Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Braun July
Braun July

Lime Crime Opaque Lipstick

Lime Crime Opaque Lipstick
Overall rating from 225 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.4/5

Bold. Opaque. Recklessly loaded with pigment. For lips that speak louder than words.

Availability  Selected online stockists

Website www.limecrime.com



Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Lime Crime Opaque Lipstick

Lime Crime Opaque Lipstick

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.0/5
24th March, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Iffy

I like limecrime lipsticks, they are gorgeous and the colour range is awesome (not to mention the packaging) but I just don't agree with the company, so I probably wont buy any more, just use the ones I have. However if you want opaque colours that might be hard to find elsewhere then these are great.

Tips: Some of the colours are quite drying so wearing a lip balm underneath or over top often helps.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
21st March, 2015
0 members found this review useful
For bold colours look no further

I was lucky enough to receive one of these from one of my friends from on BR. I had never tried Lime Crime or a purple lipstick! So when I received this in Poisonberry it crossed two things off my list. Poisonberry is a dark purple which is truly unique and beautiful.

I love Lime Crime packaging. From the light purple packaging with the silver accents. And I love the silver unicorn heads and stars. Very beautiful and original. The bullet itself also has a nice point to it which I really appreciate as with such strong colours you need to be able to get a strong line around the lips.

The formulation itself feels very creamy and glides onto the lips. It goes on to the lips very opaquely in one swipe which I think is great. Now this shade is extremely purple so I haven't actually gotten the confidence to wear it out of the house yet. It is just so far out of my comfort zone! I find that the shade actually stains my lips to some degree so it stays on my lips for a very long time.

Now there is a lot of controversy around this brand (google it if you haven't heard). I don't think that this will stop me buying from this brand, but the colours and finishes aren't my usual choice so I most likely won't be purchasing from this brand again for that reason.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
16th March, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Cutest packaging ever who doesn't want unicornlips

I can't get over the packaging of these lipsticks they have unicorns on them!!! The shape of the bullets remind me of MAC lipsticks. The formula is very creamy and glide like butter. Shade range are very daring super unique colours. Such good lipsticks if you want to make a statement.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
16th March, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Lime Crime Opaque Lipstick

I have one colour from this brand and it does not suit my complexion but usually will mix it another colour. I think my colour is called Babette. Very very creamy opaque lipstick. Some what moisturing but can be quite drying if wearing for long periods. Long lasting lipstick. A very bold brand and I would love to try more of their colours. I love the packaging it is so pretty which is one of the reasons I have not gotten rid babette.

Tips: Would definitely recommend using a lip liner to a get a more defined lip line.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
13th March, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Pure Poison

Lime Crime is a brand I've always associated with boldness - Bold packaging, bold colours, bold names. Despite all this shouting about Lime Crime in the beautysphere I had never been tempted to purchase until I spotted a recent sale on Beauty Bliss.

I picked up the very funky Poisonberry for a very affordable $20 and it was well worth the impulse buy! Let's start with how adorable the packaging is - shiny plastic purple tube, adorned with the characteristic silver stars and unicorns. The design stands out amongst my makeup and fits this whimsical product.

The smell - slightly sweet with a hint of vanilla, but no taste to speak of. The product itself glides on effortlessly. Poisonberry is definately a bold choice, superpigmented and one slick creates perfectly opague colour. It felt slightly creamy and had an almost amplified finish.

In terms of longevity, I was super impressed by how long-lasting this intense colour was, lasting through eating, drinking and even a couple of smooches! Yes I did get a bit of wearing across the lips but instead of bleeding or feathering the colour looked more like a lip stain. I like the look of this but if desired you can always top up!

