Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

The Beauty Vault - Aug
The Beauty Vault - Aug

Manicare Flawless Complexion Sponge Review

Manicare Flawless Complexion Sponge Review
Overall rating from 27 reviews so far:
3.2/5
Would use it again?
3.1/5
Did it do what it said it would?
3.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.0/5

The Manicare Flawless Cosmetic Sponge is an all in one tool for flawless coverage. Perfect for flawlessly blending foundation and covering imperfections. Use wet for a light coverage and dry for more coverage. 

Availability Selected Pharmacies

Website www.manicare.co.nz



RRP: $11.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Manicare Flawless Complexion Sponge Review

Manicare Flawless Complexion Sponge Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
1.7/5
29th April, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Soaks up so much product

I used it with my Rimmel B.B. cream dry, and it soaked up way too much product. I found I had to find double the amount of product on my face, as opposed to just using my fingers. It did give a really nice coverage though and I love it I just wish it didn’t soak up too much product. It is very dense and such a nice shape though, with an amazing springiness so it’s a shame that it soaks up so much product.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
25th September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Best sponge I've found!

I was pretty excited to try this because my well-worn Kmart blending sponge definitely is past its prime.

When used properly (damp) it is very dense and springy, and I found that it didn't soak up much product at all, which is a plus. I used this sponge to both apply and blend my liquid foundations - normally I have to apply it with my fingers as my other sponges and foundation brushes soak up too much of it - and to blend out my cream concealer and contour.

It expands to about double the original size, and retains its soft bounciness whist damp. I didn't really follow the instructions on the packaging for application, but the angled side was perfect for applying product around my nose and under the eyes. I think the shape overall makes the sponge useful for the entire face.

I used this for my dance competition on the weekend and it definitely helped the makeup process go smoothly.

Tips: Use damp!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.0/5
16th September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Not a game changer..

So, I have to admit, I've yet to find a make up sponge that I like. I love Natio liquid foundations and bb creams, and this sponge, like most others I've tried, sucks up a lot of product. I get a lot more coverage out of a little product by using my hands. I found the sponge left some 'cakey' looking areas when trying to add more coverage to blemishes. I will continue to try it out though, as I don't have a lot of experience using sponges. One thing I will give this sponge is that it is very easy to clean, a little warm water and soap does the trick well. Not a terrible product, but not a game changer for me.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
1.0/5
16th September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Wasn't That Impressed Unfortunately

I had high hopes that this was going to be one of those products that was going to blow me away. Unfortunately as the title of my review suggests I wasn't impressed with this product.

I decided to use it exactly as the product suggested and used it dry first applying my product using soft sweeps across the face (they suggested this if to like full coverage which I do). BAD MOVE! All it did was absorb product into the sponge and whatever product was left just got moved around my face. I decided the next day to try it again but this time with a damp sponge. While it did do a slightly better job I still found that it didn't give me the coverage that I like, which is full. I did find however that pushing the sponge into my face as opposed to swiping it did give me the best coverage.

In my opinion a beauty blender does a better job. I found the sponge itself quite dense and hard. Even after wetting out it took a lot of effort to squeeze the water out. It's not a soft product. I also found the shape of the sponge a little strange and found the rounded end a little difficult to use under my eyes so wasn't able to blend out my concealer that well.

I will keep experimenting with the sponge but probably not for foundation!

Tips: Don't even bother trying to use this sponge dry. it just soaks up all your product! If you like light coverage though you will definitely love this sponge!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
16th September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Flawless skin, with the flawless complexion sponge

The beauty blender and beauty sponges quickly made a name for themselves as one of beauty guru's favorite tools - but with the cost hitting as high as $40 dollars per sponge... could the great value of Manicure's Flawless Complexion Sponge compete at only $11.99?

This sponge comes with the classic rounded end and the new addition of a flat side. They recommend using the sponge wet for a lighter coverage and dry for a fuller coverage.

Now, before anything else - the beauty sponge, no matter what brand will absorb your product so the overall outcome will always be a slightly more sheer coverage. However, because of the flat side of this sponge, allowing you to apply your foundation and concealer in a pressing motion against your skin, this truly does improve the coverage - I found that although some product was being absorbed, my foundation was still giving me the coverage I needed, whilst blending seamlessly so it looked natural yet it still hid any cheeky blemishes.

I also really enjoyed the flat side for precision blending of my concealer, I was able to get in close to my eye (without feeling like I was going to squash or poke it!).

Using the sponge wet, does as it says it will - gives a slightly more sheer coverage but it also creates a really beautiful dewy complexion - so if you're having a great skin day and/or want a natural, glowing look - the wet sponge is definitely your go-to.

As with any beauty tool - it's important to wash this regularly and I would encourage after every use. Bacteria does build quickly on these sponges and that can create breakouts. The sponge cleaned easily enough (with warm, soapy water) but there was still some foundation/concealer residue/staining left afterward that I couldn't get completely rid off.

Overall, this product genuinely does what it says it's supposed to. It's fantastic value for money and I will definitely use it again. It's great to know that you don't have to shell out a silly amount of money, (especially when you're just paying for the 'brand') and get a good quality product.

