Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Garnier Pure Active Charcoal Gel Wash Reviews

Garnier Pure Active Charcoal Gel Wash Reviews
Overall rating from 42 reviews so far:
3.9/5
Would use it again?
4.0/5
Did it do what it said it would?
3.9/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.9/5

A gentle daily cleanser powered by the key ingredient Charcoal to visibly reduce blackheads and protect against their reappearance.

RRP: $9.95

Pack Size:  200ml

Availability Selected pharmacies, supermarkets and department stores. Online

Website www.garnier.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Garnier Pure Active Charcoal Gel Wash Reviews

Garnier Pure Active Charcoal Gel Wash Reviews

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.3/5
11th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Charcoal Gel

I had heard of a charcoal gel face wash before so to me this was one of a kind and I do like Garnier products so giving this a go was a no brainer.

The 200 ml bottle is a decent size and should last quite a while.

The product is a smooth gel, it does have a slight chemical smell but its not nasty. If you like more floral scents then this may not be for you.

I liked that the gel removed all traces of makeup and made my skin squeaky clean.

With regards to the main feature of this product - reducing blackheads - I cant say that I've noticed a huge difference. Perhaps I need to use it for longer, I'm not sure.

All in all its not a bad product, just don't be expecting to see results overnight.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
8th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Garner Pure Active Charcoal Gel Wash

My skin is pretty sensitive and I am quite touchy about what goes on it, but always looking for the next holy grail so gave it a go!

The bottle definitely screams garnier and fits with the rest of their ranges. It is a really decent size for the price which is a bonus and the pump top lid is always a plus to minimise wastage.

I was quite intrigued with the colour, but dissapointed to find it is not actually thick black, but a dark grey. Although it is still pretty intense, I was envisaging a thick black tar like substance to schloop across my face. It is actually a great consistency and perfect for a face wash, despite my initial disappointment.

The scent is strong and chemically which put me off. You can tell that this is a strong and acidic product by it's scent, which isn't bad, but also isn't overly natural smelling. It's fine, it's not a plus but also not a negative.

Now it did seem to break me out, as in my face erupted in places that night. I have been stressed with exams so there's always other factors, but I did break out after using it. Because of that, I am not going to keep using it and hence the low rating.

I generally don't cope well with garnier products, so that is another reason my face went crazy!

All in all its not a bad product and I think in other circumstances with different skin types it can provide a nice deep clean, just not for me I'm afraid.

Tips: If you are sensitive to garnier products then this one isn't for you!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Fantastic cleanser!

This charcoal cleanser is very effective on combination/oily skin. I do think it could be a bit drying for normal to dry/sensitive skin types. But I have combination skin so I found it to be very effective at preventing break outs around my T Zone. Also it really does a great job at clarifying pores and has noticeably reduced the blackheads that I had on my nose! So it really did do what it said it would do. It’s fantastic at getting rid of blackheads! The only complaint I have about the product is that I think it has quite a strong, chemical smell. So that’s the only downside and that could just be my personal experience. But if you’re sensitive to strong smelling products, then that may be something to consider. But overall, it is a product that does what it promises and delivers results!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.3/5
8th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Not great.

First impression of the bottle was great, it is a nice sleek look packaging and I love the pump! Certainly makes it easier to dispense the face wash. Product foams up well and definitely washes the face well. However that is where the positives wnd for me. The next day I woke up with a greasier than normal face. I thought to myself, maybe this is one of those things that gets worse before it gets better but after a whole week I am getting more blackheads by the day in places on my face that zi didn’t have them before. Therefore I don’t believe it does what it claims to do. It does clean off makeup nicely though.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
7th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Same old blackheads

Packaging looks okay, the bottle is slim which could be good for storage? Pump is easy to work but does squirt out a bit to much product for my liking (half a pump was perfect).

As the packaging outlines the product is black and then turns to white when applied to the face (which I think is pretty cool). The product has the strong "ocean breeze" smell which is nice and refreshing. I found the product was pretty good at taking my make up products off (BBC cream, brow product, bronzer and highlghter). However I did find the product very drying. My normally very moisturising night creme was struggling to counter act this dryness. Upon my first use any pores/blackheads didn't appear to be any different than previous. Subsequently I don't think it made much difference either. I found that my skin was breaking out more than normal using this product.

Would I go out of my way to purchase this product, probably not. Would I recommend to a friend, yeah if they were wanting to try something new out.

Tips: Dont use a full pump. Use highly moisturizing product after due to drying nature of this product.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
7th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Definitely recommend - give it a go!

I am quite impressed by this gel wash. I have only been using it once a day, as it does work really well on controlling oil/shine, so I decided that I'd rather use moisturising cleansers at night time.

