Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Garnier Fructis Hair Food Watermelon

Garnier Fructis Hair Food Watermelon Review
Overall rating from 31 reviews so far:
4.4/5
Would use it again?
4.3/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.3/5

Where to buy?

All Garnier products are officially approved by Cruelty Free International.

Since 1989, Garnier has been committed to a world without animal testing.

Discover Fructis' Watermelon Hair Food 3 in 1 Mask by Garnier. 97% natural origin ingredients enriched with volumizing watermelon to give volume, bounce and movement to fine hair.

Use it 3 ways: as a mask, intense conditioner or leave-in treatment.

Yes vegan*, yes recyclable, yes dermatologically tested, no silicones for a natural hair touch. 98% biodegradable formula. 

Website Garnier Facebook Page

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Garnier Fructis Hair Food Watermelon Review

Garnier Fructis Hair Food Watermelon

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th July, 2021
1 members found this review useful
Melon me crazy

Loved the new garnier shampoo and conditioner so when I was seeking the banana flavour from countdown I grabbed this and I was not disappointed!

It was cheap which I always love and it lasts so long for a hair mask. I usually use banana but tried this and love it just as much.

My kid used it too which makes washing and brushing her hair easy as. Plus she loves the smell much like myself. It smells equally as nice as the banana.

The nice creamy mask texture again and smells so nice the next day when dry also.

Leaves my hair smooth and strangled. The one thing with it though... it’s hard to find as my usual pack and save don’t stock garnier!! So it means special trips to other supermarkets as I either use this of L’Oréal. I like to mix it up but I generally tend to have this in the house so it can be a hunt if I need it.

Love this and ultimately it’s worth the trip!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th July, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Watermelon Hair Food

How nice to have yet another lovely cruelty free, environmentally friendly and natural product - this one to really pamper my very fine old hair. Another faintly fragrant cream -easy to use lavishly from the tub. It is really lovely for those who, like me, wash their hair in the bath, Using this hair mask is just another excuse to luxuriate longer in the nice warm water. I am not so sure that the three minute wait would be so convenient for those who shower.but I think it would still be well worthwhile. Again this cream rinses out easily after the appropriate waiting time - and the result- bouncy, shining and easily mangeable hair that has kept its shape for three days so far - I no longer need to wash it daily to keep it looking good.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
11th July, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Morning Glory

I was surprised to receive a large pot of “hair food”. After shampooing and using conditioner I followed the directions and oh WOW this product is definitely up to expectations. My long fine hair is, full and soft and wavy and untangled. After it has air dried it is easy to put up and falls into easy tendrils. I love the gentle melon perfume, it is not sickly and with natural products I give this a big tick and will use it again. The three ways to use it, as per directions, work well. I will be buying this again.

Tips: Use a good dollop on wet hair and just a fingertip amount on the ends of dry hair.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
9th July, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Not sure..

I am not a fan of this kind of container for a product that you have wet hands using. I wasn’t sure how much to use and definitely got water in the product and product all over the container trying to scoop some out. I love the consistency and the smell and it felt great on my hair. After I washed it out I could tell it wasn’t going to leave my hair feeling greasy like other masks. I didn’t get to use it as a leave in conditioner yet and I don’t really like the idea of leaving chemicals on my hair. However I definitely recommend this as a wash off mask. My hair felt light and was not greasy and I felt like it definitely had more volume as promised.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
9th July, 2021
0 members found this review useful
So dreamy

This was my fav product from the range by far! I used it as a leave in conditioner and was amazed at how it left my hair feeling so silky for days! I find some leave in conditioners can leave my hair feeling greasy or heavy, but this worked a treat! It helped keep my hair pretty much tangle free which is a biggy for me as I have lots of very fine hair strands that tangle easily! I found the scent didn't last as long on the hair as others have from the range, but that wasn't a biggy. I don't think it really gave me much volume, but it certainly did leave my hair feeling nourished! I love that the packaging is all recyclable and that it's cruelty free.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th July, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Garnier Soft Hair Food

Disclaimer: I'm not a fan of real watermelon. Childhood memories of too sweet, too watery fruit with a strange texture. The same cannot be said for Garnier Fructis Hair Food Watermelon Hair Mask. The packaging reminds me of a hair mask I used about 20 years ago from an international body products chain store. Maybe showing my age. A whopping 390ml recyclable white plastic tub (50% recycled), a non-recyclable green plastic lid, with pink watermelon image on the label. Garnier state a Vegan formula, no silicones or paragons, no artifical colourants, a 98% biodegradable formula with 97% natural origin formula, dermalogically tested. This mask claims it gives volume, bounce and movement to fine hair, hair feels soft and not weighed down. Product Use is 3 ways, as a conditioner, a mask, and a leave-in, directions given for all 3. There are also warnings in regards to do not eat and to keep out of reach of young children. The Mask is a thick, white cream, a subtle but definetly watermelon fragrance. Downside if using as a conditioner/rinse off mask, being packaged in a tub mean's it's a little hard to apply in the shower without getting water in the container, unless you have a shelf away from the shower head. The product is a lovely texture, feels rich in natural oils without being heavy, absorbs beautifully and your fingers feel like you've just applied a nice hand cream. It is easily rinsed off as a conditioner/mask without any weighed down heaviness to the hair shaft. I used this product in all three ways suggested, especially prefering it as a leave-in, which I topped up on a day when I'd been in a heated room. The mask instantly smoothed and hydrated the frizz that had occured from the environment. As claimed, the mask makes your hair feel soft - in my case, super soft! Hair feels lighter, creating the 'bounce' as claimed, which I attribute to creating the look of increased volume.

