Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Karen Murrell Lipsticks - Fuchsia Shock
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.8/5

Karen Murrell Lipsticks - Fuchsia Shock

Overall rating:
4.8/5

07 Fuchsia Shock
“Fuchsia Shock brings out my ultimate girl power! Strong and playful”

The KAREN MURRELL Lipstick Collection is designed with four key elements in mind:

  1. Touch, it must glide on
  2. Smell, it must smell great
  3. Wear, must wear and not rub off easily
  4. Hue, strong natural hues that do not change from person to person.

The Karen Murrell Lipstick Collection is available in nine variants - Moisture Stick (to be applied over lipstick or used as a lip gloss or lip plumper), Cordovan Natural, Pink Starlet, Red Shimmer, Violet Mousse, Carnation Mist, Fuchsia Shock, Coral Dawn and Sand Storm.

Hailed as ‘vegetarian lipsticks’- the range has no animal based materials or testing. Instead, Karen Murrell Lipsticks contain;

  • Avocado Oil to provide moisture, nourishment and hydration
  • Cinnamon for fuller, plumper lips
  • Evening Primrose Oil; rich in Omega 6 to soothe and moisturise, and
  • Carnauba Wax; renowned for its high melting point, ensuring it’s hard-wearing in even the roughest handbag.

But it’s not only what’s on the inside that counts – each Karen Murrell Lipstick canister is housed in a 100% recyclable and renewable box made from NZ trees, and includes soya ink based print.  These canisters are 4g (biodegradable PLA) and are made from corn resin. Once buried, the canisters compost and return to mother earth after 100 days.

RRP: $29
Availability:
Selected pharmacies
Website:
www.karenmurrell.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
12th April, 2018 at 3:48 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Future in fuchsia

I specifically brought a magazine that came with a gift pack that included this lippy as a treat for me.. I got a little reading, a little snack and a pretty pout.

I had no idea what colour I was getting but was taking a gamble as I need more colour in my life. I am a creature of habit and although I try different brands I generally stick to the same colour tones.

I ended up with fuchsia shock. But let's just say I was not shocked. 1. It was pretty much free. 2. It can't hurt to try new things. And 3. I was pleasantly surprised.

I avoid this colour... but upon application it didn't look half bad. Actually it blended really well and almost had a natural appearance it wasn't as shocking as I thought it was going to be. I am saving this little beauty for those nights out where I want to stand out a little more versus using my usual plum colours that almost camouflage me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th March, 2018 at 12:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Favourite lipstick so far

I absolutely LOVE my Karen Murrel lipsticks and have started to build a wee bit of a collection of them! The smell is quite pleasant, they glide on so easily and don't dry out your lips or leave them cracked. The texture is nice and creamy. The colour is bold on my fair skin. I love that they are NZ made and made with natural ingredients

Tips: I find that with a lip liner they are relatively long lasting too, I colour my lips entirely with liner before applying the lipstick

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th February, 2018 at 10:55 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My perfect colour!

Obviously not everyone will suit the same colours, but the fuschia tone is truly one of my all time everyday faves. I have medium brown hair, fair skin and hazel-green eyes, so I love that it brings out the green hues in my eyes.

The texture really is creamy and goes on smoothly and easily. I get dried lips easily, so I do still apply lip balm first, but I definitely doesn't aggravate the dryness like many lippies do.

I adore the matte black packaging of the lipstick tube and the eco-friendliness of the Karen Murrell brand makes me feel really positive about purchasing any of her products.

Tips: I highly recommend giving these a go! It is always an awesome feeling to support NZ beauty brands, and this truly is a high quality product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th August, 2017 at 9:16 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
perfect everyday treat

I am on to my second tube of this magical lippie. It looks great, not as bright as the name suggests (very wearable), and tastes like cinnamon. Unlike the current spate of matte lip products, this feels lovely and comfortable.

