Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine Lipstick

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine Lipstick
Overall rating from 33 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.3/5

Introducing Rouge Volupté Shine. 

Give in to the temptation of dazzling color.

Succumb to a unique sensorial experience with extreme comfort and luminous shine. 

Hyaluronic acid microspheres help seal in moisture for 8 hours of hydration.

Anti-oxidants and emollients help condition and soften lips.

AVAILABILTY Farmers, Selected department stores, Selected Pharmacies, Online

WEBSITE www.ysl.com



RRP: $40.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine Lipstick

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine Lipstick

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th March, 2019
0 members found this review useful
A dream

I have this lipstick and it is one of the best formulas I’ve seen in a long time. It glides on your lips and leaves it hydrated and moisturised for a long time. I personally have drier lips, so I love using moisturising formulas. This one is very useful and great to have in your makeup arsenal.

Also the colours are quite vivid and show up really nicely. Definitely swatch this the next time you see it in the store.

Tips: Using this over a gloss is so nice, you’ll have people complementing your lips a lot.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
15th November, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Balmy and sheer

I have this lipstick in a mini size, shade number 49. I love lipstick, and I wear it nearly every day, so I was interested to try this.

Volupté Shine is a bullet lipstick that comes in a gold, wind-up case. It has YSL’s logo in gold on a coloured band around the middle. The packaging is very glamourous and luxe. The wind-up tube is easy to use, and the lipstick colour is easy to apply directly to the lips.

The formula is balmy, sheer, and moisturising. The lipstick has a sharp, but pleasant, citrus scent. At first it goes on very balmy and shiny, making lips look juicy, plump and full. But after about an hour that dries down to leave more of a stain, without any shine. I admit, I was disappointed when this happened, as I much preferred the juicy effect that it gave my lips initially. The hint of lip colour that it dried down to was not very satisfying to me.

I think this lipstick would suit people who like a very natural makeup look, without looking like they are wearing a lip colour. This gives lips a subtle stain, and helps to keep them moisturised. However, I think you can achieve the same effect on your lips with a much cheaper product. If you are after lipstick colour with more impact, then I think you will be disappointed with this.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
25th May, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Orange impertinent 16

I have a love hate relationship with YSL, meaning I love it while my wallet hates it. After trying the rouge volupte line and loving that to bits, I thought I'd try the glossier version.

This is very much a translucent, tint balm like lipstick. It isn't opaque like your traditional lipsticks and it also looks a lot glossier. I actually really like the fact that's more sheer because it looks more lively and young on me. The shade that I have is a peachy salmon which I surprisingly don't have a dupe for. It complements my fair skin but does make my teeth look slightly yellow.

Application is even smoother than the rouge volupte version and really feels like a lip balm. And because it's sheer, I don't have to worry about it settling into my lip wrinkles or looking uneven. YSL has really gotten the formula of this on point because it doesn't even feel like I'm wearing lipstick!

It doesn't last that long throughout the day but I was fully expecting that because of the balmy formula and sheerness. So I'm not too bothered with carrying it in my purse and reapplying every now and then. When I wipe it off with a tissue it leaves a very soft pink tint on my lips.

Tips: If you like sheer, balmy tint lipsticks, this is for you! If you like opaque, long lasting lipsticks maybe try the rouge volupte version.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
25th May, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Gorgeous packaging for an average product

I think these lipsticks are overhyped and it could be due to the packaging. It screams luxury and the filigree detailing is absolutely beautiful but the product itself is nothing amazing. No doubt these are the best looking lipstick bullets I own but I would rather have a lipstick that ticks all the boxes; look luxurious and be an amazing product; after all you pay BIG to have one of these. I brought these a few years back based on reviews (and good quality pictures) that they’re the best thing since slice bread. I think not.

The colour pay off is average so if you’re after opacity then I don’t think this is the next lipstick to look at however it’s great for that natural pop of colour. It applies on smoothly and has a lighter texture than a lip balm so it just melts into my lips. It has a watermelon fragrance that is not overpowering and like most fragrant lip products fades within a few minutes. The lasting power is kind of a joke; it’s not too far behind the lasting power of a lipgloss. I find that I have to reapply after 2-3 hours and that’s if I don’t eat or drink – it comes off quite easily. Having said that; YSL doesn’t claim that this has any lasting power just that your lips will have hours of hydration and I can vouch for that.

Would I repurchase? As beautiful as they are I can’t justify the price tag for such an average product.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Koni
25th November, 2015

Awww thanks Marleen, that means a lot xx - this review was hard to write because I know the love people have for it.

Thebeautycontext
10th November, 2015

I love your reviews Koni, they are so honest. When you give a product 5 stars, I know i need to own it

Overall rating:
4.0/5
12th April, 2015
0 members found this review useful
YSL Rouge Volupte Shine Lipstick

PRETTY, so pretty. I love YSL all there stuff is so beautiful and well made, it all screams buy me! I have a purple shade and one very similar to this. I find them creamy and easy to apply, the shades are very pigmented and long lasting, with minimal bleed. My lips didnt flake, or peel and they didnt dry after use, they felt slightly smoother then before. I am lucky to have got mine off a lady that worked for YSL so cost me next to nothing. The only problem I had was it stained my lips, once the product washed off.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
11th March, 2015
2 members found this review useful
This has been on my wish list for too long!!

You know when you want something and you wait for ages that it may not live up to your fantasy? You dream about something and then one day you get it.... well this lives up to those dreams. Those magical lipstick day dreaming moments when you should have been doing that pile of washing that isn't going to do itself.

