Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Schwarzkopf got2b Fresh It Up Dark Brown Reviews
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.6/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.1/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.5/5

Schwarzkopf got2b Fresh It Up Dark Brown Reviews

Overall rating:
3.7/5

got2b Fresh It Up Dark Brown contains a dark brown tint to temporarily provide root touch-up with a delicious sweet chocolate scent that smells good enough to eat.  You'll want to apply this product in circular motions, this will ensure you get an even distribution of tint all over your hair.

A quick refresh of your style between washes with an incredible fresh fragrance that lasts all day. 

Instant refresh. No white residue. Long lasting fragrance.

Availability:  Supermarkets, Farmers, The Warehouse, selected pharmacies

RRP: $13.99

Website: www.style-studio.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th June, 2018 at 12:49 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Super Matte AND Luscious!!!!

I am not a newbie when it comes to dry shampoo. I jumped on the dry shampoo bandwagon years ago when one brand introduced the dry shampoo to NZ. Now every major brand has at least one dry shampoo to offer. My hair is asian dry and coarse naturally, and it isn't helped with the fact it is bleached/coloured to a balayaged medium blonde on the ends of my hair. My hairdresser is always telling me to wash my hair as least often as possible. So I find that by using dry shampoo on the day that I would need to wash may hair helps me extend the time between hairwashing days. I end up washing my hair every 4 days. I have used all types of dry shampoos. Ranging from supermarket priced products to product bought from the hairdressers. I think all dry shampoos are much of a muchness, and it comes down to your preference in fragrance and texture. But this is the first time I have tried one specifically for brown hair. When I first heard about this proposition, I thought BRILLIANT! I find one of the pitfalls of dry shampoos is the risk of white powder residue. I have to make sure I massage the product in well, and give it a good brush. So I was extremely excited about a brown one. And it did not disappoint. The nozzle sprayed a nice even, accurate mist of a rich brown powder to absorb all the greasiness from my roots. It subtly enhanced my hair colour, giving it richness and depth. The dry shampoo gave my hair a yummy cocoa fragrance which is perfect for me cos I will always choose a vanilla or cocoa fragrance over a floral. I loved how it gave my hair that fresh "just washed" feeling. Alot of volume and hold at the roots and there was no crunchiness or stickiness. The only pitfall to having such luscious hair is that the temptation to run your hands through it all time is great. I did this and I discovered the brown powder goes under your fingernails, making it look like youve been gardening without gloves on! But other than that, this a fabulous dry shampoo. Ticking all the boxes, great fragrance, great nozzle and great texture!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.3/5
31st May, 2018 at 8:14 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
GOT 2BE FRESH DARK BROWN

My current dry shampoo makes my really dusty so was looking forward to using it. The scent was chocolate, i thought it would quite strong but it wasn't full on which i really liked. I am very sensitive to smells, but thisscent was good. Now when i went to use it, it worked really well on the dry shampoo side. But the only thing i didn't like was the dark brown colouring. I followed instructions. But the brown sprays on to the skin and when i tried to wipe iff it seeed to make a bigger mess on the side of my face! For that reasone alone even though it was a great dry shampoo, i woulnt try it again. How i would looke at buying on of there other ones Ps i hope this is all spelt right etc I just laser surgery on my eyes this afternoon so can't really see!!!!!

Tips: Keep way away from face and cover shouulders with a towel when spraying

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
31st May, 2018 at 11:10 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The latest and best so far

I am a regular user of dry shampoo as I prefer not to wash my hair daily. I was looking forward to trying this as my hair is both thinning and my regrowth is gray and anything that assists to cover these is a bonus. It was easy to apply and the spray came out evenly. I wasn't that impressed by the strong sweet intensity of the fragrance but it faded enough to not out shine the perfume I was wearing. What I liked most about it was there was no white residue and it didn't dull the shine of my hair. There was also the added bonus of a bit of extra volume. I used it 2 days consecutively (for the purposes of the trial of course)and there was no noticeable build up I would definitely choose this product over my go to 'most common' non coloured dry shampoo.

