Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Schwarzkopf Colour Specialist Review

Schwarzkopf Colour Specialist Review
Overall rating from 28 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.4/5

The Schwarzkopf Colour Specialist is the first retail hair colour range to feature the salon ‘plex’ technology. The range features their revolutionary Professional Anti-Breakage Technology OMEGAPLEX® - it’s the technology that changes everything!  

Mixed into the colour cream, the exclusive OMEGAPLEX® Professional Anti-Breakage Technology is the powerful combination of Succinic Acid and Amino-Acids with Hybrid Polymers to reinforce and protect the hair while colouring. This unique technology protects the hair from damage and dramatically reduces hair breakage.    In nine gorgeous shades preventing up to 90% of hair breakage for visibly healthier hair, the formula ensures an extra long-lasting, intense colour result with 100% grey coverage. The repair sealer application works to maximise repair and colour retention, so you no longer have to worry about your colour fading.

Schwarzkopf’s Colour Specialist with OMEGAPLEX® uses a 3-Step Professional Anti-Breakage Bonding Technology for up to 90% less hair breakage and longer-lasting hair colour;   The Anti-Breakage serum is mixed into the colouration process and protects the inner bonds during colouring.  The revolutionary Repair Sealer, used after colouring, strengthens and repairs microbonds inside the hair fibres to seal and extend colour intensity. Finally, the Repair Reviver is applied after three weeks to reseal the micro-bonds and reinforce colour retention.  

Availability  Supermarkets, Farmers, The Warehouse, selected pharmacies

 

Website www.style-studio.co.nz



RRP: $19.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Schwarzkopf Colour Specialist Review

Schwarzkopf Colour Specialist Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.7/5
29th June, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Schwarzkopf Colour Specialist

I recently purchased this to help cover up about three inches of regrowth and was undecided about which colour to go with. In the end i chose 10.1, Ultra Light Blonde. The difference in this product is that there are four stages. The first is the little packet of serum that is added to the developer. The next is the colour, which is standard add colour to developer and mix well. Application to my roots was easy and not drippy. Rinsing seemed to not take as long before the water ran clear. Not sure why, but i love it! Third is the deep conditioner, the Repair Sealer conditioner, which again is a standard step. This conditioner was thick and luscious and stayed on my hair pretty well. Rinsing it out, it still seemed that a fine layer was on my hair, but not enough to weigh it down. The last step is the Repair Reviver conditioner, which is to be used three weeks after colouring. Again, there was a generous amount of thick, balm like conditioner. I really liked this system. I love how the colour seems to 'take' and not take long to rinse off. I wonder if it's the serum? My hair was soft and manageable, and three weeks later, my colour is still fresh, my hair is still soft, manageable and shiny.

Tips: Don't forget to patch test first.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th June, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Schwarzkopf Colour Specialist Review

I've loved this hair dye, straight after dying my hair I had 100% grey coverage (yay I'm not ready to be grey yet) and my hair looked beautiful and shiney and felt really smooth which really loved about this product, usually after using other products it still feels quite coarse. Usually after using other products my grey roots are already starting to show but I've still got beautiful coloured hair so definitely 5 stars for longer lasting colour. My hair is still smooth and looks in really good condition and ive definitely had less breakage than when using any other hair dye product. I would definitely use this again and would recommend this to anyone else especially woman wanting great grey coverage and shinier healthy looking hair after dying it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th June, 2017
0 members found this review useful
So much better than I was expecting.

This product had a lot of promises that I was not sure it was actually going to live up to. However I was pleasantly surprised. I originally had dark brown hair with grown out dye lengths. Also hair was very dry and damaged. I got the Imperial Brown 3.0 shade to colour my hair with.

IMPRESSIONS -In the kit was a little anti breakage serum pack. It looked really small but must have been quite concentrated as I felt the hair was repaired and looked healthier(much better condition than what it originally was when I started) after dying my hair. -Also really glad to have noticed that I did not have any allergic reaction(burning sensation on the scalp) while waiting for the dye to process. -While rinsing hair out, I noticed that the hair was not tangled like it usually is. Even while brushing it out to style, with other at home dye kits it is usually impossible; but it was just so easy with this product. -I don't know what to compare it to but this product smelt really good. It did not smell like chemicals and it was not overpowering. -I had really long (waist length) thick polynesian hair. I had 4/5 inches of hair cut but due to the thickness of my hair one box of dye (which was used) was not enough to colour all of my hair which was a bummer.

Overall, this product was so much better than I was expecting. I love the colour and the conditioning elements of the serum and repair sealer. I will be using this product again.

