Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Schwarzkopf Extra Care Moisturising Serum in Mask Review

Schwarzkopf Extra Care Moisturising Serum in Mask Review
Overall rating from 31 reviews so far:
4.0/5
Would use it again?
4.0/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.9/5

Extra Care Serum In Masks are innovative dual formula treatments that combine the potency of a serum with the benefits of a Keratin hair mask.

Moisturising: the serum contains Marine Collagen & Hyaluronic Acid that deeply moisturises for instant strength and vitality.

Pack Size: 200ml

Availability: Supermarkets, Retail Outlets and Online

Website: www.style-studio.co.nz

RRP: $18.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Schwarzkopf Extra Care Moisturising Serum in Mask Review

Schwarzkopf Extra Care Moisturising Serum in Mask Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
2nd April, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Interesting Serum in Mask

I like Schwarzkopf products and have been keen to try some masks, so I was thrilled to be able to try this one.

It comes in a big 200ml tube, which is a gorgeous aquamarine shade of blue. It has a nice simple pop top that is easy to open and close in the shower.

The product is a bit strange, coming out with a white cream surrounded by a blue kind-of gel, serum is one and mask is the other. It very much reminds me of toothpaste. But the scent - mmmm lovely.

So, I've been applying it after shampooing, and leaving it in for 3 or more minutes before washing it out. I have to say it is hydrating, and makes my hair feel soft. I can't wait to see how my hair is when I reach the end of the tube! I love that it has marine collagen and keratin.

I'm not sure how I feel about paying $18.99 for it. It's pretty good but so are some of the $12 hair treatments. We'll see. It is nice and I'm glad to have been able to try it. I'll update at the end of the tube :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
13th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Top Product

I was excited to receive this product to trial as I have lightly bleached streaks in my hair along with lots of grey hair which can get quite dry at times. This product in a tube incorporates another tube inside it so when you squeeze the product out, both the serum and hair mask come out together in the correct quantity. I washed and conditioned my hair and then put the serum mask through my hair. I used an amount about the size of a 50 cent coin on my shoulder length hair which was just a guess really as the instructions don't tell you how much to use or whether to apply after washing and conditioning. This product has a lovely light non overpowering fragrance but doesn't seem to lather/cream up in my hair like I am used to with a condition so at first I though I may have used too little of it. However on rinsing it out and letting my hair dry, I found my hair did indeed feel smoother and a lot silkier than usual. An added bonus for me was that my hair seem a lot less frizzier than it normally is so I am totally in love with this product now. I think that at $18.99 per 200 ml tube that this product is quite affordable as you only need to use it 2-3 times a week. I can't say I noticed any extra shine to my hair but that didn't bother me as I really liked the silky smooth feeling it gave my hair, so much that I kept constantly touching my hair. I haven't finished the tube yet as I think it will last quite a while longer so I can't say if the product comes out evenly in the tube however I would definately buy this product.

Tips: Don't skimp on this product and use 2 to 3 times a week after washing and conditioning your hair

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
8th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Good product, just not for me!

On first inspection I was curious about the packaging, a tube within a tube if you will. You squeeze and it squeases out both the mask and serum at the sane time, quite nifty. The instructions read to apply to wet hair and leave on for 3 minutes. It did not state whether or not to wash and condition hair first and I could find nothing online so I assumed it would be applied to clean hair so I washed and conditioned first. The smell is not offencive but not overly enticing either. The texture is nice, the mask is creamy and feels nice when in the hair.

I left it in my hair for the prescribed time and rinsed and styled as usual.

To be completely honest, the first time used this I didn't see a lot of difference to the texture of my hair than if I had just washed normally.

The instructions direct to use 3 times per week which is roughly how often I wash my hair so it was convenient to keep track of.

After the second time using the product I noticed my hair was not as oily after the second day of wear and I could push it to 3 days between washes. After the 4th wash, my hair has started to lose a bit of frizz which is saying something in this humidity at the moment. It did not feel softer.

