Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Schwarzkopf Live Metallics Review

Schwarzkopf Live Metallics Review
Overall rating from 42 reviews so far:
3.7/5
Would use it again?
3.6/5
Did it do what it said it would?
3.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.8/5

Re-create the latest trend and achieve stunning, metallic pastel tones.

Get the perfect pastel dip-dye, highlights or all over colour. The ready to use formula requires no pre-mixing and works in just 2minutes!

Change your hair colour as often as you like!

Availability  Supermarkets, Farmers, The Warehouse, selected pharmacies

 $8.99

Website www.style-studio.co.nz



RRP: $8.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Schwarzkopf Live Metallics Review

Schwarzkopf Live Metallics Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
1.0/5
24th June, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Didn't work

I have bleached blonde hair (my profile pic on here is very out of date), and I've had success with the pastel pink in this brand, so I figured I would give the 'Rose Gold' shade in the Metallics range a go. Unfortunately this did nothing for me. This is incredibly easy to apply; as the formula is a thick paste, it doesn't drip everywhere, and it doesn't smell horrible. However, this did nothing to my hair. Granted this could be due to my hair's porosity, as I have dyed my hair about 6 different colours in the past 4 years and maybe it just didn't want to absorb the dye but nothing happened after using this, my hair looked exactly the same. The instructions were also frustrating, it said to leave on for 2-7 minutes (a pretty wide timeframe). I left it on for the full 7 and despite having the shade of blonde the packet reckons will work with the dye, nada happened.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
24th April, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Should be a tui ad!

There are only so many times I can review this product separately before I get bored of writing the same things. But for you dear reader, I will try my best.

I’ve tried 2/3 of these colors (the blue and purple). I keep going back to this brand because they’re cheap and cheerful but I actually think they’re the best product out there at the moment. It’s affordable, you’re often able to get a box of this for $5 at any supermarket, and even the Warehouse usually has it on sale. Considering it’s roughly 30ml of dye for $5, you can buy four for the same price as one bottle from a brand like Pravana ($27.90 for 90ml) or Arctic Fox ($22.90 and 118ml). Both prices from sinisterboutique.co.nz (where I usually buy treat yo self dyes).

These colors however, don’t really do anything for me. They look awesome, but in my hair I didn’t really think of them looking very metallic. They just looked like the normal colors I get with a grey base. I’m okay with that, and maybe my hair wasn’t light enough to make them work as they’re supposed to. Either way, I didn’t hate the color, but I don’t think it was correct advertising.

The product comes in a foil packet which is easy enough to squeeze out into a bowl so you can get to dying your hair. It applies easily, and it suggests to apply to damp hair so I’ve started spraying my hair with a water bottle before I do any dying. It applies a whole lot easier. Another tip if the dye is too thick is to add a bit of conditioner, it’ll loosen it right up and it also goes a bit further. Adding too much however, will cause it to go pastel.

So. They’re good dyes. They last as long as they say they do, though I find the darker colors last longer and blue definitely is harder to get out of your hair. But I like them. I wouldn’t buy these ones again but I’d go for the other dyes in this brand again and again.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
11th December, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Not for me!

Granted my hair has been through the ringer with colours over the years and it's probably been two decades since I've seen my natural colour but that also means I have used MANY different products and for me this was one of the worst. My hair was white blond after using a great white toner and I decided to give the Schwarzkopf Live Metallics Rose Gold a try. Needless to say Rose Gold was not the end result. The colour was a bit orangish and super blotchy. It basically just ruined the white tone and brought up some horrible orange hues by the roots. Did not take AT ALL on the ends. I immediately washed it twice to remove said hues but they remained even after a purple shampoo so I used a semi permanent peach dye to cover the tones till I could get some more of the white toner from the UK. Easy to apply, doesn't smell bad but a waste of money if you ask me.

Tips: Test on your tips before using on whole head.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
30th November, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Uneven Results

I'm always keen to try something different with my hair, so I was excited by the opportunity to try the Rose Gold shade of this product. Currently my hair is light blonde with some pretty serious regrowth.

