Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Garnier Hair Food Shampoo Bar - Watermelon

Garnier Hair Food Shampoo Bar - Watermelon
Overall rating from 39 reviews so far:
3.9/5
Would use it again?
3.8/5
Did it do what it said it would?
3.9/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.9/5

Where to buy?

All Garnier products are officially approved by Cruelty Free International.

Since 1989, Garnier has been committed to a world without animal testing.

Garnier Fructis Hair Food have developed their 1st shampoo bar. Blended with 94% plant origin ingredients and biodegradable & vegan formulas, Hair Food Shampoo Bars are just as nourishing and foamy as a liquid shampoo. Lasting up to the equivalent of up to 2 x 250ml bottles, fast rinse formulas and no plastic waste.

Watermelon for Fine Hair

Website: Garnier Facebook Page

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Garnier Hair Food Shampoo Bar - Watermelon

Garnier Hair Food Shampoo Bar - Watermelon

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.3/5
10th July, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Smells Amazing

This bar smells SO good it smells really nice and fresh but it doesn’t dry my hair out which is really good! it definitely makes my hair feel really light and hydrated. It gives a small amount of volume since it doesn’t weigh the hair down. It makes your hair feel really nice and clean as well as giving it a super shiny healthy look.

Tips: i like to rub the bar in between my hands until it foams up and emulsifies then apply to my head from there as opposed to rubbing the bar straight on my hair.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
1.3/5
8th July, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Watermelon Hair Food Shampoo Bar

I absolutely love the idea of shampoo bars! Less environmental waste is always good, right? The product's packaging is spot on, a nice cardboard box with no plastic <3 While this product presumably represents these values I'm not sold on the formula. The shampoo bar is super easy to use, a few swipes over your hair and you get a nice lather, however, my hair felt rather "squeaky" clean after use, which is something I do not like. I really disliked the scent, it's advertised as watermelon, yet the main scent I could smell was an artificial coconut smell which I really do not like. There are undertones of watermelon, but they should be stronger in my opinion. I also didn't like the result after use - my hair had a lot more dry flyaways and a distinct lack of shine and while I have fine hair, it still felt weighed down by this product. Overall, I can honestly say I would not use this brand again

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
8th July, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Works very well

I tried this product at the same time as the Garnier Fructis Hair Food Watermelon. I never use shampoo on its own so I did use it with conditioner. I usually shampoo once to twice a week.

This is the best shampoo bar I have tried. The packaging was nice and small but the bar itself was larger than most others I have tried. It claims to last up to the equivalent of 500ml - I haven’t used up the bar so I can’t comment on that.

I found it easy to use, i lathered it into my hands and then rubbed that through my hair. It lathered a small amount. It doesn’t claim to be good for dyed hair so I can’t hold this against it, but the reason it didn’t get 5/5 for use again is that I have dyed hair (green) and I felt like a lot of green came out while I washed it. It did give me the usual squeaky clean feeling that you get before conditioner. Combined with the conditioner my hair felt really soft and I did notice more volume. I usually always need to add leave in conditioner to my hair in order to comb it after I shower but with this shampoo and hair food combo I didn’t! My hair felt really good. The scent was nice, not too strong but definitely there so if you don’t like scents this wouldn’t work for you. I didn’t notice any scent once my hair was dry though.

Overall I like this and would use it again but not every time to preserve my hair colour.

Tips: The instructions say to rub the bar through your hair but I find that really hard to do as it doesn’t slide nicely. Instead I like to lather it up in my hands and rub my hands through my hair. I then repeat if I need more product.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.3/5
8th July, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Make sure you get a good lather

I like that this solid shampoo bar comes in a simple cardboard packaging. The ‘watermelon’ scent is quite strong and I wasn’t entirely convinced I liked it at first. The first time I used this bar I was quite disappointed - I felt like by lunchtime the next day I needed to wash my hair again! Not a good look. But second time I used a bit more to get a good lather. Combined with the conditioner it dies leave your hair smelling nice and gives a bit of body to fine hair. Will probably use for travel as it’s nice and compact and easy to pop in a little container.

Tips: Make sure you get a good lather and get enough product through your hair

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
6th July, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Less Waste, beautiful hair!

I have tried Shampoo Bars in the past and had decided they were not for me (another brand). However, so far, I am pleasantly surprised with the Garnier Hair Food Shampoo Bar - Watermelon.

The bar comes in a lovely little cardboard box which took up no room in my recycle bin. The packaging was bright and exciting, and you felt good about yourself just by how little waste you were creating on this planet. However, at the same time no information was spared on what this product could do or how to use the bar.

The little solid Shampoo bar has a Watermelony fragrance which is pleasant but not completely natural smelling but I enjoyed the fragrance whilst using it.