I got this duty free (I said it was a happy birthday present to myself - but my birthday isn't till friday... same week still applies right? I also didn't save it till my birthday because no one was there to say no to me.... just saying)... anyway I got it duty free because farmers was a tad pricey and every time I went to buy it I would hear my wallet saying - Bex do you really need this? Stupid wallet it doesn't know!!!

The packaging alone should sell it to you - especially if you are anything like me. Shiny happy and perfect. I got number 06 which is a gorgeous bright popping pink and I think the airport lights made it seem less pink.... But I adore it!

Wearing this makes me think I can take on the world. Spiders, bad moods, people walking slowly you name it - boom! It glides on and feels great on your lips.

It is a luxury item though. I mean it is pretty pricy to just be buying all the time. But I figure it will last - how long? Well only time will tell. However I found it wore well over the day and easily came off with my normal make up remover. It didn't leave my lips looking dry or flakey just lush and yummy.

I am taking it on a hot date on friday and if I get complimented on mu lipstick then it already paid for itself. Swooooon.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
MAGPIEFI
16th August, 2015

its a great lippy, yes the packaging is so awesome he he that's what got me x

Kellyleanne
21st March, 2015

I love this too, such a luxury lipstick. Fab review x

Overall rating:
4.0/5
24th February, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Luxe Delight

YSL lipsticks are solely known for their packaging! If you have not seen one, I suggest you run to your closest Farmers to have a look and see for yourself. It comes in a gold tube which feels very expensive and the details are intricate which is simply the brand's signature. I feel like every time I put on any YSL lipstick, I feel like a princess drenched in gold. Formula wise, it is very pigmented and indeed moisturizing on the lips. I also love the fact that it leaves a nice gloss to the lips hence the name shine which works as a 2 in 1 product. (lipstick & lipgloss in 1). It has a pleasant floral perfume scent which is quite nice. However, if you're not into scented lipstick this might not be your thing.

I have No 8 and No 9 which are both nude. I figured if I'm going to treat myself for a luxe product, might as well get something that I can wear for everyday.

The downside is it is very expensive for just a lipstick, but if you're looking for a pick me up or a nice wee treat, then maybe go for it. My only complaint is it does not last longer than 2 hours on the lips especially after drinking/eating. I also find that I have to reapply at least 3x throughout the day for it to look like it was on the first application. The pigmentation can also get a tad creamy which can slip and slide so I suggest a good lipliner before application!

Tips: Use a lipliner before application to prevent the lipstick from feathering.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Macs
7th April, 2015

Iwould love to own one of these one day

Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd January, 2015
0 members found this review useful
HG Lipstick

This is my holy grail lipstick. Amazing colours (I have #13 and #15) and they are incredibly moisturising - much more than I realised a lipstick could be. I get quite dry lips often and have used this lipstick instead of Lip Balm on occasions when it's all I've had on me!

The packing is beautiful and feels very luxurious. These are expensive, and are a 'treat' product, but if you have the money then it's worth it 100%. I would rather buy one of these than a couple of cheaper ones, they're that good.

Tips: With lighter colours (my coral one is guillty of this) - a lip scrub for dry lips is helpful before application, as some colours can emphasise the look of dry lips. Others I have no problem wiht.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th August, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Love Love Love

Such gorgeous packaging and the smell is divine!

I have a few of these now, they are a little pricey ($67 from Farmers or Smith and Caugheys) but they are so worth it.

The lipstick is so creamy and hydrating and comes in a wide range of colours - one downside is that the colour doesn't last very long and needs reapplying a couple of times throughout the day.

Would definitely recommend these to everyone!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
10th June, 2014
2 members found this review useful
Can find cheaper but a good treat

Let's get this out of the way first... It's expensive. That is the one reason I wouldn't recommend this to a friend. If you want this formula go buy a Revlon Lip Butter. HOWEVER, if you would like a luxury lip product this is great. I wanted a treat for my birthday, and I had some vouchers so this came home with me in the shade 13 Peach Passion

This looks stunning in your purse or collection. The packaging is the most high-end out of any lipsticks I own. The gold packaging is metal so it feels colder in your hand. Around the middle it has the YSL logo with the shade of the lipstick behind it. I love this as I'm a big fan of being able to know the shade of your lipstick before you pick it up. The lid has a really satisfying click to it which means you are never going to have to worry about losing it in your handbag.

In the bullet the lipstick looks almost matte. I bought this in the shade 13 Peach Passion which is a vibrant peach shade. I am actually not a big fan of the shade, I went of YouTube and blog reviews instead of trying it myself. So I would recommend that you look at these in person before picking one up! The lippy itself smells fantastic, almost fruity. This glides onto the lips quite thickly and gives an opaque finish. Once it warms into your lips it creates more of a glossy finish. This doesn't last very long on the lips due to its glossy nature but is quite pretty when it is there. While you are wearing it it feels very moisturising, like wearing a lip balm.

If a friend told me they wanted to buy this I would definitely push them in the direction of the Revlon Lip Butters first. Not as luxurious but still a great lipstick with that glossy sort of finish.

Tips: Unless you have tonnes of money and are going to buy the whole set I would advise buying a natural colour. Just because this means you will get a lot of wear. There is no point of this just sitting in your collection not getting used. Also means you can apply without a mirror.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
melly650
17th October, 2014

How long does it last hun?

kirstysays
17th September, 2014

I am saving up for one of these lippys! The packaging is just soooo stunning and I love Revlon Lip Butters so should love these :) Thanks for the review :)

INVITES GO OUT TONIGHT!

We need reviewers to put the Garnier Pure Charcoal Tissue Masks to the test!

These are the new generation of tissue mask, with innovative black tissue infused with charcoal to draw out stubborn dirt, oil and impurities from the skin.

Put Your Hand Up Here!