Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Review

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Review
Overall rating from 37 reviews so far:
5.0/5
Would use it again?
5.0/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.9/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.9/5

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder A wardrobe of six universal finishing powders that recreate the most exquisitely flattering light—from ethereal moonlight to luminous candlelight. Each powder captures, diffuses and softens surrounding light with groundbreaking photoluminescent technology. Available in 6 shades.

• Powders mimic six universally flattering light sources, from morning light to candlelight, allowing clients to build a wardrobe of options—not unlike having a personal lighting technician at your disposal.
• By manipulating and filtering out harsh light, powders conceal skin imperfections, pores and wrinkles.
• State-of-the-art formula delivers a multi-dimensional luminescence to every skin tone, making it appear softer, younger and perfectly lit.
• Universal powders make them suitable for every skin tone, while each can be worn day and night.
• The finishing powders enhance skin in any type of light, including flash photography.

Website http://www.hourglasscosmetics.com/

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Review

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st September, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Ambient lighting palette, for all occasions!

I first tried one of the ambient lighting powders at Mecca Cosmetica. It gave me a lovely finish to my skin, and not surprisingly is nicknamed "Photoshop for the face". I wanted to try these again, and when on holiday in the US discovered there is a palette of 3 powders available from Sephora. I promptly picked this up and have fallen in love! The three shades are dim light, incandescent light and radiant light. Dim light is a nude powder which I use as a face powder all over my face. I use this powder very lightly, including to set concealer, and liken it to Mac's mineralise skin finish powder. Incandescent light is a white, shimmery, fine glittery powder which I use to highlight the top of my cheek bones. Radiant light is slightly more bronze and I use this as a light all over face bronzer. Thanks to this one powder, I have now become comfortable with using bronzer and even use other brands of bronzer on my face. I apply this with the Real Techniques blush brush which is big, soft and fluffy.

I'm extremely happy with this palette and now want the newly released Hourglass blush palette!

Tips: Buy the palette of three powders from Sephora. It's a great way to try more than one and so convenient for on the go!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
kirstyj
21st September, 2014

I'm glad I'm not the only one who is lusting after the new blush palette. I only have an individual powder at the moment but think I will splurge on both of those palettes when it is released.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st September, 2014
3 members found this review useful
Diffused Light

I purchased this powder after hearing all of the rave reviews on youtube. After doing quite a bit of research (as I always do when spending that much money on makeup) I settled on Diffused Light. The reason that I got this shade was because I have a wee (ok a lot) of redness on my cheeks. This shade is a pale yellow and said to conceal redness.

The packaging is great I find that it is very sturdy, yet not too big. Great for travelling and I have had no problems with any breakage. It has a large mirror in the lid also which is nice.

Onto the product itself. Yes I think this is brilliant. The powder it self is very 'finely milled' (you can tell I watch too much youtube). But it means the product goes onto the skin very nicely. I use this product in two ways. I like to do a light dusting over my face with a fluffy brush and it seems to blur the redness and imperfections. It is hard to describe as even when I look at my own face I can't really see it but I can tell when I haven't used it. Recently I have also been using this with a more dense brush and it makes a lovely subtle highlighter. It has a wee bit of sparkle which isn't noticeable when lightly put over your face but when used in a more concentrated way it is lovely.

Overall I love this product and will consider buying more of these powders. Please however if you are considering purchasing this do your research and pick what powder will do the most for you.

Tips: Be careful with your expectations of this powder. It doesn't give coverage, or set makeup particularly well. But it does give an effect I haven't found in any other make up product.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
jessickaxnz
3rd December, 2014

I recently purchased their ambient lighting palette (I am still awaiting its arrival), and after reading your review I am even more excited to get my paws on it. Great review!!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th October, 2014
2 members found this review useful
Photoshop in a compact

I first saw the Hourglass Dim Light powder on Chloe Morello's Youtube and after seeing what it did to her skin I had to have it.

I bought it while I was in Melbourne and have absolutely no regrets. The powder is silky soft and so finely milled that it never looks cakey. I have very fair skin (Nars Finland) and find that that smallest sweep of this all over is all I need. When i get carried away it can make my face look way too dark so a light hand is recommended. Nevertheless I absolutely adore this powder and the blurred and perfected look it gives to my skin.

