Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Beauty Vault - Aug
The Beauty Vault - Aug
L'Oreal Paris ELVIVE Extraordinary Clay Range Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.2/5

L'Oreal Paris ELVIVE Extraordinary Clay Range Review

Overall rating:
4.2/5

The new L'Oréal Extraordinary Clay range consists of four products containing 3 refined clays.  The range is designed to rebalance oily roots while hydrating the lengths - all without weighing your hair down.

The range consists of a pre-shampoo clay mask, shampoo, conditioner and dry shampoo. 

RRP: $6.59

Pack Size: 250ml

Availability:  Farmers, Supermarkets and selected pharmacies

Website:  www.lorealparis.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th July, 2017 at 4:01 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Extraordinary Clay

I received my box of goodies in the mail and was super excited about trying them. Im that person that spends so long down the supermarket aisle staring at all the haircare products but can never find the right one for my hair type. So when i heard about these products i was so happy that there is finally a product for my oily roots and dry hair.

The first product i tried was the dry shampoo. I hadn't washed my hair in a couple of days and it was starting to feel greasy and look gross. So i sprayed some onto my hair, left it for 2 minutes then brushed it. I was so happy with how it looked and felt! The spray smelt nice and fresh and my hair looked really clean and the oil was gone. This was the first time i had used dry shampoo and i am a big fan of it now.

I decided next to use the shampoo and conditioner on its own first. The shampoo lathered and foamed up well and spread far onto my long hair without having to use a lot. I really liked how it says on the conditioner bottle how to apply, focusing on the mid length and ends. The smell of the shampoo and conditioner was the same fresh scent that the dry shampoo had to it. Once i rinsed the conditioner off and dried my hair the smell was still in my hair which i really liked, and my usual dry, knotty hair felt and looked amazing. I was so happy with the results! My hair was super soft and smooth and it really brought out the blonde colour in my hair.

Day 2 and my roots still looked great, like i had washed my hair that day. Even by day 3 my hair was still looking good. So by day 4 it was time to wash my hair, so i decided to spray some dry shampoo on and wash in the afternoon.

Then it was time to try the Detox Clay Mask before i applied the shampoo and conditioner. So i found the instructions under the sticker on the lid, then started to apply the mask to my scalp, massaging it in, then waiting the 5 minutes. It felt nice and cold on my scalp and started feeling quite dry on my hair. It had the same smell to it as the other products but also you could really smell the clay scent to it. I washed it out and the top of my head and hair felt really dried out, but once i applied the shampoo and conditioner i got the same great results, smooth, soft hair. I love how gentle the clay mask was on my scalp while taking away the oil. I will definitely be purchasing all of these products again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th July, 2017 at 2:36 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
L'Oreal Paris ELVIVE Extraordinary Clay Range

I have always struggled with oily roots, because of this I have always washed my hair every day as it gets too greasy and feels yuck if I miss a wash. When chosen to review this range I was super excited as this could be a good solution. The first product of this range that I tried was the clay hair mask. It smelt like clay but nice and fresh as well. I applied it to my roots as directed and then rinsed off and followed by the clay shampoo and conditioner. All of the products have the same sort of fresh clay smell to them. The shampoo lathers up really nicely and the conditioner is your average conditioner, apply then wash off after 3 minutes. After using the shampoo and conditioner my hair felt so fresh and clean once dried. It felt so clean I didn’t even need to wash it the next day. All of these products lived up to their expectations. I was easily able to leave my hair for 2 days without washing it. In addition to this the dry shampoo works well in between washes by absorbing any excess oil. Overall I am super impressed with this product range and think I made have found a solution to manage my oily roots. I defiantly recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th July, 2017 at 1:36 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
L'Oreal Paris ELVIVE Extraordinary Clay Range

I have really oily roots and dry frizzy ends and was never able to find a product that would fully work for me and so was really really thrilled to be selected for this trial/review. I've used all 4 items in this range religiously - as part of a regime, and also each by itself and am actually extremely happy with the results. The first time I washed my hair using these products, I didn’t use the pre-treatment. Only shampooed and conditioned. The shampoo I found, lathers well and is easy to apply and wash off. The conditioner, again, smells great and is easy to apply. It complements the hair care range and works well with the shampoo, to give voluminous, bouncy, light and fresh hair. After towel drying I blow dried my hair and noticed how bouncy and voluminous its looked! and smelled amazing!

