort zone and opting for brighter and bolder lipsticks so this is perfect. I also love the KVD logo printed into the lipstick it looks classy.

I start swiping it over my lips and notice the buttery consistency is easy to apply. There is no dragging or pulling and it goes on evenly. I do have to apply 4 coats to get a good amount of colour. There is lots of shimmery particles in the lipstick and unfortunately I can feel these on my lips, it's not terribly uncomfortable it's just slightly annoying. It gives a nice satin finish which I love as I'm scared of mattes!

I love how I can wear this lipstick for roughly 5 hours before I need to reapply. It is slightly drying though so it pays to pack on a hydrating lip balm before applying the lipstick.

Overall it's a nice lipstick I just wished I could play with some in store, instead of relying solely on swatches. I would love to buy more of these lipsticks without the shimmer, as the more I wear it the more irritated I get by the glittery particles.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
18th April, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Conflicted.

I have two of these - well had, I lost one :( The shade I have is Noble which is a very pale pink, and the one I had (and lost), is Hexagram (a bright red). Noble isn't a shade I would have chosen for myself but I got it in a kit at Sephora.

Both lipsticks come in beautiful black, studded packaging which speaks to the punk/rock 'n roll side of me. I love these just for the packaging. It feels like good quality and these are quite weighty and not flimsy.

As for the shades... Hexagram is super pigmented, creamy and beautiful. It slides on your lips beautifully and lasts a long time without bleeding or fading too badly. This did leave my lips a little stained which I don't mind.

Noble, on the other hand, is super dry and patchy. It is hard to apply on your lips as it skips and looks patchy and not very flattering. Also I don't like the shade (light pink doesn't suit me at all), but the formula is definitely different in application and feel on the lips as opposed to Hexagram.

It is strange to me that the formula's are different - but I found that with her liquid lipsticks too. It is a bit frustrating so I would suggest swatching these before purchasing them.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

THE CHRISTMAS BEST BEAUTY BOX IS ALMOST HERE!

The Christmas Best Beauty Box Ever will be released on Friday November 20th at 7pm.

This is quite literally our most Beauty-Full release EVER with over $550 of value inside from brands like Shiseido, Snowberry, Evolu, Essano, Lancome, YSL, Schwarzkopf, Swisspers, Kiehl's and more!

We will send a private link to all who have registered their interest, giving them the chance to buy it first.

Click here to get the sale link on Fri 20th Nov!