Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Garnier Hair Food Shampoo Bar - Aloe

Garnier Hair Food Shampoo Bar - Aloe
Overall rating from 30 reviews so far:
4.2/5
Would use it again?
3.9/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.2/5

PLEASE READ BEFORE ACCEPTING THIS TRIAL INVITATION!

THIS TRIAL TEAM WILL BE REVIEWING TWO PRODUCTS - THE SHAMPOO BAR AND MATCHING HAIR FOOD CONDITIONER.

IF YOU ACCEPT THIS INVITATION YOU'LL NEED TO PLACE TWO WELL-WRITTEN REVIEWS BY THE DEADLINE.

PLEASE DECLINE IF YOU CAN'T COMMIT TO DO THIS.

 

All Garnier products are officially approved by Cruelty Free International.

Since 1989, Garnier has been committed to a world without animal testing.

Garnier Fructis Hair Food have developed their 1st shampoo bar. Blended with 94% plant origin ingredients and biodegradable & vegan formulas, Hair Food Shampoo Bars are just as nourishing and foamy as a liquid shampoo. Lasting up to the equivalent of up to 2 x 250ml bottles, fast rinse formulas and no plastic waste.

Aloe for Normal to Dry hair

Website: Garnier Facebook Page

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Garnier Hair Food Shampoo Bar - Aloe

Garnier Hair Food Shampoo Bar - Aloe

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.3/5
6th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Garnier Shampoo Bar Review

First impression way before even opening the package from Beauty Review was the super strong scent! I’m not sure if it’s actually what aloe Vera smells like but it was very strong! Also noticed upon opening the packaging and checking out the shampoo bag it is different in shape to all the other shampoo bars I’ve bought and tried (I’ve pretty much bought and tried them all!)

Thankfully, after using and rinsing out and following up with Garnier Hair Food Multi Use product, the scent afterward isn’t as strong but you can actually smell the scent a little bit if you actually grab some hair otherwise it at not noticeable (for me anyway)

I found the product did as it claimed it wouldn’t, which isn’t too much different from any other shampoo bars or shampoos. The highlight is the unique shape of the bar which allows for easy grip and use. The product lathers up pretty easily after wwiping a few times and massaging around the scalp with your fingers.

Tips: Very easy to use with the shampoo bars unique shape

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Amazing eco friendly product!

I absolutely love this in combination with the hair food conditioner! The packaging is so colorful and the shape of the shampoo bar is so unique. When you open it a fresh fruity smell catches you, not too overpowering. The shampoo goes a long way you only need a little, I rub the bar directly onto my hair for it to foam up and covers all your hair,

after using this in combination with the conditioner my hair was beautiful, shiny, smooth and smelled great. Love it! Will definitely try again.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
6th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Lovely product provided your hair isn't coloured

I"ve been using shampoo bars for a few years now so I knew what to expect. This bar was lovely and refreshing on my scalp and it was easy to create a good amount of lather. If anything it was too easy and if I didn't have a block dock to store my shampoo bar it'd be worry it would disintegrate rather quickly. The bar is packaged in a cardboard box so I suspect this is also better for the environment along with the bar itself.

The only negative thing I have to say is that it removes my green hair dye. Every wash I did I noticed there was green residue in the lather bubbles and then a faint green tinge in the water when I rinsed. So sadly I wouldn't purchase for myself as my green hair is special to me. But if I didn't have my hair dyed I would use.

Tips: Ensure it doesn't sit in moisture as it'll dissolve faster. Something like a "Block Dock" would be best so it lasts longer.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
1.0/5
6th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Would never use again

Probably the worst shampoo I've ever used. I was really excited to use a shampoo bar, but was highly disappointed with this one. It left my hair feeling greasy and and like I had used dry shampoo and hairspray for weeks without washing it. Thought it may just be my hair it done this too so tried it on the kids, and was exactly the same. The smell is alright but once applied to the hair it gives off the most awful smell. It's also a little annoying as you can't leave it in the shower without other shower grub getting on it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
6th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Garnier Hair Shampoo Bar - Aloe

I'll be very honest, I was expecting this to be much like applying soap to my hair. I was sure it would strip any goodness from my scalp and hair resulting in a straw like texture creating multiple knots... but it didn't! I was pleasantly surprised. In true Fructis style it smells fruity fresh & clean. The instructions tell you to wet the bar and apply it to your wet hair by sliding the bar from your roots to the tips, creating a foamy texture. It took a little bit to create the foamy texture with a new virgin bar, and the process felt very foreign, but once I got the knack I managed to create a luscious foamy texture. I'm a shampoo twice girl, so did this each time I used the bar, being a total of 3 washes over the week (6 rinses). I was truly happy with the clealiness of my hair after rinsing & how soft and hydrated my hair felt. I was wowed. However, the bar needs to be kept dry between uses, this was an issue as I had nowhere to keep it other than the shower, so decided to house it in its original packaging between uses. This worked ok for a couple of days, but the sustainable packaging was quickly deteriorating in the moist surroundings (being the shower). I couldn't help but wish that I had a soap container to keep it in. I checked it out at my local New World and was shocked at the price, it was 3 times the price I was expecting. I thought for the price perhaps the packaging could have accommodated the bar for long term storage and still had been sustainable? I also noted on the packing that it states the bar is equivalent to 2x 250ml bottles of shampoo, I wholeheartedly disagree with this, maybe equivalent to one 250ml bottle. All in all, its a great shampoo to travel with (once you've purchased your soap container to house it in) and would be perfect for the gym etc

