Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

MAC Lipstick Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.7/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.8/5

MAC Lipstick Review

Overall rating:
4.8/5

 

Colour plus texture for the lips. Stands out on the runway. Simmers on the street! What made M·A·C famous.

Available in 11 finishes (Matte, Retro Matte, Satin, Dazzle, Glaze, Lustre, Cremesheen, Cremesheen Pearl, Amplified, Amplified Creme, Frost)

Available in 170+ shades

RRP: $40

Availability: Available from M.A.C stores and selected Department stores.

Website: www.maccosmetics.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th June, 2018 at 11:42 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The best lipstick!

I've tried many lipsticks and most just never seem to stay more than a couple of hours on my lips - MAC lipstick does! I am a fan of the satin finish, plumful and brave are my favourite colours. I wore brave a lovely natural colour on my wedding day and only needed one touch up. There are so many shades and finishes you are bound to find one that suits you. The bullet shaped casing is simple, and I love the form. The only downside is in NZ this lipstick is much more expensive than it is when I first purchased in the UK! It does last though so I would still repurchase.

Tips: Ask a mac makeup artist for advice on colours and finishes, they will usually pick out a few for you to try and you can decide what you prefer before buying.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th June, 2018 at 6:27 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Newly addicted

I recently picked up my first MAC lipstick and safe to say I’ll be purchasing many more. I picked up Velvet Teddy which is a matte finish in a nude tone. Firstly the scent is sooo yummy vanilla cupcake-ish I could nearly eat it. The bullet is your standard slanted tip making for easy application. The packaging is nice and sleek and the cap has a nice click to it when you close it. As for the particular lipstick I picked up, it is so comfortable for a matte lipstick, is in no way drying and I can rub my lips together without it turning into a sticky flaky mess. Would 100% recommend. Wish it didn’t take me so long to pick one up but in saying that the $40 price tag is a bit hefty.. yay for cosmetic pricing in NZ.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd June, 2018 at 11:38 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Go to Lipstick

If only I could afford to buy more colours! Love MAC Lipstick, you can feel the difference when you wear a cheaper product. MAC keeps my lips more hydrated and doesn't dry out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th April, 2018 at 11:01 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Obsession

It is the quirky names like Mud Wrestler, Velvet Teddy and my all time fav. Snob - or is it the gorgeous case and quality lipstick inside or perhaps the fact that hand back 6 empty MAC containers including eye liners and lip pencils for a FREE lipstick.

Tips: Dig out as much as possible from the lipstick base - pop It into a wee sealed container ... use your finger and walaaaa beautiful lips in seconds.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
24th April, 2018 at 8:08 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
AMAZING, but...

My lovely friends gave me my first MAC lipstick in the matte shade Flat Out Fabulous.

The shade is absolutely gorgeous - it's VERY pigmented and a small amount goes a long way. It's also incredibly long-wearing and I find that during a night out I don't need to reapply or use a lip liner. The smell is also AMAZING.

However, I personally don't enjoy how it feels on my lips, it's very hard and doesn't leave your lips feeling smooth at all. Despite this, I'd definitely repurchase as the product's quality is AMAZING and I prefer the finish to other brands!

Tips: Applying lip balm prior to lipstick can really help increase smoothness on your lips when using a matte shade.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th February, 2018 at 8:52 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
In love

My only negative comment is there are too many colours and I can’t pick haha! I always wanted to own a MAC lipstick and while purchasing one of their foundations I also brought a lipstick. I purchased it while on my honeymoon in Hawaii. It was a beautiful soft shimmery pink and suited my skin tone perfectly. I opt for soft colours as I’m scared of lipstick on my teeth haha. The lipstick glided on well and lasted about 2 hours before I had to reapply. For the price, I think it was worth it. I ended up going out of my comfort zone and purchasing a beautiful deep purple when I got home. Must purchase more as I no longer have them but live in a small town far away from and MAC counter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th February, 2018 at 5:09 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Absolutely love

As soon a second I got into makeup, I wished that one day I could own at least 1 Mac lipstick. Now that I have a few I see why everyone raves about them. They are very pigmented, they don’t bleed so you don’t even need a lip liner, and the formula is very beautiful and creamy! They last super long on the lips and apply evenly making it so easy to use. My fav colour is VELVET TEDDY.

Tips: They can be pretty pricey for people on a budget, buying them duty free or buying them in America on holiday would be best haha

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th January, 2018 at 6:26 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
MAC

I have used so many lipsticks over the years but always come back to MAC. The texture, the container, the vast colour range, the staff ! and of course the way the lippy makes me feel and how it looks and how many compliments i get ESP with SNOB if you are blonde or a redhead go for it :-)

Tips: Duty free lols

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th December, 2017 at 2:13 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Worth the price

MAC lipsticks are one of those legendary beauty products and known for their staying power. After hearing so much about their durability, I decided to take advantage of some duty free buying when travelling, and purchased two of their most popular shades: Ruby Woo and Russian Red. Ruby Woo is from their Retro Matte range, and Russian Red is from their Matte range.

MAC lipsticks are all packaged in the same charcoal coloured, bullet-shaped tubes, with fine silver glitter in the plastic, and MAC written in silver on the outside. The insides of the tubes are silver with MAC written in black. Although the packaging is classy, it is very hard to tell the lipsticks apart. The shade is only written on the bottom of the case in black, so I stack my lipsticks upside-down in my lipstick holder.

The lipsticks are easy to apply, and the formula is consistent and goes on evenly. The colour does not bleed either, even without a lip-liner, which is wonderful. I find the staying power is exceptional, and it far outshines my other red lipsticks, which I no longer reach for when I want to wear red. The only drawback is that the lipsticks can be a bit drying, but they are no worse than any other matte formula.

The two red shades I have are so popular because they meant to be universally flattering shades that suit any skin tone. Russian Red is the darker of the two, and is more cool based, so suits cool complexions slightly more. Ruby Woo is a lighter red, and slightly warm based, so better for warm complexions. I am cool-toned and I look fine in both shades, so I think they are designed to suit all skin tones.

Although these lipsticks are expensive in New Zealand, I think they justify their cost. They are are definitely worth getting hold of if you can find them on sale.

Tips: Wear them over the top of a lip primer to help avoid your lips drying out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
14th December, 2017 at 3:01 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Unpopular opinion: MAC lipsticks are overrated

I own a couple of MAC lipsticks and they are just not my cup of tea. I know MAC is so popular for lipsticks but I just find Ruby Woo so incredibly drying, and while it has long staying power I just don't like how it feels on my lips.

My other lipstick is the lustre shade see sheer and while it's a nice shade and looks good, I just have other lipsticks that last longer and are similar in price.

Tips: I find Ruby Woo works/feels better when using pencil lipstick liner.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

I am - I'll tell you what in the comments!

view results

Review of the Day
emilyplum78
La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel and Duo Plus
These products work as a 2 step programme to effectively control oily and… more »