Tips: Shake the can between sprays. If you massage it into your roots remember to wash your hands before touching anything light coloured

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
31st May, 2018 at 10:50 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good temporary fix

I am not totally a dry shampoo advocate so I was not expecting too much from this trial. The aerosol cylinder is a chocolate colour with pink trim so easy to separate and find from other products in the bathroom. The scent is quite chocolately which is unusual but this does fade. The spray is very robust so you need to be very careful you have direction of nozzle aimed at your scalp. I shook really well and found the application easy for most of my scalp but very fiddly near my hair tine and ended up with a very dark hairline and a sooty forehead so I think there must be a skill in this that I have yet to achieve.In saying that the colour is very easy to remove from your skin with a wipe so not really an issue. The dry shampoo however was a success in that my hair looked nice and clean and the greys were well covered plus there was no white residue which I usually get from other dry shampoos so all in all I feel this is a useful product for those in between times. As with most tempory colours it pays not to touch your scalp as you will get colour on your fingers and this is something I notice with all tempory colouring products so not an unexpected side effect. Over all at the price of $14 and the good coverage of greys and no residue of dandruff like product residue plus no ichiness I put this product at the top of my list for dry shampoos and very handy to use when time is an essence.

Tips: Be careful with direction of nozzle as spray is quite severe and also handy to have wipes to use and does remove product off your skin easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
1.7/5
31st May, 2018 at 10:04 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Didn't meet expectations

I'm a person with tailbone length, curly hair, and I wash it about once every 6-14 days. I wash with conditioner only, so I was concerned about getting the residue out. I generally get to about day 5 before needing a touch up with dry shampoo, then perhaps another quick touch up around day 8 or 9. I always leave in dry shampoo for a few days, and I've been using it for years.

I loved the idea of a dark dry shampoo; while I've got pretty good at dealing with the white residue, I'm always looking for something a bit more efficient.

I loved how the can looked and felt; it's a slim line, smooth touch can which is nice. The product comes out very fast, but smoothly. It felt like there was a lot of wastage because it came out so quickly; you end up using a lot of gas for not a huge amount of product.

It seemed like there was more colour than dry shampoo, which was disappointing. After my first try, I found my hair was still slightly oily, but darker and much less shiny than usual - not really the look I'm going for. This lead to me using much more product that I usually would with a dry shampoo - to get it working as dry shampoo, I had to use so much product that there was quite a bit of residue, which drove me bonkers.

The residue was a huge problem for me - not only did it settle on my clothes (the towel trick is a good one!) and entire bathroom, but on my face, scalp and even in my nostrils when I later blew my nose. It also transferred - if I touched my hair, it ended up on anything else I touched for the rest of the day (don't wear white - you'll regret it), and left my pillow cases dingy looking. It did wash out easily, so that's something!

The smell is fine if you like sickly sweet smells; it smelled terrible with my particular perfume. It definitely hung around all day (and for the next few days too. Several people commented about the smell, so it must be pretty strong. It's disappointing that there aren't other fragrance options.

Washing out wasn't too bad, the colour came out okay, but I can tell after a few uses, the product would build up on your scalp and you would need shampoo to remove it. I used it twice and my scalp which is usually fine has started flaking (I'm guessing from build up) - so I'll probably wash with shampoo tonight to correct it. I don't think this product is appropriate for people who co-wash only.

All in all, I was disappointed with how poorly this performed as a dry shampoo. It feels much more like a colour root touch up product than a dry shampoo.

As I wouldn't use the product again, I gave it to a friend (deliberately not telling her my experience) and she had a very similar experience - although she loved the fragrance.

Tips: Definitely use a towel on your clothes when applying, and even consider applying it outside - there's a lot of colored residue. Apply moisturizer, sunscreen and makeup after dry shampooing your hair, and consider using dark pillow cases.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
31st May, 2018 at 4:21 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The best dry shampoo in the market

It’s fair to say that my hair is 90% dry shampoo by the end of the week. In fact this is the longest I’ve ever not washed my hair! I wanted to get the most of this experience so I challenged my self to seven days no hair washing and only using the Schwarzkopf dry shampoo - don’t worry I still showered. The product smells delicious- this is the first thing I noticed. It is sweet and chocolatey and the fragrance last all day. The second thing I noticed is how fast it came of the can. Much fast than other dry shampoos I’ve used. This is really not a drama but it does mean you don’t need as much of it as other dry shampoos on the market. The product itself is lightly tinted - I tried a little on the back of my hand - it washed off immediately so there doesn’t appear to be any heavy dyes that would stain clothing. That said, I have a few in between color greys and it was enough to just give them a wee shade for the day. When it was on my hand I noticed how soft and silky it was. Like a powder and hairspray all rolled into one. I think this is how I managed to last the week with no washing. It made my hair actually feel and look clean during the day. The packaging is very appealing and it stood out from all my other products so I feel assured it’s not going to get lost in my beauty cupboard because I’d be happy to have this on my bench. Overall I am really happy with Schwarzkopfs dry shampoo for dark hair - yes my hair was reasonably manky by Friday and I couldn’t wait to wash it but my point is I made it to Friday!! This has never happened ever!!

