Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

The Beauty Vault - Aug
The Beauty Vault - Aug

Remington AIR3D Hair Dryer Review

Remington AIR3D HAIR DRYER Review
Overall rating from 8 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.3/5

Our next generation hair dryer is here, the AIR3D – with a new structure to hair drying and designed for fast smooth styling. The ultramodern design features a compact head with a hollow core which has been engineered to produce 3D airflow, a technology unique to Remington. The unique airflow path minimises air turbulence and produces uninterrupted airflow for ultimate styling power and a flawless finish.The Smooth Conditioning with the micro-conditioners and the ion generator eliminates frizz and delivers the ultra-smooth finish. All combining to mean you can achieve a salon worthy blow dry without leaving your home.

Availability Farmers, selected stores and Online.

Website www.remington.co.nz



RRP: $299.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Remington AIR3D HAIR DRYER Review

Remington AIR3D Hair Dryer Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
In love with this hair dryer!

So I brought 2 of these, 1 for my mum for Christmas and one for myself and I have got to say it’s so good! It dryer my hair in HALF the time it usually takes to dry it but not only did it do that it blow dried it straight and didn’t make it dry at all, I’m honestly so impressed! I’ve wanted a new hair dryer for ages and after reading the reviews about it and trying it for myself I’m so glad I purchased it!! It’s really light weight to hold also it’s not big and bulky like my old one, and it’s 10x better so what’s not to love! If your wanting one you won’t be disappointed it’s amazing. I also have medium length hair and it’s extremly thick and wavy so I’m stoked I won’t have to straighten it anymore just literally blow dry it and sleep on it ;-)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
i have 0 self control

This hair dryer was on special, and BR were handing out points if you showed them the receipt of purchase, so me being the good minion I am, dutifully purchased this hair dryer. To be fair, my old one was on the way out, and I have #noragerts so it's all hunky dory.

I love the rose gold. It matches my Remington straightener so nicely, it's like they were made to be together. It comes with 3 attachments, one of which is a diffuser. I have no idea how to use it, and I personally would've been happier without it. The other 2 attachments are for those profesh people that can straighten their hair with a hair dryer. Can't relate.

This has so many settings. Cold air, warm air, hot air, and then on top of that, 2 different speeds. Weirdly enough, the symbols don't match what's happening (in my opinion). The fan means the dryer is turned off. The 3 squiggly lines means cold air, which to mean should mean hot not cold! and 0 means full blast. It's also all numbered with an LED that shows up when the hair dryer is on, but it's still confusing. Maybe mine is just labelled weird, but whatever. It works and I like it.

It dries hair SO FAST. Like, less than 5 minutes for damp. Completely wet is about 10, give or take on my fine thick hair. I find that the two narrow attachments are perfect at directing heat where I want it, but the open nozzle is probably best for an all over dry. The attachments do get very hot though, so please mind your fingers. I also was under the impression (I don't know why) that this would be quiet... It's not like a 747 taking off but it's definitely not quiet. Maybe less noisy than my old one.

When using this I feel like the condition of my hair doesn't go dry and frizzy like it usually would, but rather stays nice and soft, and it's definitely not as out of control and I have less fly aways. It's a really gorgeous hair dryer, and other than being hella expensive I'm glad I was enabled!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
16th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Not for the curly girl

I bought this on sale at Farmers after my Richard Kavanagh dryer died after several years of use. The packaging was high end and the dryer felt light in my hand. I was used to so much power with my old dryer that I was disappointed by the lack of it in this one. Kinda like being close up to an oscillating fan. Being a curly girl with 3b hair I bought it mainly for diffusing and I think this is where the product really falls down. I have thick medium long hair and it kept getting caught in the inlet at the back because it acts like a vacuum. Anything near it gets sucked in. A shame because I really wanted to like it. The second time I used it to blow dry my hair straight, which worked fine but at this price point I expected more. Will continue to use because that's all I have but wouldn't recommend to curly girls like myself.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Love it

I sold my house and got one of these for myself as a house warming present. The reviews are amazing so I had high expectations but in all honestly it was always going to be better than my old hairdryer. But I didn’t know it was going to be that good though.

