Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Living Light Soy Travel Tin Review

Living Light Soy Travel Tin Review
Overall rating from 33 reviews so far:
3.8/5
Would use it again?
3.7/5
Did it do what it said it would?
3.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.8/5

Where ever you go, take these little gems (mostly fragranced with Essential Oil) with you to freshen and enhance your space. They make wonderful gifts for sending overseas. Available in a range of gorgeous scents.

 From

Website  www.livinglightcandles.co.nz



Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Living Light Soy Travel Tin Review

Living Light Soy Travel Tin Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
14th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Living Light Pohutukawa - Citrus, Berries, Spices

I got this in the first BBE ever released. I'm really happy with the scent I got - Pohutukawa. This is such a beautiful festive scent for Christmas. It smells like a mix of berries and spices with a hint of citrus. Now the scent has quite the staying power honestly I don't need to light it to get the aroma. I can just put it on the it on the table and next to me or the beside table the scent just wafts in the air. All I need to to do is make sure that when I'm done I screw the lid on tightly.

The burn time is supposed to be eighteen hours with this candle that comes to about a dollar per hour and while I have discovered wax melts to be more cost effective, this isn't too expensive in price for a good candle with a layered scent. The tin can get really hot when it burns so I would recommend placing a sauce underneath it to protect any furniture. I haven't gotten to the end of the candle yet but if I hadn't discovered wax melts I would've repurchased this scent in a larger size.

Tips: If you are looking for a festive scented candle for Christmas this is the scent to go for plus the scent throw is really good even before you light it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th December, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Lovely little tin!

Before I received one of these I was sceptical of Living Light, because of the price. But it only took smelling this - not even burning it - to realise that I get what I pay for with these candles. They are slow-burning, so last a surprisingly long time, and they don't sting on scent. You don't even need to be burning it to benefit from this candle - just sitting it next to me on the desk is enough!

The packaging - a cute metal tin - is great because there's nothing breakable. Probably my only suggestion would be to also produce these in a larger tin, maybe twice the size.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
21st November, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Handy candle in a tin

I have the pohutukawa scented tin candle by Living Light. When you open the tin, the unlit candle is very beautifully scented, quite strong - citrus, berries and spice make a very unique smell that is very pleasant. In fact I loved the scent so much I gave a set with a spray, diffuser and larger sized candle to a friend overseas who adored it. I only burn my candles for a couple of hours at a time and the candle is still half full after using it 5 or 6 times. The burning scent is subtle when you are in the same room as the candle, but if you go outside into fresh air and then go back in again you can definitely notice the lovely smell. I think the tin can be a tad dangerous as it can get warm while in use so place it on a heat proof surface and let it cool completely before handling after use. I like that it has a secure lid so it can be packed away easily and conveniently after use (when cooled). I think it is a tad on the pricey side for the soze that it is, great as a gift but to purchase for myself it would have to be a special treat.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th September, 2016
0 members found this review useful
I'm addicted

This is absolutely the best scented candle I've ever had, and I've tried a lot over the years! I received it in a BBBE and am so happy I did, as I'd never heard of the brand before. Now I see they have a shop locally, so I'm definitely heading in to buy more for the Christmas season etc. I love the wee tin it's in and that you can close it up after using it to protect it, and take it with you for a romantic weekend away, without damaging it. The scent really is divine and doesn't irritate me at all, or cause any allergy type reactions in our family. It's a beautiful natural scent that fills the whole house without getting too much. Awesome local brand, definitely worth the money - great price.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
1.0/5
25th September, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Hardly any scent

I love that this candle is fragranced with essential oils, however, the scent is hardly there. I had high hopes for this candle but I was disappointed that you could hardly smell it at all. I have this candle in revive which is meant to smell like lime, orange and grapefruit. The citrus scents are very light and fresh, and combine to give a lovely scent. I can only really smell this when I bend down to smell the candle though. When it's lit the scent is very weak and doesn't travel well. You can hardly smell it even when you sit right next to it within a metre.

I also love that this candle is made from pure soy wax. This is meant to last longer and have a longer burn time. And so far I think it will last quite a long time. It says it has up to 18 hours of burn time and I expect this candle will last for 18 hours. So far mine has been burning for about 4 hours and looking inside the tin hardly any of the soy wax has disappeared.

This candle comes in a cute little tin, about the size of the old fashioned tins hard boiled sweets used to come in that you used to be able to buy. The tin is a nice size and would be good for traveling as you can screw the lid back on.

Overall I was very disappointed with this candle and will not be repurchasing this.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th July, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Lavender Heaven!!

I am so glad that there was a candle in the last vault, as that was the first thing on my list and I made sure to get it first. It arrived in a timely manner thanks to the dutiful Beauty Babes who packed it lovingly, and I was away laughing. I did however pack it up before I got to use it even once, but now that we are in our new home it's in it's new home too!

