Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Garnier Fructis Hair Food Banana Reviews
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.6/5

Garnier Fructis Hair Food Banana Reviews

Overall rating:
4.6/5

Garnier Fructis Nourishing Banana Hair Food can be used as a conditioner, hair mask and as a leave-in treatment for stronger, healthier hair. It deeply hydrates and repairs, leaving dry hair soft and healthy hair.

Enriched with banana, shea butter and coconut oil, the 98 per cent natural origin formula is free of parabens, silicones and artificial colourants.

RRP: $12.99

Availability: Selected department stores, pharmacies and online

Websitewww.garnier.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 10:27 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My hair loves Bananas!

I really liked this product. It has a lovely natural banana scent which isn't too overpowering. The white cream is a nice thick consistency which is easy to apply. No nasty ingredients is a big bonus too. I used this in place of my normal conditioner on my dry hair and it made my limp hair full of body and shiny. As a leave-in I wasn't so impressed when I used it per instructions, as it weighed my hair down but still made it appear shiny. However when I diluted some in a spray bottle with some water and sprayed it on it gave the shine without the droop. My fave way to use this was as a mask. I left it in for 30 mins and then rinsed it out and it gave my hair body and shine for 2-3 days which is something I find very rare with my mane. One huge selling point is the price. It really is affordable and easy to find. I wasn't too keen on the packaging as coordination isn't my strong point and I found closing the lid without letting water in difficult. It does look nice in the bathroom though and has clear labeling of all ingredients

Tips: Turn it into a spray leave-in if you find it too heavy

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.7/5
13th July, 2018 at 9:54 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Smells so good I want to eat it!

If you like banana smoothies, you'll love the smell of this product! If you use it as a conditioner or hair mask, washing it out afterwards, you still get a pleasant lingering smell. The smell is a lot stronger if you leave it in.

As a conditioner, I would rate it about average in effectiveness, in comparison to other supermarket brands. My hair didn't feel any softer than usual, even when I used it as a mask, but nor did my hair feel as dry as when I don't use conditioner at all.

As a leave in treatment, I was worried it would be greasy and stain my pillowcase, but actually it wasn't too bad. But it was a little too oily and smelled too strong for me to leave in during the day.

I admire the attempt at producing something that's based on natural ingredients, although just because something is natural doesn't mean it's good for you. The ingredients list has a lot of healthy sounding items in it, alongside a list of chemicals that have 'vegetable origin' or are 'perfume or plant derived'. This is where I get cynical and don't buy into the marketing, as everything is made up of chemicals and originating from plants doesn't necessarily make them safe! But kudos for appearing to try.

I think this would be a good product for children and young adults in particular, due to the fresh, sweet smell and possibly healthier ingredients list. I can imagine myself loving this as a child,

Tips: Add a small amount to your hair before going to bed, to give it an overnight treatment.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

I did the Goji trial for coloured hair and loved it too-awesome product.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 8:53 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Garnier Fructis Banana Hair Food

This stuff is so great!!! I was so pleased to be asked to trial this new product in the Garnier Fructis range and it exceeded my expectations! Firstly the packaging is just perfect in general, love how it just looks like a tub of banana goodness for your hair, which it really is! The tub is 390mls which is huge. I have long hair and i'm also one of those people that goe's overboard with conditioner and I haven't even used half of the tub from the 3 times it has been used. It smells amazingly good..just like yummy bananas and made my hair so seriously soft. My hair just feels better in general. Softer, shinier and stronger. Amazing! I love how it doesn't contain silicones and parabens, big plus in general. I would genuinely recommend this to anyone looking for a beautiful deep conditioner/mask to maintain their hair. I hope I can find somewhere to purchase this soon because I don't think I can live without it now! Thanks beauty review, one of the best products I have been sent to trial.

Tips: Rinse hair with cool water when washing out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 8:05 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bananalicious!

I have very long, thick and extremely dry hair that knots very easily due to the climate I live in. I am always in the search for good hair products that help reduce frizz and knots while also hydrating my hair. I can go through a hair mask in about a month. My hair mask for the last few months has been a Joico one that costs approximately $38 so I have been keen to try something cheaper. I was super excited when I received the Garner Fructose Nourishing Banana hair food as I had heard good things about this product and I must say this stuff lives up to the hype!