I also recently purchased Ethereal Light as well (seeing as how Mecca has dropped its prices). This is an almost translucent powder that I use mainly for setting my concealer as it is light enough to maintain the highlighted look without making my skin look overly shimmery. It promises a 'moon lit glow' and I believe it definitely delivers. I'm so in love with these powders that i'm planning on purchasing Diffused and Luminous light as soon exams are finished

Tips: I truly believe the best way to apply these is with the hourglass ambient lighting powder brush. The brush is dense enough that it picks up the perfect amount of product and effortlessly buffs it in for a seamless finish on the skin.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Lutece
10th December, 2014

Great review! I need to save for one of these :)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th December, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Worth the money!

I was super sceptical about buying this because of the price but it's so worth it, I have mine in Dim Light I think and I use it as a highlight and an under eye setting powder which stops my concealer from creasing. On days when I want to look super dewy I'll set my whole face with it. It's so finely milled and soft that you hardly feel it on your face. It gives such a perfect glow and a little goes a long way

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th December, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Face filter in a Compact.

I bought the ambient light palette after seeing so many you tube gurus use it and reading many reviews. I had to add it to my collection. I got mine at Mecca Cosmetica and I have to tell you it is worth every cent I spent on it. I have never had so many comments on the condition of my skin since I have started using this. I use dim light as a setting powder (with a light hand), incandescent light as a under eye concealer setting powder and radiant light to add a small amount of warmth before contouring. It is like having an Instagram filter on your face but in real life. Depending on how much glow I want I use any combination of the 3 and in my absolute love of it have left the house looking a little bit like a shiny disco ball. It is so finely milled and beautiful. The packaging is luxurious and it is just so beautiful! I am in love.

Tips: Start slow use a light hand as you can always add more!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
kirstyj
18th January, 2015

Every review of that palette just makes me want it even more! I think I'm just going to have to bite the bullet and do it.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th December, 2014
5 members found this review useful
Subtle but Stunning.

After reading many, many reviews about how amazing this is, I finally bit the bullet and purchased the Ambient Lighting Palette. It is one of the most expensive products I own and I was super hesitant about it, as I have dry skin and am very cautious about using a powder on my face.

The packaging of this is absolutely obscenely gorgeous. It is packaged in a kind of burned/blackened bronze compact and has a large mirror. The only thing I dislike about the packaging is that it collects fingerprints like crazy. Aside from that, it looks, and feels extremely high end.

The powder itself feels soft to the touch but isn't dusty. I like to press this all over my face to set my foundation and to add a little glow.

This powder is extremely subtle - there is no risk of looking like a glitterball when using it. When you first apply it, you may think that it hasn't done anything to your face. Step back and have a look - it adds the most natural, gorgeous glow to your skin. It really does look like you are glowing from the inside.

The first few times I used this, I had male coworkers ask me if something had changed, as my skin was glowing! For dudes to even see that my skin was glowing... I was amazed! Hahaha.

As mentioned above, I have dry skin and was concerned that this would make it look (and feel), worse. It doesn't. It is so finely milled that it doesn't make my skin look patchy.

This is a pricey product... but if you are looking for something to treat yourself then I highly recommend getting it. It really is worth every cent.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
melly650
16th December, 2014

Hahaha you can be glad they didn't ask if you were pregnant because you're glowing!! I love your review! I'm definitely going to buy myself one in the new year xx

Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st February, 2015
3 members found this review useful
You'd understand if you tried this

My sister thinks I'm nuts. When I'd talk about how much I wanted the Hourglass Ambient Lighting palette she'd bring up the price and say 'it's just pressed powder', I felt one of us must have a problem and I couldn't accept that it was me. So I brought the palette. And I have to say, she's the one missing out.

The palette contains 3 shades, Dim Light, Incandescent and Radiant Light. I'm pretty sure Incandescent is the only shade limited to the palette, but the other 2 are sold in seperate compacts.