Overall, I am undecided if I would purchase this product but to be fair I have highly processed bleached hair, I imagine it would work well on someone with fine hair, I will continue to use and update if my opinion changes.

It would be helpful if the instructions were more clear on the packaging, for all I know I may have used it incorrectly and not gained the best results.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Best hair mask ive tried

Honestly if you had asked me about trying a hair mask and whether or not it would work id be skeptical. However this little beaut is amazing and to be honest actually shocked me a little with its performance.

First of all the ocd in me loves the packaging, seperating the two products in one tube is a fantastic idea with the conditioner in the inner tube and the serum in the outer. i could spend hours squishing it all around.

When first using the product i was instantly reminded of toothpaste LOL! A generous amount was used for my thick hair which soaked it up pretty quickly as i have extremely dry hair. After the recommended wait time of 2-3 mins it washed out without leaving any residue (surprised at least).

After towel drying my hair it air dried really quickly and was very soft and manageable. We are on day 3 which is hair wash day and its still soft and my ends are not as dry as they usually are and i havent used any hair oil.

Summary review is i will definitely use this again its amazing.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Does what it says!

I'm really enjoying using this Serum/Mask !! I did wonder if it would be too heavy for my hair, but I was pleasantly surprised and actually find my hair even curlier when I use it !!

The serum and mask mix together when you squeeze the tube. The consistency when you put it on your hair is a little thinner than conditioner and kind of slides over the hair, but when you rinse it off after a few minutes you can feel how soft and moisturised your hair really is. I'm really impressed!

I've been using it every second day and my hair is looking and feeling really good.

I'm happy to keep using this product and will definitely continue to buy it. It's hard getting good products for curly hair but this one definitely gets my thumbs up !

Tips: Use as often as you can!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
6th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Dual hair mask and hair serum in one

I was lucky enough to receive this to trial. I have fine, dry hair, and I find using a hair mask is the best way to restore moisture. So I was very interested to give this dual hair mask and serum a try.

The product comes in a 200ml clear blue bottle which stands on its lid. It looks intriguing because inside the bottle you can see the liquid serum floating around the outside, and an inner white tube which contains the mask. The directions say to “squeeze tube to instantly mix serum and mask together.” So the mask and serum are both mixed together and then applied to damp hair same as a regular hair mask. The hair mask contains keratin serum, and the dual formula aims to give long-lasting moisture to hair, with the benefits of using both a serum and a mask at once.

The product is easy to apply. All you have to do is squeeze the bottle to get the product onto your hand, and then massage it into your hair. You can leave it in for 3 minutes. So it is less messy to apply than a hair mask that comes in a tub. I did find it tricky to get equal amounts of hair mask and serum out though. It seems when I squeeze the bottle that the serum comes out really easily, and I get a lot more of that than I do of the hair mask. The product has a mild, fresh scent, which is not overpowering.

The product was easy to work through the hair. If your hair is past your shoulders like mine is, then you may find that you need to use quite a lot to cover your hair from root to tip. It rinsed out easily too. After rinsing out my hair did feel very moisturised and soft, and continued to feel that way once it was dry.

Altogether I like this dual serum and mask. It is more portable than a tub and does the job of a hair mask with the added benefit of a serum. I will continue to use it after the trial, and I will consider repurchasing it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th December, 2018
1 members found this review useful
This is the Mask!

I am always in the search for good hair products that help hydrate and soften my long hair so I was thrilled to trial a new Schwarzkopt product that says it will continuously moisturise for up to 72hours.

The tube is quite striking. The Ocean blue colour reinforces one of the products main ingredient of marine collagen to help with moisture. It also contains Keratin to help repair damage. The mask and serum are separated from each other. The tube is flexible which makes it easy to get the desired amount of product out as once squeeze the mask and serum come out together. To use simply squeeze the tube and apply the gel onto wet hair & then leave for 3minute. Although the directions for use don't give any indication about how much to use, I find I needed about two 50 cent pieces to cover all of my hair as it is very long.

