Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Mellow Ultra Matte Lipstick in Madness Review

Mellow Ultra Matte Lipstick in Madness ReviewMellow Ultra Matte Lipstick in Madness Review
Overall rating from 12 reviews so far:
4.4/5
Would use it again?
4.3/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.5/5

Mellow Matte Lipsticks are highly pigmented, richly formulated and long-wearing. The formula glides on smoothly, leaving a velvety-smooth, moisturising finish.

Website www.mellowcosmetics.com

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Mellow Ultra Matte Lipstick in Madness Review

Mellow Ultra Matte Lipstick in Madness Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.7/5
1st January, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Shade:Candy Floss

I received this in one of my last Lust Have It boxes before they closed down. I really loved the bright pink pigment of this lippie. It was like barbie pink. Stunning colour and definitely commands attention. Didn't last long through drinking or eating, expected really for a lippie. But I did notice it had a lipstain effect after some of the lippie had come off. I would probably repurchase.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.7/5
25th February, 2017
0 members found this review useful
No Madness just sadness

I got this lippie in the Staff Picks BBBE. I don’t usually use lipstick, but I’m always willing to try it and look for the one that might drag me away from glosses, balms, and pencils.

This comes in a little light green box with mellow branding in gold and the shade colour sticker ‘madness’ on the end to identify the shade.

When you remove the case from the box, it is very reminiscent of a plastic tampon! Like most lippie cases, the lid pulls off and the lipstick screws up.

The colour is gorgeous - a deep red/crimson, and I’d really love to be able to wear it, but like most reds, when I applied it I looked like I have heart disease. This is because of my colouring and no reflection on the lipstick. The product claim is that it glides on smoothly, leaving a velvety smooth, hydrating finish. It meets this claim, and my lips did feel nice.

Unusually, the lipstick has a lovely scent that reminds me of coconut – yum!

I’m very sad that the colour didn’t suit me as I really liked the lipstick. At $15 it is a very good lipstick and one I’d recommend to anyone whose colour tone suits it.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th July, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Perfect blue-toned red

I bought Mellow's lipstick, Madness, after learning about the brand from BR, and deciding to check out their website.

The matte lipstick comes in a cream case with gold accents, and "Mellow" written in gold on the outside of the case. Mellow is also engraved into the lipstick itself.

The lipstick looks and feels great on. The formula is actually only slightly matte, more of a satin, so Mellow are correct in describing it as a creamy matte lipstick. It does not dry out my lips like other matte lipsticks do. It also has very good staying power, with only slight touch-ups needed throughout the day after eating and drinking.

Tips: I am a cool-toned person, and this shade is very much a blue-based red. So it will definitely suit cool-toned people.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th April, 2016
1 members found this review useful
Great matte lipstic

I love this brand especially because its a local NZ brand and also because it is cruelty free, paraben free and vegan! The lipstick itself is so so smooth and creamy even though it's matte. It is so hard to find creamy matte lipsticks because I find that most brands dry out my lips so much. These don't at all and my lips are still fine after wearing these for an entire day. The application is also really nice although I would recommend lip pencil because since it's so creamy, the colour can move around a bit

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
MareeB
25th February, 2017

Oh yes, I like that it is NZ made and free of nasties too!

Overall rating:
3.7/5
21st June, 2015
1 members found this review useful
A Nice Lipstick

I was lucky enough to be chosen for the trial team for this product! I was very excited to try this lipstick out, because it was designed and tested in NZ, and cruelty free!

When it arrived, the first thing I noticed was that the lid rattled. It would click on to the base, but was loose. It's a small issue, but it did annoy me, and I was afraid it would pop off in my bag (it didn't!).

The colour looked pink-ish and sheer when I swatched it on my hand, but became this beautiful, rich, red on my lips! It also had a lovely, high-shine, glossy finish. I got lots of compliments on the colour and gloss! It didn't dry out either, it stayed shiny throughout the day.

I tried it both with and without lip-liner, and lip-liner definitely made a difference for how long it lasted! I tried just lining my lips, and filling in my lips with lip liner, and the lipstick stayed on best when my lips were fully filled in. What was really great though was that I could use any shade of red underneath and it didn't matter, because the lipstick was highly-pigmented and fully covered it!

