Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Gerard Cosmetics Lipstick Review

Gerard Cosmetics Lipstick Review
Overall rating from 43 reviews so far:
4.4/5
Would use it again?
4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.3/5

Gerard Cosmetics Lipstick Get inspired by the neutral nudes of the 90s with Jaclyn Hill's signature lipstick, 1995. Inspired by the 90s grunge revival and the beauty trends of an unforgettable decade, this iconic creation is a matte but creamy lip color that isn't trendy but a timeless expression of glam.

Availability Online

Website http://www.gerardcosmetics.com/



RRP: $25.00

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Gerard Cosmetics Lipstick Review

Gerard Cosmetics Lipstick Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
13th December, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Comfortable to wear

1995 is my favourite lipstick from GC. I like the formula. It goes on easily and wears fairly well throughout the day. Obviously it doesn't last as long as a liquid lipstick, but because it reapplys and layers well, that's no issue. I like that they feel good quality but still somewhat affordable.

Tips: Wear on top of a lip liner for longer lasting colour.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
7th June, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Beautiful Packing

Im in an international facebook group that buys make up from overseas. One of the latest order deals was a bulk lip package with one lipstick, one gloss and one liquid matte. I instantly opted to jump on this order as I have been curious about Gerrards products. This brand has featured make up artists such as Shanxxo and Manny. Instantly I was intrigued by this brand.

This lipstick came in a beautiful shiny gold bullet shaped lipstick holder. It feels like luxury. The shade I chose is Rodeo Drive. I've always dreamed of going down Rodeo drive to shop and this is the closest I can get lol . This shade is a pale shade of pink. Its formula is smooth and creamy.

When I apply it fits nicely onto my lips. But it did transfer over everything that touched my lips. Within an hour of wearing this I needed to touch up my lips. Overall the packaging is brilliant but I didn't like the formula of this. Maybe if it was a bit matte in texture then I would definitely buy it again

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
28th May, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Kimchi Doll

I had this given to me in the colour Kimchi doll, the packaging is a nice gold mirrored bullet with Gerard cosmetics stamped on the bottom half of the bullet.

The colour Kimchi Doll is a nude peach and not really the ideal colour for my medium skin tone as the colour is quite light and quite sheer.

I do however love how creamy and buttery the formula of the lipstick is, it glides on effortlessly and doesn't drag or pull. It has a strange scent to it and it reminds me of my grandmas lipsticks when I was younger. It's not unpleasant but it's definitely different.

This transfers onto everything and I find I have to touch up every hour. This cream/sheer finish doesn't dry my lips out and I find I don't need to wear lip balm underneath which is great for those of us with dry lips.

I love the creamy formula of this lipstick but the colour, sheerness and it transferring all the time make me not like this lipstick. Unsure if I would purchase anymore because I have heard great things about these lipsticks.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th April, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Fire Engine Red

I only have one shade of the Gerard Cosmetics lipsticks but I hope to some day purchase more. I absolutely adore the packaging that these lipsticks come in. They are shiny and gold all over, which seems quite glamourous to me. They don't feel cheap or plastic-y either.

The shade that I have, Fire Engine, is a matte red colour. It is the perfect classic red that would suit all skin tones. I first came across this shade when watching Shaaanxo's youtube video on "How to get perfect red lips". If you're interested in getting this shade, I would suggest you watch this video to see just how amazing this colour is.

Even though this lipstick is a matte formula it glides on smoothly. It was quite creamy for a matte lipstick and it never made my lips feel dry when wearing it (though I still wore a lip balm underneath it). It is well pigmented and I found that it lasted all day with little need for a touch up. I always wear this lipstick with a lip liner, and I've never found that it 'bled'.

If you're not keen on purchasing direct from the Gerard Cosmetics website, then paganmarie.com (NZ) and whitefoxboutique.com (AUS) both have fast shipping to New Zealand.

If you are still looking for that perfect red shade I would seriously recommend this product to you. I am in love with it and I can't wait to purchase more of the shades.

Tips: The Australis Lip Liner shade 'Lady in Red' is a great match for this lipstick.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st March, 2016
0 members found this review useful
1995

I purchased this in the shade 1995 after the whole hype over Kylie Jenners lip colour! The added bonus is that this was designed/formulated by Jaclyn Hill who I just love. I had to have this lipstick. Up until now I haven't tried any Gerard Cosmetics products but I had heard of them previously Gerard Cosmetics/Whitening Lightening.

