Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

NYX Professional Makeup Soft Matte Lip Cream Review

NYX Professional Makeup Soft Matte Lip Cream Review
Overall rating from 61 reviews so far:
4.2/5
Would use it again?
4.3/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.2/5

Treat your lips to velvety-smooth color with our special-edition Soft Matte Lip Cream Sets! Featuring a trio of statement-making shades, these holiday sets are on point gifts for beauties that always double tap a matte lip look. Surprisingly durable, lightweight and delightfully creamy, it's no wonder this sweetly scented formula is a fan favorite! Shades in this set include Cannes, Abu Dhabi and Berlin.

 

Availability Selected online retailers

Website www.nyxcosmetics.com



RRP: $14.95

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

NYX Professional Makeup Soft Matte Lip Cream Review

NYX Professional Makeup Soft Matte Lip Cream Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.0/5
17th April, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Soft and smells great

The consistency feels nice and the product smells good. Unfortunately this clings and cracks a little when my lips are dryer. I'm also not getting a nice clean edge so maybe a liner and balm are needed underneath.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
25th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Soft Matte Cream

I got this product in the beauty box I got in Abu Dhabi my first thought was it was to dark but that wasn't the case it was the perfect shade the smell was beautiful and has real staying power and it dosen't seem to dry out lip's like some matte's do.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
24th May, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Pleasant Surprise

I have to be honest if I saw this on the shelf I probably won’t buy it as I’m not too fond of NYX’s lip products. I actually got this as a gift and only got to trying it recently. I have mine in the shade Madrid which is a rich plum color that may be lighter or darker depending on your natural lip color. It’s not at all the same as the color shown on the packaging so best to try it out on your lip if you’re unsure. When I saw the texture on the wand the first time I thought it seemed a bit dry but it was in fact very creamy upon application. The wand itself is pretty easy to use and I tend to use the tip to line my lips since I don’t have a lip liner of a similar shade. You definitely need to wait a short while for it to dry to avoid smudging/transferring this everywhere. After drying it doesn’t smudge that easily but a little bit of the color comes off when I lightly wipe with finger which is normal. When I drink on a glass of water I only see a little bit of transfer. It feels weightless to the lips and a bit hydrating in fact (I feel). It doesn’t last too long though. It started wearing off after about 4 hours with a slight oily meal in between. It was overall a pleasant surprise for me. I feel that it’s one of those hassle-free matte lipsticks which I like so I will repurchase if I find a shade that I like but don’t already have.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th April, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Unexpected find

I had this awesome experience of being stuck for a day in Wellington with no makeup due to a flight cancellation. So I decided to visit Farmers and came across this fun makeup brand called 'NYX'. I ended up using all their products and found this incredible liquid matte wand! It goes on wet and then dries and seals. You can actually feel it seal. I generally don't go for liquid wands because they don't have stay power, but after a whole day in the city my lip colour still popped! I love that it doesn't drive out your lips even though it's matte. I purchased a bright red. Colour and the pigment was fantastic. The price was super attractive also, which made for a great spontaneous buy. This is a win every time for me.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
20th June, 2017
0 members found this review useful
NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams

this lip product is very wearable, it lasts a long time on the lips. it isn't drying which is always good. it doesn't go patchy, and makes the lips look nice and full. the packaging it very nice and simple it is easy to carry with you when your traveling.

Tips: best preferred with a liner. two coats so it lasts longer.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
9th April, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Soft creamy lips

Splashstore had a sale on this year. I had these soft mattes on my wishlist for some time now. I seen them hyped up on instagram . I definately needed to give this formula a try.

I chose Addis Baba a bright pink and Amsterdam a bright red. The packaging comes in a clear tube with a soft matte black lid. The doe foot on the applicator is soft sponge that is slightly arched on the tip. The formula is super soft and creamy like whipped butter. It smells like subtle sweet cherries.

I found applying it easy to move across my lips. It's quite opaque and needs building. It's not very pigmented. With eating and drinking it makes an awful mess. Colour was transferring everywhere. Out of all my matte lipsticks this was the messiest of them all.

