Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Maybelline Superstay Matte Lip Ink Review

Maybelline Superstay Matte Lip Ink Review
Overall rating from 60 reviews so far:
4.4/5
Would use it again?
4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.3/5

Ink your lips with a flawless matte finish. Matte Ink lip colour features a unique arrow applicator for precise application and is available in a range of super saturated shades. Available in 9 shades.

Apply liquid lipstick to the centre of your upper lip and follow the contours of your top lip. Then, Glide the liquid lipstick across the entire bottom lip. Ensure you allow the product to dry. The arrow applicator gives you precise application. The product is so pigmented, a thin layer is needed to ensure a super saturated colour.

Pack Size 5ml

Availability Farmers, Pharmacies, The Warehouse, Kmart & supermarkets nationwide.

Website www.Maybelline.co.nz



RRP: $22.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Maybelline Superstay Matte Lip Ink Review

Maybelline Superstay Matte Lip Ink Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.3/5
10th January, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Stay put

I grabbed a few of these in a sale and I also did something I totally never do which is stray from colours similar to my natural lip colour.

I grabbed romantic and dreamer. Two quite decent sized tubes that will last me a while.

I am absolutely in love with dreamer it’s a really pinky lilac colour and somehow still has quite a natural look to it. It suited a nail polish I picked up in the vault by o.p.i perfectly. I was surprised it suited me without making me resemble a corpse or making my teeth look super yellow. Then Romantic is quite a bright pink.. probably my latter favourite of the two but still nice to try new things.

I am a huge fan of lip stains and I wouldn’t totally describe this as a stain or ink more a paint. But it’s very effective!! It has a wand that you paint the “ink” on with. It creates a paint like coating on your lips and it does dry matte.

Agree it is slightly sticky but not terribly worse than some other lipsticks.

The real positive comes from it’s staying power. I actually brushed my lips with tooth paste and brush to see if this would move when testing the colour and it didn’t budge. It stayed for hours. Applied in the morning and didn’t reapply, and it was still on my lips at 7pm. It had slightly worn on the inside but with lips pressed it was still good looking so I almost have to say if your worried check the inner lip application occasionally.

Also applied to my toddler who loooves makeup and it lasted.. she still had it on the following morning!

Slight taste to it almost cherry like.

I used Mac lip prep prior but actually found it stayed better without that.

It is very hard to remove due to its super staying power but I found wiping off with a baby wipe worked quite well. I don’t wear these often but was nice to have the dreamer colour to use with my matching polish and new maybelline palette on Christmas.

Will probably by another colour or two from the range eventually.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
3rd December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Kinda good

I kinda like this Lip product but it doesn't dry the way I want it so it's a bit sticky like a drying glue consistency. I like that it's really long lasting even when I eat greasy or oily food, it stays on my lips. I can absolutely say that it does what it should do but it's something that I wouldn't use for everyday but on certain occasions where I need a really long lasting lipstick, I would use this. I love all their nude-ish shades as I'm someone who wears those kind of shades and it compliments my skin.

Overall, I would use it again but not for everyday.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
28th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Not too bad...

I bought the shade "seductress" as I was looking for a good nude matte. This definitely is a great nude for me. It is matte. It does go on well- the applicator has a little hole/reservoir in the middle to hold more product which makes it good to apply without constantly going back to the tube. It stays really well once dried down (mostly), is transfer/kiss-proof for me, and can withstand a small amount of non-greasy eating.

For me, the downsides are that it takes an age to dry down, so you have to pull a face like an amazed fish for far too long, and even when dry, it's still sticky. The stickiness annoys me because it sticks to itself, and then becomes patchy at the water line as it drags itself off your lips.

The stickiness you can sort of fix by either applying a gloss, or gently brushing a little translucent powder- but then it's either not matte, or quite drying. I probably won't buy it again when I pan it, I think there are others which are better and cheaper, but I will use it to match the colour to.

Tips: A good lip scrub and balm pre-application is a good idea, as it dries down, it does tend to make lip texture more pronounced.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
28th March, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Too sticky and drying for me

I purchased this in the shade 'dreamer' a lovely light pink. Everything about the product thrilled me- the scent, the colour, and the shape of the applicator was great... until I put it on my lips. I felt it was really drying, and made my lips felt so sticky. I used gloss over the top (which defeats the purpose of using a matte product) and love the colour on me. It does transfer easily to cups/straws etc so does require frequent application

Tips: Use gloss!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
6th October, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Super staying power

I decided to buy one of these after seeing it come up for review on Beauty Review. The first one I bought was the shade Romantic (hot pink), which I found on sale. After I tried it and liked it, I bought two more shades: Pioneer (red), and Lover (cool rosy pink).

Each lipstick comes in an oblong, matte plastic tube with a white lid. Each tube contains 5mls, and the body is the colour of the lip shade inside.These come with an applicator brush that has a hole in the centre. The lipstick is reasonably easy to apply with the applicator, although I prefer an angled doe foot to one that is straight up and down. The lipsticks have a pleasant, slightly floral scent.

