Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Garnier Fructis Hair Food Goji Reviews
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.3/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.3/5

Garnier Fructis Hair Food Goji Reviews

Overall rating:
4.3/5

Garnier Fructis Protecting Goji Hair Food can be used as a conditioner, hair mask and as a leave-in treatment. It revives radiance of coloured hair and protects from damage, leaving hair vibrant and healthy. 

Enriched with goji, soya and coconut oils, the 98 per cent natural origin formula is free of parabens, silicones and artificial colourants.

RRP: $12.99

Availability: Selected department stores, pharmacies and online

Websitewww.garnier.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
15th July, 2018 at 1:56 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Really Good!

Heads up...bit of a salon snob here. Only because I have tape in extensions, so I try to buy the best products to look after them. Which usually means the more expensive products. Sigh.

Goji was the perfect flavour for me - protects from damage. Well - bleach processing and heat styling would definitely make me a good candidate for a protective treatment.

The pot is HUGE. Bigger than usual hair mask tubs. It looks really cool, like an organic ice cream or something. Tubs are a bit problematic in the shower, but I just leave it out of the stream of water, so its no real drama.

The product is a very thick cream, but also seems a bit aerated, not quite a mousse, but not a heavy, dense cream if that makes sense? It smells gorgeous!

So my hair/extensions are to my mid back. I needed maybe 2 x 50c size dollops for a deep condition. Very good going!

As a conditioner I found it instantly smoothed my hair, and my hair after was manageable and easy to style. As an intensive treatment I left it in for about an hour. After rinsing my hair was ridiculously soft and shiny - it felt like silk!

The price is great, especially for the size of the tub. You'll get months of use out of it.

The only reason I haven't given it full marks is I was hoping for less fluffy hair. I definitely need serum after use to tame the fluffies.

Other than that - I really like this supermarket find!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.3/5
13th July, 2018 at 11:53 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Other uses are better uses

I love a good, thick intense conditioner. I was really looking forward to using this one, so when I opened it I was delighted to see my finger marks left in it when I scooped some out - thickness = tick. I thought the scent was very strong, but knew it would be diluted so I liked that it would linger in my hair after as it’s a delicious summery smell to be wafting around with your locks. The packaging claims are clever, and the way it’s broken down makes it easy to see how they have substantiated them. But, it’s with a heavy heart that I have to say it has many flaws. The scent goes a bit burnt fruit odour when it’s on your hair, the thick gloopy texture doesn’t transfer once applied so it’s not so intense after all, the packaging is too big for my shower caddy and clumsy to handle on the shower floor when you have one hand full of product and your trying to stop the tub filling up with water. My hair looked great for the first half of the day, but because there was no volume from the conditioning treatment (although it doesn’t claim to give volume so can’t really criticise that) it had that stuck to your head look by the end of the day, and you certainly feel the need to wash again on day 2. I tried it as an every day conditioner after the first treatment go, but it’s not really worth the hassle, as the results weren’t any better. I do think it has other potential uses though. I scooped too much one of the goes so smoothed the rest over my legs to use as a shaving cream - works a treat at this, no scrapes, smooth and soft skin and nicer smelling than the traditional options. It will also come in handy if anyone visits with nits, as it will mix well with teatree oil to get rid of them.

Tips: Try not to spill any - makes the shower floor very slippy

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 6:33 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Garnier Fructis Hair Food - Goji

I was thrilled to be accepted onto this trial as I've been looking for a good deep conditioner for ages. I have quite long coloured hair which has also been keratin straightened so I need to be careful about not using sulfates in my hair products (as this will strip keratin right out). This product claims to be 95% natural and on checking the ingredients, no nasties so I was pretty happy about that. It comes in a big tub and is a very thick consistency, and although a little awkward to find a spot it would fit in my shower, it felt oddly satisfying to dip my fingers in and scoop it out instead of squeezing a bottle? It smells devine, more like strawberries than goji berries but didnt care, it smelled yummo.

There are three ways suggested to use it and I tried all three. First I tried as a mask after my normal shampoo and conditioner and my hair felt super silky, it kept its smooth and was actually a pleasure to blow dry (what??). I could still smell the product in my hair too which I liked. Secondly, I tried it as a leave-in treatment. I used about 50c size amount this time and worked it through mid to ends of my hair. I really liked how it makes my hair feel but would use less next time as it did make my hair a little greasy looking, or maybe save it for a Saturday night when I'm not doing much (sad, I know). Thirdly, I used it as a conditioner. I think this is my fav as my hair just feels fantastic afterwards. My hair is quite dry from the colouring and has a few split ends but this product has made a huge difference to that. I would definately replace my conditioner with this in the future. I really love this product and will hopefully be buying it again! The only question I have now is... what does it cost??

