Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Maybelline Colossal Up To 36H Waterproof Mascara

Maybelline Colossal Up To 36H Waterproof Mascara
Overall rating from 60 reviews so far:
4.1/5
Would use it again?
4.0/5
Did it do what it said it would?
4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.1/5

Colossal gets amped up! Colossal Up To 36HR Mascara is Maybelline's latest, most hardworking mascara. Thanks to its iconic Mega Brush that sweeps on its flake-resistant, volume-lock formula, it delivers non-stop dramatic lashes in an instant. Waterproof and smudge-resistant!

Website: www.maybelline.co.nz

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Maybelline Colossal Up To 36H Waterproof Mascara

Maybelline Colossal Up To 36H Waterproof Mascara

Reviews

Overall rating:
4.0/5
5th July, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Waterproof and reliable

I honestly didn't have huge expectations for this mascara, as I've been underwhelmed by Maybelline mascaras in the past -usually too watery, clumpy and smudgy for me. However this has been a pleasant surprise and is a mascara I'm very happy to use.

The tube is quite chunky but easy to unscrew and grip, so I have no complaints there. I like the brush, which is a fairly average size with medium length bristles. I appreciate that it doesn't pick up too much excess product, which I find is a common problem amongst different mascara tube designs.

With one coat of application I get decent length and some volume. A second coat starts to get a bit clumpy, but adds a lot of volume. The formula is not too watery, so it can be built up to a certain extent.

The waterproof aspect has been very reliable for me so far, and a huge bonus is that it holds a curl very well. The longest I've worn it is probably 14 hours, but I experienced no flaking, smudging or discomfort. Very impressed with the longevity.

Overall, I'm happy to be using this mascara and think it's a great waterproof option. If I could change anything it would be to have a little more volume without clumping, but it is certainly a sturdy and reliable everyday mascara.

Tips: Definitely use an oil-based remover as micellar water or facial wipes won't cut it. Coconut oil on a cotton pad is a great option!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
2.0/5
5th July, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Average

The brush doesn't hold much mascara except for the tip. The consistency is quite fine but at the same time clumpy, I personally prefer a thicker mascara. After multiple coats it still wasn't my desired look, although I can see other people liking this maybe if they prefer less defined lashes and aren't used to a quality mascara. For me eyeliner and mascara is the most important and I like my lashes to look thick and long. This product is not for me. I found the mascara ok but not very good quality after some wear the clumps became dusty and just not a good experience.

Tips: I won't be purchasing the quality isn't there, I'll stick to Dior it's worth the extra $$$.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
29th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Maybelline Colossal Up To 36H Waterproof Mascara

I found the wand a bit big and awkward to use as it had bent and wispy bristles which along with the thick consistency of the product made it difficult not to overload the lashes. Not sure if it was meant to have such a wispy applicator, but this seemed to affect the amount of product that was applied to my lashes despite scraping a lot of product off the wand, attempting to apply a thin layer was difficult. This product definitely added volume to my lashes, lasted throughout my 16 hour shifts with minimal transfer above my eye (which can look like a second eyebrow with other brands) and the colour is perfect. When it came time to remove the product I had a hard time getting it all off, first using micellar water then my The Ordinary squalane cleanser but still had flakes around my eyes in the morning, so it definitely has staying power. All in all it is a good product that does what it claims to do, but doesn't make it into my top 5 mascaras due to the thick consistency and awkward wand. Maybe I got a dud wand, but I wouldn't spend money on another just to find out.