The bar is surprisingly easy to use. It foams up easily and you get great coverage over your hair (I have fine hair but lots of it). I always shampoo twice and my hair felt as clean, if not cleaner than other products I use. After using the bar it hardly looked like I had even used any product at all, I can see how this would last a very long time.

Once my hair was dry it was shiny and healthy (I have found some other shampoo bars would leave my hair to dry and dull). Some products tend to lead to my hair getting oily very quickly but have found this bar would leave my hair looking clean for a couple of days (I used the Garnier Hair Food Conditioner too, If I had left out the conditioner I may have had more Oil Free hair days).

Overall, so far I am really pleased with this product and would definitely consider purchasing this again. I would recommend to anyone who was looking to cut their waste, cares about our environment or who just wants to have an alternative for lovely shiny hair

Tips: I would recommend getting a reusable container to keep in your shower for the bar so it doesn't get damaged or washed away between uses.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
6th July, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Garnier Hair Food Shampoo Bar - Watermelon

The smell if this was amazing! The packaging was minimal which was great, it comes in a completely sealed box which has a small hole on the side of the box where you could smell test the product. It was super easy to use and lathered really well. The shape of the bar itself was great, easy to hold in your hand and move through the hair. My hair hair felt lively and clean after using it and it looked like it had a bit more body to it.

Tips: Wet the bar slightly first and use circular motions over the hair to get a good lather. Keep in a soap dish so it can dry out between uses

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th July, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Clean shampoo bar

I was lucky enough to be selected to try this shampoo bar. I was curious as I had heard some shampoo bars leave a slick film on your hair but I was happy to find not the Garnier one. The watermelon 2 in 1 shampoo bar cleaned my hair, added volume and left it smelling fruity. I noticed my hair was super soft without being fluffy. It was pleasing to know they are preservative free, silicone free, no artificial colourants and the packaging is recyclable. Love that I am helping the planet as well as my hair!

Tips: My tip would be to store it in a dry place after each use for longevity of the bar.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Hair Food - Watermelon

I've used and enjoyed several flavours of the Hair Food tubs, and was super intrigued by the idea of a Hair Food shampoo bar. They seem like polar opposites - the hydrating, smoothing, thick conditioner compared to...a bar of soap!

This lathered well, but had the texture of soap. I was convinced it was going to knot and tangle my hair, the lather felt very grippy between my fingers.

On the first use I immediately followed with conditioner and used my wide tooth comb in the shower. I was relieved that my hair detangled easily, so the next time I used it, I didn't immediately follow with conditioner and instead combed my just-shampooed wet hair. It was pretty easy!

My hair is lovely using this, its shiny an smells so good! It feels hydrated.

I was surprised by the price point, $18 a bar, so would look to purchase on special. However it is economical and will last.

Tips: Follow with conditioner.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
20th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Smells so good!

I never thought of watermelon as being a scent I'd want to smell like and yet I've been sniffing my hair all day after using this!

I've used shampoo bars in the past - they're something I gravitate towards when I want to be more eco-friendly, but the results haven't spurred me into continuing using them.

This product by Garnier was really surprising in that I want to keep using it! I found it holds up well in the shower, it isn't disintegrating quickly, although I will definitely get a tin to keep it in between uses.

I love that its cruelty-free and the packaging is super-eco friendly. I like the Hair Food branding.

This bar is essentially the same as a liquid shampoo in terms of the results, my hair was clean and soft. It was easy to brush through afterwards, styled easily with extra volume and was super shiny!

I'll be back in 3 months to buy a new one!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
It's an adjustment, but a good one!

This trial team has been a revelation. I hadn't seriously considered switching to solid hair care - mostly because it just seems like it would be so drying on your hair.

It's much like using a bar of soap. I prefered the lather this in my hands and use those to agitate the product through my hair. It foams surprisingly well.

Thankfully it is nothing like a bar of soap in terms of results. My hair felt clean and refreshed, but not squeaky clean. It was soft and manageable but not fluffy.

I followed with the Watermelon Hair food and was impressed with the combined results.

I love that this will last the equivalent of 2 x 250ml bottles. For me one bar should be around 4 months worth of shampoo, if not more!

Tips: Invest in a holder, or case, especially if you want to keep it in the shower.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

L'OREAL REVIEWERS NEEDED!

We're putting together Trial Teams for several L'Oreal cosmetic products.

There are no catches to our Trial Teams - get selected, and we'll send you the full sized product for free. All you need to do is place a well-written and informative review!

Click the link to find out more - and put your hand up today!

CLICK HERE TO CHECK OUT THE LATEST L'OREAL TRIAL TEAM!