Tips: Use in short bursts and directly on the roots. I use the night before and leave my hair out whilst I’m sleeping and then any excess falls out during the night.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.3/5
30th May, 2018 at 9:51 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Trial and Error

I suspect I need to do a bit more training with the wheels before I take them off with this product! :)

The cylinder fit neatly into my palm, making it easy to spray and apply. At first, I was a little trigger-happy. The spray is quite fierce and comes out with a lot of gusto, so go easy and start with small bursts. To be fair, it DOES mention this in the instructions on the back of the cylinder, but some people can never be told, can they? :)

The scent is soft, leaving a lovely hint of chocolate which was very pleasant and lasted a good few hours. The colour did cover my grey quite well, although it was a bit difficult to cover the grey at front without discolouring my forehead, no matter how I covered it. The spray application is a little clumsy in this regard.

As for the result, it did do as it said it would. My hair looked and felt clean, if a little on the dull side. But considering this is a quick-fix for those days you don't have time to wash your hair, it isn't a bad option.

Tips: Read the instructions on the can and then DO WHAT THEY SAY. Especially the wrapping a towel around the shoulders bit. Also, apply your makeup after spraying so you can wipe off any residue off foreheads.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
30th May, 2018 at 7:30 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Dark brown dry shampoo

I will start the review by saying I have used multiple dry shampoos over the years, being dark haired it can be problematic. This dry shampoo fulfilled all of my requirements and I was happy with it's performance. I would suggest that it would only be suitable for quite dark hair as it comes out even darker than other brunette dry shampoos I've tried. The smell was nice and not too overpowering, some shampoos I find I can smell all day this one wasn't like that which I really liked. Finally it lasted well over the day without greasyness coming through.

Tips: I like to put it in my hair before I go to bed to give it a chance to absorb oils etc. while I sleep. For those with fine hair like myself it can be used for adding volume which is a bonus.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
29th May, 2018 at 3:13 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pleasantly surprised!

I have reasonably oily hair - I can get one good day and one average day out of my hair until I have to wash it again. I also have greys (or, as my hairdresser puts it, 'sparklies', which makes me feel better).

I've used it twice, and had really good results. Some of the other reviews commented on: - Coloured residue: I didn't find this. I do very quick bursts of spray, and even when massaging it in straight away, I didn't get too much residue. I wiped a small amount off on a towel, but not a lot. I also sprayed it directly on to my bench to see how bad it was, and it was fine. I also shook the can A LOT, as I did wonder whether the coloured portion settles. - Smell: At first, the smell is really overpowering, just a sweet faux chocolate smell. But it fades pretty quickly and was fine. - Grey coverage: It covers my greys really well! I haven't had it coloured in a couple of months, and you wouldn't notice. Very happy with this part!

All in all, I was very happy with this and will be buying this again.

Tips: Shake the can really well, do short sharp bursts rather than a spray stream like you would hairspray.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.7/5
29th May, 2018 at 12:59 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Lots of residue!

I was very excited to hear about a dry shampoo for darker hair as there are not very many on the market. The plus side is that it smelt nice and was not too over powering, and it removes the greasy hair look. The downside is that it left lots of dark residue on my hands every time I applied it, which is not so bad if it fades but I touch my hair and face a lot so I ended up with a sooty face! I would rather wear a beanie/scarf/hat than use this product again. My favourite is still Batiste's Beautiful Brunette.

Tips: If you can refrain from touching your hair and face then this is definitely worth a try, but if you're like me then stay away from it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

I am - I'll tell you what in the comments!

view results

Review of the Day
emilyplum78
La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel and Duo Plus
These products work as a 2 step programme to effectively control oily and… more »