Firstly the jar is a very descent size of 390mls a lot bigger in comparison to the 190ml one I had been using. The jar isn’t sealed under the lid so just make sure when you open it, you haven’t had it lying on it side. I have been leaving this on a shelf in the shower and no water has got through the lid so far!

The design of the jar is fairly simple with banana pictures. It is easy to read what the hair food contains just from the front label e.g. Yes to 98% natural origins, yes to dermatologically tested and yes to vegetable oils and No to silicones, parabens and artificial colourants. It is a simple yet effective design to tell you what it does.

The formula of the hair food is typical of normal conditioners, a white thickish cream. The smell is literally Bananalicious! It is crazy how amazing this product smells, like real banana’s not that horrible artificial smell. Luckily it says on the jar not too consume otherwise I might have been tempted to eat this hair food!

There are 3 ways to use the hair food either as a conditioner, hair mask or leave in conditioner. I personally have only tried the first 2 ways, so I can’t comment on the last. My usual shower ritual is to shampoo and conditioner and then to use a hair mask. So I have mostly use this product as a hair mask rather than as a conditioner. I use my hands to scoop out the required amount, I am usually pretty generous as I cover my whole head. I then leave it in my hair for a few minutes and rinse.

Results are impressive. It is so hydrating and nourishing on my hair without making it greasy or heavy. I can easily comb my hair without tugging and once I have blow dried my hair it feels soft, smooth and knot free with reduced frizz. I really like that I don’t need to use my detangling spray much in-between washes as this keeps it relatively knot free and hydrated. I have also started using this on my daughter hair as it is very hard to wash her hair but so far there have been no complaints as she loves the smell.

This is one of the best hair food/masks I have used and I definitely recommend it for anyone. It smells amazing, it a large jar, it’s cheap to buy and gives great results. I have already brought another two jars as it was on special for under $10.

Tips: Just buy it. Seriously it's too good not too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 7:29 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Nourishing hair food

Perfect fit in the Fructis product range - the fragrance is so delicious its hard not to get a spoon and dig in! It comes in a generous 390ml tub, attractive packaging and is 98% natural ingredients. Its got no silicones or parabens and I love that its got coconut oil, shea butter and olive oil - some of my favourite natural products. So I have long, blonde highlighted hair and Im super particular about products and care. First use of this - great texture, easy to apply and rince. Needless to say my hair smelt amazing afterwards! Texture wise it was ok - definitely not as silky as usual though. My daughter on the other hand has dark, non coloured curly hair and after she gave it a go is totally sold. Her hair looks glossy and healthy and the fragrace lingers in her hair for days! So we will definitely keep it as a staple for her - after we try the other treatments in the range. Next couple of washes I used it as a treatment and my hair was a better texture afterwards rather than using it just as a conditioner. And as a sidenote - Ive been using it as a body lotion..its great! Only need a little pea sized amount for arms, lather it on and good to go. Skin feels soft and slightly silky. Overall I would recommend- its a great all rounder.

Tips: Better as a treatment - I left it generously coated in damp hair for 30 minutes while in the bath.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 11:05 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Banana Addiction

This. Is. My. Fave. I will never live without this product from this day forward. BR sent me this bundle of absolute banana coconut joy and I was so excited to try it that I opened it up and popped a small amount on my ends straight away in the office. I also walked around my entire time begging everyone to smell the tropical banana delight - much to their excitement.

The smell is simply delicious. Like banana fruit bursts - sweet and yummy. You have to remind yourself not to eat it. The glossiness is great. It doesn't feel oily or heavy but my ends feel healthier than they have in a very long time. My hair is also looking shiner and healthier as well, which just has to happen from shea butter and coconut oil.

This is a true winner for me and I'm so glad I got the opportunity to try it. It's one that I will continue to buy for sure - and maybe even try out the Goji or Papaya scents if they smell as incredible as this one.

It does feel a little bit off scooping it out of the container because it feels like you're whacking on a handful of Body Shop Body Butter but you get used to that.

