Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Maybelline The Colossal Big Shot Mascara Review

Maybelline The Colossal Big Shot Mascara Review
Overall rating from 47 reviews so far:
4.0/5
Would use it again?
3.8/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.1/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.0/5

Where to buy?

Volum' Express The Colossal Big Shot Mascara unloads fully loaded volume in one coat.

Unleash girl boss lashes with Colossal Big Shot, for fully loaded volume in one coat. 8 out of 10 saw root to tip volume instantly. The Big Shot brush features unique, wavy bristles that cradle lashes, while the collagen formula delivers bold volume.

 

Website www.maybelline.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Maybelline The Colossal Big Shot Mascara Review

Maybelline The Colossal Big Shot Mascara Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th August, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Maybellline The Colossal Big Shot Mascara

I got one of these to try when it was on sale and was really impressed. I usually use Mac, Too Faced or Benefit mascaras but for the price was surprised by how great it was. Maybelline is a fun brand of makeup offering good products that are great value for money.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
16th February, 2020
0 members found this review useful
clumpy but great

I love this product it really gets those lashes bold and out there! However does run like crazy in the rain.

Tips: I would suggest as the wand in this packs so much product that you use a clean eyelash brush to even out the application of product as it can clump up.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th February, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Firm fave

I hadn’t actually realised but I have a bunch of these in my draws. I was cleaning out and noticed a wee stash of these and without knowing it I realised I gravitate towards this mascara All. The. Time. They are so well used the labelling has worn off.

I have used a tonne of maybelline mascaras and I must admit I’m a huge fan. Majority of them are faves they are so affordable and do a pretty good job.

Obviously for me this one is no exception. I have a bunch of maybelline mascaras of different varieties to use on my shelf and a repeat of this colossal is one of them.

I think I love that it adds length and volume without clumping or looking like a layer of tar. It lengthens my lashes perfectly. I do prefer the length look over volume but to have both pretty close to perfect is amazing. As this thickens them leaving a close to natural look.

It stays put all day.. it really doesn’t budge unlike my old push up fave by them.. which I still love. And it is fairly easy to remove given it’s staying power.

What I really love is that this doesn’t sting my eyes or snap my lashes - I can use day after day and not have a problem whereas some other mascaras send my lashes to their graves.

This will be hard to beat. Although I do seem to have a maybelline mascara crush and like to try them all so I guess I could be surprised but for now I will use the colossal mostly.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.0/5
13th February, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Collosal big shot mascara

I have no idea why this product is rated well for me it didn't do much at all I had to apply multiple brushing action and then it still didn't deliver I think this is very average and for the price it isn't worth it. The design is fine brightly coloured but I don't get the squiggly base for the handle. For a Maybelline mascara this didn't impress on results would not re purchase. Perhaps I got a dud or my application technique is different to everyone else? It just didn't do it for me. I want long lashes and this is a volume mascara but even so I wanted to try it seeing as it's rated well. One good thing is it seems to wear well and hasn't made my lashes feel dry. I experienced no itching either

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Big Shot Brush

I'm a fan of Maybelline mascaras in general. Like a squillion other girls, my first mascara was of course, Great Lash. I still come back to it every few years.

The Big Shot Collassal is gold. Not classy gold, blinging gold. The gangSTAR in me loves it..

The brush is large and not overly tapered, I was curious as to how it would catch the inner lashes without being a smudge-fest but it was fine!

I love that this is buildable. One layer is a great day lash, 2 layers - thick voluminous lashes ready to paint the town.

I think you're generally pretty safe with Maybelline lashes - this probably ranks as my favourite. Knocking Great Lash down a peg.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
20th December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Colossal Big Shot Mascara

This is more of a volumising mascara rather than a lengthening one. My lashes are a bit funny with wands and long skinny ones work better for me for some reason i've never been able to fathom.

This darkened and thickened my lashes and as it is called Volum' Express so I suspect that is the purpose. I cocktail it with one of my other mascara's for the perfect look.

If you want volume and darkness in your lashes look no further.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Absolutely one of my favs

I have been wearing the Colossal Big shot since it arrived, and I am really loving how good it is.

Its easy to apply, and goes on smoothly and It defines my lashes rather well. I love that it is waterproof so to speak but easily comes off with my micellar water at the end of the day...

I definitely will be using this more often as I am a regular Mascara user and its still perfect to throw in my handbag etc.

Tips: Try not to have too much product on the Mascara brush otherwise it can be a little too thick.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
19th December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Big Shot? More like Hot Shot ;)

You can never think about Maybelline without thinking of their legendary mascaras. I'm pretty sure the first Maybelline product I ever used was a mascara and this was long before I even used lipstick (it was all about lipgloss back when I was in high school!). Suffice to say I had some pretty big expectations for this product.

It actually hugely reminds me of their Mega Plush mascara in terms of the effects it gives your lashes. It does stay on a little spidery, but provides you some decently volumised, lengthened lashes even with just one coating. Once dried down (which is pretty fast) you can touch or accidentally rub your lashes and not be scared of having smudges or stains on your fingers! You can even safely curl your lashes afterwards to up (pun intended) your lash game.

I really feel Maybelline definitely improved their formula with this baby because it does not flake! That's one of things I despise when using mascara which is why I usually opt for fiber mascaras or bypass them all for my trusty eyelash curler (thank you Mama for my naturally long lashes).

I also love the fact that it's super easy to clean off. Other mascaras take a hundred million years to completely remove from not only your lids, but your undereyes and even when you think it's all gone, you wake up in the morning with dark undereyes. This does not do that! And I'm so incredibly pleased.

So.. would I purchase this from my own pocket? Hells to the YES. If Maybelline keeps pumping out mascaras like this then I'm forever ditching other mascara brands and exclusively going back to using them. Volume? Check. Length? Check. Easy to remove? Double check. Although I wish it separated my lashes out a bit more and was less spidery, the pros for me definitely outweigh the cons.

Tips: Curl your lashes before and after application to give you some serious killer lift.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.7/5
19th December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Love it

I have been looking for a while for a product that doesn't clump or leave black marks under my eyes. I found it with this product.

The packaging is eye catching and easy to get into.

There is no strong smell, which I have found with some mascaras. It goes on nicely, with no clumps and doesn't rub off onto my skin.

Im definitely going to buy this.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.3/5
19th December, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Not so colossal.

I have mixed feelings about this mascara. Which I will get to. I received the shade blackest black in the washable version. Firstly the packaging is plastic and gold. A bit blingy but not offensive. The brush end is terrible, it was so thick and full of mascara that the bristles had all clumped together. I had to swipe so much mascara off onto the rim that it made quite a mess and when I applied it, it just clumped all my eyelashes together. I decided to give it another go with another mascara brush as I did like the formula. The mascara wears well and doesn't flake off after a full day wear. It gave some volume but definitely not colossal volume in one coat. I liked how easy it was to remove with just my cleanser.   Apart from brush it's not a bad mascara just not another great mascara like Maybelline great lash.

Tips: Any more then one coat will lead to some clumping. 

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

THE CHRISTMAS BEST BEAUTY BOX IS ALMOST HERE!

The Christmas Best Beauty Box Ever will be released on Friday November 20th at 7pm.

This is quite literally our most Beauty-Full release EVER with over $550 of value inside from brands like Shiseido, Snowberry, Evolu, Essano, Lancome, YSL, Schwarzkopf, Swisspers, Kiehl's and more!

We will send a private link to all who have registered their interest, giving them the chance to buy it first.

Click here to get the sale link on Fri 20th Nov!