Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Garnier Pure Active Charcoal Gel Wash Reviews

Garnier Pure Active Charcoal Gel Wash Reviews
Overall rating from 45 reviews so far:
3.8/5
Would use it again?
3.9/5
Did it do what it said it would?
3.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.8/5

A gentle daily cleanser powered by the key ingredient Charcoal to visibly reduce blackheads and protect against their reappearance.

RRP: $13.99

Pack Size:  200ml

Availability Selected pharmacies, supermarkets and department stores. Online

Website Garnier Facebook Page

RRP: $13.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Garnier Pure Active Charcoal Gel Wash Reviews

Garnier Pure Active Charcoal Gel Wash Reviews

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.0/5
28th October, 2019
0 members found this review useful
It's ok

So the price is really good, the bottle is big and will last long. The texture is lovely, it is black but makes a white foam once on face. I hate the smell, it's way to masculine and strong for me. I don't think it does anything for blackheads but nice to use from time to time.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
15th July, 2019
1 members found this review useful
Nice but drying

I really love the Garnier 3 in 1 charcoal mask, it does wonders for my skin. So I was intrigued by this when I saw it at the supermarket. So in my trolley it went.

I love that it has a pump, it is a gel consistency and a little bit definitely goes a long way. It has quite a manly fragrance but I don't mind it.  I started using this every morning as I find it is quite messy so the best place to use is in the shower.

It gives me a tingly sensation, its not bad and you get used to it. I have sensitive skin and I get no irritation, however this seems to dry out my face so badly. Even when I follow up with a great moisturiser. Such a shame! It makes my skin look clear and fresh but around my mouth, nose and eye area is super dry.

I can now only use this once or twice a week which is ok, I just rotate my cleansers. If you have dry skin then I suggest alternating this. It has lasted me ages because of this.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
16th May, 2019
1 members found this review useful
Not for me

I am one of hose people that forever has blackheads on the nose no matter what I do or try so I was looking forward to trying this. I have combination skin with a mainly oily T zone and chin which is where I get my blackheads so I used this product only on those zones. After a few days I did notice a slight change in how noticeable the blackheads on my nose were so was pleased with that. However I am now almost 2 weeks down the track and I had to stop using this a few days ago, my nose is completely dry and almost cracked around the edges! This has dried my skin out so badly and it looks absolutely awful! I won't be using this again - while it does reduce the appearance of blackheads slightly, the damage it has done to my skin is not worth it. in my opinion

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
25th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Surprised me!

I was weary using this as I know charcoal can be very drying and my skin is currently combination, so I didn't want to dry out the already dry areas just to have the blackhead prone areas (my forehead and cheeks) look better. However my blackheads have been worse than usual this summer, so help was needed.

Before I get into it... the packaging is nice. I like the pump and the look of the product. It has a medicinal feel about it. The scent is clean, fresh and reminds me of men's deodorant, but not in a cheap and nasty way.

I have been using a pump of this every morning on my forehead and cheeks after cleansing with my Ecostore cream cleanser (thanks Beauty Review!). It leaves my cheeks and forehead feeling cleansed and really smooth. It hasn't stripped my oily areas. If anything I feel they've been more matte during the day. Since using I've seen no new blackheads and my stubborn blackheads have become smaller and less gunky.

I'm also using this on my back and have seen/felt a reduction in back pimples, which is fantastic.

I've knocked it back a point on the recommendation, because even though it is gentle, it does dry skin - so if you're oily skinned, go for it. Combo skinned, go for it on your oily areas. Dry skinned - I'd pass.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
11th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Charcoal Gel

I had heard of a charcoal gel face wash before so to me this was one of a kind and I do like Garnier products so giving this a go was a no brainer.

The 200 ml bottle is a decent size and should last quite a while.

The product is a smooth gel, it does have a slight chemical smell but its not nasty. If you like more floral scents then this may not be for you.

I liked that the gel removed all traces of makeup and made my skin squeaky clean.

With regards to the main feature of this product - reducing blackheads - I cant say that I've noticed a huge difference. Perhaps I need to use it for longer, I'm not sure.