It’s so sleek and pretty. With a great length cord. Which is handy as my plug is in an awkward spot.

It’s a nice weight and well balanced for use. I have osteoporosis in my shoulder and this has been comfortable to use and light enough to hold above my head.

Lots of settings which is handy and all under your finger tip.. it’s easy to shoot a cool blast for a break.

I have long dry hair that needs to retain as much moisture as possible so if I dry my hair I like it to be gentle. It sounds like this has the technology to gently dry my hair. And it feels like it’s gentle also. It leaves my hair in better condition than if I let it dry naturally. If I let it dry naturally I have a wave, frizz, flyaways you name it. Since using this with my ceramic brush my hair is so sleek, smooth and much straighter - I can’t beleive it! It’s almost like I’ve run a straightener through it as my hair is that much more under control. It’s so soft and smooth too even without hair treatment oils. And after a sleep it’s brush and walk away again no styling so has saved a lot of time.

It’s quick.. my hair is down my back and it’s actually worth using this hairdryer. I felt my old dryer just blew and blew and I didn’t really end up anywhere. This is at least 3x faster I think than my current blower.

Lots of attachments that I haven’t really used I have mainly been using my ceramic brush and just the dryer to be honest and the result from that alone has been magical.

It’s been a real time saver using the dryer and being left with tidy enough hair that I don’t have to straighten or style really. I love it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
What's not to love....

I bought this hairdryer after some fantastic reviews.

This hair dryer is all things pretty and elegant, from the pretty rose gold and white packaging to the rose gold hair dryer itself. It is light weight, and ergonomically not as tiresome to hold - it seems better balanced than the traditional hair dryers. All buttons within easy reach while using.

It has three attachments, 2 nozzle attachments for blow drying hair or styling into waves, and the diffuser attachment for gently drying curls. Attachments slide on and actually stay in place as they have rubber grips to keep them in place firmly. You can turn them all to any angle needed, easily. No more diffuser detachment accidents for me - this would be the first hair dryer I've owned where the diffuser hasn't fallen off while drying my hair! Without attachments you get a very gentle blow dry for simply drying off hair without too much of a hurricane thing happening!

The drying time is definitely faster despite it being a gentler blower. I gave up using the straighteners in favour of this hair dryer, and my hair looks so much healthier, and more bounce. There's 3 heat settings - the 3rd heat setting is really hot - so I've only needed to use level 2 with my fine hair. The cool blast is easy to activate while holding the dryer too for styling

The condition of my hair has improved - partially because I haven't used straighteners, but also because the AIR3D is much gentler than other hair dryers and styling tools so I've been able to achieve a hairstyle without all the heat damage and without spending too much time achieving it..

The hair dryer also comes with a bag to neatly store everything together without having to fish around for attachments or have cords lying around which is great as I keep mine in the bathroom cupboard.

I'm really impressed with the hair dryer. It's used daily, and I really like that it's gentle on my hair, yet I easily achieve the look of salon styled hair at home. The price tag is up there for hair dryers, but on sale at Farmers, you can often nab it for half price. You won't be disappointed with this purchase!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
30th June, 2018
3 members found this review useful
Remington AIR3D Hair Dryer - Review

When I received an email inviting me to trial this I was super excited, thank you so much BR for all the incredible trial opportunities and the work you put into this site! I was even more excited when I saw the package on my doorstep, and quickly opened it to find the beautiful box that this hair dryer comes in. It is black and rose gold, and absolutely beautiful! In the box, you get a storage bag, two concentrator attachments and a diffuser. It claims to use '3D Airflow' and 'Smooth Conditioning Technology' to help style, reduce frizz and create a smooth finish - which is definitely something I'm into! This hair dryer retails for $299.99, which is rather steep for a hair dryer, however I think it could be worth it depending on your hair type and needs.

