Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

GHD V Gold Classic Styler Review

GHD V Gold Classic Styler Review
Overall rating from 233 reviews so far:
4.7/5
Would use it again?
4.7/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.7/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.7/5

Glimmering gold accents and plates and an enhanced design give the GHD V gold classic styler a luxurious feel.

Smoother gold plates glide effortlessly through the hair to make straightening on all hair types and lengths even quicker and easier, while their contoured edges help to create perfect curls and waves, all with a high shine, salon-style finish. A handy protective plate guard also allows you to pack up your styler straight after use while an automatic sleep mode is activated if the styler isn't used for 30 minutes.

Universal voltage ensures you’ll get the same styling performance wherever you are in the world, making this styler a great choice if you travel frequently.

PRODUCT FEATURES

  • Professional Finish
  • Smoother plates
  • Cooler, lighter body
  • Ceramic heaters and contoured plates
  • Sleep mode

 

Website www.ghdhair.com

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

GHD V Gold Classic Styler Review

GHD V Gold Classic Styler Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th September, 2014
2 members found this review useful
Hello there hair lover

I just had to write a bad review and was like - I can not start my sunday on a bad foot so I must write about an old favourite of mine.

I remember when GHD's came out (oh gwwwwwwad that sounds terrible) and I couldn't afford one. I was saving to travel and had other things on my mind. Plus I told myself I didn't need it. That my hair was fine without one. I was wrong.

From the moment the gorgeous gold plates touched my hair we bonded. Seriously. It was like magic happened.

I am a huge fan of everything about these straightners from its little beep to tell you it is ready to the way it perfectly curls my hair.

They are extremely easy to use and can do so much more than just making your hair smooth, straight and shiny (although that is a huge selling point!). There are so many videos online now as well of all the magic they can create (curls, waves, charlies angels hair - you name it!)

I have been through 2 pairs in the last 7 years (the first pair it should be noted may or may not have been dropped from a high height by a silly boy so it was not it's fault!) my second pair is just like new still :)

Tips: If for some reason you have been living in the dark with cave woman hair (and we here at the GHD fan club welcome you) please go try one of these straightners. It was the best investment I made ;)

xx

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th January, 2015
2 members found this review useful
I can't imagine my life without my GHD!

My GHD is one of my holy-grail beauty products/items! I actually own the GHD V Cherry Blossom model, but it's exactly the same as the gold model, just a different colour. Where there is gold on the GHD V Gold Classic, there is a hot pink on my straightners. When I think of hot pink appliances I often think 'tacky' but the classy, sleek black with the pink actually looks really nice. It also came with a cute heatproof bag with cherry blossoms on it.

The GHD V Cherry Blossom was GHD's 2012 Breast Cancer Foundation support model, making it $320, rather than $270 of the classic model. Other cheaper models were available from the salon, but the New Zealand Breast Cancer foundation is a charity I am always willing to support. My mum's battle with cancer started with breast cancer, and it sadly progressed and she lost her battle in March 2001.

I have extremely long, dry, coloured hair which I need to look after. I don't think my GHDs get as hot as other straightners I have owned and/or used, making them less damaging to my hair. I always still use a heat protectant spray in spite of this. I don't straighten my hair everyday, as there is no need for me to. When I do straighten my hair it holds its "straightness" until the next time I wet it, which is fantastic. My hair always looks healthy and shiny after I have used my GHD and never dull and dry.

What I also love about this product is that it automatically turns itself off after half and hour. This is great because I know I can always be at ease if I've straightened my hair and then left the house. Something that I do not like about the product is that you cannot 'lock' the plates together when the straightners aren't in use.

I have tried to use my GHD to curl my hair while following YouTube tutorials, but I am yet to master this! I have seen it be done, so I know it is possible, it just must take a fair amount of practice.

Despite the exxy price tag, I most definitely recommend a GHD straightener to anyone who can afford it. They're an amazing product and well and truly worth the money.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Kellyleanne
21st March, 2015

Me too, love my ghds!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd November, 2013
1 members found this review useful
Love !!

I absolutely love my GHD, I have thick, long and wavy hair, I owned a Remington wet to straight before I got a GHD and I wouldn't turn back. It's so easy to style my hair with, I love my hair straightener, it one of the things I probably wouldn't be able to live without. A definite 5 lips worthy product!!

Tips: I find a serum and/or heat protectant makes it look silkier and straighter it also protects your hair.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st April, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Must have

I couldn't live with out my GHDs. They straighten my long thick hair so easily and quickly. Fast heat up time is fantastic and the automatic switch off feature has saved me so many times! Genius! Id recommend these to anyone and everyone.

