Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Essie Gel Couture Nail Polish and Top Coat Review

Essie Gel Couture Nail Polish and Top Coat Review
Overall rating from 27 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.5/5

Essie Gel Couture nail polish is an extravagantly sophisticated collection, crafted to perfection and fashioned to last. Designed with the haute vision of couture and up to 12 days wear applied in an easy, 2-step system.

Step 1: Apply two coats of essie gel couture colour.
Step 2: Apply essie gel couture top coat to seal in your colour manicure.

Website www.essie.com

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Essie Gel Couture Nail Polish and Top Coat Review

Essie Gel Couture Nail Polish and Top Coat Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.7/5
19th October, 2020
1 members found this review useful
Essie Gel Couture 240 Model Citizen and Top Coat

I put my hand up to trial both the Essie nail polish in the pink shade, 240, Model Citizen and the Essie Top Coat and got on the Trial team with Beauty Review. As soon as I got the products, I was eager to give myself a mini manicure. I used to bite my nails so this was a trial I was interested in.

The nail polish bottle is glass with a twisted appearance. You can see the pink nail colour through it. It has a white lid that twists off easy. 'Essie' is embossed on the glass bottle.

I applied the nail colour first, it went on smoothly with good coverage and dried fast. That was the first step of this two step process. After it dried, I applied another coat of nail colour, then I applied the Top Coat which is clear and is used to seal the Essie Gel Couture colour. The bottle of Top Coat is twisted glass as well exept it's white on the front with a twist off lid. It looks like clear nail polish and seemed to dry reasonably quick too.

I noticed my nails seemed more stronger, not so brittle after using these and the polish stayed put longer than other cheap brands I've tried. I'm pretty rough with my nails, always washing dishes in hot water, having hot baths and showers but my nail colour still lasted longer. I noticed after about a week, the polish did start to look like I needed to give myself another mini manicure due to wearing off a little, from doing household duties. Both the nail polish and the Top Coat were easy to take off with nail polish remover and the 2 step process was easy to do to refresh. I ended up doing my nails again a second time, after about a week just to freshly do them.

The Essie Gel Couture I tried in the shade Model Citizen, I loved the colour of it. It was a light pinkish shade which went nice with my tanned skintone. It had a faint smell like most nail polishes do but it wasn't too bad. I have seen there's a variety of beautiful colours in the range at Farmers and other stores and if you're wanting to do your nails yourself at home, these would be perfect. They're a little pricey for me but I think they're worth it if you want, long lasting wear. The 2 step process is simple and they seem to last well. I've been getting nice compliments from my family and friends every time they see me wearing this Essie Gel Couture 240 Model Citizen and Top Coat.

Tips: Maybe use a hand and nails moisturiser afterwards and easily remove with Nail polish remover

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
15th October, 2020
1 members found this review useful
Essie Gel Couture

Thank you Beauty Review for this very cool trial team product!

The bottles are a twisted version of the standard Essie bottles - a really nice touch for brand recognition but a different product.

I chose the shade Walk the Hemline, because who am I to turn down a Johnny Cash pun. And also a stunning deep mocha nude shade!

Super easy to apply, clean and quick. 2 coats went on smoothly.

The top coat added such shine and clarity to the shade and definitely led to long lasting colour!

Normal nail polish chips within a few days, but this lasted closer to 10 before starting to look ratty.

Highly recommend!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
13th October, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Essie Gel Couture Nail Polish and Top Coat

A nail polish combination that everyone should use. The stylish packaging is very cool, but if a bummer it doesn’t allow you to stack them easily. Following the instructions I applied 2 coats of the gel colour and followed but the top coat. The gel colour went on very smooth and had a thick flawless coverage. The top coat seemed to make the gel colour shine even more and just seal in the vibrant colour. Once again easy to apply. As always needs a decent arount of time to dry just to make sure you don’t ruin the overall finish. On my hands which are constantly being washed, the polish stayed on for about 8-10 days on different nails. I’m sure if you were more careful it would last the advertised 12 days easily. Definitely be using again.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th October, 2020
0 members found this review useful
New favourite duo

So I was fortunate enough to trial the polish and top coat!

This new packaging is so fun and I got a millennial pink colour that I was super keen to try.

The applicator and texture for both products are perfect so you get a really easy even layer and it’s not too runny or gluggy. The top coat also works perfectly to smooth over any uneven parts of the polish.

I’ve been really impressed with how long it has latest as well. It’s been over a week and I haven’t had any chips and the colour still looks fresh and strong.

So all in all I love the colour and I’ll definitely be getting some more shades of this polish and the top coat will be my new go to!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
13th October, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Decent but nothing revolutionary

The Essie gel couture system is the same as many mail polish applications, containing a colour coat and a top coat to lock in the coloured coat. This range is meant to have the shine of a gel, and increased longevity of a gel without the need for a UV lamp. It has the shine but I found the longevity similar to other long wearing top coats, although certainly better than normal nail polish. The edges wore off at approximately day 4 and started to chip off the bed of my nails about day 6.