The real test came the next day when I heat styled my hair for work – again no issues, still looked healthy, shiny and non-greasy (even after a night’s sleep). Now usually, by mid-day my hair would start to feel weighed down, and limp and by the end of the day it will definitely start to feel eeky. But come evening, it surprisingly still felt and looked great so I didn’t wash it and the next morning I just lightly heat styled and soldiered through another day. My hair did start to feel bit heavy & greasy towards the end of second day and I wasn’t game enough to leave it off for another day so washed it that night. This time, I started with the pre-shampoo mask first. The issue I had with the mask was the lack of instructions on the packaging. I had to look it up online because I wanted to be really sure I was using it right. I've given the instructions in the Loreal clay mask review, if you need it. Before shower, I applied the mask to my roots, covering the entire head and let it do its thing for 5 mins. I rinsed it off in the shower, followed by shampoo and conditioning. The scalp felt clean and fresh and I was able to go without hair wash for three days, which is a first for me. I was worried the mask might make my scalp too dry and cause flakes/dandruffs but thankfully it didn’t.

I found the dry shampoo to be the added bonus in the Loreal Clay range = for those days between shampoo when your hair starts to feel limp and flat but not bad enough to justify a wash. To use, just spray on your roots, covering problem areas, applying in sections and brushing off any excess after a couple of minutes. Great hair care range, definitely use again.

Tips: Use the pre-shampoo mask once or twice a week and the dry shampoo between washes for fresher, cleaner, lighter hair for longer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th July, 2017 at 4:13 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My new shampoo range

Well I haven't tried L'Oréal before and reading the write up on this my hair ticked all the boxes, I have to wash my hair every day as my roots get oily by the second day yet my ends become like hay. So I got the box of goodies, love the containers although the shampoo and conditioner look exactly the same so you have to read what you use don't just grab it. The clay mask was rather an interesting concept, I've used them in my face but never hair. The clay was cold and I had to figure out how to get it done to my scalp, ended up parting my hair and rubbing it in as you would colouring your roots. Took a while and smelt like clay mixed with hair colouring chemicals so not pleasant. I waited 5 minutes as required before rinsing and following with shampoo and conditioner. I wondered how the clay would rinse out but it rinsed out easily. The shampoo and conditioner both smelt the same, personally I like my hair products to smell yummy. The next morning I woke up to the most luscious head of hair!! Wow, it was awesome. I decided to see how long my hair would go before needing to be washed. Two days later I had a bit of oil so used the dry shampoo which smelt good and fixed the oil look. In the end I felt like washing it on Saturday. So it lasted 4 days. Wow, yay. On Saturday I decided to just use the shampoo and conditioner to try it on its own, my hair needs a wash tonight which is Tuesday so they lasted 2 days, I used the dry shampoo this morning to refresh. I love the way my hair is reacting to the range and am switching to this brand as my favourite. Yay!!

Tips: Treat the clay hair mask as you would a face mask, as a treat for your hair. So take the time, maybe use a comb to part your hair and rally massage it in

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd July, 2017 at 8:10 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A little beauty

Right, so when I got pregnant back in 2013 my hair type changed. Apparently, it's a common pregnancy thing but it was news to me. My easy to care for hair (if slightly sensitive scalp) was gone and in its place I had an oily, greasy, slimeball mess. Two babies within 15 months meant my hair took a hammering and I'm still trying to figure out how exactly to look after this new hair, even though my youngest is now 2.

I've tried ALL the oily hair products, the 'no poo' thang, everything. I found other systems over-stripped my hair of natural oil, which led to it creating more oil to compensate, which led me back to a greasy square one. I've used clay on my face, so why not my hair?

The whole system (clay mask, shampoo, conditioner, and dry shampoo) works beautifully together, but works just as well as separates too. It is effective, easy to use and super affordable. Every product did what it said it would, every product worked perfectly together. My hair was clean, smooth, shiny and manageable (no knots!). I was able to go 4 days without feeling a little oily, normally that happens within 24 hours!

I'm really excited about this range - it's a new essential in my bathroom.

Tips: The whole 4-step Extraordinary Clay system is a wonderful product, but each step can work by itself too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd July, 2017 at 6:30 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Worth every penny

I'm giving a 7-day review for this shampoo, which I really liked.

Day 1

I used the clay mask then applied shampoo and conditioner afterward. The shampoo is foamy so just apply a little, because a little goes a long way with this one.

Day 2

I didn't use any hair products so I can see the actual results of the shampoo. The result is amazing because before, my hair starts to get oily on day 2 but with this shampoo, my hair didn't get oily at all.