Tips: Less is definately more with this product so try a tiny amount to start with and work up until you find what best suits your hair. :-)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 6:27 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Healthy Hair

I was very lucky to be selected for the trial team. Thank you Beauty Review. When you first see the Garnier Fructis Hair Food Goji, it makes you think you are having one of those luxury strawberry flavoured yogurts, and when you open the container you feel like going for the spoon. The smell is very nice and fruity but not too strong.

This product is creamy and you can use it as a conditioner, hair mask and as a leave-in treatment.

I like the container but I found it a bit tricky to use as a conditioner when you have a little shower cubicle like mine. It was interesting to get the product while in the same time trying that no water goes inside the container. That is the only ‘bad’ thing I can find about this product.

After a couple of uses my hair felt nicer, healthier and didn’t tangle as much as before (even when I really need to have a haircut).

When I used it as a leave-in, my hair felt good and not greasy or with residue as sometimes happens with other leave-in products.

It is a great product, I like the result in my hair and it is free of parabens, silicones and artificial colourants. Double bonus!!!

Tips: I find it best when use as leave-in treatment.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 4:30 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Fruity Goodness

I was lucky to be part of the Garnier Fructis Protecting Goji Hair Food trail team. Couple of months ago, I got balayage style done on my hair, so that means it has bleached streaks. I noticed the ends were particularly dry and felt damaged after a month. I was very excited to try the Goji Hair Food as it’s an intense conditioner, specifically for coloured hair. The product in contained in 390ml tub and is of 98% natural origin. It’s free from silicones, parabens and artificial colourants as well as 98% biodegradable. The Goji Hair Food smelt delicious and fruity. I didn’t expect it to smell that delicious, since I’ve tasted goji berries and they don’t taste or smell as delicious. The texture is thicker and creamier than a normal conditioner.

The Goji Hair Food can be used in 3 different ways – conditioner, mask and a leave-in conditioner. I’ve only tried it as conditioner and mask, as I thought that leave-in might cause breakouts on my face. I followed the instructions on the tub to use the conditioner and the mask. After shampooing, I applied the Goji Hair Food as a conditioner in replacement of my usual conditioner and then rinsed it out. I could already feel how soft and smooth my hair was while it was wet, and it remained that way after I dried it. The colour in my hair also looked very vibrant and my ends didn’t feel or look damaged anymore. As for the mask, I applied it after using my usual shampoo and conditioner and left it on for 1 minute before rinsing it out. It was the same result as using it as a conditioner, which was great. The only problem I had using it as a mask was that my hair greased up within a couple of hours, which is not ideal for someone with oily hair.

I prefer using the Garnier Fructis Protecting Goji Hair Food as a conditioner and I will continue to use it as a conditioner. This product is amazing, and I love how it’s revived the colour in my hair and left it shiny. This is great for anyone else who also has coloured their hair, especially if it’s bleached.

Tips: For oily hair avoid using it on the scalp

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 2:49 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Nice n natural

A large container a whopping 390 mills of a very thick white delicious conditioner The fragrance is reminds me of a yummy berry yogurt sweet with a bit of a tang.

As a conditioner a tablespoon rubbed into my ends and worked up to the roots made my hair feel silky smooth but as my hair dried it felt dry and not overly conditioned. After a few goes a good blob of this and left to soak in for 5 minutes did a much better job, I still felt like I needed something else I was left a bit fluffy.

As a leave in I tried this in my hair when it was damp just worked a small amount through my ends, I was left with hair that felt slightly dirty, it is to heavy for my hair and I tried even less the next time like pea sized and still felt the same.

Was feeling very disappointed at this stage, as I was expecting much more. I used it as a mask after shampoo I applied it and left it to work its magic for half an hour then rinsed well, but was left feeling a little greasy, I also tried it for at least an hour with a shower cap over top to keep it warm so it could work it’s magic, I was still left thinking I need something more to condition my mop.

Then as a pre wash I worked a generous amount into my dirty hair and scalp, left it on for well over an hour, hit the shower and gave my hair a good shampoo (twice) didn’t follow with any conditioner And wow I was left silky smooth shiny no flyaways, silky soft hair and not fluffy with a lovely fragrance.

Quite nice and such a good price, it’s nice an natural. I’m left in two minds about it.

Tips: As a pre wash and slather it all over your hair put on a sower cap and let if soak for an hour or more then wash well :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
13th July, 2018 at 11:10 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
FINALLY one for my kind of hair!

