Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

bareMinerals Original Mineral Foundation Review

Original Mineral Foundation Review
Overall rating from 35 reviews so far:
4.6/5
Would use it again?
4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.7/5

Our award-winning bareMinerals Original SPF 15 Foundation gives impeccable coverage with the look of beautiful bare skin.

Our ORIGINAL SPF 15 Foundation gives you all the flawless coverage you want with a naturally luminous finish that won't clump or cake. It's proven to improve the appearance of your skin over time. The creamy minerals diminish the look of fine lines and wrinkles without drying out your skin.

Website http://www.bareminerals.co.uk

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Original Mineral Foundation Review

bareMinerals Original Mineral Foundation Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
2.3/5
24th August, 2021
0 members found this review useful
Not for me

This used to be my main foundation, and I loved the shake pot packaging (which I found worked really well), the gentle mineral formula, the buildable nature of it, the buffed, creamy finish and the perfect colour match for my pale skin. As more mineral sunscreens and foundations came on the market though, I started trying those out and ended up quite liking the cream or liquid formulas, which were obviously more hydrating for my dry skin. But I always liked the fact that the mineral powder was such a one-ingredient product, with no hidden possible toxins or nasties. So I tried it again the other day...

How times have changed! I think for younger skins, it's lovely, but for my older skin (now post-50), it's really ageing. It highlights my lines, clings to those fine, downy hairs on my cheeks and, because it doesn't offer any hydration at all, my skin starts feeling tight and uncomfortable after a while, as if the powder is sucking my moisture out! And even with loads of buffing, it doesn't get that creamy finish I used to like. It just looks... powdery.

I love the idea. I used to love the product. I'd absolutely recommend it for younger skins. But, sadly, it's no longer for me.

Tips: Avoid it if your skin's dry and older.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th August, 2020
1 members found this review useful
Great coverage

I've been on the hunt for a natural foundation that ACTUALLY provides full coverage for a while now and it looks like I've found my match! I use this alongside the liquid foundation and I have found that it gives long lasting full coverage. It helps reduce my big pores and keeps my oily skin at bay. It is also pretty long wearing for a mineral foundation. The only downside is that I find loose powder messy and wasteful. I bought it on special at iherb.co.nz

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
sarahwaughnz
6th October, 2021

Hey yes the bare minerals one :) it's good! I also really like the Garnier original BB cream for hiding pores (has to be the oil free though, the other isn't as good)

MelissaHare
10th August, 2021

Hi what liquid foundation do you use? The bare minerals one? Also struggling with big open pores!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Perfect holiday base

Purchased this foundation for a holiday to Bali wanting a lightweight easy to apply and wear base for the hot weather this product was the perfect choice application was easy using a flat top brush for buffing on and pressing into areas that need a bit more coverage I found it long lasting and reasonably transfer proof with a natural finish.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st January, 2019
0 members found this review useful
The best by far....

I just discovered this amazing mineral foundation at our new Mecca Maxima store. I love it so much, super easy to apply & makes my face look fabulous & glowing. Comes in a screw top pottle and a little goes along way & lasts all day. Feels lightweight on my skin and gives great coverage and the beauty of this product is you can choose to keep it mimium or build it up for more coverage. Works great at covering uneven skin tones while looking natural. This is the only mineral powder foundation that I have found not to dry out or set in my fine lines. I absolutely Love this product and can't wait to try other Bare Mineral products.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
15th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
So lightweight