Day 3

I didn't use any hair products again to see the actual results. When I woke up, my hair is getting a BIT oily, just a bit. It stayed like that all day. I'm so impressed with this product!

Day 4

I used the dry shampoo to make my hair fresh throughout the day. It works wonders because the effect is really nice and last long enough for a day. I washed my hair during the night because I want it to be clean again.

Day 5

I didn't use any hair product. I noticed that my hair is beginning to be more manageable and easy to comb. The ends of my hair is not that tangled anymore.

Day 6

I didn't use any hair product. Still, my hair is not oily unlike before. I'm getting to love this product more and more!

Day 7

My final verdict, I washed my hair to make it fresh and clean. I really like the smell of the shampoo, non-irritating and it's thrifty to use because with just a little shampoo your hair will foam a lot!

If you have a really oily hair and don't like to wash your hair every other day like me, then you should give this shampoo a try. I really like it and it does what it says.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd July, 2017 at 12:17 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing range overall

This was such an exciting range to try out and one that I am thoroughly glad I go to try out since I have such oily hair. The element of clay was very odd at first but I am extremely impressed by how each product worked. I'd classify my hair as having oily roots and pretty limp and dry ends and finding a shampoo and conditioner has always been hard as you don't really get much offer at the drugstore that targets both let alone oily hair. I'd recommend the shampoo and conditioner as a duo for sure and to use the mask if you feel like you have exceptionally oily roots since it's a pre shampoo mask that does sorta help get the oil out as well as give it volume. I've found that during the Winter time I'm fine with just the shampoo and conditioner and just using the dry shampoo every other day.

Tips: Least favourite product is definitely the dry shampoo and would 100% recommend the shampoo itself.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st July, 2017 at 9:17 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Silky but not Oily

Absolutely loved the products in this range and would highly recommend these to all my oily haired ladies out there. After using the mask from this range, I used the shampoo and the smell was very pleasant. Now because I have thick hair with oily roots, I would normally double or triple wash but from the first wash I knew i didn't need much more although I did a double wash out of habit. The texture of the shampoo was smooth lathered very easily. As I washed off the shampoo, my hair didn't feel heavy, it was light and I felt that it had thoroughly cleaned my hair. Most shampoo's that I have tired left my hair feeling silky which added to the oiliness of my scalp. From this shampoo, my hair was left smooth. When my hair had dried, my hair was light and silky without any heaviness. I go to the gym quite frequently and run quite a lot which makes my hair a lot oilier that it usually is but it has been about 4 days now and it is just starting to get a little bit oily. I recommend using the shampoo in conjunction with the Clay Mask and the conditioner as they compliment each other well. Really recommend this product, it works just as well as the Kerastase Specifique that I currently use but a lot cheaper.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th June, 2017 at 10:09 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
LOREAL PARIS EXTRAORDINARY CLAY RANGE

I really haven't stuck to a product range before i normally like one or two from one range another piece from another range and so forth but this this has changed my mind completely im gona be sticking with this for a while and for the prices for sure for all the 4 of the products all of them together is near the same price as my purple shampoo so why not. My hair has never felt cleaner after every wash and my hair also has never felt this super soft. And i should mention ive got bleached blonde hair so this works wonders especially when my hairs wet this makes it is super managable i can brush my fingers through without ripping any hair out lol which was usually a problem but this is a main reason why i love. this they also smell so so good. But this is a must i super recommend and a must try.

Tips: You will find my reviews for each of the products in their categories.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th June, 2017 at 3:49 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
What a system!

I've always had to wash my hair every second day, so when I had the chance to try this shampoo as part of the Extraordinary Clay range I was really excited and hopeful I would 'get away' without washing so frequently.

Initially the clay pre wash masque was like a refreshing, cooling, rejuvenation for my scalp. The shampoo with a subtle scent gave a fantastic lather and bubbles which is important for me with thick hard to control hair.

The moment of truth, once I dried was clean and easy to straighten hair. The best bit though was NOT needing to wash my hair the second day- a tiny amount of the dry shampoo and I was good to go. I am absolutely sold and will be purchasing again

Tips: I thinned down the pre wash masque with a tiny amount of water to make it go further and easier to apply

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Does your foundation last all day?

Does your foundation last all day?

No, I have to touch up at least once during the day!

view results

Review of the Day
dani7331
Gentle Gel
I really like this gel cleanser. I have always been a fan of the Micellar water, so it was exciting to try something… more »