I have used it in all three formats suggested - as a conditioner, as a mask and as a leave in. And over the course of a week my hair is feeling glossy, healthy and smelling incredible.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
13th July, 2018 at 8:02 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bananas about Garnier Fructis Hair Food Banana

It was love at first wash! This is a seriously good hair mask or one-wash treatment, and it smells good enough to eat. I adore the container, as it means no scrabbling to get the last of the product (I have wasted the last part of so many expensive hair products due to the packaging and it really annoys me - not so with this product). I only left it in for about 30 seconds on both washes, and yet my hair has been much silkier and softer. And all for a much more reasonable price compared to other hair mask brands! And trust me, my hair is dry and brittle, due to being fine and bleached blonde at the hairdresser's every 5-6 weeks. I'm really impressed. I'd like to buy again, I just want to clarify Garnier's cruelty-free stance as there seems to be mixed information on the interwebs. But this really is a great product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th July, 2018 at 7:37 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Smells good enough to eat!

I've really enjoyed trying out this new product from Garnier Fructis. What struck me first was the 98% natural origin, no parabens, and no silicones. I feel this is quite a different product for the brand and I'd love to see more of this! The 3-in-1 nature of the product was also really appealing. I started out using it as a leave-in conditioner and then moved on to using it as a treatment/mask and conditioner. My preferred use is definitely as a leave-in. I find it a bit too rich as a regular conditioner. The packaging doesn't lend itself to easy use in the shower as a normal conditioner, but I can forgive it for that ;). It does everything it claims, my hair feels so healthy and soft. Plus it leaves a delicious banana scent, almost caramelled bananas!

Tips: Mix a small amount in a spray bottle with water to use as a detangler/leave-in spray conditioner. Great for refreshing the hair and adding softness back in (especially if you tend to go a bit heavy handed with dry shampoo :P)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
12th July, 2018 at 8:41 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Conditioning you can feel!

I had the opportunity to try the Banana hair food from Garnier and here's what i feel :) : The packaging is really well done.its a nice bright colour which makes it very refreshing to see and use. Another good thing is the simplistic way in which ingredients are mentioned. Very easy to understand which brings home the fact the product is 98 percent natural. The pack has a matte finish which is very handy as products which have high shine finishes usually look dull and tired when placed in the shower where they are exposed to constant water and steam. I tried the hair food in all the three ways it recommends. As a conditioner without a normal conditioner it is awesome! As soon as you apply and wash it, you can feel the difference it makes to your hair. The hair feels heavy, smooth and conditioned in the shower itself so one can imagine how it would feel once the hair dries. Once dry hair is nice and shiny, soft to touch, less hairfall, and easier to comb and detangle. This is true to all the 3 ways. As a conditioner after using a normal conditioner was my least favourite as hair felt a little oily and got greasy quicker. Also i broke out in pimples near the ears amd i usually dont get pimples at all. So i gather it becomes a bit too oily as a second conditioner. As a leave in treatment it works very well too. You dont nees much and hair does not feel oily and yucky as many other treatments make you feel. I would definitely use it again and again as a conditioner and leave in treatment. I love the product and would recommend it to others. Would definitely buy when available in the supermarkets. The tub is huge and would last for ages!!

Tips: Would not recommend using as a 2nd conditioner. Use it as a standalone conditioner and see the magic !

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
12th July, 2018 at 6:42 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Garnier Fructis Hair Food (Banana)

I was lucky enough to be sent this product to be trialed. Overall, I like it but I don't love it.

Things I liked: I love the packaging and that it comes in a large container as it lasts AGES. I feel like I have hardly made a dent in it yet I have been using it every time I wash my hair! I also like the scent - the banana one is not overpowering (think almost banana fruit burst but not so intense). I LOVE that it is free of many nasties and that they explain on the side of the container what the ingredients mean (in actual English - not science-y English). Also love that you can use it as a conditioner, hair mask or styling product (helps to smooth down the frizziness a tad).

I also did like how it made my hair feel. It definitely kept it feeling soft. It didn't do anything noticeably amazing to the look of my hair though (not shiny and super smooth).

What I didn't like: I didn't dislike anything so much, simply it didn't make my hair look any different (despite feeling a little softer). No amazing curls (just my usual) or shiny-celebrity hair.

Overall, would buy again as it smells good, doesn't include a whole heap of nasty ingredients and is good value!

Tips: Use just a tad on dry hair to smooth away any frizzies!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

I am - I'll tell you what in the comments!

view results

Review of the Day
emilyplum78
La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel and Duo Plus
These products work as a 2 step programme to effectively control oily and… more »