Side note: Since shaving my hair off in 2020 lockdown for fundraising, I took up a No-shampoo then a C0-wash regime for over 12 months to avoid silicone-laden hair products, which led to my once-volumous, curly hair being lank and oily-scalped, prone to humid fluff. I love there are no silicone or parabens in this product, and despite the scent of watermelon lingering post use, I will absolutely use every last bit of this huge tub, as my hair looks alive again.

Tips: If using in the shower, put in a small container you can take into the shower so as not to fill the original container up with shower water upon use.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th July, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Garnier Fructis Hair Food Watermelon

The product is packaged in a rather large container. The screw top lid opens easily to reveal a white creamy product with a scrumptious smell, although I didn’t associate the smell with watermelon at first, it was pleasant. Like the shampoo, the fragrance was not overpowering or sickly sweet smelling as some fruit based products can be. I used the product as a conditioner after shampooing then rinsed off in the shower. I also used this product on other occasions as a leave-in product applied to my dry hair the morning after simply shampooing. This was my preferred method of application as we have a limited water supply so it saved time, thus water, in the shower. This product also suggests to use as a mask by applying to wet hair after shampoo and conditioner, leave in for 1 minute then rinse. I did not try this suggestion, mainly due to the fact that our water supply is limited, but also felt that my hair didn’t need extra attention as it looked to be in better condition than before I started using these products. The product claims to give volume, bounce and movement to fine hair that feels soft and not weighed down. I wholeheartedly agree with this statement. I loved that my hair looked full of life and retained a styled look without my hair feeling heavy, sticky or claggy as it has with some styling products I have used. In the past I have not liked this feeling and couldn’t wait to wash them out. Not so with this product, I didn’t even feel a textural difference. My hair felt light and soft, even after reapplication the following day. The ‘tub’ of product would last a long time as you only need to use a small amount of product to get great results, literally a 10c sized dab smeared between fingertips and applied sparingly. I personally would prefer a smaller container, especially if using while travelling. Being environmentally aware I liked that this is a Vegan product and is 98% biodegradable. I liked that the product contains no silicone, parabens or artificial colouring. However, I was a little disappointed to discover that the container was not recyclable unlike the shampoo bottle that was made from 50% recycled plastic and was 100% recyclable. I will continue to use this product as I am very happy with the results and the new life it has given to my hair. However I would prefer a smaller container and preferably one that could be recycled.

Tips: Great product to use instead of regular conditioner if you have water supply issues. I used this in conjunction with the watermelon shampoo which was a light foam product that rinsed out easily and quickly. Then simply apply this product to wet or dry hair as a leave-in conditioner saving both time and precious water in the shower. Really handy for saving water in camper vans or on camping holidays. To prevent using too much product, dab one fingertip into the tub then spread onto all fingertips before rubbing through your hair. You can easily add a little more if needed.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
8th July, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Good hair mask

I loved using it as a hair mask. Applies really nicely, left it in for 5 minutes and rinsed out. It left my hair feeling really silky and moisturised

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.3/5
8th July, 2021
0 members found this review useful
A little too heavy for my fine hair.

I received this as part of a trial team and used it in conjunction with the Garnier Watermelon shampoo and conditioner. I have very fine, low density hair.

The packaging for this item is a little on the difficult side. I was using the hair food as a deep conditioning treatment which meant applying in the shower. The size of the tub it a little large but more of an issue was the fact that while the lid is off it exposes it to water getting in with the product. If you have a shower caddy that you can put the tub while the lid is off without it being in the water stream then this will be fine for you.

I wasn't really sure how much to apply so tried varying amounts. One thing I noticed was this wasn't as effective as the regular conditioner for detangling - it doesn't have the same "slip" that the regular one does. It did leave my hair feeling well conditioned, but also a bit weighed down.

Like the shampoo and conditioner, this only has a subtle fragrance so is not too overpowering if you are sensitive to fragrance.

I don't think I will use this again as it is a bit too heavy for me. I would be open to trying the other hair foods in the range but would prefer them in different packaging such as a squeeze bottle.

Tips: Emulsify this in your hands with a little water to make a a great conditioning treatment with less weigh-down!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
8th July, 2021
0 members found this review useful
3-in-1 Product for fine or thin hair

What a lovely product. I'll start with the beautiful, modern packaging - it looks summery and fresh. The product smells beautiful and natural. I love the fact that this range is aimed at fine hair - my hair is fine and tangles easily. This product leaves it silky, shiny and manageable. Hopefully it will also help reduce breakage. The consistency is thick, so I don't need a lot to get the job done. Once again - although the product is mostly natural, the packaging doesn't state that the product is sulfate free. The ingredients are stated clearly and I couldn't see anything that looked like sulfates among the list of ingredients, but would have liked more clarity on that. I used it as a mask and also as a conditioner. Lovely stuff.

Tips: Use as a conditioner, mask or leave-in

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

PRIZE DRAW CLOSES MIDNIGHT FRIDAY!

We want to know about your beauty shopping habits - particularly your online shopping habits!

Take our quick survey and you could win a $1300 Beauty Haul...it's that easy!

CLICK HERE TO TAKE THE SURVEY!