Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

MAC Lipstick Review

MAC Lipstick Review
Discontinued
Overall rating from 764 reviews so far:
4.8/5
Would use it again?
4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.7/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.7/5

Colour plus texture for the lips. Stands out on the runway. Simmers on the street! What made M·A·C famous.

Available in 11 finishes (Matte, Retro Matte, Satin, Dazzle, Glaze, Lustre, Cremesheen, Cremesheen Pearl, Amplified, Amplified Creme, Frost)

Available in 170+ shades

Website www.maccosmetics.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

MAC Lipstick Review

MAC Lipstick Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th June, 2014
0 members found this review useful
AMAZING

Mac lipsticks are my holy grail lipsticks! They are amazing! So so so so many colours and finishes, there are literally ones to suit every skin colour and tone! They apply really smoothly, the ones I own are coral bliss, angel, girl about town and lovelorn, and I love all the colours, never had a problem with any. Scent is amazing! Some of the lighter colours can tend to settle in the lines of lips, but you experience that with neatly every lipstick brand anyway! A must have!

Tips: Exfoliate and moisturise lips fully to prep for best application.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th October, 2013
2 members found this review useful
MAC Lipsticks

I love MAC its the only lipsticks I wear for the following reasons: They smell amazing, all the lipsticks have an amazing vanilla smell that doesn't leave no matter how long you've had the lippy for. They come in amazing colours! I have 10 different ones at the moment. I often find that Ive taken my lippy off with make up wipes and there is still a stain on my lips in the morning so they sit quite strongly.

Tips: Make sure you go on pay day to get some because they are so addictive!!

Also keep all your empties (anything in a plastic case eg. powders too) because when you get to 6 return them and you get to choose a lipstick for free (:

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th October, 2013
0 members found this review useful
The ultimate hit or miss product.

Don't get me wrong... I love MAC. But their lipsticks are rather hit and miss. There are the classics; you can find them on the Back 2 MAC lists or countless blogs. The staple lippies wont let you down but buyer beware for limited edition shades or more tricky formulas. Some can glide on with full coverage with barely a swipe and other drag like sand paper across your gob.

The great thing about MAC, and especially their lipstick, is the variety; both in culture and texture. It's so much more than just the run of the mill 5 different pink selections you find in other ranges. If you are looking for a shade that is a little out of the ordinary (or completely?) then MAC would be the way to go.

All MAC lipsticks have a vanilla scent that some people don't mind and others hate. It is nowhere near as strong as some other brands (I'm looking at you Revlon) but still detectable.

Tips: I like the mattes and amplified because of the colour payoff. Cremesheens are great for everyday wear.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th October, 2013
0 members found this review useful
Love them!!

So I have a couple of these (roughly 15) and I really do love them. While I do agree that there are some Mac lipsticks that are a bit iffy I think it's all about finding your right colour and finish.

I personally hate glossy lipsticks. I never wear lipgloss and if I put on a lipstick that is a bit glossy I always blot it with a tissue to turn it matte. That is until I started using the matte Mac lipsticks. I personally think they are amazing. I completely forget I'm wearing them and they last a decent time. I work as a waitress so am working 4/5 hours before I get a break to touch up my lipstick and really I only do that to bring a bit more colour back. They are almost like lipstains because they last so well.

The new retro matte lipsticks seem to be a bit of a fail. I purchased a couple of them since I love matte but these just seem to tug on your lips so I would suggest skipping them and just sticking to matte ones.

Overall I would still recommend them to everyone and I know there have been a few times where some of my friends have borrowed them for town

Tips: Make sure you go into the store (if you live near one) to try the colour first. Try and wear it for a day and if you still like it go for it.

Also make sure you exfoliate and moisturise your lips before applying the lipstick especially with the matte ones as they can show dry skin on your lips quite a lot.

Ensure that you keep any lipstick containers that are empty and also eyeshadow ones (or just depot your eyeshadows into a palette) as once you have 6 empties you can go into Mac and Back2Mac them which means you can swap them for a free lipstick (one of their more populars lippies such as Russian Red and Morange)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Charley-bailey
30th October, 2013

soooo true about exfoliating your lips before using lipstick! like a teeny bit of sugar in olive oil. or even toothpaste on your tooth brush and rub really gently. :)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st November, 2013
0 members found this review useful
My favourite is SNOB!

I have tried so many dupe colours in cheaper brands that are the same colour as Mac Snob, but I find that nothing can beat the real thing. I would definitely recommend the MAC lipsticks, they last so long and the colours are really one of a kind.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd November, 2013
0 members found this review useful
I love mac lippies!

By far my favorite brand of lipstick I own over 30 :) Pigmentation and staying power is great, And also MAC provides an amazing variety of colors to suit every bodies needs.

Tips: Exfoliate lips before hand and use a lip pencil on darker colors as they tend to bleed.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd November, 2013
0 members found this review useful
MY FAVE LIPPY!!

I have five or six of these bad boys, all of them are so rich in colour, they STAY looking good for a long time. I recommend getting the creme sheen for a moisturous perfect pout! Blankety is my fave colour

Tips: Mix shades of the same type to get a perfect colour.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd November, 2013
0 members found this review useful
Love em!

I have a few Mac Lipstick shades. Great pigment, but not very long lasting (the ones I have anyway). I love the smell of Mac Lipsticks as well! They smell like caramel :). The best thing is the fact that they have such a huge variety of colours.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd November, 2013
0 members found this review useful
The best!

I am a huge MAC makeup fan in general, in the past few years I have discovered the love for their lipsticks. I have more than 10 of them in various finishes. My fave is the cremesheen formula as it is very moisturizing and pigmented. Lustre is usually sheer but moisturising too. Matte is a gorgeous finish and incredible staying power but yes, can be a bit drying at the end of the night (but still looks gorgeous!).

Tips: 1).Apply a thin layer of lip balm before applying matte or any lipsticks.

2).Blot the matte colours with a tissue for extra staying power.

3). Save ANY PLASTIC Mac makeup containers and you get a FREE lipstick from the country's Top 20 best selling lipsticks!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
missbeauty2013
2nd November, 2013

Tip no.3....make sure you have SIX of these :)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd November, 2013
0 members found this review useful
ADDICTED

AMAZING I LOVE THESE. There are by far the best lipsticks i have every used and i have a lot of lipsticks. I am kind of addicted to these are my collection is growing quickly but I find my self using all of them. The colour range and texture of these lipsticks are great and they have one the suit everyone.

Tips: These lipsticks are on the pricey side unfortunately. Around $40NZ I believe. My recommendation is if you are traveling overseas grab your hands on them over there and any other MAC products you can find them for much cheaper. Also do back to MAC if you collect 6 empty MAC containers and bring them back to MAC you receive a FREE lipstick!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

PRIZE DRAW CLOSES MIDNIGHT FRIDAY!

We want to know about your beauty shopping habits - particularly your online shopping habits!

Take our quick survey and you could win a $1300 Beauty Haul...it's that easy!

CLICK HERE TO TAKE THE SURVEY!