Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Makeup Geek Eyeshadow Pans Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.9/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.8/5

Makeup Geek Eyeshadow Pans Review

Overall rating:
4.9/5

Makeup Geek Eyeshadow Pans Review

Named after the velvety, warm skin of a peach, and the soft subtle sands on a beach, this addition to our collection is sure to be one you will love. This soft, delicate, matte peach color is perfect for summer. Use alone for a soft wash of color that is perfect for a day in the sun, or team it up with a dark shade for a dramatic look that is sure to turn heads.  It also happens to be a great blending color to soften any harsh lines.

RRP : $7.99

Availability : Selected online retailers

Website : www.makeupgeek.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd August, 2018 at 4:18 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
MUG Best Quality Shadows 4 Price, Range & Quality!

I love my Makeup Geek signature shadows! They are so smooth, blendable, long lasting and pigmented! And there's are so many beautiful shades in different finishes to choose from. These are some of the best quality eyeshadows I own. I really wanted a bunch of matte base and transition/crease shades and so I bought a big order of MUG eyeshadows and put them in a Z-palette and though it's the most boring palette I own, it's my most reached for eyeshadow palette. The shades I have are Beaches and Cream, Peach Smoothie, Buffed, Creme Brulee, Frappe, Sora, Desert Sands, Preppy and Chickadee. I also have Tan lines and Cocoa Bear but since those shades are a little bit darker than my transition base shades they are in another palette but I use them plenty. I would recommend any of these shades as they are fantastic for warming up, blending and grounding your eye makeup look. Since owning these shadows my eye makeup looks have had more of that gradient look and look more grounded and professional. I love the looks I get with these shadows. Now there is a slight bit of kickup in the pan but overall these are smooth and buttery and pigmented. The closest quality comparison in I have in terms of eyeshadow brands I own is Anastasia Beverly Hills, I think the shadows in ABH Modern Renaissance palette are just a tad better than these but not by much. Given the price and amount you get per pan these are so worth it. When you break down the price per shadow you do pay more than if you had bought a palette but you do have that advantage of only buying the shades you like and know you will use so nothing is wasted. I have barely made a dent in the shadows but in years from now when I do use them up I will be repurchasing.

Tips: If you are searching for a specific shade you know you'll use the MUG site should be one of the first places you look. I highly recommend buying a bunch of base shades you use to set your eye primer and transition crease shades from here since, a lot of palettes don't have enough of those shades and those are the ones you use up first. Now if you spend 75 USD you get free shipping which is preferable because although the shipping cost for a few shadows is very reasonable once you add a whole bunch to your cart the price of shipping goes up, so you're better off doing a larger order than just a few small ones. Also if you buy 9 eyeshadows they will give you a free 9-well palette to put them in. Lastly, keep your eye out for sales and discounts to save a bit of money, as well as googling for discount codes. I saved a decent chunk of money when I did my order by purchasing when there was sales, spending over 75 bucks and googling for a discount code.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th April, 2018 at 4:52 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing Price and Quality!

I have been using Makeup Geek single Eyeshadows for about 18 months now and I can happily say that they are some of the best quality eyeshadows I have in my collection! The shimmers are amazing and the mattes are equally impressive. I also love the concept of being able to pick individual eyeshadows and create a completely custom palette. I bought them straight off their website, the only downside was that shipping was expensive. But I'm pretty sure you can get them off beauty bay now with free shipping.

At the moment my z palette is full but I would definitely repurchase my Makeup Geek shadows once they are used up!

Tips: Use a bit of setting spray to damped the brush to make the shimmer shades POP!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th October, 2017 at 11:37 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Simply the Best

After seeing many reviews about Make Up Geek I finally got a small bundle last year. I got the winter bundle that had a mixture of foils shimmers and mattes. I highly recommend getting a small bundle like this that way you could try all the different textured eye shadows.

Each individual pans are magnetic. The formula of these matte shadows are smooth blendable with minimal fall out. The shimmer pans are pigmented and creamy.

I can easily transition each matte shade on my eye. I can wear these eye shadows all day without fade. The shimmers pop . I get numerous compliments about my eye shadows saying they look wonderful.

Out of all my eye shadow pallettes and individuals the Make Up Geek outshines the rest. It's the best I've ever used. I have no regrets. I'd love to expand my make up geek collection in the near future.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th June, 2017 at 8:55 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good product

I purchased some MUG shadows a while ago (I brought the Manny Mua collar because I'm too lazy to buy singles and make my own palette). Eyeshadows we're really good. I've never really been into eyeshadow, so I was a beginner at the time. I found these very easy to blend and had great pigmentation. I just had to remind myself to tap off any excess on my brush so I didn't look to crazy. The palette I found was easy to create day and night looks so it was really good for me as a beginner (I only had a naked 2 palette prior to this which I find is not that great). So overall, I find these shadows great for a beginner as they are so easily blendable. These were my fav shadows until I recently done a colour pop haul - now the MUG shadows are probably my 2nd fav :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd March, 2017 at 6:32 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great Pigmentation!

I just wish these were easier to get! They have such an amazing formula and pigmentation payoff - sometimes I forget and go heavy handed and get way too much shadow on my eye. Best idea is to save up and buy a whole lot at once - they are 100% worth the money!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th November, 2016 at 7:50 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love Love Love

I remember when all the beauty youtubers started to rave about Makeup Geek single shadows. After watching tutorial after tutorial I decided I needed some. I am so in love! There are soooo many shades to choose from and being able have so many different crease shade has made things so much easier.

