Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Manic Panic Classic Formula
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.0/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.0/5

Manic Panic Classic Formula

Overall rating:
4.0/5

Manic Panic Classic Formula semi-permanent cream hair colour. Available in 37 shades.

Some shades glow under black light.

There is also a Pastel-izer / Mixer available in the Classic Formula.

Manic Panic Classic Hair Colour made from vegan ingredients, PDD free and is NOT tested on animals. 

Pack Size: 118 ml

RRP:  $24.90

Availability:  Sinister Boutique, Various Retail outlets and Online,

Website:  www.sinister.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th May, 2014 at 10:48 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Manic Panic Bright Colours

These bright, fun colours work best on blonde hair, and really hold well. They set the bar for great bright hair dyes, however I do find it hard to justify the price when you can get Paintbox which works just as well, for half the price. If the price doesn't bother you, however, Manic Panic has a great range of colours and really looks fantastic and lasts a great amount of time.

Tips: If you don't want to spend the extra cash on a Pastel-izer, mix the colour with a white conditioner and it has the same effect - it makes the dye a gorgeous pastel colour and you save a huge amount of money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
8th May, 2014 at 12:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Average

The colour faded out to quickly even when dying blonde hair, probably not worth the price if its not going to stay in long at all. Other than that the colours are true and vibrant and do look very good when dyed over blonde.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th April, 2014 at 9:47 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The benchmark for semipermanent color

I used this in pink, and it lasted quite well (about a month). The color didn't stain the sink/bathtub quickly so it's really easy to apply, and it didn't stain my towel either. It's definitely a good product to try colors before getting it done more permanently! That said, if you're looking for a color that's lighter than the colors available and don't want to try mix conditioner in it, it'll be easier to just go to a salon.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
29th April, 2014 at 1:57 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Purple Hair

I have only used this brand for dying my hair purple what I found was that my hair didn't take the dye too well if I added too much conditioner however, if I added it straight to my hair it took colour really well it even took a little of the brassy tones out of my hair. I also found that it washed out really easily :( I will try it again if possible

Tips: Wash your hair with cold water and minimise the shampoo

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
26th April, 2014 at 2:21 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Meh

This is okay. I used it to get pink hair and it worked out. I went from dark brown (almost black) to blonde by bleaching and then used Manic Panic, it worked out it and I loved it but it didn't last long as you would expect but I found it lasted even less than I though. It is very hard to keep the colour strong and after a few washes the colour was quickly fading.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
4th April, 2014 at 12:15 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Manic Panic

I have tried Hot Hot Pink and Rock'n'Roll Red.

The red was a very nice colour, I easily got a full, even coverage, I didn't have to completely whiten my hair to get a great result. The colour faded very quickly though, even when I washed my hair in cold water. I was watching the red race down the drain. Rock'n'Roll Red only lasted a few washes for me.

Hot Hot Pink, boy was it hot. Defiantly a bright colour! This also applied evenly, and was such a bright vibrant colour. It had very good lasting power, I got a couple of weeks out of this before it started fading. I have also tried using this as a pastel colour by dulling it down with conditioner before applying it, my hair wasn't white blonde so this didn't work out too well. My hair has a few stains of pink left in it, which I am really struggling to get out.

Overall, this is an okay product. Not sure if I will purchase again, as I have heard better things about many other products.

Tips: If you want the colour to last longer, mix some manic panic with your conditioner, so every time you shower you add a little bit more colour back.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
1st April, 2014 at 8:53 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Yeah..... Nah

Tried these to see if they were better than La Riche but the Manic Panic didn't last anywhere near as long as my La Riche colours. I got La Riche: Turquoise, Violet & Flamingo Pink... and Manic Panic: Enchanted Forest, Ultra Violet & Hot Hot Pink. I don't know whether it was these colours alone, but in my hair, they didn't last long at all - a couple of weeks before they faded to ugly... where as my La Riche ones lasted around 4 weeks!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Great to know thanks, I use La Riche, but was wondering how good manic panic was

Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th March, 2014 at 7:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
These colours are amazing!

The colour range in this brand is amazing! They turn out so vibrant and last for so long I've noticed on others... but sadly not as long on me... Maybe a week tops. However, perhaps this is just my hair. They are also vegan and cruelty free so BONUS! A must have as they are readily available and cheap.

Tips: Avoid conditioning and extensive heat :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
11th February, 2014 at 11:28 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Loved my purple haze!!

I've used this dye a few times as a pastel colour as well as a darker dye. As a pastel i found it was far too much maintenance for a hair colour and gave up, I had purple streaks for a month after i'd initially died it. I recently re-dyed my hair with this product and it lasted well over a month (still vibrant) with no re-dyes. I also love that it isn't tested on animals and is vegan!!!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
31st January, 2014 at 6:40 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My Perfect Red

These very much depend on the colour.. I've had colours that just don't hold very well and others that are amazing. Vampire Red is my ultimate favourite red! applied over dark hair it gives a nice tint in sunlight.. I use this once every six weeks on the length of my hair when I touch up my roots and it keeps my red vibrant like no other!

Tips: The longer its left in the better!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

I am - I'll tell you what in the comments!

view results

Review of the Day
emilyplum78
La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel and Duo Plus
These products work as a 2 step programme to effectively control oily and… more »