Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Braun July
Braun July

Lime Crime Opaque Lipstick

Lime Crime Opaque Lipstick
Overall rating from 225 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.4/5

Bold. Opaque. Recklessly loaded with pigment. For lips that speak louder than words.

Availability  Selected online stockists

Website www.limecrime.com



Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Lime Crime Opaque Lipstick

Lime Crime Opaque Lipstick

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.3/5
4th December, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Rainbow Love

I love these lipsticks, Like any brand each colour sits/stays on differently. For example I personally find the New Yolk City (yellow one) to apply a little more sheer consistency so pressing the lips together to evenly distribute the product helps. also the No She Didn't (Blue one) can spread a bit too easily, finding all those fine lines. However, My fave Mint to Be (green) applies really well with the prefect amount of coverage. They are not a long wearing product but again like most non-long-wear lippys, deeper pigmented colours stay on better than the lighter ones. I love the packaging on these too they defiantly make a statement in your collection and are always the first ones you spot. I would recommend these to anyone who wants to try more variety in lip shades.

Tips: Using a small lip brush to apply as a lip liner first then go ahead and fill in the lip. Saves you time finding a colour lip liner that will match these colours .

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
maria4meyer
14th July, 2019

Great tip. Thanks

Overall rating:
1.0/5
1st December, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Lasted for about half an hour

I didn't eat or drink and all of a sudden my lippy had worn off. I own about 100+ lipsticks in different brands and I was heartbroken that I didn't fall in love with Limecrime after falling in love with the colours straight away. I use other products to seal the colour now but it pretty disappointing!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
10th November, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Great colour range but where's the lasting power?

I have eight of what I like to call the "wearable" shades and overall they're decent lipsticks but I find that that the quality of the formula is not consistent across the shades.

They come in undeniably eye catching lilac bullets with holographic unicorns. They're the same height as the average lipstick but are much wider. I bought all my lipsticks from NZ suppliers - however Lime Crime products are now only available from the Lime Crime website.

They have a creamy texture which saturates the lips nicely with the bold colours going on more smoothly than the lighter shades. Because of this the bolder shades have better coverage. I'm not too sure why the lighter shades go on more patchy but it's a tad disappointing because they were the shades that initiated the purchase.

The colour range is great and a lot of people will find a shade that speaks to them :-) With the lighter colours they're a bit too "animated" for my liking however I still manage to make them work. I tend to mix the lighter shades with darker nudes just so that it will suit me as I find that Babette and Coquette wash me out when worn alone.

A typical "nude" in the Lime Crime range isn't really the kind of nude for someone like myself from the chocolate club (unless you're into white based nudes then wooohooo for you; you're in luck!). All is not lost however I love the "bold colours" - Centrifuchsia (fuchsia), Poisonberry (violet) and Glamour10 (deep red).

Unfortunately the longevity of the lipsticks are dismal, if I'm careful I can probably get 2-3 hours wear. It's a good thing I like to blot anyway which is what I do with these lipsticks the only thing that's wearing my patience thin is blotting the lighter shades. I have to repeat the process probably 4-5 times until I get decent colour that will stain the lips. Would I recommend these lipsticks? I would probably recommend other ones first.

Tips: If you haven't used the lipsticks in awhile it's probably best to warm up the product by swatching it on your hand and then you're good to go or else they'll tug at your lips.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
maria4meyer
14th July, 2019

Well written review. Thanks

Overall rating:
2.7/5
29th September, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Limecrime review!

So these smell like vanilla butter in my opinion and I LOVE how they smell, they are super pigmented and super fun! Amazing colour range and super opaque, however! They don't last long at all, I found almost anything takes these lippys off. Defiantly not reccomended for a night out.

Tips: Probably avoid eating or drinking as these are super transferable

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
15th September, 2015
0 members found this review useful
YEs

I love lime crime lippys! Seriously they have some really cool colours in their range and i am such a fan of their pastels and nudey colors, they have a really lovely cremey texture to them and sit on my lips so well. Some lipsticks i find hard to match and look natural with lip liners but these lippys work really well. They are a bit pricey but the quality is actually amazing! Would reccomend for sure!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
10th September, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Soft, pigmented but not long lasting

I bought this in Serpentina green for a Halloween costume I was planning. I tried it on before the day and found that although the lipstick applied nicely and had great pigmentation the colour transfer was a bit too much. I had nearly no lip coverage after on a hour or so apart from the outer edge of my lips. I was disappointed to say the least. The actual formula is smooth and buttery yet firm to apply and the scent is a soft vanilla milkshake type smell (not one that gets to the back of your throat though)

I do love the packaging though... who doesn't love a unicorn?!