The packaging is so awesome! I love how it is gold! So classy. Gives the added excitement of opening it. The lipstick is so pigmented and the colour is perfect. It is long lasting and quite creamy. Easy to apply and not much transfer during the day with eating,drinking etc. How ever after time of owning this the lipstick does get particularly dry and the bit that winds up and down started to stop working fully.

I love this formula and I will defiantly purchase more.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
26th November, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Not for me...

I'm used to my MAC lipsticks and have been pretty loyal but after hearing my beautician rave about these and using a discount code I ordered 3 lipsticks.

They were super cheap and arrived after a few weeks (keep that in mind too).

For me, the texture was the strangest. It highlighted every imperfection on my lips and made me feel so self conscious. They also didn't last long at all, I had to reapply every hour or so.

In the end I gave them all away and probably wouldn't buy the lipsticks again. Might try the lip gloss though

Tips: They always post discount codes on Facebook...and apparently they mess up orders pretty often, but you just keep what they sent you and they'll send you more...

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
1st August, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Love the Gold

I purchased 3 lipsticks from Gerard Cosmetics. Fire engine, Underground and Grape Soda. As soon as I got them I fell in love with the gold packaging I thought it was so classy and just awesome as it stands out from any other lipsticks I have. These lipsticks are very opaque. Even though these are matte they are still creamy and very long lasting compared to other high end lipsticks I have. My favourite Colour is my everyday colour is underground. Definitely would love to collect the whole range of lipsticks!!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th June, 2015
0 members found this review useful
1995

After all they hype these lippies have been getting I had to try one. I love brown lipsticks, and so thought that the (almost) iconic 1995 would be the one I needed to try. It arrived as a late birthday present, and I'm obsessed with it!

I can't get over how lovely the colour is. It's a deep brown, almost burgandy, and looks lovely for a deep winter lip. The formulation is impressive, and I have truly fallen in love.

This lipstick is matte, although it takes some time to get to that stage. Once it is completely dry, it is matte and doesn't transfer at all. Even though it's matte I find it to be moisturising, and I don't feel like my lips are drying out or the need to apply balm/gloss as well. Wear time is a few hours, although it does wear off more if you are eating/drinking (like most lipsticks).

Overall, I love the colour and formulation of this lipstick. The packaging makes me think of a fancy tampon occasionally, but that's not really a problem for me - others have said it's like a bullet so that's accurate too. Either way, this is amazing as a lipstick!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd June, 2015
0 members found this review useful
1995

Let me start by saying that I absolutely LOVE this lipstick. The packaging is beautiful, they're not too expensive (especially since they have really good deals ALL THE TIME), and I really like the colour and formula.

I have the colour 1995, which is the most popular one it seems.. It comes up pretty dark and brown on me, but I like it for something different. The texture (not sure if this is the same for all of them) is pretty drying, and I have dry lips anyway, so I always have to put a lip balm underneath it. It lasts a really long time and when it starts fading off, I think it does so in quite a nice way. Not too noticeable and doesn't go patchy.

Berry Smoothie and Rodeo Drive are definitely next on my list - the colours look sooo beautiful in the online swatches.

Tips: Follow Gerard Cosmetics on Instagram - they always post coupon codes for awesome deals and feature their customers photos which helps with inspiration when using them :) a lot of the colours look amazing when mixed together, and they post quite a few photos of people's combinations.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
31st May, 2015
1 members found this review useful
Amazing lippies, but avoid on dry lips.

I love the colours available in this lipstick range, absolutely beautiful, the price seems high at first - but there are constantly sales or discount codes so you never need to pay full price. The packaging feels a little cheap, and I've had a lid of one crack, but that's not really a deal breaker. The lipsticks are so pigmented - I love the colour pay off you get. They're on the more matte side - but not fully matte I don't think. They feel comfortable and last a decent amount of time. The only thing is I would avoid putting them on dry lips as they can emphasise the dry patches sometimes.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No

INVITES GO OUT TONIGHT!

We need reviewers to put the Garnier Pure Charcoal Tissue Masks to the test!

These are the new generation of tissue mask, with innovative black tissue infused with charcoal to draw out stubborn dirt, oil and impurities from the skin.

Put Your Hand Up Here!