Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.9/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.8/5

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer Review

Overall rating:
4.9/5

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer a seemingly innocent honey-hued luminizer that catches everybody’s eye. This highlighter, shadow and shimmer diffuses light so your skin looks softer and younger while adding a subtle glow.

Layer it on your lids for a luxe look, sweep it on your cheeks for a sexy sheen, or use it as an all-over finishing touch before you head out for the night.

Pack Size: 8.5g

RRP: $34.00

Availability: Online retailers

Website: http://www.thebalm.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th June, 2018 at 11:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
This highlighter should be headlining!

This is easily the best highlighter I have used. I have neutral fair skin and some redness, and it provides a subtle shimmer. It is not a dramatic pop star highlight but it is great for everyday. It comes as a compact, with an adjacent mirror, and no applicator. I don't think this matters as most people would use a fan brush to apply this and supplied-brushes are going the way of the woolly mammoth now. The Balm's branding is bang-on, with retro pin-up girls and whimsical imagery. Mary-Lou Manizer is one third of a glorious trio of shimmery sirens (including Cindy-Lou Manizer and Betty-Lou Manizer). All three highlighters feature police mugshots of femme fatale beauties of differing complexions. Mary-Lou is a blonde and fair girl-next-door cheerleader type ( it states "too pretty, too popular" on the lid). Mary-Lou has no discernible scent and stays around like the high school sweetheart she is. Her appeal is enduring, and there is a lot of her to love. I wouldn't say she is a cheap date but she is a classy broad and well-worth the thirty dollars I paid.

Tips: Layer to further illuminate. Use as liberally as wanted as it would be difficult to go overboard.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th June, 2018 at 7:17 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
If you only ever buy one highlighter, buy this

And if you don't buy this, you need to go to your mirror and take a long hard look, deep into your soul and ask yourself, are you as committed to your being on fleek as you think you are? Because if you're committed, you'll get this. If you don't buy this, you really don't care about being on fleek and you should just throw out all your makeup and give up now.

In all seriousness, this is the most perfect, universal highlighter ever. One lasts you FOREVER. You'll start getting paid your superannuation before you hit pan. I'm on my second one, just started it. Lasts as long on your face as in the pan. No chunky glitter. No emphasising pores. Just perfection in a compact.

Tips: Good old mac Fix+ and amp this up for a super highlighter. Mac Fix+ on all the things!!! Oh, and BUY THIS.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th June, 2018 at 12:19 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
test

it's a awesome product it's a awesome productit's a awesome productit's a awesome productit's a awesome productit's a awesome productit's a awesome productit's a awesome productit's a awesome productit's a awesome productit's a awesome product

Tips: no tips for this product

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th April, 2018 at 6:35 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A must have in your makeup collection

This is one of those highlighters that just delivers consistently. It's a beautiful and incredibly pigmented champagne colour that highlights your cheeks to the gods! The formula is buttery and the application is smooth as silk. If you're fair skinned then this is perfect for you (I rank it better than Mac Lightscapade on fair skin). I have a medium to medium deep skintone. In winter it works really well for me. In summer its a little light, but I can still use it, using a light hand. It mixes well with other highlighters, especially TheBalm Betty Lou-manizer which is marketed as a bronzer (it's really a deep highlight colour). Mixed together they make a beautiful colour. Now TheBalm have just released Bonnie-Lou Manizer which looks to be the perfect colour between Mary-Lou and Betty-Lou.

Tips: If you're never tried this before, use a light hand and the pigment may surprise you.

If you want to go full metallic, wet your brush with a little Mac Fix Plus and then watch out!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th March, 2018 at 1:43 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Beautiful highlighter

This highlighter looks amazing on the skin. It isn’t chunky and blends in nicely into the skin. It is on the lighter more natural side but is definitely buildable if you are wanting more shine. If you are wanting the blinding kind of highlight it may not be your favourite highlight but it definitely is gorgeous and it doesn’t leave a grey cast on tan-medium skin tones.

Tips: Can use a setting spray to make the highlighter stand out more on the days you want a more blinding glow

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th February, 2018 at 8:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
YES YES YES

This beautiful thong is up there with one of the most beautiful highlights I've ever used. Although it is very light, its almost translucent in the way it sits on the skin and I find it even suits a medium/olive skin tone. I love this product and I will continue to use it on myself and clients!

Tips: Build it up for a blinding glow or it is beautiful all over for a "natural" lit from within look. The pan is huge so I also brush it all over my body when I'm going out!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd February, 2018 at 6:53 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
This highlighter is all you will ever need!

The Balm is my holy grail brand - everything they make is perfection! I would recommend the Mary-Lou Manizer to anyone looking for an amazing glowy highlighter.

This product can be layered up to different levels of glow. It is the perfect colour to create a gold silver shimmer just where the sun would shine on your face. It makes me feel like a sparkley princess and it is currently my favourite part of my makeup routine at the moment.

Love this product!

Tips: This product can be layed up for different levels of glow :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th January, 2018 at 8:32 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing!

This one my first ever highlighter and I’m still OBSESSED to this day! It’s a gorgeous colour and stays on my oily skin all day!

Tips: Using Mac fix+ helps to intensify the pigment!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd November, 2017 at 4:33 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Best highlighter ever

I love this stuff, its very shimmery but not in that gross glitter kind of way. It is a pale highlighter which needs the lightest hand to apply. Theres tonnes of product so lasts forever,. As it is almost white, using too much can make you look like a ice queen but with a soft approach you will glow amazingly.

Tips: Be very careful with this. Dont just throw into a makeup bag. It can shatter very easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th September, 2017 at 6:54 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Beautiful gleam and for all occasions!

This is one of the most buttery and pigmented highlighters I have ever used. It is a creamy shade, almost like the Mac pigment in Vanilla. When swatched, it is an intense shine that can be toned down with a light hand. It is a smooth highlight with barely or no glitter at all.

I usually use the gentlest tap of an angled brush and blend it onto my cheekbones for a subtle highlight but it can be built up depending how much of a highlight you want. It's one of those products that will last you forever, since you need so little. Sometimes I also use it as eyeshadow.

The packaging is also really cute and retro. The compact has a mirror and it feels sturdy and strong when opening and closing. I will repurchase if I ever run out.

Tips: 1. Use a very light hand for subtle looks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

I am - I'll tell you what in the comments!

view results

Review of the Day
emilyplum78
La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel and Duo Plus
These products work as a 2 step programme to effectively control oily and… more »