Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Karen Murrell Lipstick True Love Review

Karen Murrell Lipstick True Love Review
Overall rating from 8 reviews so far:
4.9/5
Would use it again?
4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.9/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.9/5

Red par excellence. True Love, an ode to the love that Karen Murrell felt when she wore her first red lipstick; a lust-worthy blue-based red for the ultimate statement lip. The deep pigment of this creamy natural lipstick delivers an ultra-luxurious feel for all-day wear making it the perfect celebration for her 20th creation.

BENEFITS

All natural ingredients, long-lasting, a creamy and smooth application. Nourishing for lips.

Availability Selected pharmacies, Health 2000 and Online
Website 
www.karenmurrell.com

RRP: $32.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Karen Murrell Lipstick True Love Review

Karen Murrell Lipstick True Love Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd May, 2020
0 members found this review useful
A KM Classic

I've ended up with quite a few Karen Murrell lipsticks and this one is probably one of the most classic shades.

With it's distinctive cardboard packaging and more sedated lipstick tube, this is classically dressed in every way.

The shade is vibrant and the lipstick is made with better for you ingredients which is good when you're kind of consuming your lipstick.

The disadvantage to this of course is that the lipstick doesn't last as long as a chemical matte lipstick. But if you can work with reapplying your lipstick more often, then this is definitely a better for your body option and a New Zealand brand (which is always nice to support). I also like that these lipsticks are reasonably priced for a more boutique brand.

Creamy formula, no bleeding and better for you ingredients. As someone who wears a lot of red lipstick (I have about 6 different shades on the go), this is definitely a shade of red I'd recommend. The only reason it's not my one 'true love', is because of its longevity.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st November, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Karen Murrell Lipstick in True Love

I received this in a Best Beauty Box Ever some months back and have only just started using it. The box packaging is colourful and cute. I love the bronze coloured casing with the flower design etching as well. The colour of this lipstick is very bold and sexy. I just can't get enough of this. It's become my only makeup item that I'm wearing now, like "forget everything else, I'm just going to wear this red lippie". The lipstick glides on smoothly and has a pleasant cinnamon fragrance which I find soothing too.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th July, 2016
0 members found this review useful
I found my True Love!

As others have mentioned before me I also recieved this lipstick in my NZ Brands Box. When Karen Murrel released their lipsticks sometime last year I was interested in trying them out. I added it to my wishlist and read various reviews about it. So when I saw it in this box I was highly excited to give this a try.

This lipstick box is beautifully designed with a portrait of a woman on it. The labelling is clear and vibrant. When I opened this box I wasn't expecting to find a beautiful bronze satin finish lipstick casing. The casing itself feels luxurious and elegant. This lipstick shade True love is a blue based red with all natural ingredients inside it. This scent reminds me of a mild cinnamon nothing too spicy. The formula of this is creamy and smooth.

I find with application it's easy to smooth onto my lips. I had no bleeding at all. It did transfer with eating and drinking and I did need to re apply it. I do expect to get transfers with lipsticks. This colour is a vibrant shade of red. I managed to get three hours wear without eating or drinking. If I do eat or drink I would need to touch up after each time.

After trying this lipstick I am fully converted back to lipsticks. I'm normally into liquid lipsticks but this one has changed my mind about it. I think it is fairly priced because it's a beautifully packaged product with great pigmentation. I can see this lipstick lasting me many months on end making it great value for money. I would without doubt repurchase this one if it runs out. I am interested in trying more shades to discover if the consistencies are the same. This is a great kiwi product that ticks boxes for me.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
9th July, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Beautiful Pigment, Lovely Moisturising

Another fantastic goodie in the NZ Brands BBBE, that I probably wouldn't have otherwise bought, but may well purchase again. I've been wearing this to work a lot lately, in favour of my other lippies, and have been really impressed with the stunning colour and pigment, and how wonderfully moisturising it is. It doesn't dry my lips out at all, and nor does it leak into the fine lines around my lips. It doesn't last as long as I'd like - but frankly, to be fair, no lippy does, and I'd hate to think what they'd have to put in them to make them last really, really long! - but it is actually reasonably long wearing all things considered. And hey, it's always nice to take a break to reapply lippy. A beautiful, luxurious, NZ made stunning lippy.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th April, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Stunning!