Tips: If you have thick hair, I would recommend 2 boxes of colour. If you have thick waist length hair you would probably want to go with 3 boxes of colour just to make sure that all of the hair gets an even distribution of product.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th June, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Superior colour

Fantastic colour, covered the grey and left my hair shiny and soft. Brilliant colour, hasn't faded at all after 7 days of washing. Would definitely use again. Highly recommend

Tips: Definitely use this if you want to cover your grey :-)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th June, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Great coverage

I have rather long brown hair that has been streaked/highlighted with bleach and covered over in different tonings - this is to help disguise the greys!

The over colours are starting to fade out leaving a bleached look with dark regrowth.

My hair is also quote dry/knotty.

As you can probably tell, my hair is really going to put this dye to test!

I decided to use the light brown - so the change would look more natural and not overly dramatic.

I was quite surprised when applying the hair dye that their was enough to cover my whole hair (normally I really have to massage the colour in to make a full hair cover). I left the dye in for the recommended 30 minutes (plus a little bit more!).

When rinsing out the dye, I was very happy to find that the colour rinsed out quite quickly (often I feel like it is never-ending getting the dye out), I then squeezed out most to the water and massaged in half the packet of conditioner, which I left on for approx. 2 minutes.

The results are great - I was concerned that I may get greenish colour over the lighter bleached parts, but this didn't happen at all - I have quite an even colour, with a few lighter brown highlights and NO grey, plus I could comb my hair without it knotting up.

I am definitely going to reapply this colour when required!

Tips: I also dye my hair outside with a mirror - so no clean up required when applying the dye!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
18th June, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Colour Specialist

Thank you BR for this trial. I selected the shade 3.0 Imperial Brown as I have medium/dark brown hair - with far too many greys on top!

The products are all in your normal box, but looks quite appealing. There is a lot of information on the box that explains the Omegaplex professional anti-breakage technology which is quite handy. The box is also informative on what products are included and how to use them.

Included is a colour crème, developer, anti-breakage serum (which you add & mix with the crème & developer), after colouring repair sealer (applied after rinsing colour out to towel dried hair & left on for 2minutes), after 3 weeks repair reviver and instructions & gloves.

I found this product really easy to use, and given that there are a couple of extra steps than other products, it didn't bother me. I did however find the colour crème was quite thick & took some time to squeeze out of the tube, once I eventually got it out it took a while to get it all mixed with the developer because of how thick it was. One thing I noticed also was how strong/potent the product was while applying and rinsing. However the after colouring repair sealer smelt sooo good & took that smell away. The best part of using this was how amazingly soft my hair felt after using this - I was actually gobsmacked - I couldn't stop running my fingers through my hair, it stayed soft for at least the following 3 days.

As I said the top of my hair was absolutely covered in grey hairs and I was really pleased about the result of this product. It gave 100% coverage, there are no grey hairs peaking through at all (which has never happened after using an at home hair colour). The colour result I got was surprisingly exactly as shown on the box. I also noticed that the dye didn't leave any marks on my pillow the first night.

I applied this a week ago and haven't noticed any fading yet - it still looks fresh and new. Given the timeframe for the trial period I haven't applied the "after 3 weeks repair reviver" so I look forward to seeing how that makes my hair feel!

Tips: Have some wipes nearby to get any splashes of dye off your skin; apply in an open room because of the strong scent.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th June, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Imperial Brown review

i was so pleased to get to try this for review, i choose Imperial Brown as i have dark brown hair, at the time of dyeing i also had about 10-15cm of regrowth (which included greys) in the box, it had the bottle a tube serum after wash conditioner, 3 week later conditioner and a pair of gloves. i dye my hair at home all the time, so have used quite a few over the years. i love this hair dye, there is only one thing i didn't like about it, and that was the gloves, for a $20 box of hair dye i was expecting some better gloves, not ones that felt like plastic supermarket bags. but other than that it was great, i followed the instructions for dyeing with regrowth, i found getting the colour out of the tube a little difficult, but that could have been because its was freezing cold, so warming in my hands should have softened it. it was easy to mix and easy to put on, the mixture was creamy, but not to thick, and not runny, i didn't have any drips while using it. the smell wasn't to bad compared to others i used. after the roots where done, waited 30mins then did the rest and waited i think and extra 10mins. i found it easy to wash out. the after dye conditioner was great, more than enough, if i had shorter hair i could have got away with halfing it. now for the most important part, after its all done, and its dried, my hair felt amazing, and it smells like perfume which was really weird to get used to. the day after i dyed my hair looked like the day after i have straightened it, so still straight but with a bit of volume, which is great since i have super wavy thick hair. my hair feels smooth, and for the first time in years ive been able to brush it without it poofing out. the colour blended so well, but it was a little darker than i expected it to be, but its fine cause i love it. i think this will be my go to hair dye from now on.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th June, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Schwarzkopf colour review

I LOVED this result of this product! I chose cool light brown to review, thinking the operative word was 'light' however it was a lot darker than I expected. The package contains the developer and colour mix, an after care conditioning product, as well as a product to use in 3 weeks time to help maintain the colour and condition. When I went to grab the gloves, I noticed a wee plastic package of oil stuck to the instructions. I usually never read them but in this case I did a wee scan and as instructed, emptied the oil into the developer along with the colour mix. I really loved the creaminess of the product and the way it made my hair feel afterwards but the smell was way over the top. My daughter tried to pass my phone to me while I was mid application and found it hard to breath...she does on-scalp bleach and very used to the smell of ammonia but this was too strong for her to bare.