It says it can be used from the root to the ends of your hair. I was slightly skeptical as normally my hair gets excess residue and feels heavy if I apply anything to the roots but this feels light and didnt weigh my hair down. One thing I noticed with this treatment is that my hair soaks this up straight away so I can easily use 3 times a week to help with hydration. I definitely still need to still use a conditioner beforehand as it doesnt detangle knots but it definitely helps to hydrate & soften my dry hair. It says it works for up to 72hrs but my hair felt moistured for roughly 48hours before the ends felt dry again. I do live in a very dry climate so it potentially could last longer. I don't believe it has helped repair my hair but potentially with regular use will limit further damage as my hair is more manageable.

At $18.95 it is a little more expensive then some other supermarket treatments but considering it is both a mask and serum I think this is a fair price but I will look out for it on special.

Tips: Don't skip using hair conditioner beforehand.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Emily-jane
9th December, 2018

Thank you Maree, it is so lovely to use.

MareeB
9th December, 2018

Great review Emily-jane.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
6th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Moisturising Serum

I was quite excited to be trying out the new shwarzkopf extra care moisturising serum in mask as my hair is currently extremely dry. I washed and conditioned my hair with my usual shampoo and conditioner and then tried out the serum. It almost looks like a mixture of shampoo and conditioner combined as it squeezes out, bright blue and white. It smells really nice and once I’d left it on the required amount, I washed it out. I expected my hair to feel like it does once I wash out my conditioner, quite soft and smooth but my hair didn’t feel like that. It felt more of a mixture between when it had been shampooed and conditioned. My hair was a bit harder to brush than as if it had been conditioned but once brushed, it felt really soft. Once I had blow dried my hair, it felt slightly softer and not as flyvaway as usual. It wasn’t a massive change but there definitely was a change to the condition of my hair. I’ve used it a number of times now and my hair does feel in better condition. The little fly away hairs don’t seem quite as bad although they are still there. Overall I think it is a really good product and I’d quite like to try the other option of serum in mask to see how that compares on my hair.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Schwarzkopf Extra Care Moisturising Serum in Mask

This product is uniquely formulated in a dual tube - ie a tube inside a tube separating the two formulas. The Blue formula composed of Serum with Marine Collagen & Hyaluronic Acid is deeply moisturising and the White Formula is the Hair mask with Keratin to nourish and protect hair against damage. The fragrance is pleasant and fresh with a seasalt fragrance. I found this product great for smoothing my dry and flyaway hair, it feels instantly hydrated after use without the need to add other products. The most amazing thing for me is my hair actually feels thicker and has more volume. It feels moisturised but not oily and has amazing fullness. I didnt notice any difference in shine but my hair is soft and hydrated. I would absolutely use this product again for the volume it gives alone - my hair has been thinning due to lack of iron and I feel like after using this product I have hair to be proud of again! Very thrilled and reasonably priced. For my long hair one tube delivers between 6-10 treatments.

Tips: Use after shampooing - I skipped the conditioner and went straight on with the mask. Squeeze out excess water then apply a good palmful (about 1- 3 tablespoons, depending on hair length - ie 3 tablespoons for longest hair) Spread evenly from roots to ends, leave on at least 3 minutes then rinse and style as usual.

For extra dry hair I would apply after shampooing and leave on for an hour - wrap hair in a towel and grab a magazine and relax for a bit before rinsing out.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
6th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Interesting new product

I was pretty excited to review this as i had never tried a two in one product before that was literally one product inside the other. When you squeeze the bottle the blue gel liquid comes out with a streak of white lotion in the middle so you get the right ratio of serum and mask. The product is easy to use as you can just use it in the shower after you condition you hair, leave it in 3 minutes, then wash out and it's done its trick. I found it to be quite moisturizing but didn't really improve the overall standard of my hair as it is still a bit lacklustre. I have tried masks and serums that are a lot better than this so I'm not sure if i will repurchase. I think I need a little bit longer to test and will come back when i have finished the bottle to amend this review.

Tips: You definitely still need conditioner as well. I tried it without as i thought that 3 products would be too much for my hair but that didn't work.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.