Tips: Trial applying with different wands if possible to see if this reduces lash overload

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
27th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
A perfectly priced alternative

The Maybelline Colossal waterproof mascara definitely did what it claimed to do. The mascara lasted a long time - so much so that I found it difficult to remove at the end of the night. Like most mascaras it was really easy to apply. The wand made it easy to apply to both the upper and lower lashes to get that really long thick look. I only had to apply once on top lashes before the effects were seen - they were much darker, thicker and longer and there wasn't any clumping. At the time of writing this review, the mascara is around the $25 mark. I would buy this again purely as it did what it said it was going to and the price point is good.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Beautiful long lashes

I've tried likely hundreds of different mascaras, in all price ranges over the years and this is pretty darn good. Nice and dark. Makes my lashes beautiful and long :D not spider leggy at all which I'm always worried about.

Tips: I use a mascara guard as I constantly get mascara on my lids

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Maybelline Colossal Up to 36hr Waterproof Mascara

I received this product to review by Beauty Review but realised too late that I miss the deadline because I have been feeling unwell. It was wonderful using this product for the sole reason that my eyelashes are nothing to write home about. The Maybelline Colossal Mascara comes a nice to hold, chunky tube that is easy to apple. The spooley is perfect for coating each lash. I found that my eyelashes looked longer and more defined. The product also stayed put for the almost 15 hours I had it on for. I don't know who would have their mascara on for 36hours or even sleep with mascara on, especially waterproof mascara, because you probably shouldn't do that. However it should stay on comfortably all day and look as great in the evening as it did in the morning. I would recommend this product.

Tips: I did scrap off the excess product on the rim and built up a few coats rather than going in with a loaded spooley.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
25th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
I have had better

I have to be honest this mascara isn't what I thought it would be. I have very fine eyelashes that aren't very long so thought it might help to make them look thicker and longer but the brush is too big which makes it hard to apply to fine eyelashes. Feels really clumsy and messy. It also is quite clumpy. For the price I think there are better options out there. But hey if u have a nice set of thick set of eyelashes it might be great. Just didn't tick the box for me. On the bright side it is water proof and is a generous size. Amd nothing against Maybelline.....I have had great products from them in the past!

Tips: Maybe try before you buy if you can.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
24th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Hit and miss for me

I’m not completely sold on the formula of this mascara. I have to admit, it does do as the description says, it’s long lasting and doesn’t flake off which is great! However I found the mascara didn’t make my lashes look that amazing, and didn’t feel make them dramatically different from their natural state. I found the formula a little dry and would have loved for the mascara to provide a bit more length. Overall I think this mascara is an okay one for day to day “natural” makeup, however if you’re wanting a dramatic affect than I don’t think this is the right one!

Tips: Because this is waterproof make sure you have a decent makeup remover! I found that oil based worked through best for me

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
24th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Seriously surprised by how this preformed

This mascara genuinely surprised me, I have gone through so many high end mascaras ranging from too faced, Dior and benefit and in my opinion this has preformed just as well if not better then most of them.

Brush- the brush is super large but unlike most large brushed mascaras it goes on without clumping your lashes together, you get really good separation. The only downside is it does make it hard to get the corner lashes me as there on the curlier side

How it wears- This mascara absolutely stands up to its long wearing name, and will stay on all day including when the wearing decides to switch up on you. In terms of transfer I did get a little on the lower lash line however this was after wearing it for about 8 hours.

The mascara drys down quickly and does not have any strong smell, it’s comfortable to wear and doesn’t feel chunky.

Tips: You absolutely need a good quality makeup remover as this does really stay on. If you don’t remove it completely you will wake up with panda eyes

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
24th June, 2022
0 members found this review useful
Big and bold

Great mascara. The wand is a bit bigger than I’m used to, so just need to change the technique a wee bit. The formula is great though, stays on for hours, but is still easy to take off. Great for a night out where you need your makeup to last for hours!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

L'OREAL REVIEWERS NEEDED!

We're putting together Trial Teams for several L'Oreal cosmetic products.

There are no catches to our Trial Teams - get selected, and we'll send you the full sized product for free. All you need to do is place a well-written and informative review!

Click the link to find out more - and put your hand up today!

CLICK HERE TO CHECK OUT THE LATEST L'OREAL TRIAL TEAM!