Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

The Beauty Vault - Aug
The Beauty Vault - Aug

e.l.f Makeup Mist and Set Review

e.l.f Makeup Mist and Set Review
Overall rating from 85 reviews so far:
3.5/5
Would use it again?
3.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
3.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
3.5/5

e.l.f Makeup Mist and Set Review

Wish you could have a product for your makeup like Hairspray is for your hair? Well…keep your makeup staying in place all day with a radiance boosting invisible hold with our new Makeup Mist & Set. The invigorating mist moisturizes and soothes the skin with key ingredients Aloe, Green Tea, Cucumber and Vitamins A, C & E. The lightweight, comfortable and alcohol free formula improves makeup wearability and prevents color from running or fading.

Pack Size 2.02 oz.

 

Availability Kmart and online.

Website www.elfcosmetics.com.au



RRP: $10.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

e.l.f Makeup Mist and Set Review

e.l.f Makeup Mist and Set Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.3/5
21st August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
e.l.f Makeup Mist and Set

I got this quite cheap from Kmart, I think I spent about $9 on it. The bottle is black with white writing. When I first tried it, I sprayed twice and had it way too close to my face and a lot came out, making my face feel a bit too wet. The second day I used this, I sprayed at arms length, and noticed that my foundation stayed on a lot longer than it usually does. By the afternoon my t-zone was relatively cracking, but didn't appear as dry as it usually does without using this product, my brow gel still looked fresh and didn't appear to be fading off. There is no fragrance to this Make up Mist and Set but overall, worked really well for the price I paid and would recommend to a friend.

Tips: Don't spray too close, maybe at arms length just so it sets your makeup and not soaking your face.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
24th July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Good for the price

I found this product at Kmart recently and decided to give it a go. I thought I couldn’t really go wrong with the price. This setting spray is good at keeping my eye make-up on and my eye make-up doesn’t smudge half as much when using this. You need to make sure you don’t spray too much of it though and try not to spray it too close to your face. If you spray it too close to your face, you’ll end up with a really wet feel and then it doesn’t feel like it’s setting. It’s better to keep it almost at arm’s length, then spray. I can’t really tell if it keeps my foundation on for longer, possibly not, but it really does set my eye make-up, I’m positive about that. In addition, it contains some nice ingredients and some vitamins, and it’s alcohol-free. Not bad at all for the price, and I reckon you could pay a lot more for a setting spray and be a bit disappointed. I give it four kisses overall.

Tips: Don’t spray it too close to your face.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
16th February, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Middle of the road setting spray.

While browsing the kmart beauty section (as you do) I came across a black square looking bottle in the e.l.f section named mist and set, of course I was interested and so I brought it home with me for a review.

The bottle is fairly minimal, apart from the e.l.f logo and name of the product there are no instructions (there is a little bit of a how to use on the box however) or other details. It looks like a much more expensive product than it was.

When I started spraying the product it had a large droplet size that took a while to dry but when it did it seemed to be locked down for the day. The scent was lovely and refreshing, I could definitely smell the cucumber.

As to the setting part of it? I find my cheek and eye makeup to last a lot longer with it on. My eyeliner doesn't seem to smear as much and I look much fresher for longer. On the downside... The makeup on my nose just disappears after a few hours, which doesn't happen without the spray.

Do I love it? Not really, it's ok, but I'm still on the look out for an upgrade. Is it worth the purchase? Yes, if you give the spray enough time to dry and you don't mind a touch up or two throughout the day. My eye and cheek makeup has lasted so much longer with this product, unfortunately, my nose makeup cant say the same.

Tips: Make sure you hold the bottle quite far away from your face to get a more even droplet size and give it enough time to dry.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
30th November, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Wet

I decided to give this setting spray a try as I have had good experiences with e.l.f products in the past. This is only the second brand of setting spray that I have ever tried.

It comes in a black pump bottle with e.l.f embossed in white on the side. The bottle is 60ml. It is described as a "mist & set", so I guess it performs both functions, though I have only used it to set my makeup.

The spray is easy enough to use, though my main complaint is that it does not disperse its spray evenly. Rather than misting, it comes out in uneven wet drops, making parts of my face quite wet and leaving others parts dry. It does seem to set my makeup, but its wetness smudges my mascara, which did not happen with the other brand I used.

Altogether this spray is okay, but not great. I prefer the other brand I used before it, and probably will not repurchase this.

Tips: Apply your mascara after using this spray to avoid smudging it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
11th July, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Does the job!

This spray feels and smells really refreshing for its price. If you don't give it a quick shake or spray it too close, you will get clumpy bits of spray that stick onto you. However you can rub it slightly and it will disperse. However its easy to learn where to hold and it what works for you, so it's not exactly a downside. The spray definitely helps the makeup stay in place, even lip cremes! And for the price you just can't beat it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
2nd July, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Does the trick with a bit of stick

So I ordered this (in a bit of an ELF haul) from iHerb, which was a lot of fun. It came all wet so I think it may have leaked a little bit?

Aside from that, this setting spray is really good. It doesn't come out too wet (and then doing the opposite by pulling the makeup off!) and I genuinely think that it really helped to keep my makeup on for longer. I would recommend it to others that don't have a setting spray and want to try something out because it's so affordable but the reason I wouldn't try it again is just because I've heard great things about other setting sprays that I think I might invest in next time.

All in all it's a great spray and it truly works so worth a shot!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
20th June, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Pretty good for drugstore

This setting spray does seem to do the job. Its cheap enough that I don't need to worry about how many sprays I do unlike what you see in Youtube videos and you're like "thats definitely a $5 spray right there" when they spray their high end setting sprays. my only downside is this isn't a great smelling product but it gets the job done. Its not a chunky mist and its not super fine - a nice spray thats not going to spray you in the eye.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
8th June, 2017
0 members found this review useful
good for the price.

I picked this up from Kmart when it first came in and was pleasantly surprised! It settled the powders on my face and got rid of the cakey look that sometimes follows after powdering down the foundation. It definitely extends the wear of your makeup but it doesn't smell all that good.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th May, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Amazing for dry skin

I got this off iherb for $4NZ! I have dry skin and have never been able to use powder to set my foundation or to contour with, but since using the elf mist and set I can set my foundation with powder, use a couple spritzes of the spray over top of powder and it sets amazingly, no dry patches or cakeyness at all. It definitely hydrates my skin which makes my foundation look flawless for longer.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
26th May, 2017
0 members found this review useful
e.l.f Makeup Mist and Set

This is a rather watery setting spray. Gives my make up an oily look after setting my powder. Wouldn't buy again.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No