The product was easy to apply - just shampoo your hair, then tear open the sachet and apply to your hair. According to the instructions leaving the colour in for 10-15 minutes would produce the strongest effect (as opposed to 3 minutes for a translucent effect). By the time I got back in the shower to wash it out it must have been in my hair for at least 20 minutes.

When I washed the dye out I discovered I had two totally different effects going on. My fringe has been dyed a clear pink, extending a little either side of my fringe. The rest of my hair seemed to have a clear metallic sparkle and very subtle rose gold sheen. This description makes it sound more exciting than it is - my husband commented it hadn't done anything to the rest of my hair, and it's only on close inspection that I decided it was a little different. The lengths are a NICE shade, but nice as in something you would get at the hairdresser as a permanent, elegant, natural look - not the fun, zany experimentation of a semi-permenant dye. As for the fringe, I'm not a fan. It's undoubtedly pink, in a shade that is not flattering to skin tones.

I can't figure out why it has taken in two completely different shades like this. I used two packets of dye for my longish hair and it seemed sufficient.

Do I recommend this product? No, sadly I do not. It is a very affordable price and I love the fact it is semi-permenant, but I just do not enjoy the results.

Tips: Buy two or more packets if you're going to try this on long hair.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th November, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Princess is converted!

I'm a self confessed precious princess when it comes to my blonde hair. NO ONE touches it but my hair dresser. It's my crown!

BUT my annoying sister convinced me to give this a go for Halloween, I was going as an evil mermaid. I must have been tipsy because nek minute we were off buying this in all three shades - lilac, rose gold and blue/grey.

I washed and towel dried my hair and big sis applied it for me, I have fine hair but quite a lot of it. She just kind of picked up 1 cm sections and rubbed the colours through with gloved hands. I was a bit concerned to be honest, I wanted to leave it on for 2 minutes and here we were 10 minutes later and still applying it.

Anyhoo it was finally rinse time, so I rinsed and rinsed and then I applied a treatment, just because I was convinced my hair was going to be ruined. (salon snob, don't judge me!)

Once dried, holy moly - it was stunning. It caught the light, but wasn't overwhelmingly bright. I think pastel might be a bit of a stretch, but the look was great. Even colour and the three shades actually worked really well to create a mermaid look. Most importantly - it wasn't just a fancy dress look, I didn't actually mind wearing it out and about.

It only took about 5 washes for the colour to wash out, I'm happy with that. It cost me about $15 for the whole look, these were on special at the big red shed, so I can't moan about the cost, and it wasn't messy.

I'd definitely not be shy about giving the Live range a go in the future.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
13th November, 2017
0 members found this review useful
No blonde staining! YUS!

I ave ombred brown to light blonde hair, its thick and there's a lot of it. I usually use at least two packs of colour for a full head. Even though I was planning on only colouring my ends, probably 1/3 of my total hair, I was convinced I would need at least 3 packs of the Live Metallics - the sachets are teeny tiny, about the size of the conditioner you usually get with a box colour.

I decided I'd use the pack I'd been sent, see how I got on and buy more if I liked it. Turns out I didn't need to - the thick, conditioner style product was plenty for what I wanted to achieve. I found by combing it through methodically it went really quite far, I even had a blob left at the end to do that final 'smush-on leftover colour' we home colourers do!

It's a pretty mess free product to use and if you do get it on your vanity/shower it wipes right off with no staining.

So you leave it anywhere from 2-10 minutes, I left it for about 8 and then rinsed. I did condition as usual, even though my hair didn't feel dry from the product.

The colour payout was really good, almost an intense pastel is you will. It was bordering on not being pastel, but it wasn't neon by any means. My hair was definitely shiny too and the shine lasted maybe 4 washes before it was that washed-out pastel look.

I'm really happy with the product - its a fun easy way to change up your look, and when the final colour has washed away (for me that was wash 10) it leaves no staining on the blonde, which is brilliant.

Cheap, fun and surprisingly effective. What more can a low maintenance gal ask for?!