The shaddows are buttery and easy to use. The only thing I dislike as that some of their shade have a bit of kick up and leave my pallet a little messy.

Tips: Make yourself a custom pallet with all your most loved shades. It's perfect to travel with and you can change things around depending on the seasons.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th October, 2016 at 11:41 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Makeup Geek Eyeshadow Pans

Each eye shadow is sold separately, you either need to purchase a large empty palette to put them in or I think you can pay a little extra and get them in a single case. Absolutely love them, the pigment pay off is amazing, and overall quite cheap for such good quality. There is a range of colours, my favorite is the cocobear which works with any eye look.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
10th July, 2016 at 7:53 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Make up geek duo chrome eye shadows

I got a set of makeup geek duo chrome eye shadow pans and paid over $100 for shipping and postage. On the internet the swatches looked amazing and intense I fell in love and although the pigments looked better because I knew it was costing me alot I opted for the pan shadows. Well I have to say I am mixed about reviewing them because I was really excited to get them but when I tried them on my eye lid some of them did not show up and they are not as intense as they are portrayed to be. I actually had a very similar colour to"blacklight", "havoc" in pigment form already and also "voltage" in a pallet so I am selling those on. Had I not already had those colours I would have been very happy to keep them but "rockstar" doesn't really show up on my light skin tone or reflect another colour sadly. If some one with darker skin used this it would look great Today I used "mai time" and "secret garden" they ate okay but when I swatched on my finger they looked better meaning you could see the duo chrome aka the second colour these series are supposed to reflect better than when I put on my lid. Secret garden actually looked purple on my lid but when swatched it was a greeny black. "Karma" does not really seem like a true dup chrome meaning it barley reflects the other colour just looks more like a straight gold but it is still a nice colour just more of a foiled not duo chrome. "Phantom" also annoyingly looks stunning when swatched on my finger / hand it is a lilac light purple with beautiful pink pearl reflects /duo chrome colour through it. But on my eye lid it looked more purple the duo chrome and beautiful pearl didnt show up much I wonder what it would be like as a highlighter. Some I still have yet to try. The foiled collection looks very pretty all in all what I can say is they pigmentation is not bad but some are not that great and I had used primer. They do make some very good dupes for high end make up such as mac and urban decay and they last okay I am happy but I was expecting more from them. Just tried "im peachless" and "steam punk" again lovley swatched on the hand but on my lid under a bb cream peach looks patchy and steampunk is faded just like secret garden was and doesnt look intense or show the duo chrome much I am quite dissappointed now I see these are highly rated and I see they fade out to nothing in a few hours not sure if it was worth the amount I paid although these are not over expensive I feel they are over rated now sadly.

Tips: Consider your skin tone are they going to show up / suit? If you want strong pigmentation go for the pigments. Try primer as these do not last These come in individual pans so you will need a pallet or magnetic board to store them in place.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th May, 2016 at 12:42 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Best single shadows

Makeup geek shadows are literally the best single shadows out there, considering the pigmentation, price and the colour range, they're comparable to mac but they're so much cheaper, the only downsides are the fact that you need to buy them online and they're slightly powdery but those are things I can definitely look past. I bought a Z palette off BeautyBay and have gradually filled it with my favourite makeup geek shadows. I rarely buy palettes anymore because there are always one or two colours that I don't like and won't use, but with my palette; I added all the colours myself so I know I'm always going to use them

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
31st December, 2015 at 7:04 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great quality, some are better than others though

I got a whole heap of these eyeshadow back in June for my birthday. I'd heard so much about how amazing these were that I had to try them. These are made by a youtuber, so I feel like she has the advantage in knowing what the consumer wants out of an eyeshadow. I watch her channel and she seems like a pretty decent, down to earth person who genuinely cares about putting out great products without hefty price tags.

Purchasing these is a little different then just buying a regular palette. Each eyeshadow is sold separately, you either need to purchase a large empty palette to put them in or I think you can pay a little extra and get them in a single case. I purchased a large z palette (which you can also buy off the makeup geek site). Apparently these are the same size as mac shadows so I guess you could put them in one of their palettes too. Shipping takes around 1-2 weeks and they are packaged well. I have 25 shadows which I've bought over a few orders and none have arrived broken.

Being able to pick and choose colors is perfect when you want specific colors and hate having palettes that have a few shades you won't use. It does get pricey though, these work out to be around $10 each so the price adds up quickly. I try not to think about how much my little palette is Worth!

Right onto the Shadows! In general, I'm pretty happy with the quality. These blend out really well, are pigmented and best of all, will still be on my lid at the end of the day. I do find quality varies a little bit between some shadows. My beaches & cream is super powdery. The shade cinderella is pigmented but not as buttery soft as some other shimmers. Some of the darker ones tend to fade a bit by the end of the day as well.

Overall, do I regret These? No way. There's a few shades I own that I don't really reach for but that's my fault for making the wrong color choices. I would recommend these to others absolutely. I'd just recommend searching YouTube for swatches and performance of each shadow. I'd also recommend writing down your shades somewhere for easy reference so you don't double up on Anything!

Tips: I have seen beauty bay now sells these too. They do free shipping over $35 I think. Otherwise keep an eye out for when makeup geek does free international shipping.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Hot or Not? Are You Here for Mismatched Nails?

Hot or Not? Are You Here for Mismatched Nails?

Yes! They're a match made in heaven!

view results

Review of the Day
sarahellaoverton
Not so easy to use
I love Tailor products, so I was excited to try this one. However, I was disappointed. I found the product… more »