Mineral foundation is something I’ve used on and off for years but had never tried this one as I just stuck to the same brand. I am officially in love with Bare Minerals as I try more and more of their products I am shocked by the texture and colour pay off. I am the shade “Fairly Light” which actually seems quite dark in the pot but on my face it’s perfect.it buffs in really nicely and you can see the coverage instantly even with a small amount of product. I have very patchy skin with redness and pigment spots and this covered them nicely. This is not a full coverage foundation but can definitely be built up and looks great over a concealer. Although I prefer a heavier look during the week this is my new go to on the weekends and I’m hooked. It just feels like nothing on the skin and when I apply normal foundation on a Monday I notice how heavy it feels on my face. You know lately everyone is using the catch phrase “your skin but better”, this gives meaning to that phrase. This powder won’t wear as long as a liquid foundation but can definitely be touched up during the day. I definitely recommend using the mineral veil with it as it locks it in place and helps prevent shine.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th November, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Really nice

I just wrote out the most all over the place, rambling product review for this hahah So I have decided to start over and try be more succinct

CONS -worse flash back ever

PROS -most natural skin like finish ever -quick and easy to apply -Buildable coverage med-full

QUESTIONABLE -the only loose powder mineral foundation i've used so is it the best or does this type of foundation always look so skin like? - can it be sheered out with a less dense brush because these days i prefer less coverage normally.

VERDICT -I will buy it again. (I actually did recently but in the wrong shade.. oops) - maybe too full coverage for daily wear and too much flash back for special occasions -I love it!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
itsclearascrystal
22nd May, 2020

Pros and cons, really helpful review!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th November, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Best powder mineral foundation by far!

I had tried lots of other brands of mineral powder before and they didn't have very good coverage, so I was quite sceptical to try this despite the rave reviews. However I was pleasantly surprised that the colour chosen for me didn't make me look like a ghost nor did it melt off my face. I have Fairly Light for winter and Medium Beige for summer.

Tips: Get a good kabuki brush to apply properly. And use a little powder blush on top to add some colour.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Bare Minerals Foundation Review

I have this foundation in Matte, in neutral dark shade. It gives an even all over coverage with a light weight feel. It is SP 15 so even better for the skin, to use with your daily sun care regime. I love how it doesnt cake or clump even when worn over other products, such as primer or concealer. Overall a nice, clean look with even skin tone and a matte finish.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th February, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Mineral Perfection.

After one of my favourite YouTubers raved about the great results she was getting after switching to Bareminerals original foundation. I had to try it!

I’ve been using Bareminerals for over a year and have found the product is gentle on my skin and doesn’t clog my pores. I can use this every day and find my skin doesn’t break out.

Packaging is sleek and kept in a plastic jar with the product safely behind a twisting lid. Great for travel, you know product is not going to risk seeping out.

Gently tap a small amount of product into the lid. Taking a small amount on your brush, giving it a small tap on the side of the lid before applying. Starting on your cheek in a circular motion buff the foundation into your skin. The more you do this the creamer the product becomes. You can apply more to get your desired coverage. If buffed correctly you will have a creamy, smooth, flawless finish that doesn’t look caked on.

The biggest draw card for me is the gentleness of this product. It is shiny like a disco ball like some mineral foundations can be. It doesn’t feel like I have make up on at all and my skin can breathe. I’ve noticed a huge difference in my skin since switching to this foundation and the added SPF is a huge advantage in our harsh climate.

Tips: Use a firm brush to buff. If a firm bush is not used the product will sit on skin and not melt in like it should. A little product goes along way - less is best.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
13th June, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Great for great skin

I starting using this foundation when I was 16 years old. The formula has changed a bit since then but it always performed the same. Now (in my 30s) I favour liquid foundations as they help conceal more and are better at keeping my skin hydrated. If you have youthful skin this foundation is an easy-to-apply option.

Tips: Apply using a kabuki brush and BUFF BUFF BUFF!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

Reviewers Needed for the Garnier Perfecting Care BB Cream!

It's BB Week here at Beauty Review!

We'll be putting the new Perfecting Care range from Garnier to the test - which means we'll be sending it out to members just like you! FOR FREE!

Whether you want a BB Cream with high SPF or one designed to keep oily skin matte...we've got you covered!

Check out the Trial Teams by clicking below!

Put Your Hand Up Here!