Tips: Have more than one pack in if you're attempting a full head, and comb through methodically, but quickly, especially if you're going for a more subtle pastel. If you move too slowly your starting point will be quite intense for the first couple of washes.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
29th October, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Schwarzkopf Live Metallics - Lilac Chrome

I was not prepared for this! It auctually worked and I ended up with bright purple hair. For this review I used 3 boxes of the product. I applied to towel dried hair & let set for 10 minutes (I think maybe it was more like 15). I then washed it out, combed and blow dried. I absolutely freaked out at how intense the colour was, I was no longer blonde. So the product definitely does as it says! My hair felt soft and I thought well done Schwarzkopt on delivering what you state on the box. However, I was now in complete melt down mode. But thats cool because the box says it lasts up to 8 washes - so back in the shower I get to wash my hair 8 times, maybe 10 for good measure. Uuummmm... no - I now have lilac hair. It seems the product has attached itself (quite nicely) to my array of platinum locks... long story short I have washed my hair at least 30 times in the past week and I'm still sporting a head of purple/lilac hair. But at least I can say it does what it says its going to do. I have an appointment with my hairdresser tomorrow, I'm praying that after she slaps me for doing this she'll then fix my mane.

Tips: Think carefully... do I really want purple hair? If yes then go for it - you'll be super pleased. If any doubt perhaps not.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
sarahellaoverton
1st December, 2017

Haha, oh dear! I hope you got back the hair you wanted!

Overall rating:
4.7/5
28th October, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Schwarzkophf Live Metallics: Lavender Chrome

I love the idea of this product. Love the versatility of a semi/ wash out colour. Great for a costume party or a fun weekend away or just to add a little colour to your life. I am reviewing Lavender Chrome. I love this colour. When I first put in my hair as per instructions it was very vibrant, pearlsent, and soft shimmery. Not so much metallic. When I washed my hair for the first time a few days later the colour didn't hold too well which was disappointing. Again when I washed my hair for the second time more of the colour come out. I do still have hints of lavender in my hair still which is lovely. I love the versatility of this product. It's fun and vibrant and as an wash out ( lasts up to 8 washes) it's great for everyone of all ages looking to change their hair for a short time. I recommend to anyone wanting to add shimmer shine and a little grove to their hair. The metallic adds a little rock and roll. I enjoyed reviewing Schwarzkophf Live Metallic Lavender. I would definitely use it again.

Tips: Personally, I would leave the colour in a little longer than recommend. As the the colour didn't hold as much as I would have liked.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th October, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Quick, cheap, shiny, amazing

Awesome colour! Gorgeous metallic, quite a light lilac but that may be because I didn’t leave the colour on for as long as I should have (but I like it quite pastel) I found that it clings quite a bit more to my whiter highlights and lasted longer than the average amount of washes but that may be because I am very blonde. One bottle may be good for the tips of hair or an ombré look but definitely 2+ bottles are needed for a full head. I’ve found no damage or dryness from the colouring & my hair dresser approves! Will be awesome for my New Years festivals. Easy application, quick and cheap. Awesome to test out what you’ll look like with coloured hair without the commitment!!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.0/5
27th October, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Average hair colour

I was really excited to test this product because I had never heard of a metallic hair colour before. When I saw that this was available to review I got so excited!

I have used a lot of these Live colours before so i know what they're like. However this was my first time trying a metallic one, and I was a bit disappointed.

If it was marketed as just a plain hair colour that wasn't metallic, I would have been happy. The colour was vibrant and even on my bleached blonde hair, and it was easy to apply.

My problem with this product is that I did not see any metallicness in it whatsoever. My hair did not look any shinier or reflective in the spots where I put the dye (large streaks throughout my hair), and overall it just looked like a plain purple hair colour. Not that that's a bad thing; it just wasn't what it was marketed as.

I did ask my partner if he thought it looked metallic, and he said it looked a bit shinier than the rest of my hair. I personally didn't see that at all.

Overall, while I did really like the purple colour this dye gave my hair, I'm disappointed that it didn't live up to be metallic like it said it would.

Tips: Use if you have blonde hair to get the best results, and leave on for at least 15 minutes.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
jenileeX
27th October, 2017

I also only received one box which wasn't enough to do my whole head, only a few streaks which might be why I did not see the metallic effect that was meant to be there.