My only other issue was that because it was so moist and glossy, it was hard to get a nice crisp line- it could smear/bleed quite easily. However, even if I smeared it a bit, it came off my skin quite easily and the colour on my lips still stayed strong!

Overall, this is a nice lipstick. It has beautiful colour, and beautiful shine. It's very middle-of-the-road: nothing spectacular, but still better than a lot of other lipsticks out there. For $15 it is a great buy, and I will definitely continue to wear it on a regular basis. Plus it's supporting a NZ business... you can't go wrong!

Tips: Wear lip liner underneath (fill in your lips!), and it will make the lipstick last much longer! Concealer around your lips will also help you to get a nice, crisp line.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
MareeB
25th February, 2017

Oh and great tip about the concealer, I've never thought of doing that!

MareeB
25th February, 2017

Great review :)

Overall rating:
4.3/5
21st June, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Love this lipstick!

Initially when i opened the box i thought the lipstick packaging was really cheap. The plastic it is made from is not very good quality. The lid barely stays on. It has a really nice smell, kinda sweet almost. But has no obvious "taste" when you put it on. It goes on very smooth and feels very moisturising. Its almost a thick feeling, but doesnt appear too thick when applied. The colour/pigmentation is very intense and lasts a really long time, without needing to reapply. I wouldn't recommend using this if your planning on eating anything substantial. It was off in the middle and spreads on the outside, giving an almost clownish appearance. This might just be a problem that i have, as I've never mastered the skill of eating with lippy on. Ive used this almost everyday since getting it and really love it. If i had to criticise something about this besides the packaging it would be that they refer to it as an ultra matte lipstick. It most definitely isn't ultra matte. Its only just slightly matte. It actually has a bit of a gloss to it. And it transfers quite easily.

Tips: don't eat with this on.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
21st June, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Mellow Madness

This colour is beautiful!! Easy to apply and feels nice and creamy. Lovely matte colour, with a formula that does not make your lips feel dry and tight like some others. Does not have a strong taste - pleasant if you happen to lick your lips . Not as long lasting or stay proof as other brands, but will definitely use often. Will look at trying some of their other colours too. Great brand.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
20th June, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Madness Love

I love lipsticks so this was a great addition to my collection. The lipstick comes in a nice black matte normal lipstick tube which I liked due to its simplicity. The lipstick itself is a nice and easy to wear red suitable for all skin tones, it glides on super smooth and is lovely and moisturising. I would say the finish on the lips is demi matte rather than fully matte as it has a bit of a moisturising sheen to it. The lipstick I found to be definitely long wearing and lasted me the duration of the day. I did trial the lipstick both with and without a lip liner to test the wear out further. With the lip liner the lipstick didn't feather at all and lasted a little bit longer then when I didn't wear lip liner. When the lipstick fades over the duration of the day it leaves a nice stain which I really liked so it meant I didn’t need to reapply unless I wanted it more pigmented. Without a lip liner, after an hour or so the lipstick did fade a little and feather around the edges quite a bit. The pigmentation was incredible and not streaky at all I definitely want to try the other colours within the range as I really liked this and will purchase in the future for sure.

Tips: Partnering the lipstick with a lip liner to prolong wear and avoid feathering. I used the Chichi lip liner in Moulin Rouge a perfect match for Mellows Madness.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th June, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Madness

Madness is a beautifully pigmented Red lipstick, it's glides on smoothly and keeps your lips hydrated.

I found madness more of an orange based red on my lips so it did make my teeth look a bit yellow but it matched my Olive skin tone perfectly and complemented my simple cat eye.

The only down side I found was that the lid didn't shut properly so I couldn't carry it in my handbag.

Tips: Great for a glam look.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
20th June, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Great!

Loved this product! As a fan of lipsticks I can definitely say that the Mellow Ultra Matte Lipstick in Madness is something i would use again! This product does actually glide on smoothly almost as smooth as a lip gloss and the colour is bold and bright which is exactly how red lipsticks should be! It stays on extremely well although is easy to smudge eek! Overall I really enjoyed this product and for $15 its definitely worth a buy.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

YOU CAN SHOP THE BEAUTY VAULT WHENEVER YOU LIKE!

The Beauty Vault is now open every day so you can earn Beauty Points and exchange them for full sized products whenever you like!

Beauty Review: REGISTER - WRITE REVIEWS - GET REWARDED!

Click here to SHOP!