This hairdryer looks like something out of a space movie - it just looks so futuristic! It's triangular, with a hole through the middle, and mesh at the back where I believe air is sucked in to blow dry with. This mesh means that there is no way for your hair to get sucked into the back, which has happened to me multiple times in the past and is always a huge pain. The hairdryer has good weight to it, but it is balanced well so is easy to manoeuvre while in use. The attachments included in the box easily pop onto the hollow head of the hairdryer. It also has a very long cord (3 metres if I remember correctly) with a loop to hang the hairdryer if needed. It has 3 heat settings, a ‘cool shot’ button, and 2 speed settings. I found that there wasn’t much of a difference between the lowest heat setting and the cool shot setting.

When I used this hair dryer I was amazed at the speed it dried my hair, it only took around 10 minutes compared to around 30-45 minutes that my old hairdryer took - keep in mind, I have very thick, frizzy curly hair! Using the diffuser attachment took longer, but gave me even better results - my curls looked smooth, and they weren’t frizzy, plus my hair was nice and soft with lots of volume! I used it by ‘cupping’ my hair in the attachment and holding for a while, repeating every minute. I think the ‘Smooth Conditioning Technology’ actually works, which I was very impressed with. With the other attachments, my hair took a bit less time to dry, but my hair wasn’t as curly, instead it was more wavy-straight, which is good as I am able to get 2 different styles without the use of a hair straightener at all.

Overall, I love the experience I have when I use this hair dryer - it looks good and performs great! It has lots of features that make it just that little bit better, such as the included attachments and storage bag, and many settings to choose from. It gave me amazing results, even though I have thick, curly, frizzy hair. The price tag is steep though (and that is why I have rated it slightly less than 5 kisses), so that is something to consider if you’re thinking about buying this hair dryer - it is sure a good one though! Thanks again to the Beauty Review Crew!

Tips: If you have curly hair, use the diffuser attachment - it means less air is blowing your hair around everywhere, therefore reducing frizz!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
MareeB
5th July, 2018

Eeee $300 is pricey alright. Its worth it if it reduces frizz though - that's a big problem to deal with.

Julieal
3rd July, 2018

Good review - bit pricey but sounds great.

Ngahew
1st July, 2018

Great review! It sounds fantastic, but the price tag will be keeping me away...Hopefully they are a sale on at some stage!

Macs
30th June, 2018

It sounds wonderful. I agree the price tag is huge . One day hopefully

Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th June, 2018
3 members found this review useful
Blown away

Straight into it - Packaging is on point. You are greeted with the beautiful new baby of the family. A stunning hairdryer – in all its black and rose gold glory, 3 attachments and underneath are some simple instructions and a storage bag.

Long cord - 3 metres (yep I checked) with hanging loop located at the top of the cord.

Beautifully balanced – not top heavy. The motor is in the long handle and the heating elements are in the short head which makes the weight distribution a comfortable set up. Very light and manoeuvrable which is easier on the wrist and shoulder. I found it easier to direct the head and heat where I wanted it to go so less chance of hitting or scolding myself. Control is from the wrist and your index finger can sit on the cool shot trigger.

This trigger is amazing for instantly cutting heat and to continue blowing without touching either of the heat or speed setting switches. A handy setting for kids, not over drying your hair, style setting and definitely helps with smoothing. Has a beautiful blue light in the hollow head that glows when using this trigger The settings – there are lots. With 3 heat and 2 speed settings as well as the cool shot trigger you have plenty of options.

The head sucks air in via the air inlet grill located in the barrel of the head and then heats it, blowing it out the other end. No ugly fan is visible – I didn’t worry about the hairdryer sucking in and singeing my hair.

