Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.5/5
Did it do what it said it would? 3.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.4/5

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara Review

Overall rating:
3.5/5

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara conditions while it thickens lashes with no clumps or globs.

RRP $14.99

Availability:  leading Supermarkets, Pharmacies and Department stores.

Website: www.maybelline.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th August, 2018 at 9:28 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Oldie but a goodie

There's a reason this is still around!

Always go back to this. I have a few mascaras but I find this has always and probably always will be in my collection.

It's affordable and I can usually pick this up in a grab 2 for x amount deal.. it's also readily available which is a huge plus. The price means your able to replace mascara as often as recommended which is great.

It creates a colour and look that's pretty handy - longer lashes and thicker lashes.. definitely not the longest and definitely not the thickest but does an ok job of getting a nice look with one product and one coat. I would suggest if you want extreme length or extreme volume, thickness etc that you use a formula that targets that.

But for a great everyday look this is the go to.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th August, 2018 at 7:46 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Old Trusty

I have used this mascara on and off for years. I sometimes see an ad or hear through friends about another great mascara, so I go and buy it and always find myself comparing it to this one. It's so easy to apply, not gluggy, great coverage and the choice between waterproof or not is a good option depending on your plans. It lasts all day (and night if need be!) This is a staple in my makeup bag, it's been around for so long, obviously because it's such a great product!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
21st August, 2018 at 1:08 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Quick and easy

I found this mascara to be light on the eye and easy to apply for a qick get up and go. No clumping and the long brush makes it easy to use when reaching in the eye corner.

Tips: Wash face and do not moisturise the eyelash before applying.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th August, 2018 at 9:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
There's a reason this mascara is a staple product

I used this mascara for years, then for some reason (FOMO maybe?) I tried a succession of other mascaras and almost forgot about this one. None of the other mascaras measured up and I ended up going back to this recently, and introducing it to my teenage daughter. Now she loves it just as much as I do! It goes on easily, doesn't clump or clog my lashes and lasts well. I wear contacts and this doesn't irritate my eyes or flake off at all. The brush is easy to use and the pink/green bottle makes it easy to see in my make-up bag. I'll continue using this mascara as long as they keep making it - no more FOMO :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
17th June, 2018 at 3:59 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The reliable mascara

This is a fabulous daytime mascara. It's not dramatic or clumpy, it's just a nice mascara that keeps each lash separated, looking pretty and is incredibly natural looking.

It's not a heavy formula, so I use a different mascara if I'm looking for dramatic lashes, or a night time look. I rarely deviate from this mascara though.

The great thing about this mascara is that it is a light type of application, so you have very little if any mascara 'crumbs' that fall from your lashes during the day to get in your eyes like some of the thicker more dramatic mascaras.

For someone like me with fine but long lashes (thanks LiLash!), this is perfect! I use the waterproof version as I tend to spritz my face during the day and I'm smudge free all day! Removing mascara at the end of the day is a breeze with a little micellar water and a cotton wipe. No dramas there!

I also love that I don't get mascara on the brow bone or under the eye with this mascara - so no panda eyes or crazy eye lids!

I'm a fan. On sale you can grab this at the supermarket for $10 and I think for its performance and the fact that it's just a nice reliable mascara, I think it's a really good buy, and a staple in my collection.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
12th June, 2018 at 4:22 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
meh

I found that this made any slight curl in my lash drop, this is a very black pigmented mascara but does to and any length or volume to the lash

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
6th June, 2018 at 7:53 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good drug store mascara

This mascara is good. Not bad but not amazing. Good value for money though. Does last all day without smudging. For drugstore mascara I do prefer L’Oreal lash paradise however

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
30th May, 2018 at 6:10 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not For Me

My mascara was almost about to run out when I saw this at the supermarket. I used this many years ago and couldn’t quite remember if I liked it. I did remember everyone around me loving it so I got another tube for myself. I don’t know if they changed the formula over the years but I didn’t like it at all! You’re supposed to re-apply the mascara until the desired thickness is achieved (do not let dry). I think I did about 3 to 4 coats and it stopped getting any thicker after the second one. The consistency is not thick and does not have a shiny finish so it looks natural.

What I disliked about it was how it could literally straighten my lashes after just 1 coat. My second time using it, I curled my lashes with a slightly heated curlash and made it extra curled up to compensate. However after the second coat my lashes still straightened and was bent up at a sharp angle. It looked so awkward I was so disappointed. My lashes are naturally straight and I’ve tried other mascaras that are only for volume or thickness (not curling) but they never straightened my lashes this much; I would at least keep a semblance of a curl. For the Great Lash mascara, I’m not sure what’s weighing my lashes down because the consistency is very light and liquid.

I would say it’s more suitable for people who want washable mascara and have fine but naturally curled lashes, or people who are wearing lash extensions, but definitely not for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
29th April, 2018 at 3:04 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good, not amazing

I like this mascara, but I haven’t found it amazing. I already have nice long lashes so the mascara helps by making them seem a bit longer and darker, but other than that it doesn’t help much. I like it though since it’s cheap, but I find it doesn’t really thicken my lashes. If anything it makes the lashes on my lower lash line look spidery, so I only put mascara on my top lashes. It also moves around a lot, and I do find that I have not only had mascara on the bottom of my eyes but on the top of my lids which is very annoying.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
3rd April, 2018 at 9:19 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Old faithful

I love this mascara. It is my all time favourite. I try others (usually maybelline or L'Oréal) but always go back to this one. For the price you can't go wrong. If I do stray from this it's usually because I want a different look or colour.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Hot or Not? Are You Here for Mismatched Nails?

Hot or Not? Are You Here for Mismatched Nails?

Yes! They're a match made in heaven!

view results

Review of the Day
sarahellaoverton
Not so easy to use
I love Tailor products, so I was excited to try this one. However, I was disappointed. I found the product… more »