Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Lime Crime Velvetines

Lime Crime Velvetines
Overall rating from 181 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.4/5

Lip stain that goes on liquid and dries completely matte. Touch-proof, long-wearing, and utterly addictive!

Availability  Selected online stockists

Website www.limecrime.com



RRP: $35.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Lime Crime Velvetines

Lime Crime Velvetines

Reviews

Overall rating:
2.3/5
3rd March, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Disappointed

Lime Crime is such an exciting and colourful brand. Love that they’re vegan and have such a huge range of products! But I was disappointed with my Red Velvet Matte Velvetine :(

Great packaging of course! And easy-to-use applicator. The shade was also to die for.. my only problem with it was the quality. I found that I was comparing it to matte lipstick products that were 5x cheaper, such as Colourpop. I could easily wear any of my Colourpop lipsticks for an entire day, eating and drinking, and would not need to reapply whatsoever. Whereas with my Velvetine it was cakey and didn’t stay on very long at all.

In the end I’d rather have it displayed on my makeup mantle than actually wear it out.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
JackieMackenzie
6th May, 2020

That's a shame because this packaging alone is drawing me in hehe

Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th February, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Best Liquid Lipsticks

This one of my absolute favourites for liquid lipsticks I probably own around thirty different colours. They last almost all day and come in such a fun range of colours.

Additionally they don’t require a lipliner and are super full coverage. Lime Crime also regularly does sales on their velvetines.

The only negative is that they only have 2.6ml worth of product compared to a Kat Von D one or a Jeffree Star which has 6.6ml and 5.6ml of product respectively

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Favourite Liquid Lipstick

My favourite item in my makeup bag! It doesn't move, and is super smooth to apply. I find I dont need to lip line as it doesn't seem to bleed on me and requires minimal re applications. As my tubes run out, I mix them with a bit of plain lip balm and they make a nice lip stain

Tips: Be super accurate when applying as once it's on it can be hard to correct.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Super pigmented

These are super pigmented! I have this in three colours, they literally last all day and night. They can be drying so i apply a thin coat of lip balm throughout the day. They have a nice sweet smell that dosent linger too long, they are easy to apply and have a smooth texture. Pricey but the quality makes it worth it. Easy applicator to use. Always have one in my bag, on my shelf and in storage. Love these!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
8th May, 2019
0 members found this review useful
I Love the Velveteens

I love most of the Limecrime products I’ve used!

I love the Velveteens - good colouring giving a good coverage in usually just one application. I do find they can be quite drying though, so always use a good quality lip balm before application. Most colours I have used stay put, only needing a light touch up after eating or mid afternoon.

I do like the lighter colours to use as a base for the Diamond Crushers

Tips: Use a good lip balm before application

Use a lip liner - some colours I have are a little runny, and a lip liner helps stop them bleeding.

Use as a base colour for more depth when using the Diamond Crushers

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
21st February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Made me love liquid lipsticks!

I bought this after being recommended it by a friend and it quickly became my favourite! It went on beautifully with high pigment, was long wearing and didn't smudge! I ended up buying many different colours so I'd have one to go with everything!

Tips: I found I needed to use actual make up remover on my lips to get this off and is quite drying so apply sparingly and use a good hydrating lip balm when you remove it!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th February, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Red Velvet perfect red

This is the perfect blue based red, it's a bit drying but I love matte lipstick and it lasts all day. It doesn't last through meals very well though, but it's the longest lasting lipstick I've ever used. I haven't found a pale pink that would be nice In this range though

Tips: Only apply once very sparingly as it's super pigmented.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
19th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Lime Crime Velvetines

I didn't purchase my lime Crime from the official Lime Crime website. I got them new from Trademe and they swore they weren't fakes and were authentic time crimes. However I'm not sure because I did t find the quality all that great. The lipstick went quite flakey and cracked and the colour smeared quite a bit. I wasn't pleased with the result however I must try ordering from the the lime Crime website and compare the quality as they may have been in fact fakes.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd August, 2018
1 members found this review useful
just call me a Lime Criminal

I didn't want to try these and I definitely didn't want to like them. I had heard that they were drying and not that great, and after all the negative press about the company I just never bothered. Then, one day, I found myself in the clearance section of Nordstrom Rack in Honolulu, looking at $6 Lime Crime Velvetines, and .... well I had to.

I now regret only getting one.

I chose the shade 'Polly' - a pink-mauve matte that is subtle, pretty, and infinitely wearable.

The packaging for these is gorgeous - a frosted glass tube showing the colour, with a rose-printed cap; this looks classy. The applicator is a short-wanded doe foot.

The formula is thin but not runny - I do find I need to scrape the applicator ad too much comes out at once. It's easy to apply and one thin layer is sufficient. It takes a little longer to dry than I would ideally like, but once dry, passes the 'touch test' with flying (lack of) colours, not transferring easily at all.

After eating and srinking and life for a few hours it starts to fade, but this is true of all lipsticks - I'm yet to meet one that can handle hours with no impact at all. Lips are left noticeably retaining colour, though , and the way this wears off is a lot more even than some in my collection.

In short I'm a big fan, and kicking myself for not buying the other shade there I wanted - Wisteria.

Tips: thin layers - the thick ones don't dry easily!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
trudijoy
7th May, 2020

yeah it's super pretty <3

JackieMackenzie
6th May, 2020

Sounds beautiful. I was drawn to the reviews purely for the packaging alone!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st September, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Lips feel like rose petals for sure

Velvetines are my favourite of all liquid lipsticks. The consistency is nice and thin, and goes on so nicely, but the colour is still very opaque and layers like a dream. It dries very quickly, which is good because it wont feel tacky for long, and once it has dried, it doesn't budge! Unless you're eating greasy food, this will last hours - smudge-proof, waterproof, kiss-proof, whatever, its not going anywhere. Which is fine because it is not at all uncomfortable, and probably the least drying liquid lipstick I have used.

Tips: Definitely look up swatches before you buy! Look up many different types of swatches, and on different skin tones. They can look very different on other people, especially with differences in undertones and the use of filters on pictures online

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

Have You Registered With NZ's Biggest Beauty Guide?

We're always looking for great reviewers to send FREE, FULL SIZED Beauty Products to!

Register today, and help New Zealand never make a Bad Beauty Buy again!

Register Here!