Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Kotia
Kotia

Schwarzkopf Live Metallics Review

Schwarzkopf Live Metallics Review
Overall rating from 43 reviews so far:
3.7/5
Would use it again?
3.6/5
Did it do what it said it would?
3.7/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.7/5

Re-create the latest trend and achieve stunning, metallic pastel tones.

Get the perfect pastel dip-dye, highlights or all over colour. The ready to use formula requires no pre-mixing and works in just 2minutes!

Change your hair colour as often as you like!

Availability  Supermarkets, Farmers, The Warehouse, selected pharmacies

 $8.99

Website www.style-studio.co.nz



RRP: $8.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Schwarzkopf Live Metallics Review

Schwarzkopf Live Metallics Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
1.0/5
25th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Avoid if you don't want stained hair

I tested out the blue shade in my bleached blonde hair for a festival, let's just say 2 months later my hair was still stained with a horrible green tinge. This resulted in me having to get it professionally removed at a huge cost. I will admit it did look great for the first few washes then it faded horribly into a green that would not wash out of my hair.

Tips: While it was easy to use and did give the desired look it unfortunately did not wash out as it stated it would. I'm not sure what the other colours are like but I personally wouldn't risk it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
24th June, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Didn't work

I have bleached blonde hair (my profile pic on here is very out of date), and I've had success with the pastel pink in this brand, so I figured I would give the 'Rose Gold' shade in the Metallics range a go. Unfortunately this did nothing for me. This is incredibly easy to apply; as the formula is a thick paste, it doesn't drip everywhere, and it doesn't smell horrible. However, this did nothing to my hair. Granted this could be due to my hair's porosity, as I have dyed my hair about 6 different colours in the past 4 years and maybe it just didn't want to absorb the dye but nothing happened after using this, my hair looked exactly the same. The instructions were also frustrating, it said to leave on for 2-7 minutes (a pretty wide timeframe). I left it on for the full 7 and despite having the shade of blonde the packet reckons will work with the dye, nada happened.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
24th April, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Should be a tui ad!

There are only so many times I can review this product separately before I get bored of writing the same things. But for you dear reader, I will try my best.

I’ve tried 2/3 of these colors (the blue and purple). I keep going back to this brand because they’re cheap and cheerful but I actually think they’re the best product out there at the moment. It’s affordable, you’re often able to get a box of this for $5 at any supermarket, and even the Warehouse usually has it on sale. Considering it’s roughly 30ml of dye for $5, you can buy four for the same price as one bottle from a brand like Pravana ($27.90 for 90ml) or Arctic Fox ($22.90 and 118ml). Both prices from sinisterboutique.co.nz (where I usually buy treat yo self dyes).

These colors however, don’t really do anything for me. They look awesome, but in my hair I didn’t really think of them looking very metallic. They just looked like the normal colors I get with a grey base. I’m okay with that, and maybe my hair wasn’t light enough to make them work as they’re supposed to. Either way, I didn’t hate the color, but I don’t think it was correct advertising.

The product comes in a foil packet which is easy enough to squeeze out into a bowl so you can get to dying your hair. It applies easily, and it suggests to apply to damp hair so I’ve started spraying my hair with a water bottle before I do any dying. It applies a whole lot easier. Another tip if the dye is too thick is to add a bit of conditioner, it’ll loosen it right up and it also goes a bit further. Adding too much however, will cause it to go pastel.

So. They’re good dyes. They last as long as they say they do, though I find the darker colors last longer and blue definitely is harder to get out of your hair. But I like them. I wouldn’t buy these ones again but I’d go for the other dyes in this brand again and again.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
30th November, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Uneven Results

I'm always keen to try something different with my hair, so I was excited by the opportunity to try the Rose Gold shade of this product. Currently my hair is light blonde with some pretty serious regrowth.

The product was easy to apply - just shampoo your hair, then tear open the sachet and apply to your hair. According to the instructions leaving the colour in for 10-15 minutes would produce the strongest effect (as opposed to 3 minutes for a translucent effect). By the time I got back in the shower to wash it out it must have been in my hair for at least 20 minutes.