Tips: Use the flat side of the sponge to get close to your eye when blending out your concealer.

Make sure to always air dry your sponge after use/cleaning as otherwise it can grow mold and will also harvest a lot more bacteria!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.0/5
16th September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Manicare Flawless Complexion Sponge

I was super excited to try this out, as I thought it looked very similar and could be a dupe for the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion sponge - my favourite sponge and what I usually apply and blend my makeup with.

I did not like anything about using this sponge when it was dry, which doesn't worry me too much as I haven't come across a make-up sponge I like using dry.

While this sponge did work to apply my make-up when damp, it wasn't spectacular and was, sadly, definitely not the same as using my real techniques sponge. The manicare sponge felt really hard and firm, even when wet, which I found uncomfortable and hard to use. I found it took a lot longer to blend my foundation than I'm used to, and found it used a lot more product than if I was to use a brush or another sponge. I tried using it to blend in contour and it took, in my opinion, far too much time and effort. It had an almost doughy texture, and I felt like a soaked up a lot of product.

I did really like it to blend in my concealer, I think the flat edge worked really well for that and was the perfect size.

I might continue to use this just for concealer alone, but can't see myself using this for anything else. While this wasn't horrible, it had quite a few negatives and I have other make-up tools I like better.

Tips: Use damp

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
16th September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Not sold on it.

Firstly, thanks to beauty review for letting me try this in a trial team! It was my first trial team so I was really excited to try it out. Unfortunately it didn't quite meet my expectations though.

I've never been a huge fan of sponges. I've only really used cheap ones that don't do a good job (soak up a lot of product and don't blend out very well). I tried this manicare sponge hoping it would be better but I wasn't really satisfied. It's a lovely bright pink colour and mostly rounded with a flat angled edge.

The first thing I tried was to blend and buff my concealer with the flat edge, as the packet suggested, but it just wasn't the right shape. It didn't really blend at all and just moved the product around or soaked it up. I did this with the sponge dry. I also tried to blend my foundation with it dry and again it just soaked up product and didn't leave my skin looking as nice as I had hoped.

I read a review on here that if you wet it, it expands considerably in size. So I tried it and it did! Very strange to see. I tried using it damp to blend my foundation. It worked a little bit better than it did when dry but I still wasn't really satisfied with the look and ended up reaching for a brush.

Now, don't get me wrong, I know beauty sponges soak up a lot of product but I just wasn't happy with the amount of product I lost into the sponge. It didn't give the look promised and overall I would use a brush over this sponge any day of the week

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
16th September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Firm and so soft!

Comparing this sponge to others I've used, I love it! The main difference is it's nice and firm, I feel like you don't lose as much product in it compared to less dense sponges. Also being super soft is ideal and so nice on the skin.

Tips: I definitely only use it damp, I find it makes a massive difference to making foundation look more blended and less cakey. A make up must to complete any look.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
15th September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Better when dry

I'm admittedly not much of an every day foundation-user, but when I do cake it up, I always reach for a blending sponge to evenly distribute my liquid foundation over my face.

To start off, this sponge has a flat top while the rest of its body is round. I actually like how they designed it because the flat top makes it easier to reach inner corners such as the space between the under eye and nose or around the lip area. It's actually firmer than it looks, harder than my beauty blender, but not as solid as the ones I own from aliexpress.

I had high hopes for this flawless complexion sponge. I first used it last Friday for a wedding, making sure I wet the sponge and drained it until it was the right kind of damp (only because this is how I usually use my makeup blenders). Wrong move. As soon as I started applying and dabbing it all over my face, it looked so patchy. I had to keep going over spots so they were properly blended out - it took me twice as long as I usually would with other blenders. I was so disappointed.

Next few times I used it damp again hoping it was just a one off time, that maybe I just wasn't using it correctly, but obviously the same result occurred. Then dumb little ol' me realised that if I wanted more coverage, I needed to use it while dry! I usually try not to because you all know most, if not all, beauty gurus recommend to dampen the sponge. So when I finally tried it dry... whaddya know? It was flawless! Even quicker in blending than the application I do for other blenders. It's amazing how much of a difference it makes.

At the end of the day I think it does a pretty decent job in providing coverage when used dry. However, I would still opt for my beauty blender over this because when using this dry although it did make my face look flawless, up close you can faintly see dry patches on my face, particularly my nose, which is strange for me since I've got normal combo-oily skin. I would not purchase this on my own.

Tips: use when dry but make sure your skin is properly primed and/or moisturised beforehand.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
15th September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Fast and flawless

I normally just use fingers to apply foundation so was keen to try the flawless sponge. Following instructions I first tried the sponge damp. It worked well for a fast and natural finish. I then tried the concealer with the damp sponge but this didn't work so well - so resorted back to fingers for concealer. I tried the next day with a dry sponge and this gave better coverage. It was much quicker on the 2nd day and did provide a better finish than my usual fingers approach. I've kept using it daily dry and found it easy to use, fast and provides a great finish. The flat edge is nice to use - especially around the eye area with a gentle press. I think I will still use fingers for concealer though.

Tips: Use dry for work weekdays when you want more coverage and damp for weekends if you want a lighter more natural finish.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.