I had high hopes for this as everyone love. It does need applying throughout the day as it's easily transferable. I most likely would not purchase this one again. I think the Butterglosses were better than this.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
24th September, 2016
0 members found this review useful
love it!

I am a huge fan of NYX products as they're well priced and great quality. I decided to give this matte lip cream a go as i love matte lippies. I bought this in shades monte carlo and addis ababa which are both gorgeous shades. It is super easy to apply, and definitely dries to a gorgeous, matte finish. i dont find that it's drying at all like some other 'liquid' lippies I've tried which is a bonus.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
13th December, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Soft is an understatement

I had been wanting to try these for a few months now until I was in the new Farmers store on Queen street and they have stocked NYX products. I picked up 2 Soft matte lip creams in Abu dhabi, it is a beige nude shade, I find you cant go wrong with nude shades.

The shape of the tube and applicator is very similar to their Butter gloss range except these have a black lid. Easy to open and tightens very easily.

I found you need to layer these a few times to get the full amount of colour. It comes out evenly and is very creamy, glides on like a dream. But the layers are very thin. I add 3-4 layers to get a good amount of colour on my lips. The wear time is 4-6 hours when your eating or drinking, only a small amount comes off in the middle of your lips.

If I have these on my lips for more than 6 hours it makes my lips feel very dry so I pop on some lip balm over the top just to make my lips feel not so shriveled.

There was another shade I've been wanting to try, I will be purchasing that one next. Overall the price and quality is good, you just need to be a bit patient to build up the shade.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
10th October, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Addis Ababa

Addis Ababa is a bright fuchsia, it reminds me of MAC Embrace Me. The tube appears to be a coloured plastic rather than clear so the tube colour isn't an accurate representation of what's inside with the tube appearing to be a slightly darker shade. I like that the black cap is matte, it makes it look like it could be a bit more expensive than it is. The applicator is a standard doe foot, it works fine and I'm able to apply it even if I don't have a lip brush on hand. I'm not sure if I got a dud but I noticed the scent went from something like sweet cake batter to nonexistent in about three months and the formula has started to clump a bit though it's still workable. I do find that I have to put on a few layers to get an opaque application without any streaking which is a bit of a hassle because it takes the product a while to set enough to be able to apply another layer. It doesn't really ever set to a matte finish and isn't as durable as I'd expected... I do like this lip cream but I think I'll try a few others and probably only purchase these again if I can get them for a steal.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
1st August, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Adore them!

I recently got given 3 of these for my birthday, and I was so excited because I've heard so many great things about these products on youtube.

I currently have San Paulo, Antwerp, and Addis Ababa. SP is described as a "plummy pink", Antwerp as a "mid-toned, yellow-toned pink", whilst AA is a "bright fuchsia". Frankly speaking, I feel like SP and Antwerp are quite similar in colour, except SP is obviously a touch darker.

First and most importantly, these babies smell SO good. I can't put my finger on it, but definitely something baked and caramel. Brownie points for the scent, nyx! Secondly, when you first apply, they really aren't kidding about going on soft. The formula plus the doe foot applicator ensures that, plus makes it all the more easy to glide over your lips.

The pigmentation is great also, but if you are looking for a pure matte liquid lipstick like Australis' velourlips or ABH, then this isn't really it. However, for what it's worth, these are pretty excellent as a step under.

Some downsides are that they're not transfer-proof, and they do tend to fade after awhile, but I generally don't mind re-application. Also, I feel like the colour of the tube isn't a replica of the colour of the formula. As someone who likes having that cohesiveness, it is slightly deterring.

Tips: make sure to put a bit of lipbalm before hand especially if you have dry or cracked lips.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No

INVITES GO OUT TONIGHT!

We need reviewers to put the Garnier Pure Charcoal Tissue Masks to the test!

These are the new generation of tissue mask, with innovative black tissue infused with charcoal to draw out stubborn dirt, oil and impurities from the skin.

Put Your Hand Up Here!