Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Davidoff Cool Water Review

Davidoff Cool Water Review
Overall rating from 11 reviews so far:
4.1/5
Would use it again?
3.9/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.0/5

Davidoff Cool Water Review

Cool Water is fresh and sharp, simple and very masculine. Top notes include mint and green nuances, lavender, coriander and rosemary. The heart notes include geranium, neroli, jasmine and sandalwood. The base is composed of cedarwood, musk, amber and tobacco. It was created by Pierre Bourdon in 1988.

 from

Availability  Department stores, selected Farmers stores and online

Website www.zinodavidoff.com



RRP: $59.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Davidoff Cool Water Review

Davidoff Cool Water Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
2.0/5
21st April, 2019
1 members found this review useful
Woman's Davidoff Cool Water Review

I finally gave in and purchased Cool Water by Davidoff after holding out on purchasing new fragrances as i'm trying to use up my current collection. I paid roughly $35NZD for a 50ml bottle which I thought was well priced for an apparently iconic fragrance. I was seeking a cool, refreshing fragrance that would be perfect for summer as all my current fragrances I own tend to be more winter orientated. After reading various online reviews for CW I decided I needed to give it a go for myself. Cool Water opens up as a citrus lemonade scent to me, a fizzy lemon almost. I was expecting a more water or sea salt, ocean kind of scent, to me this comes across as almost masculine with a light musk, melon and citrus - lemonade mix, which is almost unique - yet very familiar. I don't dislike Cool Water, but it is not what I was honestly after, It does feel somewhat dated, but I can see how this is considered a classic by many fragrance lovers. Cool Water does come in a cool blue bottle if aesthetics are an important factor of perfumes for you, I will be passing this one on unfortunately.

Tips: Could be a uni-sex fragrance.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd March, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Cool Water

Personally, on my skin I like the men version better than the women version. I know that because my man and I used to “match” our scents. It’s a fresh but deep/full-bodied scent that lingers for a while. A good, reliable day time scent.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th July, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Men's Cologne

I gifted one of these to my boyfriend for xmas. I love how clean the scent is but still has a masculine feel to it that doesn't come from musk. Seems to last long on him.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
30th August, 2016
1 members found this review useful
My Current Perfume

I am using this now, (women's version) and I find this is perfect for daily wear. I like the freshness of the scent, the gardenia and the florals come through the strongest, but I cannot say I can smell any of the base notes. Longevity is good, and I feel this is a good all-rounder perfume, especially at this time of year. The price tag is very reasonable, the women's bottle is elegant, blue, and shaped similarly like a teardrop. If you like the fresh crisp perfumes, then this is for you.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th August, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Mens Perfume

The version Im reviewing today is the mens. I didnt personally use it but my husband used it before. First of all Im not good with describing perfumes. Only know what I like or not.

I was first introduced to it when we were courting. He was from here and went for a visit to Fiji to meet me. And my goodness, did he smell good or what! At the time I didnt know what he was using and too embrassed to ask. I even followed a stranger who smelled like him. So motifying.

The bottle is a pretty dark blue though nothing too fancy. The smell is strong when you first spray but it mellows down quite quickly. I found it to last a long time and even stays on clothes after washing them. Its more noticeable when ironed the said clothes. In my personal opinion the scent smells better after a while. I think it changes with body temperature and pheromones as well. Its nice and crisp when you first apply and turns warmer, woody and a bit musky.

I loved this perfume but hubbys changed his tastes but I still get butterflies when I get a whiff of this perfume on someone else. Its an oldie but a goodie and I might get it again for him.

Tips: He used to spritz on his body mostly and a couple on his clothes. It worked well.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
7th December, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Popular fragrance

This fragrance was a huge hit amongst a lot of the girls back in high school. It was one of my all time favourites and I happily wore it for a good 5 years until I eventually got sick of it.

Don't let my lack of love for it now put you off, I was surrounded by people who wore this fragrance so it was only natural that I would have enough. The picture and description used for this review is actually for the men however my review is for the women version which shares the same name.

It's beautifully and appropriately packaged to reflect the amazing blend of aquatic and fresh notes. It comes in a lovely pear shaped bottle and it just looks like there was a thought process behind the design. I can spot a Cool Water bottle from anywhere and even though I detest blue this shade is beautiful to match the lovely shape of the bottle.

What I love about this scent is that there's just enough freshness that if it wasn't the best of mornings, this perfume could really be that bit of freshness you need. Once you've smelled it you can easily detect it amongst the rest; it has it's own unique smell much like Calvin Klein Obsession - there is no way you can forget a smell like that.

The scent can be borderline overpowering if you're like myself and spritz-happy but I learned to cut that out once I started getting sick of it. The staying power is fantastic, 2 spritz and it'll easily carry through to the next day.

Over the years I've watched the price reduce so it's much more affordable today than it was for me back then. Today, if I had to pick a Davidoff perfume, it would be Cool Water Game for women (which of course they've discontinued in New Zealand). You won't find me repurchasing this for myself however it would be something I would gift to others.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th August, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Douse Me In It!

This gent scent turned my head more moons ago than I care to think about. Fresh, masculine, not overpowering, it was the scent crushes were made of!

And then I discovered the feminine version! A scent I've had on hand now for 17 years.

I adore Davidoff Cool Water - I like that it's not sweet, it's refreshing, it really does have an aquatic feel on the nose! The bottle is simple, yet elegant. The scent, whilst not overpowering, lasts a long time. I sprayed yesterday and I am still getting hints of it now.

A friend once said that when she smelt this she thought of me - so I guess it's my signature scent.

If you don't like lolly sweet perfumes, this may just be the scent for you to crush on :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
2nd August, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Masculine

Cool Water is a very masculine scent to my nose. Based on the name, the packaging and reviews I had read online, I was expecting an aquatic, fresh scent in the same vein as Dolce Gabanna's Light Blue.

Instead, what I get from Cool Water is a very 'perfumey' type of scent in the sense that I don't smell any natural notes usually associated with aquatic perfumes.

It reminds me of men's aftershave or deodorant colognes such as the Lynx range.

It does have really good siliage and lasting power which are both big pluses

I like the bottle (the tear/water drop shaped) as it's minimalist, sleek and fits with the name and aquatic theme Cool Water is trying to convey.

Tips: As an aside, the picture at the top of this review page and the blurb are both referring to the men's version of the scent.

The scent for women has a different bottle shape & notes. It was also created in 1996 and not 1988

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st July, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Another Fav x

I first smelt the men's one back on my college years lol and absolutely loved it! Then finally brought myself the womens, just like the mens I feel in love lol...

I have a few favs and this is definitely one of them. . The scent last all day long and only need a few sprays. .. The scent to me reminds me of summer? I love it and well worth it x

Tips: Dont over spray! Only need a few sprays as can be over powering...

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th June, 2014
0 members found this review useful
LOVE LOVE LOVE

This perfume is my favorite. It's my smell have been in love with it since I first smelt it on my older sister many years ago. I have bottles apon bottles of the stuff. It's not a fruity over the top smell. I find it to be very refreshing and long lasting compared to some of the perfumes out now. Absolutely adore the bottles both mens and women's. Can't say anything bad about it! Absolutely love it :-)

Tips: Spray a little in your hair as well as the usual places for that refreshing scent every now and then. Dont need a lot so be careful not to over do it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No