Tips: Purchase a container or open air dish to store it in.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
A big surprise

I have to say I wasn't 100% sure I'd like this product, if anyone made the mistake I did as a kid and rubbed you hair with soap, you'd understand why - the knots. However, this is a game changer. Firstly the smell is beautiful - so fresh, it's just gorgeous. I used the shampoo bar as directed and rubbed it onto my hair, it lathered easily. I then put the bar down and massaged it in and rinsed. Easy peazy. My hair was wonderfully clean smelt divine. However, it was after it dried that the real magic was noticed, it was so soft and well hydrated, and not in the sense it weighs curls down. Just perfect, frizz free soft hair. I did always use the hair mask with the bar, so I cannot be completely sure that it's the bar or the mask or both together that are responsible for this, but I'm very happy.

Lastly, from an environmental stand point it's great, as it comes in a cardboard box and is a bar. Nothing harmful. The bar is a teardrop shape so you can tell it a part from other soaps.

Tips: I put it out of the way on the side of the bath after use and found the next time I used it that it was a little stuck to the surface - use a soap dish to avoid this.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
6th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
First time user of a solid shampoo !

I was a little sceptical to try the shampoo bar having never used one before. However, I have to say I'm pleasantly surprised. It was very simple to use, you just rub the bar down your hair, and it instantly turned into a nice frothy shampoo.

I certainly felt like it cleansed my hair very thoroughly, like it stripped out the hair products and hair spray without stripping the moisture from my hair. I love that it contains nasties so its actually good for your hair too.

The fact that its quite a small bar and yet is equivalent to 2 bottles of shampoo is great, and will also make it easy when travelling.

One other plus which I loved, was the smell when I walked into the bathroom. Because the soap is uncovered, you can smell it as soon as you walk in and its just divine.

I definitely recommend it and for under $10 its such a bargain!!

Tips: A little goes a long way.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Aloe Vera Shampoo Bar - Dry to Normal Hair

This shampoo bar is an effective hair cleanser and is hydrating for dry to normal hair types. It lathers into a lovely soft foam, hair is cleaned effectively and without a drying or stripped feel afterwards. Hair seems manageable after rinsing so you could opt out of conditioner. For extra conditioning reach for one of the great options from Garnier- either hair food conditioner or hair food treatment. The bar is tear drop shaped so it fits easily in your hand making it easy to lather up on wet hair. The fragrance is soft and delicate, making hair smell clean afterwards but not interfere with other fragrance products like your perfume. Hair feels weightless after using this bar, good for those wanting volume without frizz. I love that it is free of preservatives, contains no silicone, it's 98% biodegradable and there is no plastic waste with the packaging making it better for the environment. Definitely would buy or recommend this product. It does the same job as a liquid shampoo and takes up less space in the bathroom.

Tips: Keep it dry - after use take away from wet surface. Store on soap dish so it totally dries between use.

Good option to use if traveling- no leaking bottles.

Rub it on wet hair from roots to lengths for a good lather. Rinse thoroughly.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th June, 2022
1 members found this review useful
Pleasantly suprised!

I have to say, I have been pleasantly surprised by the Garnier Hair Food Shampoo Bar - Aloe. My expectations were not high. Other shampoo bars I haved used in the past (very past) have left my hair dry & brittle feeling, like using a normal bar of soap on your hair. I could not have been more wrong! I'm pleased to say this bar goes on super smooth and feels silky. I lathered up bubbles and I could really get in and give it a good scrub, It rinsed out super easy, no feeling of residue and it felt good. Would I use this again? Yes! I'd love to try the other types. The price point does put me off a bit but I would pay more than that for my normal salon shampoo. I also suffer from itchy scalp with alot of shampoos but this one is totally fine, no irritation at all, yay! I only wash my hair every other day, longer if I can get away with it so it should last a while. Glad I was chosen for this trial as its completely changed my mind about solid shampoo, I love it!

Tips: Keep it well away from your regular body soaps so family doesnt think its a normal bar of soap and uses the whole thing up in just a few showers!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
6th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Absolutely Love

I’ve been lucky to trial a few shampoo/conditioners through beauty review and since trialling the Garnier Banana shampoo/conditioner I’ve been hooked. When I was picked for this trial I already knew I would love it. I’ve trialled many bar shampoos and they’re not bad, but not my fav. This aloe bar shampoo on the other hand I loved instantly. Fresh scent, lathers up perfectly, and easy to rinse out. Other bar shampoos I’ve tried I have found take ages to rinse from your hair. Not this one! I usually only wash my hair once a week as I have curly hair. For the sake of this trial I washed it twice a week. My hair did not turn into a frizzy mop and it didn’t dry out which I was so happy with! Will definitely be using this again. Love the fact that it will also save me money as it is the equivalent of 2 bottle shampoos! I highly recommend the shampoo bar. Hopefully they have the other scents in bar form too! As the banana scent is my ultimate fav, with aloe coming a close second :)

Tips: Use with the treatment in the tub for the ultimate benefits :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

DOUBLE BEAUTY POINTS!

Do you love Antipodes?

We've updated all of the Antipodes listings - so if you've been waiting to review an Antipodes product, or three, now you can!

And until midnight Saturday 2nd July, you'll earn DOUBLE Beauty Points for every Antipodes review you place!

CLICK HERE TO FIND AN ANTIPODES PRODUCT TO REVIEW!