Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Braun July
Braun July

Lime Crime Opaque Lipstick

Lime Crime Opaque Lipstick
Overall rating from 225 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.4/5

Bold. Opaque. Recklessly loaded with pigment. For lips that speak louder than words.

Availability  Selected online stockists

Website www.limecrime.com



Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Lime Crime Opaque Lipstick

Lime Crime Opaque Lipstick

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
31st August, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Very impressed

I purchased the colour Coquette online without ever having tried it before and it's a really nice nude. The photo online shows it to have a slight sheen to it but I think its much more matte.

The packaging is super cute for a lipstick and makes it easy to find if its rolling around in the bottom of your bag. The lid stays on well, another bonus if it's rolling around in your bag!.

Application-wise, very easy, I do recommend a liner if you don't have well defined lips (which I don't)

It goes on nice and smoothly, it's quite creamy, very opaque and lasts for a couple of hours without the need for re-application. If your lips are a bit dry and flakey, you will need to sort that before using this lipstick as it will show the flakey patches up.

It has a slight taste to it, which I can't quite put my finger on - some have said it's like MAC, but I would disagree. It's not unpleasant, just slightly odd.

Tips: Make sure your lips are exfoliated prior to using if you suffer from dry lips.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
30th August, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Crazy Colours

I bought Babette when it first came out. The hype over it was amazing. So I thought I'd give this brand a go. The colour selection of these lipsticks is AMAZING! Definitely try these if you are wanting to experiment with colour. They are also crazy opaque. Sooooo pigmented! It's unbelievable! The packaging is adorable too! Who doesn't like a purple cased lipstick with a unicorn on it? The one thing I don't like about these lipsticks is the formula. Yes it's beautiful and creamy but that's not always a good thing. It slides around like nobody's business. After an hour, it's off your lips. But in the end, it's worth it for the beautiful colour,

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th August, 2014
0 members found this review useful
in love

I love my limecrime lipstick and hope to add many more to my collection. It always glides on easily and sometimes one application can last me all day :-) The smell of it is so delicious i wish they made a perfume of it and the colours always stay true and look as advertised.

Tips: Always use a neutral light coloured lip liner as it makes sure it stays put inside your lips. If you want the colour to show true prime your lips either with a lip primer or powder or in a pinch a little bit of foundation will work for this.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
23rd August, 2014
0 members found this review useful
So so

I have the color coquette and geradium. The coquette was really opaque, especially on pigmented lips like mine, but geradium wasn't quite as opaque. I appreciate that since these are high pigment lipsticks it will be drying but I find that the geradium one kind of balls up on my lips and catches on to the dry flakes, but coquette is quite creamy. Since then I have sold the geradium and just kept the coquette. They have a mac type vanilla scent and a super cute packaging.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd August, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Favourite everyday lipstick- Lime Crime Coquette

I absolutely love this lipstick. I saw it on a Shaanxo video and fell in love with how natural it looked when applied. I was unsure as Shannon's skin is fairer than mine but decided to give it a go. I purchased the lime crime coquette to go with a brown smokey eye look and found that it matches most of the looks I recreate. The packaging of the lipstick is very cute and the actual product comes in cute purple holder with a sparkly horse and brand name on it. The actual product itself is so pigmented and creamy and easy to apply. It also provides long wear during the day even after drinking and eating. May depend on what your eating and drinking though and if you are dabbing and wiping your lips after eating. I found that this product provides like a matte feel with a creamy look. It is such a beautiful shade and amazing lipstick! I cannot live without it and will be placing another order for a few more shades.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
19th August, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Fab colours

I am guttered I only own one Lime Crime lipstick! I think the colours are fab, they have a nice texture and it lasts a decent amount of time. The packaging is cute and eye catching which is what caught my eye and first got me interested in looking at Lime Crime. I have Babette and its such a bight eye catching colour however after wearing it on a night out I had little patches stain on my lips and I literally scrubbed and scrubbed with make up remover and it didnt come off so I just had to let it fade. This definitely put me off from wearing it again but I eventually did because it's such an amazing colour

Tips: Test it and see how easily you can remove the lipstick or your might be stuck with unattractive bright patched on your lips

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th August, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Where to start

I own every lippy now... tad obsessed I think.

The smell, the packaging, the application, the formula, the pigmentation, well everything! is just amazing about limecrime lippies!