Tips: Great for doing curls also. Search you tube for tutorials!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th April, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Styling essential i cant live without

I'm absolutely in love with my GHD.I will never buy another brand again. It heats up super quick, glides through the hair like silk and takes alot less time as with previous straightners i've had to go over the same strand a few times and it left my hair frizzy/flyaway and meant i had to use products to smooth it down! I dont really need to use any products except hot iron spray or cream protectant and a tiny amount of serum afterwards. The GHD also curls my hair perfectly, now that ive mastered the technique ;-)

A must buy for those that use a straightener often, its definitely worth the money.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
1.0/5
7th August, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Meh

My Original black GHD was amazing and when it broke after like 7 years I thought I would buy another GHD... They can only get better right?..wrong soo annoyed i bought this as it's no where near as good as the original.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th October, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Second generation and still going!

This is my most prized possession. I have had my straightener for about 8 years now and it's still working a charm. I have really difficult, frizzy and dry hair but this turns me in to a sleek haired goddess :) I keep wanting to buy a new one but until this one gives up the ghost, I'm sticking with it!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th January, 2015
1 members found this review useful
GHD Heaven!

I had the huge pleasure of using a set of these babies for two weeks when my friend left them at my house.....yay me! I am officially paying off a pair of my own and that is saying a lot for me considering I have literally a handful of hair to straighten because the rest is shaved and cut short.

First of all the smooth motion it allows me to do is beyond any other straightener could ever dream! It doesn't burn my hair like my old straighteners and leaves a smooth mane of black silk after it.

It doesn't burn my fingers or head like other straighteners seem to do from heating up too much. It leaves my hair smooth and feeling great. It used to take me 10 minutes to straighten my curly unruly handful of hair but with a GHD V Gold it's 5 minutes tops!

The price of these is a bit of a gasp moment and my bank statement will hate me but the price is justified by just how perfect these straighteners are! When I get them I think my hubby may have to fight for the spot next to me in bed because I am having a love affair with them swooon!!!

Bring on February when I can pick them up eeeeeeekkkkk!

Tips: Run the straightener through slowly to achieve a straighter finish and section hair to make sure you get every bit of hair.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Shana_Banana84
13th January, 2015

Expensive I know but oh so worth the investment :) yes February isn't far now yussss

Lutece
12th January, 2015

I've always wanted a ghd and reading your review makes me want one even more! February is nearly here :)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st September, 2013
0 members found this review useful
Must Have

I don't know how I lived without my GHD. I use to have a Remington but there is just no comparison. My hair is extremely thick and curly and I love to have it straightened, I only wash my hair twice or sometimes only once a week and let my hair dry naturally then its the magic touch of my GHD. It only takes me about 30mins on a good day but I have had neck surgery so as you can imagine it is very hard for me to look up/down, sideways everything a neck is supposed to do I'm a tad different lol so 30mins I think is awsome. I still get frizz but that I believe is the products you use. I am extremely happy with the ability of the GHD to straighten my hair, everyday I just need to run through my hair without having to devide it up into sections and that takes about 5mins to get the look I want. I watched the tutorial on BR "How to curl with GHD "but a little sore on the neck so will have to wait to try that. I don't know all the techno details of my GHD but I really don't care, it just does a fantastic job, effortless and easy. It is one of the items that I would grab if there was a disaster. I have had a few burnt tips of my ears but would never blame my GHD lol

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
RachelM
2nd September, 2013

Hi Tess, I'm actually interested to hear what issues you have with your neck, I'm having terrible trouble. I'm always commenting on facebook so maybe you could pm me, cheers

Tess
1st September, 2013

Same neck issues here and while I leave my curly hair alone most days on the 'straight' days it sounds like we have same Ghd routine! I have original version and its still going strong. Wouldn't be without it!

Overall rating:
4.0/5
1st September, 2013
0 members found this review useful
Not salon straight - but that might just be me!

In the bad old days pre-GHD I used Remington straighteners and it would take me an hour to do my long fine yet wavy hair - and even then I would be left with a bit of a frizz bomb.

GHD's are a million times better than this - it only takes me 10 - 15 minutes to do my hair! However there is still the odd kink and bits of frizz, it never ends up as sleek as my hairdresser can get it - even when I used GHD branded hair product.

Despite this I think they're pretty darn fabulous - I wouldn't go back to the Remmies that's for sure!

Tips: My hairdresser said to section off a bit of hair then run the styler over it a few times to get it salon straight.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
xjayloux
2nd September, 2013

What products do you use on your hair? I find the result really depends on your routine aswell. Its a bit of experimentation with products but I might be able to suggest some good ones =)

THE CHRISTMAS BEST BEAUTY BOX IS ALMOST HERE!

The Christmas Best Beauty Box Ever will be released on Friday November 20th at 7pm.

This is quite literally our most Beauty-Full release EVER with over $550 of value inside from brands like Shiseido, Snowberry, Evolu, Essano, Lancome, YSL, Schwarzkopf, Swisspers, Kiehl's and more!

We will send a private link to all who have registered their interest, giving them the chance to buy it first.

Click here to get the sale link on Fri 20th Nov!