My old (piece of junk) hair dryer takes over 10 minutes to dry my hair. With the Air 3D 4 minutes!! As well as being significantly quicker it’s more powerful, quieter, better balanced, prettier and has some amazing technology to go with it. It’s so quick any noise associated with it is short lived.

Using no attachments it smoothed and straightened my hair with drying and brushing alone. With the concentrators it was even straighter or I could create some really nice natural looking waves by blowing my hair out over my brush barrel. The diffuser leaves you with a nice natural look that’s still smooth and could be left alone or easily styled. These attachments attach easily - they just push on and off and can be rotated. They are great my hair has never been so sleek after a blow dry alone. My old dryer would leave me with a lot of puff, frizz and static. If I wanted polka straight hair I would follow up with my straighteners – but the Air 3D creates a nice base for that as the hair is more manageable.

I use to work in science and know a lot about ions (sadly) so I did a little research into the science involved. Simply put.. It’s said the Air 3D has an ionic generator. Charged ions (negative ions in this case I believe) are generated using a voltage and are said to hit the water molecules on the wet hair making them smaller and easier to evaporate off. No idea if at a molecular level this is actually what is happening (hard for us to tell at home) but time wise – I would believe it.

Thanks BR xx

Tips: NOTE: Sorry for the novel above. NOTE: Thank you BR for the amazing opportunity to try out this magnificent marvel we are so very grateful. NOTE: I have medium length, fine and slightly wavy hair.. so hair results will vary.. this is just based on my experience. NOTE: Yes I would repurchase..Wait for a sale.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
29th June, 2018
4 members found this review useful
It'll blow you away! (#sorrynotsorry)

I'd owned my hairdryer for years. It only had one speed and was about the size and weight of a small tank. Needless to say, I usually air-dried my hair after washing, telling myself that curly hair went frizzy when it was blow dried anyway, so who cares. Anything not to have to break my wrists with Ole FrizzBlow.

But then BR was kind enough to send me the Remington AIR3D to trial and review, and I was so stoked! Because when do you buy a new hairdryer? When the old one blows a fuse and dies, that's when. And Ole FrizzBlow had plenty of life left in him yet if only to spite me, so I couldn't really justify buying another one. But oh my gosh. As soon as I unboxed Racy Remy (new nickname), Ole FrizzBlow got chucked straight in the bin.

Racy Remy (and even the box it arrived in) is just so damn beautiful. It's a really interesting shape, like an alien ship from a 70's science fiction TV show, or a bubble of oil in a lava lamp. Peculiarly, it has a hole in the middle. This could be for science or it could be for glamour, I really have no idea, but it works. It's also in rose gold. ROSE GOLD. It made Ole FrizzBlow look like a washing machine that had been run over by a train.

It has three speeds, three hotness levels, three attachments, and a little drawstring bag you can keep it in. And, according to the pamphlet which I also chucked in the bin, it does something with ions so it blows your hair smoother. That's not just marketing bollocks. Ole Frizzblow had a diffuser which retained my curls but left a halo of frizzy bits sticking up on top. Racy Remy does not do that. There are no frizzy bits. It's as if he's crooning to my wayward hairs, "lie down, relax and I'll take good, good care of you, baby," and they do and he does. Oh, how he does.

And best of all, Racy Remy is about half the weight of Ole Frizzblow, and dries my hair in half the time, whether I'm keeping it curly or going for the straight.

I love Racy Remy. He is MAGIC. Two things, but. One, the cool shot button isn't as responsive as it could be, and two, the price. It's pretty expensive if you're a gal who's used to paying for an Ole FrizzBlow. But, if you're the type of person who uses wads of cash to fan yourself on a hot day, get a Racy Remy. You won't regret it.

Tips: Wait for a sale. And make sure to leave Remy just casually lying around the house so that visitors can be impressed.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
MareeB
5th July, 2018

Fabulous review!

poohbearfan
1st July, 2018

I need a Racy Remy in my life!

AboutFace
30th June, 2018

Nicely written :-)