I love the fact they are just so bright and smell so yummy!

Even better I can wear with knowing there was no animals harmed in the making or anything to do with their make up! Even better :)

Applying is a breeze and they just glide on and are so bright in colour you dont need to go over and over to get a colour!

I do have a niggle that mine dont seem to last on my lips as long as others :( even using a primer but then again I like to feel it on and keep applying anyhow

They aren't the cheapest but not the most expensive and who can complain if you get such a pretty packaging!

WHO doesn't like unicorns!!!

I'm a fan a lover and am slowly expanding my collection :D

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th August, 2014
0 members found this review useful
I LOVE my Lime Crime!

I bought a Lime Crime in 'Geradium' after having it pinned on my Pinterest style board for ages and desperately wanting it! I was interested to try it out as there were so many great reviews online and I generally don't love lipsticks and wear glosses and tinted balms but I wanted to give it a try as the colour looked so bright and fun. I love my Lime Crime! The colour is as fantastically bright and bold as it looked online, Geradium is my girls night out go-to now. The packaging is super cute and satisfies my love of all things whimsical and girly. A silver unicorn on a purple tube - too adorable. Unlike most lipsticks it doesn't dry my lips out or cake, the texture is pretty smooth and the colour lasts quite well and leaves a stain so even when it does wear off it still looks good. I have my eye on Airborne Unicorn now and since I love my Geradium so much I'm sure it won't be long until it goes from my wishlist to my makeup bag!

Tips: You will want to do a little lip prep before wearing a statement lipstick like a Lime Crime. Use a scrub, let a balm completely sink in and then use a lip primer for the very best wear out of your lipstick.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
15th August, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Love/Hate Relationship

Where do I start with Lime Crime! I first heard about the Lime Crime range a couple of years ago when I saw the beautifully packaged lipsticks and lipglosses on Trade Me. I instantly fell in love and wanted to buy them all!

I researched the brand (as I always do when discovering a new product) and read some not so fantastic things about the company. This did put me off a wee bit but I decided to give them a go anyway. My first purchase was the Lime Crime Opaque Lipstick in Glamour 101. It is absolutely amazing! It's creamy without being slippery, it applies beautifully and the colour lasts a decent amount of time before fading or needing to reapply.

The second shade I tried was for a photoshoot for a spray tanning company - Countessa Fluorescent. I would never have purchased this shade myself as it's just not my thing but the girls I was on the shoot with said it looked lovely on me. I remain unconvinced! Again it applied beautifully and smelt divine.

The third shade I tried was Babette. I really really disliked this one. It applied patchy and uneven and the shade made me look sickly. It was really unflattering and I sold it straight away.

The fourth shade I tried was Poisonberry. This is a beautiful deep purple metallic sort of shade that looks so divine and the name suits it perfectly. It applied evenly and again lasted for a decent amount of time.

The fifth shade that I tried was Centrifuchsia - this is my FAVOURITE of all the shades. It applied so perfectly, it's creamy, it's just absolutely divine. I can't recommend this one highly enough!

The sixth shade that I tried was Coquette. I was a bit apprehensive about this shade as I didn't have much luck with Babette and they look quite similar online. Turns out I love this shade! It's really flattering on my pale skin and is the perfect "pale nude" for me without washing me out. My only complaint with this one is the formula. From what I understand Lime Crime changed the formula on this lipstick a while ago & I have no idea why because it's ruined it! It dries up fast on the lips and flakes and becomes clumpy. I was so disappointed because I had finally found an amazing nude that actually suited me! Oh well, back to the nude drawing board!

Tips: The darker shades are creamier and more flattering on a variety of skin types. The pale shades are hit and miss so if you can get your hands on a tester then I'd definitely try before you buy!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th August, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Lives up to the hype!

I loooove my Lime Crime Centrifuschia lippy! It smells amazing (reminds me of marshmallows), I can apply it smoothly and it does not need lip liner, and it lasts all day! Seriously, I can get through 6 hours without a touch up. And it doesn't dry my lips out! Love it :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

HAVE YOU SIGNED UP YET?!

We're eliminating Bad Beauty Buys...one review at a time!

It's so easy and fun to join in with NZ's biggest beauty guide!

(1) SIGN UP - (2) Earn Beauty Points for every beauty product you review - (3) Exchange your points for FREE beauty products!

Sign Up Today!