Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms Review

Revlon Matte Balms Review
Overall rating from 81 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.5/5

Revlon Matte Balms Review

Velvety Matte Look. Moisture Rich Balm
A Matte finish that’s beyond plush. Balm that’s beyond comforting. Our Triple Butter Complex of Shea, Coconut and Mango butters nourishes lips. In 10 collectible, craveable colors.

 

Availability  Department stores, selected Farmers stores, pharmacies and online

Website www.revlon.com



RRP: $20.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Revlon Matte Balms Review

Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Moisturising and Matte!

This is an amazing product. It comes in a nice sturdy packaging so good to carry in your makeup bag or handbag.

It’s a cross between a velvet balm and lipstick, so it doesn’t dry my lips out. I have three colours in this range and all of them are great and very pigmented.

You can build the colour up and each layer gives you a great look.

Tips: You can lightly dab it on your lips for a natural flush!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
2nd April, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Matte Balm

Mine is 260 Passionate, a beautiful fuschia that’s more pink than purplish. The crayon glides very easily. The matte balm lasted unbelievably long: today I put it on around 8.30am, it still looked good after a coffee, a muffin, and lunch, I didn’t need to re-apply it. At 5pm my lips still have decent colour on it, I only had to pressed my lips together to spread the colour a bit more the middle bits seemed to have disappeared a bit. The effect was like a stain.

I don’t think it’s nourishing nor moisturising, admittedly it doesn’t dry my lips. I’m expecting a much more moisturising effect from a “balm”. Apart from that, I would repurchase another colour.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
12th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
A classic lip crayon but nothing too amazing

I quite like the format of lip crayons because the chubby stick packaging gives a sense of nostalgia for me. It's also handy that it twists up without needing to be sharpened. The balm applies smoothly and is quite moisturising, which is the benefit of lip crayons over liquid lipsticks, but it wasn't as velvety matte as I'd like. I think they had sacrificed some of the matteness to make it more comfortable, but that wasn't quite what I was looking for. It is affordably priced but I prefer other cheaper alternatives that have a very similar formula if not better.

Tips: Exfoliate your lips beforehand as it accentuates any lines.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
12th November, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Sultry Matte Balm

I picked this up from local life pharmacy. I instantly get attracted to make up stands. I can’t help myself but start looking at all the make up . I like that Revlon is a brand that can be easily sourced.

I love lipsticks and I like trying different formulas . I wanted to try this out because I was interested in the texture. Typically the packaging comes in a chubby stick . I got the shade Sultry a pink matte nude tone . I love my pinky nudes for every day wear.

Application it goes on nicely . I like that this formula is bright in colour . It did transfer with eating and drinking . I found it easy to top up whenever I needed to . Did get a good four hours wear .

Overall I like the colour range . I think price wise it’s pricey . Could be cheaper for a drugstore brand . I think $10 is fair price point. I can’t see myself repurchasing this as there are cheaper alternatives.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Extremely long-wearing

I've never been much of a fan of matte lipsticks. At 47, I thought I was too old for that look. Happily, this product has changed my mind. Gone is the drying formula, in it's place is this feather-light, long wearing lip balm that really does stay put. Once it's on, you don't really feel it (unlike other matt lipsticks I'd tried) and the crayon-like design makes even the brightest colours easy to apply without getting nervous. I have one colour now but would love to expand and get a couple of different ones in the same range.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
3rd September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
So Soft!

This lipcolour is shaped like a crayon which makes it super easy to apply - you just draw it on! It has a lovely creamy texture which dries to a lightweight matte coverage. Afterwards my lips felt super soft! The pigmentation is very intense, just one sheer layer is enough for a colour that stands out and lasts. This lipstick was given to me by a friend so the colour isn't something I'd normally wear ('Fierce Redoubtable' - a sort of brick colour), but I do feel fierce when I wear it :)

Tips: This is creamier than the usual drying matte formulation. I usually use a moisturising balm under those drying types of lippie, but this one doesn't need it at all. In fact, it would probably slip straight off :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
15th April, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Elusive

I picked up Elusive from Life Pharmacy where they retail for $21. I personally don't like chubby sticks but that colourful display was hard to ignore. Would I repurchase? Most likely not. I can make do with a cheaper option with a similar finish.

I chose Elusive because I was drawn to the colour of the packaging, a muted rose pink. Unfortunately the colour is not true to pan and in this case it wasn't necessarily a bad thing because I was still drawn to the colour and I found out why below.

If you own MAC Please Me (matte) which happens to be a favourite you could possibly skip Elusive because they're a good dupe for eachother. If you're part of the chocolate club Please Me and Elusive don't appear as "light". In contrast to my skin tone it comes across as more of a neutral rose berry. The only key difference is Elusive has more of a semi creamy matte finish similar to Colourpop's "matte" Lippie Sticks.

I can wear this product without blotting too much and it stays in place for perhaps 3 hours before fading. I'm impressed because it feels lovely on the lips without drying so I don't really need to do damage control later. It's a product I would recommend to others if they need it straightaway.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
9th January, 2016
0 members found this review useful
So worth it!

I've been putting off this review for so long because I wanted to get another shade! My first purchase was in the shade "205 Elusive" which is like a Barbie pink, but more muted. The second shade I have is in "225 Sultry" - a sort of maroony-plum?

First off, the scent is peppermint, and if you're very sensitive to smell, it does linger a little. I'm not fussed, so it's never been a problem for me. Secondly, it is so moisturising! When applying it on your lips it truly feels like a lipbalm and even when rubbing your lips together. Which comes to my third point, although it feels like a lipbalm, the pigmentation and appearance of it is very much like a matte lipstick.

The longevity is normal in comparison to other matte lipsticks, transfers slightly, and does fade when eating anything oily. But the good thing about reapplication is that it's the same as when you first put it on aka it doesn't appear patchy or like you've obviously reapplied. Brownie points to you, Revlon!

All in all, I highly recommend this range especially for girls with dry lips who need that extra moisture/stray away from dehydrating liquid lipsticks.

Tips: You can also easily mix colours together as they don't react to one another and are so blendable.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
3rd January, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Great colour though not really a balm.

I have an orangy-red Colorburst. Having the matte is great and it's got a real burst of colour (something that can be hard to find or only happens with layers and layers of lipstick). However it does smudge a little and isn't that great a balm in my opinion.

Tips: Use it for the colour. The matte finish makes it worth it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th November, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Striking Spectaculaire

Who cant resist a gorgeous matte lip right? I picked up this in the shade 240 Striking Spectaculaire. I typically tend to buy Revlon products because its a brand I trust. I was so excited to be buying one of their new products out at the time.

I love how this is a chubby stick compared to your average packaging. The smell typically put me off a wee bit because it smells like mint which I don't typically like anymore. I must say WOW oh WOW the colour is so pigmented!! I fell in love with how pigmented it is. Well worth $20. Looks like this product would last for ages too. Even if you used it on a daily basis. You get so much product in this chubby sick. You can wind it up and get more if need be. A little goes a very long way!

This lasts for hours on end on my lips. All day colour. May need to reapply after eating and drinking due to it being quite transferable. The formula is so creamy and hydrating. I'm so impressed. It is matte but not as matte as I would typically like it. Its still good though.

I have purchased a few other shades of this lately. Love the finish of these are they are so easy and simple to apply.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No

INVITES GO OUT TONIGHT!

We need reviewers to put the Garnier Pure Charcoal Tissue Masks to the test!

These are the new generation of tissue mask, with innovative black tissue infused with charcoal to draw out stubborn dirt, oil and impurities from the skin.

Put Your Hand Up Here!