I haven't been tempted by any of the other Lime Crime colours and am not a fan of the brands creator so wouldn't repurchase another shade, but the product itself is a high quality and I'm very happy with my purchase.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
ajrees23
18th March, 2015

Really good review, it sounds like such a good product to try ,its just a pity about the issues surrounding the brand currently.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th March, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Lime Crime

Lime Crime lipsticks are such awesome and interesting colours! My personal favourites include babette - quite neutral, pinky nude, great pink planet - a pastel pink with neon note, centrifuschia - fuchsia pink, geradium - light coral with neon note and countessa - cool based neon pink - yes I tend to stick with the pinks/neutrals but would love to try the more unusual tones such as serpentina - metallic green, airborne unicorn - candy purple, mint to be - mint green, new yolk city - banana yellow and no she didn't - bubblegum blue. They last amazingly (hours) and have super cool packaging! What more could you want!? With a RRP for $32 they are quite reasonably priced - a little goes a long way, and being a matte finish they do wear/last well! They are definitely a unique range of colours and I love that! Recommended to anyone that likes something a little different!

Tips: Make sure lips are well hydrated due to the matte consistency of these products, or, avoid them if your lips are super dry!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd February, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Rainbow lips

Great range of colours including wearable everyday colours and more adventurous colours. The formulas amazing creamy and so pigmented, two swipes max for full coverage. Some colours stain your lips but I like that, they're long wearing and worth collecting. Keep in mind the texture of them on your lips changes the longer you wear them, from a creamy feeling to more matte / stained feeling but not dry.

Tips: Use lip liner they can slip when eating

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
13th January, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Not sold on these

I had heard a lot about Lime Crime lipsticks, so I thought I would purchase one and see for myself what they are like. I bought Babette which is quite a pale peachy/pinky colour. Perhaps I bought the wrong shade for myself, but I'm not quite sold on it. The texture is alright - but my lips get dry quite easily so I think I prefer more moisturising lipsticks.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th January, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Lovin Lime Crime

I had no idea about Lime Crime before joining BR didn't know it existed. Since then i've seen so much talk of the Lime Crime lipsticks around here that it made me feel like I had to have it! So I finally took the plunge and got an opaque lipstick in coquette and also a velvetine. This is the most expensive lipstick i've ever purchased I was either going to be really happy or really disappointed, the moment I put this to my lips I was relieved to notice instantly it is far superior to every other lipstick I own.

The color I have coquette is very a light almost nude pale pink shade, one of the more subtler colors in the range. Application is smooth providing lips are hydrated /moisturised and it has a sweet vanilla scent to it. To me the quality of the formula is top notch, very opaque, rich solid color & creamy, it's a bit on the dry side I think it's a good idea to use a balm as a primer. The finish is matte, transfer is minimal as it seems to dry on the lips rather than slide off and is noticeably visible on my lips for around 4 hours.

The packaging is obviously unique which I gather is part of the reason people find this brand so alluring, and although the packaging is of sound quality it's really no better than any other lipstick I own prettiness aside.

I will definately purchase some more Lime Crime opaque lipsticks at some stage as this one has become my new favorite and I do think it's worth that extra bit of cash. Although to be honest I don't own a lot of lipsticks, about 10 all common brands like Maybelline, L'oreal, Covergirl, in comparison to these it really stands out as being far better quality.

Tips: Exfoliate and make sure lips are well hydrated prior to applying.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
21st December, 2014
0 members found this review useful
Controversial.

Aside from all the rumours surrounding this brand, I think the fact remains that these lipsticks are simply average. I have five of them, and honestly, I mostly have them for the packaging. The formula feels very thick, and the lighter shades like Babette are very patchy and clump up on the lips. They have some interesting colours, but they just aren't great quality. I feel like most of the price is due to packaging and branding as opposed to the products. I do really like Retrofuturist, which is a bright red, not only for the colour but as this one is creamier than the others I have. This line is inconsistent.

Tips: If you want something from lime crime, get the velvetines.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

HAVE YOU SIGNED UP YET?!

We're eliminating Bad Beauty Buys...one review at a time!

It's so easy and fun to join in with NZ's biggest beauty guide!

(1) SIGN UP - (2) Earn Beauty Points for every beauty product you review - (3) Exchange your points for FREE beauty products!

Sign Up Today!