When I washed the dye out I discovered I had two totally different effects going on. My fringe has been dyed a clear pink, extending a little either side of my fringe. The rest of my hair seemed to have a clear metallic sparkle and very subtle rose gold sheen. This description makes it sound more exciting than it is - my husband commented it hadn't done anything to the rest of my hair, and it's only on close inspection that I decided it was a little different. The lengths are a NICE shade, but nice as in something you would get at the hairdresser as a permanent, elegant, natural look - not the fun, zany experimentation of a semi-permenant dye. As for the fringe, I'm not a fan. It's undoubtedly pink, in a shade that is not flattering to skin tones.

I can't figure out why it has taken in two completely different shades like this. I used two packets of dye for my longish hair and it seemed sufficient.

Do I recommend this product? No, sadly I do not. It is a very affordable price and I love the fact it is semi-permenant, but I just do not enjoy the results.

Tips: Buy two or more packets if you're going to try this on long hair.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th November, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Princess is converted!

I'm a self confessed precious princess when it comes to my blonde hair. NO ONE touches it but my hair dresser. It's my crown!

BUT my annoying sister convinced me to give this a go for Halloween, I was going as an evil mermaid. I must have been tipsy because nek minute we were off buying this in all three shades - lilac, rose gold and blue/grey.

I washed and towel dried my hair and big sis applied it for me, I have fine hair but quite a lot of it. She just kind of picked up 1 cm sections and rubbed the colours through with gloved hands. I was a bit concerned to be honest, I wanted to leave it on for 2 minutes and here we were 10 minutes later and still applying it.

Anyhoo it was finally rinse time, so I rinsed and rinsed and then I applied a treatment, just because I was convinced my hair was going to be ruined. (salon snob, don't judge me!)

Once dried, holy moly - it was stunning. It caught the light, but wasn't overwhelmingly bright. I think pastel might be a bit of a stretch, but the look was great. Even colour and the three shades actually worked really well to create a mermaid look. Most importantly - it wasn't just a fancy dress look, I didn't actually mind wearing it out and about.

It only took about 5 washes for the colour to wash out, I'm happy with that. It cost me about $15 for the whole look, these were on special at the big red shed, so I can't moan about the cost, and it wasn't messy.

I'd definitely not be shy about giving the Live range a go in the future.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
13th November, 2017
0 members found this review useful
No blonde staining! YUS!

I ave ombred brown to light blonde hair, its thick and there's a lot of it. I usually use at least two packs of colour for a full head. Even though I was planning on only colouring my ends, probably 1/3 of my total hair, I was convinced I would need at least 3 packs of the Live Metallics - the sachets are teeny tiny, about the size of the conditioner you usually get with a box colour.

I decided I'd use the pack I'd been sent, see how I got on and buy more if I liked it. Turns out I didn't need to - the thick, conditioner style product was plenty for what I wanted to achieve. I found by combing it through methodically it went really quite far, I even had a blob left at the end to do that final 'smush-on leftover colour' we home colourers do!

It's a pretty mess free product to use and if you do get it on your vanity/shower it wipes right off with no staining.

So you leave it anywhere from 2-10 minutes, I left it for about 8 and then rinsed. I did condition as usual, even though my hair didn't feel dry from the product.

The colour payout was really good, almost an intense pastel is you will. It was bordering on not being pastel, but it wasn't neon by any means. My hair was definitely shiny too and the shine lasted maybe 4 washes before it was that washed-out pastel look.

I'm really happy with the product - its a fun easy way to change up your look, and when the final colour has washed away (for me that was wash 10) it leaves no staining on the blonde, which is brilliant.

Cheap, fun and surprisingly effective. What more can a low maintenance gal ask for?!

Tips: Have more than one pack in if you're attempting a full head, and comb through methodically, but quickly, especially if you're going for a more subtle pastel. If you move too slowly your starting point will be quite intense for the first couple of washes.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
29th October, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Schwarzkopf Live Metallics - Lilac Chrome

I was not prepared for this! It auctually worked and I ended up with bright purple hair. For this review I used 3 boxes of the product. I applied to towel dried hair & let set for 10 minutes (I think maybe it was more like 15). I then washed it out, combed and blow dried. I absolutely freaked out at how intense the colour was, I was no longer blonde. So the product definitely does as it says! My hair felt soft and I thought well done Schwarzkopt on delivering what you state on the box. However, I was now in complete melt down mode. But thats cool because the box says it lasts up to 8 washes - so back in the shower I get to wash my hair 8 times, maybe 10 for good measure. Uuummmm... no - I now have lilac hair. It seems the product has attached itself (quite nicely) to my array of platinum locks... long story short I have washed my hair at least 30 times in the past week and I'm still sporting a head of purple/lilac hair. But at least I can say it does what it says its going to do. I have an appointment with my hairdresser tomorrow, I'm praying that after she slaps me for doing this she'll then fix my mane.

