Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Essence Lipstick Review

Essence Lipstick Review
Overall rating from 20 reviews so far:
4.5/5
Would use it again?
4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.6/5

Essence Lipstick intense and subtle shades guarantee a fabulous splash of color on your lips. the color-coded packaging in the exact same color as the lipstick makes reaching for your favorite shade even easier.

Website http://www.essence.eu/nz/products

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Essence Lipstick Review

Essence Lipstick Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.3/5
24th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Surprisingly great!

Great value for money! Do not need to spend a fortune with Essence to get what you want. Love the lipstick, I find that as a Flight Attendant, it's long lasting and keeps my lips hydrated! This product was a great find!

Tips: Reapply after eating and drinking

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Among the best lipsticks I've ever tried

I wasn't expecting much for the price but boy was I surprised! I love the colour range, the long-lasting wear, how they feel on my lips, and how non-drying they are (a real bug-bear). I also love how Essence don't test on animals. And did I mention the price? Wow! I really didn't expect much for such a low price but these lipsticks are among the best I've used (and I've used practically every brand over the years). As a 47-year old mother of teenagers, I'm probably not their target audience yet they suit me perfectly. As I have dry skin and the beginnings of vertical lip lines (oh joy!), the fact that these lipsticks are moisturising is a real bonus. I'm a fan - I'll keep buying them as long as they keep making them!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
19th August, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Moisturising, cheap but not long wearing

With this I guess you get what you pay for. I picked this up from the Long Lasting range in the shade 21, a rich dark red/brown. The packaging is great as it doesn't look or feel cheap or crappy considering the price. The packaging is a matte black with an essence e carved into the top.

The lipstick is very creamy and moisturising. The colour is a stunning colour and has great moisturisation. Unfortunately this promises to be long-lasting and I find the colour wears within an hour without even eating or drinking. The lipstick is probably too moisturising as it slips off easily and bleeds. Whilst I love the shade and price, this is definitely a case where you get what you pay for. It's not terrible but it doesn't deliver on its promises.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th June, 2017
0 members found this review useful
My everyday lipstick

There are SO many things that i love about this range of lipsticks. 1. The value - cheap for your wallet, but not 'cheap looking' 2. They look wonderful on 3. There is such a huge range - something for everyone from Matt, to glossy to long lasting and they come in every colour you can think of.

I would recommend these lippies to anyone and everyone. There is nothing i can fault them on.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
7th August, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Essence Lipstick - Review

While in Farmers one day I saw an Essence stall and was amazed by the cost of the products, so I decided to pick up a lipstick to try out. While these aren't the best, for the price they are incredible!

I picked the shade Soft Nude, a beautiful nude-mauve shade similar to MAC's Velvet Teddy. These lipsticks have a huge colour range, and there are multiple finishes so there's definitely something for everyone. The packaging is pretty simple but doesn't feel too cheap, although it is just a plastic tube in a similar colour to the lipstick. This makes these easy to find in a big drawer, which could be useful.

This lipstick is super creamy and smooth, and really pigmented too! There is no unpleasant smell or taste either, which is a bonus. To apply, I line my lips with Essence's lip liner and use this on top, and it usually lasts a few hours before I need to touch up. By itself, it would probably wear off quicker.

I'd probably buy these again, for the price they are a good deal but they are just a basic lipstick. There are lots of dupes in their line too, definitely check these out if you're looking for that.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th June, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Affordable and Amazing

I recently picked up this lipstick in the shade "Cosnova" and I absolutely love it. This dark red is very pigmented for the price. I was rather skeptical about how good this would be given the price. But I have fallen in love. This lipstick applies so smoothly and looks absolutely gorgeous on. I can't wait to purchase more of these.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
19th May, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Affordable cheap lipstick

I have 3 essence lipsticks and they are all very pigmentated. They are very easy to apply and they are very affordable so even if you purchase a colour that don't suit you don't end up losing much as the lipstick is approx 5$. The lasting power isn't amazing so you have reapply often but for the price it's a good deal.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
22nd March, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Excellent variety of shades

Not quite as pigmented as I'd like and defneed d to be reapplied a few times while out. But wide range of colours and think such a good price. Although I'd didn't love the one I got I'll def go back for more based on price and shade variety

Tips: Great price,good range

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th January, 2016
0 members found this review useful
The Range For Trying New Things

I picked the shade "Get The Look" up at Farmers recently because I wanted to try a pale pink but didn't want to spend a lot on it incase I didn't like it.

As a lipstick it is creamy but not particularly long lasting. Like a lot of cheap lipsticks it also has a bit of an unpleasant taste on the lips. However its quality does feel like a more expensive lipstick in terms of things like how creamy it is.

The shade I got is very pale, however I've discovered that allows it to be very versatile. Mix it with a bright matte pink and you can create a great MAC dupe and a barbie pink that lasts nearly all day.

I'm planning to get all the shades I would like to try but aren't really sure are my shade from this range and just have fun playing with different colours.

In terms of packaging, the plastic is relatively cheap, but the line of colour they use does exactly match the lipstick bullet as promised.

Also note at Farmers they are $5.40.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th December, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Simply Perfect!

I love essence so much. Their lipsticks are by far my favourites. They are very inexpensive and worth it! There are tons of colours to choose from and more to come too. I recently bought new shades from the latest collection. They are very pigmented and they are very long lasting. The packaging is really pretty. They are very easy to apply and the texture is really nice and soft. I can't wait for my collection of these lipsticks to grow even more!

Tips: I use a lip base/primer so that the colour comes out more and so that it stays on longer. After I apply my lipstick I blot my lips and apply translucent powder to my lips then apply another coat of lipstick. This also ensures that it doesn't wear off. Lip liner can be very helpful too :)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

REVIEWERS NEEDED!

We're sending out two L'OREAL products for reviewers!

Each member of these Trial Teams will receive a full size L'OREAL day cream to use and report back on...FOR FREE!

The catch to our Trial Teams? There are none. Simply write an informative and well-written review on the products you're sent. What's not to love?!

CLICK HERE TO PUT YOUR HAND UP!