Tips: Like any lipstick, this is best when used with a lipliner ( I use Wet N Wild 'Fab Fuchsia).

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
21st May, 2016 at 2:20 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Wearable "fuchsia"

I've always wanted to try Karen Murrell's lipsticks but I wasn't aware of where I could swatch them before deciding on a shade so I was over the moon to receive this in the BBBE this year. Now for me, fuchsia is an intense rich blend of pink magenta so when I saw the colour in the tube I was surprised that it was 100 shades lighter than I expected. It came across with little shock and looked more wearable than one would expect with a name like Fuchsia Shock.

I adore the effort put into the packaging of the lipsticks from the recyclable materials used to the coloured boxes that apparently reflect the shades hidden inside. The tube on the other hand is a little dull to be honest, it's a light weight matte black where the top half of the inside is a shiny black. I kind of wish they went with shiny right the way through because it could possibly have more appeal for those walking past the testers.

This lipstick goes on waxy and translates into a semi glossy finish. It smells like cinnamon and reminds me of a lighter version of Big Red chewing gum (delish!). The pigmentation is average - it's buildable but you need several swipes to achieve decent coverage. I believe this lipstick is good for those who are wanting to try bolder and brighter shades but are still not on board with full opacity.

I love that it's moisturising, it doesn't feather too much and there's little slip but the lasting power is below average with 2 hours wear and that's if I don't eat or drink. I can't see myself repurchasing any other shades from this brand.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

I was expecting it to be more magenta too but against my skintone it just looks pink. On mum it leans more towards "fuchsia" on her fair skin but ultimately just pink.

Real? I thought it would be more magenta too by the sound of it Koni.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
19th May, 2016 at 8:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Karen Murrell Fuchsia Shock

Received this lipstick in my beauty box and I'm so glad I did. It has now become my new favourite lipstick. The colour is just perfect, not one I would have chosen myself but actually really suits me. This lipstick goes on easily and smoothly and lasts a decent amount of time on the lips. I will definitely be buying more of this brand when budget allows as some of the other colours look great too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th April, 2016 at 6:14 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great lipstick!

What a lipstick! It has all the features of a normal lipstick but also is so natural and 'toxin free; you can eat it (don't we normally end up eating some of our lipsticks anyway so at least you can feel ok about doing so). The lipstick glides on easily and feels amazing on the lips, not tacky or anything which is great! The colour of mine is beautiful and It lasts fairly long time. The feel throughout the day is as if you aren't wearing any and I don't find the lipstick drying at all which is always a bonus. I genuinely cannot fault the lipstick at all and would happily recommend it

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th April, 2016 at 11:56 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
See me coming

If you want a bright, long lasting pink lipstick then Fushia Shock is the one for you. This glides on smoothly and lasts longer than most lipsticks I have tried. The ingredients in this products are natural and safe to use on your lips. I really enjoy the cinnamon flavor I get when I lick my lips. This is now my number one lipstick.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th March, 2016 at 1:49 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Lipstick

I won some Karen Murrell lipsticks from Beauty Review - thanks so much, what a wonderful prize. The lipsticks are great in that you know what they're made from, This is very important for me as the product is going onto my lips and into my system. The colour is fantastic. My lips feel moisturised and the colour is long lasting. I also like that you can recycle the tube after use. I would definately buy these lipsticks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th March, 2016 at 4:31 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Goes well with all my looks!

First impressions – cute box, card – recyclable – yah! Cute slide opening & reveals matt black canister with shiny band and minimal branding - classic & it even has my initials on it (ok so I might share initials with Karen Murrell) . Lip stick itself is a nice pink, probably not one I would normally purchase, however it glides on my lips, feels lovely and the colour is right for me, and goes with many looks. LOVE IT!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

I am actually...how did you know?!

view results

Review of the Day
caz
Amazing regime
Love these two products!! Hair is hydrated which is something I’ve always struggled with in winter.… more »