You do not need to use much product to get a decent coating on your lips. One or two goes over your lips with the applicator is all that is required to achieve an even coat. When first applied this lipstick has a tacky, slightly sticky feeling, but after ten minutes it dries down to a more matte feeling.

These lipsticks have excellent staying power. I find that they easily last all day throughout eating and drinking. They also do not transfer easily. They have the greatest staying power of any liquid lipsticks I have tried. They do not even come off with micellar water! The best way I have found to remove them is to use a facial or body oil. That seems to be the only way to defeat this lipstick’s staying power.

Altogether, these lipsticks are great if you are looking for a matte lipstick that will reliably last all day without requiring touch-ups. The only drawback is that they are very drying, so I would not recommend wearing them for several days in a row.

Tips: The best way I have found to remove these lipsticks is with an oil-based product.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
23rd August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Matte Lip Ink - Believer

When these came up for Review, I thought 'I've got to try these!" I'm always up to try long last lip products as I'm a lazy girl who doesn't like doing touch-ups. Believer is a great shade of purple mauve and I like the pudding-y smell. The funny little foot applicator is a little troublesome for my skills so I sometimes use a smaller brush to get the shape of my lips tidy, and then fill in the rest with the applicator. Some people wouldn't like the texture or lip feel, but it doesn't bother me. If I can feel it on my lips then I know it's still there. One of the downsides for this is that I feel like I can't wear this to work because it does need a bit of maintenance from time to time. This might not be the case with a lighter shade, but I find that I want to check it and make sure it's not been bleeding. Others have said this copiously, that the best way to wear liquid lipstick is to have smooth lips. If I wear this with anything but perfectly conditioned lips, the colour stains the dryer parts a little darker than the rest of my lips. So, I would like to try a more natural shade and see how that goes, but Believer will be one of my wear less often but equally loved shades.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
The best!

I decided to buy this lip colour after reading these reviews, and I’m so glad I did. I brought 10 dreamer, a lovely pinky nude shade that is just my type of colour. It’s just gorgeous for everyday wear.

My lips can be quite dry and some lip stains just make them worse and look patchy. This lip stain is the best! It glides on smoothly and even. My lips don’t look dry at all and feel moisturized.

The packaging is stylish, it’s the same colour as the lip colour, but a white lid and silver writing. It looks nice for such an affordable lip colour.

This has become my go to lip colour for everyday. I’m so impressed with the formula. The wand makes it easy to apply and it’s just so worth what you pay for this lip colour.

I’ve since brought another, in 15 lover, a deeper pink that’s just a beautiful shade also. Great for when I’m going out and just want a bit more colour.

Such a great product. Five stars from me.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
15th May, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Super Stay Power

I was lucky enough to win one of these from BR, I also got to pick the shade I wanted to try. Me being me picked Escapist. I deep dark plum purple shade. Absolutely perfect for moody winter vibes.

The packaging, a sleek matte tube with what I think is mean't to resemble the shade inside the tube, however for the shade I chose it was definitely a miss conception. The shade was alot darker than the colour on the tube.

The wand, weird. Not the doe foot you see with most liquid lips. I really like it though! It makes it so easy to apply the lipstick.

I wore this for a 7 hour stretch! And I was so surprised by the lasting power. When you initially apply it it feels really sticky but dries matte making it comfortable on the lips. I only had to touch up once I had finished my coffee as it wore off a little in the corners.

The only downfall I found with this was taking it off! It stained my lips and it was really difficult to remove. It was extremely stubborn.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
30th April, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Should I stay or should I go...

This lipstick is so appealing for staying power and it does last, but it starts to break down in the middle after drinks or meals and needs to be re-applied. I purchased this in Pioneer, which is the perfect blue based red. It can be applied very sparingly as it is super pigmented. It does have very good staying power, if your on a smoothie diet with a straw it'll last the whole 16 hours... It felt slightly sticky when I applied it, and it also made my lips feel very dry and like they were coated in something unnatural.

Tips: A little goes a long way

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
14th April, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Maybelline Matte Lip Ink

Wow this stuff really lasts all day. I have been using this for work. I do find it feels a bit dry so I start with a lip balm then apply the lip ink and finish with a clear gloss.I wanted to see what this was like and love the staying power of the colour but prefer the shiny look. I only need to touch up with the gloss and that is with eating and drinking for the whole day.

Tips: If you have too much colour on the edge of your lip just use a cotton bud to blend or remove excess lip ink.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No

REVIEWERS NEEDED!

We need reviewers to put the Garnier Micellar Rose Water Clean & Glow to the test!


The innovative cleanser is combining forces with one of the original beauty essentials. Will it be more amazing than the bestselling and Top Rated Garnier Micellar Water?

We need you to help us find out!

Put Your Hand Up Here!