The palette packaging is very sleek but sturdy. It has a shiny bronze case with a simple gold Hourglass logo. It has a click closure and a mirror the goes the whole length of the compact. Inside sit the 3 beautiful powders, each being 3.3g.... I imagined they were bigger, let's be real, I wish they were as I'm going to cry when I hit pan.

From the left you have:

Dim Light, my mist used. I love it as a setting powder, under the eyes and everywhere! These powders give your skin the most amazing finish.

Incandescent is what I love to use as a highlighter, on top of the cheek bones, nose and Cupid's bow. It has the most beautiful subtle glow without any glitters.

Radiant Light Is the darkest shade, it's beautiful for adding very subtle warmth to the entire face.

I'm so happy I purchased this palette, it hasn't disappointed me at all!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
prettyclotheshorse
19th March, 2015

I want this sooo bad! It's a shame that they're not larger, but I guess it is a good way to try each of the colours out...They will probably last ages though!!! x

kirstyj
1st February, 2015

Agreed! I can't put my finger on what the effect is but I know I wouldn't be without it.

Sylvia
1st February, 2015

I'm sooo keen to try these, but the price always puts me off. But you've convinced me, this is going to the top of my wishlist (after no-buy Feb haha). :) Great review! x

Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th March, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Obsessed!!!

I've been using Diffused Light for the past month, and I can safely say that this has made a huge difference to the look of my skin. It looks radiant and fresh and has a beautiful brightness about it that I've never achieved with a product before.

The Packaging: It comes packaged in a weighty case which is a bronzy colour. It's pretty and shiny and has the Hourglass logo on the bottom right hand corner. It has a mirror inside which is handy, and the powder looks absolutely stunning - like a soft pillow of delight! What I love the most about the packaging is how it has a 'tab' on the bottom right hand corner to make it so easy to open. Oh, and when you close it, I'm sure it whispers the words 'luxury'...

The Product: The powder to begin with has a slight curve to it, and looks oh so soft to touch. You get a lot of product for your money, and after the first use, it's obvious that it will last you a LONG time, even if you're like me and plan on using it every day. You get 10 grams of product, which again I think is very good value for the results it gives.

On The Skin: Diffused Light works perfectly on my light skin tone. It brightens my face and helps to smooth out the couple of patches of pigmentation I have on my cheeks. It doesn't settle into any lines which means that it works really well under the eyes if you need to set concealer or corrector. The pores around my nose area are maybe a bit larger than the norm? but I don't notice that this makes them look any more noticeable. I also have combination skin, and find that this powder - even though it is radiant, doesn't make me look shiny. Instead it leaves a beautiful soft radiance. It feels very light, and always amazes me when I put it on as my last step because it really is like adding a filter to your face!

I'm definitely going to be checking out the 'Wardrobe' next, then it'll be onto the blusher and concealer...

If you've been trying to decide on one of these powders, I seriously can't recommend it enough! Just do your research properly so that you pick the absolute best fit for your skin tone / type.

Tips: For Diffused Light: Use as your last step in your makeup routine, and apply with a light hand. A little goes a long way!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th May, 2015
0 members found this review useful
In Love!

Ive owned Dim Light for about 5 months now and I must say it was so worth the splurge. I used this everyday and it doesn't even look like I made any dent in the pan since I need is a small amount. I use Dim Light as my finishing powder and apply it lightly with a tulip brush all over my face. I also use this on days that I have little to know makeup on. I always put a pore filling primer on with or with out makeup so applying this on top adds the extra touch to blurring my pores and fine lines. I dont ever want to go with out this powder.

Tips: Buy it!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th May, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Perfect glow

I watched people use thei I'm YouTube tutorials all the time and their skin went from dull to fresh and glowing and I was deeply jealous, I ordeded the dim lite and fell in love with the way my skin looked with this powder on. I gently blot it on my face especially in the areas I want that natural looking glow and my complexion immediately transforms ! I'm so happy with this setting powder !

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

PRIZE DRAW CLOSES MIDNIGHT FRIDAY!

We want to know about your beauty shopping habits - particularly your online shopping habits!

Take our quick survey and you could win a $1300 Beauty Haul...it's that easy!

CLICK HERE TO TAKE THE SURVEY!