The formula was a little hard to work with as it was so runny but I imagine after a few uses and it has dried a bit this will not be an issue. However because it was runny it flooded my cuticles quite easily and because the polish dries like a flexible plastic I found it started to lift here first as the polish was wearing off.

Tips: Paint on a hard surface close to your nails as formula is quite runny

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th October, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Rock the Runway

I chose the shade Rock the Runway as my shade to trial. It was described as 'a fierce classic red nail colour. Gorgeous. Striking. Untamed.' and oh my god...it really it is! It's a deep but bright red, perfect for summer toes!

The bottles are very cool and just look that little more edgy on the dresser. The brush is very easy to handle and use, you can do the classic, 'middle, side, side' and cover your nail in 3 strokes. It applies really evenly too, its not too thick, but also not runny.

2 coats and the gel top coat took, maybe 10-15 minutes to apply. I don't mind that, I enjoy not rushing my nails.

I'm quite hard on nails - I'm pounding the keyboard for many hours a day, so I usually see the first signs of wear right on the tips. I followed the instructions to reapply the top coat every couple of nights, and noticed they started to look a little worn at the tips by day 8. Not too shabby!

I think this is a great duo for long lasting nail colour that you can achieve at home. I'll definitely be picking up another shade...maybe one of those stunning nudes!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th October, 2020
0 members found this review useful
GREAT Product and Gorgeous Shade Range!

I chose the shade 'Take Me to Thread' - its a mauve-y nude.

The twisted square bottle is super easy to hold while applying - why do they make round bottles anyway?!

I tried this on both my hands and my toes. It was really easy to apply the colour coat evenly and smoothly and it only took a couple of minutes between coats to be dry enough for the next layer.

The colour is deep and quite true to the bottle and without the top coat has a nice finish, smooth and semi-sheen.

The gel top coat makes this colour shine! It's stunning! I love it! The top coat definitely adds that gel longevity and finish. As per the instructions I reapplied the top coat every couple of days to my fingernails for the duration of the trial - I'm on day 13 (I think) and they actually still look really fresh and neat!

I only used the gel top coat on my toes once, upon the initial application. The colour hasn't chipped, or disintergrated at all. I think my zombie corpse will still be rocking perfectly pedicured toe nails, 5 years into the apocalypse.

Colour me impressed!

Also - shout out to the shade namer who came up with sexy-sewing themed names! They gave me a chortle!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th October, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Amazing combo!

I've found the Essie Gel Couture Nail Polish and Top Coat an absolute delight to use. Both products have excellent brushes and a high quality formula so my nails end up looking salon-perfect every time with minimal effort. The nail polish is highly pigmented and you can achieve full opacity with 1-2 coats, and the top coat really locks it in place and gives it a beautiful shine. When using these two products together I can go a good 3 days without any chips, which is great for me because I find most polishes start to chip after day 1. I'll be trying more of the gel couture nail polishes, and the top coat is my new go-to!

Tips: Make sure your nail colour is fully dry before applying the top coat.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
10th October, 2020
0 members found this review useful
A duo that holds its own against gel polish?

I was really impressed with the Essie Gel Couture nail polish and top coat. Used together they rivaled real gel polish in a way that most regular nail polishes can't. I usually prefer gel polish for it's longevity, but this polish seems to hold up just as well so far, with the added benefit of being able to be removed with just regular nail polish remover! The colour I used was "fairy tailor" a beautiful baby pink sheer polish, one coat worked perfectly as a nude for me (two coats ended up a bit patchy/streaky, but this may be from user error?). The top coat dried quickly and shined well. I'm excited to keep using these polishes as an alternative to gel polish, and I hope to get my hands on a few other shades in the range too.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
10th October, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Pretty great but not a miracle!

Ok so the title.. this polish and top coat duo really is pretty great! The polish is beautiful and opaque, it goes on great with beautiful coverage. The top coat is stunning, super glossy and sets really hard. The only reason I have stated it’s not a miracle is because it didn’t last the 12 days chip free that it claims. On my first application I got three days before slight chipping at the top and then five days until the polish started chipping away at the cuticles. At that point I decided to remove it and try again, with five days left of my trial. I am at day five now and have definitely had better success. I’m just starting to get chipping on the tips now, nothing at the cuticles yet.

So what did I do differently the second time? Firstly I painted at night and was careful to let them entirely dry and then sleep before doing anything strenuous with my hands and secondly at day three I applied another top coat.

Despite the above I really do love the set, five days for me is still pretty great! And the formula of both is beautiful. I absolutely intend to buy more shades of the polish and try the top coat over other brands I already have. I’m pretty brutal on my hands so I was impressed with the result!

Tips: Try reapplying the top coat for added chip resistance.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

THE CHRISTMAS BEST BEAUTY BOX IS ALMOST HERE!

The Christmas Best Beauty Box Ever will be released on Friday November 20th at 7pm.

This is quite literally our most Beauty-Full release EVER with over $550 of value inside from brands like Shiseido, Snowberry, Evolu, Essano, Lancome, YSL, Schwarzkopf, Swisspers, Kiehl's and more!

We will send a private link to all who have registered their interest, giving them the chance to buy it first.

Click here to get the sale link on Fri 20th Nov!