Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

e.l.f Studio High Definition Powder Review

e.l.f Studio High Definition Powder Review
Overall rating from 66 reviews so far:
4.1/5
Would use it again?
4.1/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.1/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.9/5

e.l.f Studio High Definition Powder is a translucent, versatile loose powder that creates a flawless, "soft focus" effect to the skin. Masks fine lines and imperfections for a glowing, radiant complexion. This incredibly soft and invisible powder is ideal for everyday wear, either alone or over your favorite e.l.f. foundation. Our HD Powder is a makeup artist and e.l.f. customer favorite, and at only $6, it can be yours at a fraction of the cost of the competition!

Pack Size 8g

RRP $10.99

Availability Kmart and Online

Website www.elfcosmetics.com.au

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

e.l.f Studio High Definition Powder Review

e.l.f Studio High Definition Powder Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
2.3/5
17th February, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Big container with a big promise.

I love the way this matte black little square container sits on my vanity. The minimal e.l.f logo and product name are small enough to keep with the minimal vibe but large enough not to mistake it for something else.

The sifter inside is huge! Don't make the mistake of turning it upside down and tapping it without the lid on tightly or you will look like you've bathed in talcum powder.

The powder itself looks extremely white and although I got the clear version, I was hesitant to put it on my already fair skin. I do have to be careful not to put too much on as it does tend to give me a slight white cast sometimes. Using the biggest fluffy brush I can find helps minimise this problem. I know that this is a matte powder but I find mine quite glittery. It tends to settle in the lines under my eyes and the glitter brings even more attention to an area I would prefer to hide. Apart from these teething problems I do think that this powder mattifies my makeup and helps it to stay put longer.

I would definitely not recommend this if you have extremely dry skin but as an oily-faced girl I think it helps keep shine at bay and gives evrything a smooth finish.

Tips: Be gentle with the sifter and go in with a light hand.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
3rd September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
E.L.F studio HD powder

I picked this up from my local Kmart, and it ended up being around $10 I think.

Thisis a white translucent powder and you can get the sheer, shimmer or yellow corrector shades. I have the shade sheet, which is just a normal, translucent powder.

This powder is really finely milled and is really soft. It is easy to apply with either a brush or a sponge, I use a brush as I find a sponge picks up too much and you want to be able to tap off any excess before you apply. A very light touch is all that is needed for setting concealer, foundation or baking. I like to use this powder over my oily spots and it does help control my oil and make me look matte throughout the day.

However I really hate the packaging on this powder, it makes such a mess. even if you tip out a bit onto the lid, powder gets everywhere, and even moreso when you apply it. If you don't tap of any excess before you apply it can cling to your face and make you look really powdery.

I love the finish this powder gives my skin and its great at stopping me from looking oily during the day but I hate how much of a mess this makes, despite the cheap price tag, I don't think I will repurchase in the future.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th July, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Bake that concealer

I use this to bake my concealer, and i find it really does come off nicely. It makes my skin smooth to look at and to touch, and stops my concealer from creasing, and as a full face powder, a little goes a long way.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
18th March, 2016
0 members found this review useful
A Unique, Effective Powder

The e.l.f Studio High Definition Powder wasn't quite what I expected, but I ended up quite liking the results. I think, at least.

I initially purchased this powder during my search for a cruelty-free setting powder that was also light enough for my porcelain skin. This powder is not only cruelty free, but SUPER cheap, and translucent. So it ticked all the boxes, and I gave it a whirl.

Packaging is aesthetically pleasing, in a chic and elegant square screw-top tub, with a cute little powder puff inside. As everyone else has already noted here, the inside is a bit of a disaster in terms of messiness - the powder tends to explode everywhere when you open it. I actually have started applying this in my bathroom instead of at my makeup table, just because it's so messy! But it's no biggie - since it's translucent, you can easily brush it off clothes with no marks left behind.

This powder is definitely not what I expected in terms of effect. It is great at setting and mattifying makeup, but at the same time it provides a crazy level of luminosity to the skin. I have found it definitely makes my skin slightly paler, and leaves a fine shimmer to the skin as well. It lasts well all day, but doesn't add any extra coverage to your foundation/concealer. I would say it does create the "soft effect" as advertised, but I'm still making up my mind as to whether or not I actually like that look!

Tips: This product is great to use to bake your makeup with - definitely my preferred way to use this. Over your foundation, apply heaps of concealer beneath your eyes and over your chin area. Then, pack on the powder and let it sit for 5-10 minutes. The heat from your skin + this HD powder leaves an amazing finish to the skin after you brush it lightly off again. Would definitely recommend trying this out if you're into baking.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th March, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Love

I love this powder and use it everytime I apply my make up. It's super easy to apply and also great value for money.

Tips: Use it in conjunction with the e.l.f concealer to make an eye primer. Use a brush to apply it rather than the sponge thing they supply, so it doesn't wipe away all your makeup.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th February, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Amazing

The product itself is amazing! Lightweight and works really well to set foundation and to stop my skin looking oily. I like that this product doesn't make me look cakey! I don't use the powder puff that it comes with as I prefer brushes so I can't say how that works. The lid is a bit unstable so you need to be careful, also when opening the product as a lot comes out of it and it can go everywhere if you aren't careful. Despite the lid issue this product is amazing and I definitely recommend!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
21st December, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Excellent value finishing powder

I'm not a huge fan of the packaging for this product. The puff provided is not really sufficient for a flawless application. There is also a tendency for powder to go everywhere if you are not careful with opening it.

Despite the flawed packaging, this powder is definitely great value for money. The translucent powder is ideal for setting the rest of your makeup. It looks pretty natural and lasts all day.

Tips: Use a large fluffy brush to apply this powder. Be very careful opening the packaging.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th November, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Holy Grail

so soft and fine that it makes you look photoshopped, sets makeup perfectly without creasing .works well when baking and brightens.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
9th September, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Cheapie

Great product for setting under the eyes. But you have to be very careful or the product will go everywhere. This can be very very messy but a lot of translucent powders are like that anyway.. For just 6 bucks it's a great buy. Great for people with oily skin, and for dry skin people I recommend using a little bit of this just for the eyes and to be careful with it. But overall a great product

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
1st September, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Needs a stable lid!

I like this stuff. I first purchased roughly July last year, and it arrived from iHerb a few weeks later (I chose the cheapest shipping option). I was excited to break into it and have a play.

The packaging is very sturdy, a big bulky plastic case with a twist top lid. There is a little powder puff sitting in the container, as well as the powder under a holy grate. Be super careful when if you tip it out into the lid - mine came off and it went EVERYWHERE. In a different bathroom it probably would've looked like I was doing smack.

The powder itself is white and sits nicely on my face. It doesn't feel heavy and when I use it I go matte instantly, which I love. I don't like looking dewey.

It can be used underneath or on top of foundation, I've tried both methods and I really like it. It doesn't make me feel or look overly caked in makeup, but it even though it's translucent I still feel like Casper when I brush it on. I'd get it again, because I know it works and the price is just too good to pass up!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No