The thing that attracted me most to this candle was the smell. It doesn't smell like a fake lavender - it smells like I have a lavender bush in my house. The first time I burned it I really should have trimmed the wick as it was quite large (as was the flame) but it seemed to burn evenly with not a lot of wax dripping, which is good because it was above my head!

The throw of this candle is delightful when it's burning, it can be smelled all through the bathroom and laundry and even follows me into the living room. It's awesome!! I was having a lavender bath at the time so this complimented it nicely, as well as being it's own stand out smell. And I was most definitely relaxed!! This candle is just great and I'd gladly buy another!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
1.3/5
6th July, 2016
0 members found this review useful
This confirmed my dislike of scented candles

I got this beautiful candle in the recent BR vault. I was even more excited to know that it was a pillar candle not just a little one in a tin. I am usually a wax melts in a warmer sort of girl but when this popped its gorgeous head up in the vault, I knew I had to have it!! I mean cmon for 390 of my hard earned points it is soooo worth it!!!

The appearance of the candle is simply quite exquisite. Like I said it's a pillar candle and reminds me of marmalade colour. Upon smelling, I am reminded of a citrus orchard and lemon curd. I am such a huge fan of citrus and anything tangy so this would be right up my alley!

I have never tried Living Light branded candles so didn't have any real expectations. In the past I have been let down by scented candles and am often a little too anxious to leave them going for any long period of time because of the fire risk. I lit it nonetheless and waited for the beautiful citrus to fill my nostrils. I waited and I waited and it never really came. I wanted a punch of scent to hit me but all I got was a huge amount of nothingness!!! To say I was disappointed is an understatement. It now has pride of place in my emergency power outage kit because that's all it is good for now! (SAD FACE)

Tips: If you are expecting a citrus hit or any hit at all, move along this isn't going to fulfill that.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
7th June, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Only got to use half of this one

I got the travel size tin of this in my Beauty Review box. I've never tried or even heard of this brand before that. I've started being more of a candle person so it was definitely something I was looking forward to trying out.

The packaging of this is quite unique, to me. All my other candles are in glass jars but this one is in a little tin. I really like how it looks, almost rustic I guess. This has orange labelling, orange always screams citrus to me so I think this colour is the perfect choice.

The scent of this is very much as described. It smells slightly herbal, but definitely has the sweet orange sweet overtop of that. It smells nice before it is lit and when it is lit, it scents up my room nicely and within the first hour or so which I think is pretty good.

The big downside to me, came just now actually. I had it burning this morning (after using about half of it previously), and I noticed it had gone out. The wick had fallen over and won't support itself so it had gone back into the wax and went out. I have no way of making this stand on it's own again so sadly this candle is done for me. I did enjoy the scent while I was using it but I wouldn't go out and purchase this because I would hate for that to happen again.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th May, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Subtly Revived

When I saw a candle added to the bestbeautybox I was so happy to see that added. I got my box through the TGIF deal. This candle was my first thing to try . With Living Light being featured on Beauty Review I simply could not wait to try this candle out.

This comes in a beautiful soft metal tin, labelled with a vibrant yellow labelling. My candle is Revive. The texture of this soy candle is creamy white and smooth. Very gentle to touch. This scent reminds me of of sweet lemons with a tangy twist of limes in the background. When I lit this candle I didn't experience any crumbling with the wick. So happy about that. It took at least an hour of burning time to detect this scent. I do understand that soy takes a bit longer to burn.

After burning this candle about four times there is still a little bit remaining in my tin. My partner wasn't a fan of lemon . I definately did enjoy using this candle. This scent was subtly pleasant. Im glad it wasn't overpowering otherwise I think I wouldn't have liked it.I thought it was a wonderful addition this box. I hope they bring more candles out in boxes or even melts. I would love to try more candles from the Living Light range.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
17th May, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Sweet and fruity

I recieved this candle as part of the Best Beauty Box ever. I have purchased candles from living light before as they have some gorgeous scents in their range. This wee delight is no exception! I recieved the pohutakawa scent which is a mix of citrus, spice and berries. While it is a sweet scent it somehow avoids being cloying. It also has amazing longevity for such a cute wee candle!

Unfortunately I found with this candle (and other candles in this tin format) that the wax leaks out the base of the tin, which meant I got candle wax all over my table! I would suggest that you burn candles like these ones on top of a saucer or similar to avoid this.

Would definately recommend living light candles!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

Reviewers Needed for the Garnier Perfecting Care BB Cream!

It's BB Week here at Beauty Review!

We'll be putting the new Perfecting Care range from Garnier to the test - which means we'll be sending it out to members just like you! FOR FREE!

Whether you want a BB Cream with high SPF or one designed to keep oily skin matte...we've got you covered!

Check out the Trial Teams by clicking below!

Put Your Hand Up Here!