I really wanted to try Karen Murrell natural lipstick in the shade True Love for ages. I was really happy to see it in the Best Beauty Box Ever.

True Love is the 20th lipstick in the range. It is a blue-based stunning red lipstick. The packaging is recyclable, featuring a woman in a red dress with roses around her. The packaging is absolutely stunning. The lipstick comes in a beautiful bronze golden casing that looks very vintage. All Karen Murrell Lipsticks have no animal based materials or testing. All her lipsticks are made with natural ingredients.

I really love this lipstick, especially when knowing that it is made with no nasties. It feels really nice on my lips, smooth and moisturising. The red colour is very pigmented and the lipstick smells amazing, it smells like cinnamon. It lasts for quite some time on my lips before I have to reapply. It is not a matte lipstick but also not shiny or glossy, it’s just right for me. The formula does not dry my lips at the end of the day. True Love is a shade that pretty much everyone can pull off. The formula is buildable, it can be applied sheer or bold, up to you.

I am very impressed with the quality of this lipstick. I also love the idea of using natural and cruelty free lipsticks. I highly recommend this amazing NZ made lipstick.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
15th April, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Beautifully presented

I had heard of Karren Murrell but never tried her lipsticks so was pleased to see this in the NZ Brands box. Firstly I was impressed by the packaging, fun and well illustrated artwork. The lipstick itself was creamy and moisturising. The red shade was easily suited to daytime wear as well as evening. I am one of those people who eats lipstick off quickly so usually use a lip stain. On trying this one out though I found it lasted longer than my other brands of lipstick. I will wear it over a stain to get the best of both worlds.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th April, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Lovely Lipstick

I had not heard of this brand before when I received my Karen Murrell lipstick as part of the NZ Brands Beauty Box. I love red lipstick, so I selected the red from the available lip colour options.

I was very excited when I received it. The lipstick comes in simple cardboard packaging designed to be recyclable. But the container of the lipstick itself is a nice gold and bronze with a simple KM on the outside in white, and a subtle floral design etched in bronze.

From the look of the colour I thought the lipstick was going to be very vibrant, and more suitable for night-time. But when I first wore it the colour was a more subtle, though still vibrant, red, so I wear it day or night.

Made with all natural ingredients, the formula is divine! I get very dry lips and this lipstick feels so lovely and moisturising on. I get all the benefits of wearing a chapstick while rocking some lovely lip colour. This has definitely inspired me to purchase some more of Karen Murrell's lipsticks.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th March, 2016
1 members found this review useful
Can I give it 10/5?

Well that was silly of me I thought. When I brought the NZ brand beauty box I didn't customise it before I hit buy now. I was just way too excited and didn't read it properly so had it all on the preset shades but ya know what it was a blessing in disguise! As I am LOVING this shade.

I'm not a bright red lipstick wearer I feel like they don't suit me, almost to the point where I despise red lipstick, I get frustrated and jealous of Gwen Stefani and her rocking red lips but oh has this lipstick changed my attitude!

The very light weight plastic casing is pretty in bronze, it looks pretty but nothing extravagant or jaw dropping especially light weight plastic I'm forever scared I'll lose it. The lid does snap shut tight and that's always a bonus.

I take the lid off and I can smell cinnamon, sweet cinnamon not over powering though just a hint. The colour "true love" is ah-maz-ing (sorry but I really am so excited about this lipstick.) it's a raspberry/cherry red. There is just the tiniest hint of shimmer through it that you can just notice but can't feel it on your lips.

I swipe this over my lips 3 times to get the right colour depth it goes on smoothly and seamlessly, it has a slight glossy finish which is another love for me. I can wear this for 4 hours before I need a touch up, it does however bleed slightly so I have been using a lip liner.

I cannot believe how much I love this red lipstick I feel so confident and amazing wearing it. Even my 9 year old son commented "wow mum the red lipstick suits you" I can't wait to add more Karen Murrell lipsticks to my collection. This has to be hands down my favourite EVER.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Arohas
2nd April, 2016

Great review.This shows up bright pink on me :(

Have You Registered With NZ's Biggest Beauty Guide?

We're always looking for great reviewers to send FREE, FULL SIZED Beauty Products to!

Register today, and help New Zealand never make a Bad Beauty Buy again!

Register Here!