I had about half inch of grey on the front of my scalp that I was desperate to cover so I started there first and then did a full coverage application. It covered my grey's really well and left my hair feeling and looking so good. I love the colour, I had been trying to warm up my hair colour, going from almost black to light warm brown with highlights but in the process I realized that it doesn't suit my skin tone. I will definitely be repurchasing this and cool light brown is now my colour!

Tips: Please open a window during application and don't apply next to small animals or grumpy young adults. Don't forget to apply the extra conditioning treatment after 3 weeks.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
9th June, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Colour: Imperial Brown

I was lucky enough to be picked for this trial. This is definitely a lot fancier than any other home colouring I've done, with the anti-breakage serum you mix into the colour and the extra condition that you use 3 weeks later - I appreciate that. Mixing it up was easy and there was no unpleant smell (while mixing). Application was easy - I always do it myself. I have longish hair but it's thin so one bottle was enough for my hair. There wasn't a strong over powering smell but my eyes did watery from the fumes or vapours. I'm not sure how to explain it, but there is no unpleasant smell. I did find it took me AGES to rinse out - longer than other hair dyes I've used. That's not such a biggy though. The conditioner was really nice and smelt so good! I don't know if it's because it is actually a really nice smelling one or if it's because I've been using a natural bar shampoo and ACV rinse. Either way it smelt really good and my hair felt really nice and didn't explode into a ball of frizz once it dries. Now, the anti-breakage claim: I don't know if it was the hair dye or the fact that I have changed to a more natural way of cleansing my hair, but the breakage was definitely less while I was combing through the conditioner. The true test for me will be when I was with my natural shampoo and my ACV rinse to see how well the colour will stay. The end result though was a beautiful rich brown colour. Definitely impressed and will repurchase this product again.

Tips: *UPDATE: so I washed my hair about a week after colouring and I noticed a bit of colour running when I washed with my bar shampoo, possibly from the colour being on my scalp? The rinished with ACV and water. Once my hair dried the colour was still rich and dark. There was no fading what so ever! So I am extremely happy and this is now my go to hair colour. Really impressed

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th June, 2017
2 members found this review useful
My New Favourite Hair Colour

I was super lucky to get this trial from the lovely Beauty Review themselves - thanks lovelies xxx

I got the shade in 5.65 Chocolate Brown, usually I like to dye my hair with purple and black shades so was very excited to try something totally different.

Preparation was super easy, I just had to make sure my hair had not been washed that day as the hair dye doesn't stick to the hair very well. So far easy peasy.

Mixing - was pretty basic too, just needed to take the little anti-breakage serum and put this into the application bottle along with the hair dye as well. The instructions are so easy to follow, which is great if you don't like things too technical lol. Also the bottle was easy to use, just squeeze out as much as you need onto the hair.

Application - I got hubby to do the application as I'm a shocker when it comes to doing it myself, I tend to miss patches. He found it easy to work with, although he didn't like the gloves, found them too slippery and moved too often. Could be a male thing as I find them okay to use ha ha ha. He was going to go and get some rubber gloves and I told him no way, he had to use the gloves that came with the hair dye.

Rinsing - wow, I was actually amazed at the time it took to rinse the hair dye out. Usually I rinse it off in the shower and it takes an age, but this was so much quicker. When I could see no colour coming through after rinsing, I applied the repair sealer, which was fairly straight forward. The only thing I didn't like is the fact the tear part on the sachet was not that great and didn't come right off and had to get scissors which is a pain when you are already in the shower. Thank goodness for kiddies who ran to get them for me he he he.

Results - WOW, just WOW. I am in love with the colour so much, covered my grey perfectly and it looks like I just got it done at a Salon. Even hubby liked it and proceeded to tell me he preferred it to the black and purple I usually use. It felt so silky and smooth and looks very shiny and healthy. The colour on me is a little darker and comes out more a rich dark chocolate brown than a light chocolate brown which I am super happy with. My hair shade is usually a very dark brown, but before the hair dye was done it was a quarter grey and the rest dark brown/reddish.

Definitely would consider getting this in the future - I think this just maybe my holy grail hair dye.

It also came with a 3 week conditioner which I will update you with in 3 weeks time and let you know about how well the colour is holding.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Mumof3Munchkins
20th June, 2017

Thanks lovely xx

MareeB
20th June, 2017

Awesome review mumof3, if I was still colouring my hair I'd try it!