Tips: Think carefully... do I really want purple hair? If yes then go for it - you'll be super pleased. If any doubt perhaps not.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
sarahellaoverton
1st December, 2017

Haha, oh dear! I hope you got back the hair you wanted!

Overall rating:
2.0/5
27th October, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Average hair colour

I was really excited to test this product because I had never heard of a metallic hair colour before. When I saw that this was available to review I got so excited!

I have used a lot of these Live colours before so i know what they're like. However this was my first time trying a metallic one, and I was a bit disappointed.

If it was marketed as just a plain hair colour that wasn't metallic, I would have been happy. The colour was vibrant and even on my bleached blonde hair, and it was easy to apply.

My problem with this product is that I did not see any metallicness in it whatsoever. My hair did not look any shinier or reflective in the spots where I put the dye (large streaks throughout my hair), and overall it just looked like a plain purple hair colour. Not that that's a bad thing; it just wasn't what it was marketed as.

I did ask my partner if he thought it looked metallic, and he said it looked a bit shinier than the rest of my hair. I personally didn't see that at all.

Overall, while I did really like the purple colour this dye gave my hair, I'm disappointed that it didn't live up to be metallic like it said it would.

Tips: Use if you have blonde hair to get the best results, and leave on for at least 15 minutes.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
jenileeX
27th October, 2017

I also only received one box which wasn't enough to do my whole head, only a few streaks which might be why I did not see the metallic effect that was meant to be there.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
26th October, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Metallic Purple

I applied to trial this dye because I've been wanting to go purple again for ages now, and this seemed like the perfect opportunity. My hair is naturally a medium - dark blonde, lightened with the Schwarzkopf Nordic Blonde in the shade Silver Blonde. Before dying, my tips were a very faded blue (from years of dying) and looked almost mint green. It is fairly long, but thin - hanging to about the middle of my back.

When I first opened the dye I was very excited by the tone of it, it's quite a blue purple. Like the other temporary dyes in this range, you receive a small sachet of colour in the box and not much else - although this one does come with gloves too. Using the trial packet, I chose to create a new dip dye look. One sachet was enough to do from the ends almost up to my shoulders. I left it on for the longest recommended time (10-15 minutes) before rinsing out well. I found that it left my hair feeling slightly soapy afterwards, despite thorough rinsing, but the colour was BRIGHT.

I decided to get extra dye to do all of my hair. In total it took 4 boxes to get a mostly even coverage over my entire head. After rinsing I put a little conditioner through my hair which got rid of the soapy feeling. With the different tones in my hair I have shades from bright purple to an almost rosy gold. In the sunlight I feel like the metallic effect is quite noticeable, my hair is shiny and the different tones show it off. It is brighter than I expected but certainly not in a bad way, I adore the tone and having purple hair again! Very little washed out on the first wash so it seems like it is going to last a while too - and now I have to go to a job interview with bright purple hair!

I think this dye would be perfect for a temporary dip dye, but gets a little expensive to do an all over colour regularly.

Tips: Use a little conditioner after rinsing to prevent the soapy feeling in your hair

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
26th October, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Rose Gold

I have natural light-medium blonde hair which is around the bottom of my shoulder blades and I have a lot of it so I was sent two packets but probably could have done with three. The product comes in sachets which I opened before application with little difficulty. Like most hair dyes it had a scent that couldn't be described as pleasant, but wasn't too offensive. I left it in for 20 mins and then rinsed it out in the shower easily. The colour wasn't what I would call metallic and was rather subtle - maybe because I left it in for 20 mins. I have a few stray greys by my ears and they grabbed the colour a lot more than the rest of my hair. I am currently on day 5 of my colour and have washed every day and the colour is yet to fade but in the past I have had colours far outlast their wash limit.

Tips: Buy an extra pack than what the instructions say

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.