All in all its not a bad product, just don't be expecting to see results overnight.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
8th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Garner Pure Active Charcoal Gel Wash

My skin is pretty sensitive and I am quite touchy about what goes on it, but always looking for the next holy grail so gave it a go!

The bottle definitely screams garnier and fits with the rest of their ranges. It is a really decent size for the price which is a bonus and the pump top lid is always a plus to minimise wastage.

I was quite intrigued with the colour, but dissapointed to find it is not actually thick black, but a dark grey. Although it is still pretty intense, I was envisaging a thick black tar like substance to schloop across my face. It is actually a great consistency and perfect for a face wash, despite my initial disappointment.

The scent is strong and chemically which put me off. You can tell that this is a strong and acidic product by it's scent, which isn't bad, but also isn't overly natural smelling. It's fine, it's not a plus but also not a negative.

Now it did seem to break me out, as in my face erupted in places that night. I have been stressed with exams so there's always other factors, but I did break out after using it. Because of that, I am not going to keep using it and hence the low rating.

I generally don't cope well with garnier products, so that is another reason my face went crazy!

All in all its not a bad product and I think in other circumstances with different skin types it can provide a nice deep clean, just not for me I'm afraid.

Tips: If you are sensitive to garnier products then this one isn't for you!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Fantastic cleanser!

This charcoal cleanser is very effective on combination/oily skin. I do think it could be a bit drying for normal to dry/sensitive skin types. But I have combination skin so I found it to be very effective at preventing break outs around my T Zone. Also it really does a great job at clarifying pores and has noticeably reduced the blackheads that I had on my nose! So it really did do what it said it would do. It’s fantastic at getting rid of blackheads! The only complaint I have about the product is that I think it has quite a strong, chemical smell. So that’s the only downside and that could just be my personal experience. But if you’re sensitive to strong smelling products, then that may be something to consider. But overall, it is a product that does what it promises and delivers results!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.3/5
8th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Not great.

First impression of the bottle was great, it is a nice sleek look packaging and I love the pump! Certainly makes it easier to dispense the face wash. Product foams up well and definitely washes the face well. However that is where the positives wnd for me. The next day I woke up with a greasier than normal face. I thought to myself, maybe this is one of those things that gets worse before it gets better but after a whole week I am getting more blackheads by the day in places on my face that zi didn’t have them before. Therefore I don’t believe it does what it claims to do. It does clean off makeup nicely though.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
7th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Same old blackheads

Packaging looks okay, the bottle is slim which could be good for storage? Pump is easy to work but does squirt out a bit to much product for my liking (half a pump was perfect).

As the packaging outlines the product is black and then turns to white when applied to the face (which I think is pretty cool). The product has the strong "ocean breeze" smell which is nice and refreshing. I found the product was pretty good at taking my make up products off (BBC cream, brow product, bronzer and highlghter). However I did find the product very drying. My normally very moisturising night creme was struggling to counter act this dryness. Upon my first use any pores/blackheads didn't appear to be any different than previous. Subsequently I don't think it made much difference either. I found that my skin was breaking out more than normal using this product.

Would I go out of my way to purchase this product, probably not. Would I recommend to a friend, yeah if they were wanting to try something new out.

Tips: Dont use a full pump. Use highly moisturizing product after due to drying nature of this product.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
7th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Definitely recommend - give it a go!

I am quite impressed by this gel wash. I have only been using it once a day, as it does work really well on controlling oil/shine, so I decided that I'd rather use moisturising cleansers at night time.

As I said, my shine has definitely improved and I don't find my skin shiny by the end of the day. I don't have a huge problem with blackheads, just the odd one here and there, but I've definitely noticed that I haven't had any since starting to use this.

It feels really nice on - not too drying so you don't get the tight feeling afterwards.

I am used to using a natural based product where you can slather it across your entire face (eyes and mouth included), so that takes a bit of getting used to.

Tips: - Use a small amount - a pea size is enough. - Lather in your hands first, otherwise it's hard to work into your skin, and then rinse off. - Do not get this in your eyes or mouth. It tastes horrible :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

CHAT TO WIN!

Every forum post you make is an entry in the weekly draw to win a Remington Curl and Straight worth $249.99.

We're giving one away every week for the next three weeks!

Winner announced every Monday morning!

Click Here to Chat!