As I said, my shine has definitely improved and I don't find my skin shiny by the end of the day. I don't have a huge problem with blackheads, just the odd one here and there, but I've definitely noticed that I haven't had any since starting to use this.

It feels really nice on - not too drying so you don't get the tight feeling afterwards.

I am used to using a natural based product where you can slather it across your entire face (eyes and mouth included), so that takes a bit of getting used to.

Tips: - Use a small amount - a pea size is enough. - Lather in your hands first, otherwise it's hard to work into your skin, and then rinse off. - Do not get this in your eyes or mouth. It tastes horrible :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Garner Pure Active Charcoal Gel Wash

I really like this to me it's a clean less mess version of the other garnier charcoal 3 in 1. It's scent sort of has the same charcoal smell as the 3 in 1 but isn't as intense and abit sweeter which I liked. The product is a transparent black gel that foams white just a little when you apply, I was expecting more of a shaving foam effect I don't know why lol. I would have to say I like this product a lot it's one of my favourite garnier products, after using this my skin always felt clean and refreshed also looked real good. I noticed spots were less visible and my skin was softer and looked cleaner . I highly recommend this if you have stubborn spots and blackheads or even if you want to give this a try I recommend giving it ago it did wonders for my skin.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
6th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Charcoal gel

First thing that struck me about this product is how big it is! At a huge 200ml and needing only a wee dollop each time, this is going to last a long time. Thankfully due to its gender neutral packaging (black, blue and red) and no feminine scent to it (more a medical type smell), my partner is using this product too.

The product is a smooth black gel. Only foams up only a little bit but applies easily and leaves skin clean and refreshed, and not too dry. Unlike the 3 in 1 charcoal scrub, it doesn't leave black marks all over the shower.

It makes some bold claims about reducing blackheads and imperfections (which is a little generic and vague). Not sure if that has happened for me (yet) but the gel does reduce oil production so it should in theory reduce blackheads.

Overall I prefer the 3 in 1 charcoal scrub because I prefer the grittiness to it, and can get in and give my face a good scrub. But it is a good product as a cleanser for the days I don't want to scrub.

Tips: Only need to use a small dollop

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
4th February, 2019
1 members found this review useful
Menthol stings!

Garnier Pure Active Charcoal Anti-Blackhead Intensive Gel Wash promises to visibly reduce the appearance of blackheads. The cleanser is enriched with charcoal, known for its adsorbing properties (attracts dirt and impurities, causing them to stick to the charcoal before being rinsed away), blueberry extract and salicylic acid, which help to visibly reduce blackheads and help protect agains their reappearance.

The dark grey coloured gel wash is packaged in a pump bottle, and one pump of cleanser is sufficient to wash my face and neck. When a little water is added and my palms are rubbed together, the gel converts into a fairly thick white foam (they call it a mousse, but it's nowhere near as thick as a mousse), which is then massaged onto the skin before being rinsed off.

I have very oily skin, so my T-zone (nose, chin and forehead) have quite a number of blackheads, and after using this gel wash for two weeks, my blackheads are less noticeable. They're still there, they're just not as dark or as prominent. My skin does feel clean after using this gel wash, but I really don't like the mentholated forumla. I'm not a fan of menthol or eucalyptus in my face or body products, and if I had known that this product contained menthol, I would never have accepted the trial team invitation.

The amount of menthol in this gel wash is quite strong; its strong enough for me to want to get the cleanser off my face as soon as I start massaging the foam onto my skin as it makes my skin tingle and burn. It's really not a pleasant feeling at all. Personally, I feel that menthol or eucalyptus should be reserved for hair products and should not be added to face or body products at all, but that's just my personal preference.

I'd only consider using this product again if the formula is changed and the menthol is omitted, or they bring out a menthol-free version of this gel wash.

Tips: Avoid the eye area completely!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
4th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
I love this series!

I really like this product. A little goes a long way, I barely need one pump to cleanse my face. It is easy to wash off and it feels so lovely and soft. I have noticed it has started to bring some of the blackheads I have had difficulty getting rid of up and out. I am not sure if it has visibly reduced them but I have only been using it a week. And I feel that if I keep using it regularly it will prevent the majority from coming back. I have definitely noticed that it has reduced how oily my skin is by the end of the day which is a definite bonus as my skin is really oily. The only negative I can think of is that I got some dry patches of skin over my face the first few days but that has cleared up.

All in all I am going to keep using this. It is one of the first products in a long while that has made a noticeable difference to the oily shine I get as well as helping me get out some of the more stubborn blackheads.

Tips: Make sure to moisturise properly. And, unless you have a severe adverse reaction, make sure to at least try it for 1-2weeks before dismissing it as not working.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.