Well the thing that first drew me in to want to put my hand up for this review was the fact that the BR crew described them as 'smelling good enough to eat'. After reading about the Goji Hair Food I was convinced it was made for me. The fact that its purpose is to nourish and protect coloured hair got me hook line and sinker. Upon opening the lid oh wow how my senses came to life! The scent of goji berries is beyond heavenly. After reading the label, I am so impressed! Not only is it a hair mask like I expected, but it can be used as a conditioner and a leave in conditioner. MIND BLOWN! Why didn't anyone else think of this genius before?! The best part is when I looked at the price at the supermarket.....hello $7.90! That's right around $3.00 cheaper than any other hair mask and this one has triple uses.

I love the fact that it’s 98% natural origin although 100% would have been better it's still quite a high percentage. It's quite a big pot and lasts a fair few washes for its price. I managed to get 5 washes in before the trial ended and there is still half left. I wasn't sparse with it either. I made sure it was slathered in there. At the time of the first wash I has just bleached and coloured my hair so was excited and nervous to find out what my hair would be like afterward. I shampooed and conditioned as per normal and then slathered the hair food in my hair and left it in for 10 minutes to act as a mask. What I don't understand is why it tells you to only leave it in as a mask for 1 minute. Any other hair mask I have ever read, used or seen suggests leaving it in for at least 10 minutes to get the full impact. 10 minutes later I rinsed and oh yes hello soft tangle free hair!! Usually my bleached hair is a bit dry and unmanageable but this is a whole new level of soft,

The true test will be when it's dry. I have curly hair but it has the tendency to become overly frizzy after being washed and especially coloured. After drying it's apparent that my hair is so soft that it was bound to frizz. It is like I stuck my hair in a socket! Although it made my hair feel beyond amazing the ongoing frizz got me annoyed. I decided to use it as a leave in to see if it would tame my curls in to submission. This actually helped with keeping the frizz to a minimum. In summary I would probably use as a leave in conditioner but as a hair mask and conditioner it is not my fave. I hate the unmanageable frizz that happens after. But in its defence my hair is a lot healthier feeling and not so straw feeling. I don’t think I would purchase again after seeing how unkept my hair looks after using it.

Tips: Be prepared for frizz if you have really curly hair like mine

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 10:48 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
So many compliments after only 1 use!

I am super happy with this product as I had been on the look out for a hair mask/ deep conditioning treatment for a while as I have highlights and towards the ends of my hair it is getting quite brittle and tangles easily.

I used it as a pre shampoo treatment as I didn't want it to leave my hair heavy and not voluminous, and left it in for a few minutes, shampooed then gave my hair a good brush and blow dry.

I instantly noticed that the ends were less frizzy looking, more smooth and shinier, and it seems that others did too as I got heaps of compliments!

After using it that first time I have had less problems with knots and my hair smells amazing too!

Would definitely reccomend to anyone with dry ends and an oily scalp like me, but make sure you only put it through the ends of your hair and shampoo afterwards!

Tips: Make sure to concentrate on the ends of your hair and give it a good comb through before you rinse the mask out!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 10:04 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Feeding your hair

There are three ways of using this product 1) as a conditioner, 2) as a mask, or 3) leave in conditioner. I tried it all three ways, and preferred it as a mask (e.g. apply after shampoo and conditioner and leave for one minute before rinsing). Using it this way left my hair feeling very soft and shiny, and surprisingly it did not weigh my hair down or make it feel heavy.

When I used it as a conditioner it didn't seem to really penetrate my hair and left it kind of feeling dry. My hair is too fine to use as a leave in conditioner and it made my hair feeling too greasy.

The product itself is a thick white creamy texture and has a sweet, fruity scent. I used only a small amount on my hair- smaller than the amount of conditioner I use.

One of the things I really like about this product are the 98% natural origins formula (no artificial colourants, no silicones and no parabens) and that the container states the source and origin of all the ingredients. So good to have it broken down into understandable terms.

The thing I did not like is the tub. It is definitely a lot bigger than I was expecting, but the large round tub with a plastic screw lid (like what body butters come in) was very awkward to manage in the shower. I don't have a ledge to place it on so after scooping out a bit, I struggled to put the lid back on without loosing the product on my hand.

Tips: Use once a week to revive your hair

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
12th July, 2018 at 8:02 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Multi use mask

I love that this "hair food" has so many uses! You can use this product as a conditioner, a mask, and a leave in. When I used it as a mask it left my hair feeling so soft after and a lot less frizzy than usual, which I've noticed it has been an issue since having it coloured and with the winter weather too. I also tried it as a leave-in to try tame my wild mane - which it did pretty well. If you have oily hair definitely leave this on your ends and stare clear of your roots. I love that this product has so many natural products and that it smells A-Mazing! Also the container is huge so definitely value for money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

I am - I'll tell you what in the comments!

view results

Review of the Day
emilyplum78
La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel and Duo Plus
These products work as a 2 step programme to effectively control oily and… more »