It was a pricey lesson to learn but I have heard that some shades wear differently to others. I still have it though and I keep it for Halloweens/dress-ups makeup-play just for fun (I know make up expires but I am not going to bin it just yet).

I wish I had bought the shade Poisonberry instead (when it was still available in NZ stores it was great to see swatches but I opted for a more out there colour oops).

Tips: For the price of the lipstick make sure it's a colour you will wear often otherwise you will just be throwing your money away.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
maria4meyer
14th July, 2019

Great tip. Thanks

Kimrose
28th February, 2016

Such a shame you were dissapointed. You paid good money for it. Great review though.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
7th September, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Lime Crime Lipsticks

OMG i love these lipsticks, from the lipstick its self to the funky packaging i love them. they are very pigmented and come in such awesome colours, the only downfall i have with them is that sometimes i find they "slip" or move on my lips and can become a bit messy when not used with a lip liner, however using a brush to apply them tend to hold them in place

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
24th August, 2015
0 members found this review useful
AMAZING colours

I have 6 of these lipsticks, they are pretty great in how pigmented the colours are but vary greatly in texture between colours which is a pain but is okay once you get used to it. The colours are AMAZING though so the texture issues aren't really a problem :)

Tips: try use a lip brush for applying these lipsticks it just helps keep everything even and tidy <3

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
11th August, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Lime Crime Opaque Lipstick

I have two of these lipsticks in different colours and I have found them quite different from each other in the way they wear.

'Poisonberry' is a shimmery purple. It's highly pigmented and goes on smoothly. I found that this one wears pretty well and it's one of my staples for work and going out. I find the purple stains my lips in a good way, so the lipstick still looks good once it has started to wear off. For this reason, it's my go-to shade if I'm expecting a big night of drinking! I really do love this one and I'll be repurchasing it when it runs out.

On the other hand, 'Glamour 101' wasn't as good as I was expecting it to be. It could be the fault of my computer screen and perception but I was expecting a much richer, darker and almost burgundy shade of red when I ordered it. In reality it's a much lighter and brighter shade of red. Not the end of world, but I already have better lipsticks in a similar shade. The formula felt different with this shade. This one felt a lot more slippery going on and I felt like it bled easily and didn't last very well. This left a faint stain on my lips, so it looked okay as it was wearing off too.

Neither lipstick smells or tastes all that great, but this isn't a dealbreaker for me as it's not a lingering sensory experience.

Like all Lime Crime products, the packaging is as cute as hell. The lids on both of my lipsticks have cracks in them now though which I've never noticed with any other brand I've had. The lids still stay on okay in my makeup bag, but they definitely don't close up with that satisfying click anymore.

So I guess that's mixed results from me. I love 'Poisonberry'. It's been getting a hell of a lot of wear and I will definitely buy it again. 'Glamour 101' was a bit of a disappointment and I didn't feel like it was a special enough colour or long wearing enough for me to drop $30 on it again.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd July, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Bright and Bold

I have D'Lilac and Great Pink Planet and I love both of these colours, they are both highly pigmented, apply well and are long lasting. They are very opaque in their appearance. They are so bold and really make a statement and are some of the most wearable colours of that range. The packaging is fun and exciting. I love these lipsticks and am keen to get some more to add to my collection!

Tips: Exfoliate, and hydrate your lips, and apply lip liner beforehand to get the most out this product. Will last hours upon hours if you do so.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

HAVE YOU SIGNED UP YET?!

We're eliminating Bad Beauty Buys...one review at a time!

It's so easy and fun to join in with NZ's biggest beauty guide!

(1) SIGN UP - (2) Earn Beauty Points for every beauty product you review - (3) Exchange your points for FREE beauty products!

Sign Up Today!