Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Beauty Vault - Aug
The Beauty Vault - Aug
Urban Decay Naked Basics Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.7/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.7/5

Urban Decay Naked Basics Review

Overall rating:
4.8/5

Urban Decay Naked Basics Review

Our first MATTE palette, featuring six gorgeously Naked neutrals to build on or wear alone—including four never-before-seen shades.

RRP : $67.50

Availability : Selected online retailers

Website : www.urbandecay.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th August, 2017 at 1:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing travel palette

This palette is the perfect travel palette for everyday makeup - the mattes are beautiful and silky, and they don't appear too 'flat' on your eyes. Highly pigmented and blendable, and the generous sized mirror means it's great for on the go - if I go away for the weekend I will just take this. Some of the shades can also double as eyeliner or brow powder. It's also a perfect match for the Naked 2 palette which is completely shimmery. Well worth the money, especially if you can purchase overseas like I did!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
21st June, 2017 at 9:07 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Every day favourite

This is an ideal 'go to' palette for everyone - it lends itself perfectly to everything from barely there natural looks to daily glam right through to bold and smokey.

It's compact and portable, so an easy option to slip into your travel case, but has a great range of colours for its size. There's a lightly shimmery highlight, a few light to mid colours perfect for the browbone and lid, a darker mid-brown for smokey looks and crease accentuation, and a rich sultry black if you want added drama and/or use powder for eyeliner like I do!

The colours are highly pigmented and despite most of them being ultra matte they're silky smooth and easy to blend.

It can have a little fallout if you're working quickly or with a lot of product, though, so do be prepared to give your undereye are a quick once over afterwards.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
24th May, 2017 at 7:30 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Everyday 'go to' Eye Colour

This is a great everyday eye palette, perfect for fairer skins. This is one of the rare finds where you actually use every shade. Will definitely keep this in my makeup collection.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th October, 2016 at 7:17 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love it!

I got this as a gift, and I absolutely love it! Amazing pigment and wearability of all the colours, and Urban Decay is vegan! Easy to travel with due to small size, and the shadows all blend really easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
30th August, 2016 at 10:38 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Nude lovers rejoice!

Definitely one of my top three palettes (my top three are all from this brand!).

It's such a nice change from the larger palettes, and makes for a great staple in your beauty bag. I love that the shadows can work well for everyday but you can work with it for a smoky eye for a night out.

The case is smaller than my hand and slim so fits easily in my make-up bag and has a velvet like feel to the case, but opening and closing it can be a bit of a pain. The latch area is quite small so it's easy to slip your fingers when opening. I ended up losing it out of my hand and the dark shadow smashed to bits on my white bathmat (total pain to wash up but I digress!) But aside from that, it's a perfect palette to have in your mix.

The shadows are buttery soft and all matte as advertised, though I find the lightest shade, Venus, to have some sheen to it (but I'm not complaining). It's a perfect highlight on my inner corner of my eyes.

The shade WOS (pinky nude) is hands down my favourite eye shadow colour. I have fair skin and it's the perfect base colour to sweep on my eyelid, and for such a light shade it has amazing pigmentation and hides the veins on my eyelids!

Highly recommend this palette!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th July, 2016 at 9:48 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Cute & Practical

I am a massive fan of the Naked pallets and had to add this to my collection! Like all Urban Decay shadows these are perfect, the colours are a dream to work with and the product itself is long lasting (I can never be bothered to wear shadow primers) and easy to blend. At the moment this is one of my go to pallets as all the colour combos go easily together when I'm up at the crack of dawn getting ready for work I don't have to think too much about what I'm slapping on my eyes. This is my first matte pallet and I'm ready to add more to my collection!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th May, 2016 at 7:53 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Everyday palette

Absolutely love this palette. This is an everyday palette for me. I use it for my brows as well as my eyeshadow. It's very versatile. It;s the perfect palette. It has everything you need, highlight, transition, and crease, as well as a dark black (that's actually really black) for a nice smoky look. I love this palette.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
19th December, 2015 at 7:06 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Very handy~

I was mind set on getting a Naked palette but when I saw them IRL, I realised they were too sparkly/shimmery- then the salesperson pointed out this one and it was the one for me! I'm not normally an eye makeup person but I find the shades very versatile. WOS is great just to even out the skintone on the eyelid, venus can be used for highlighting, foxy to set concealer. As with all eyeshadow palettes, there are colors that are not used as often, crave (the dark charcoal) is the shade I've not touched much, but does work quite well as a smudgey eyeliner when applied with a pencil brush.

Blending is a breeze and I am able to achieve a natural look I prefer. TBH I'm not sure about the staying power as I NEVER go without primer if using eye makeup.

Overall, it's a great product that would work well to complement what you have. Also great for beginners as the colors are neutral and so easy to blend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Great review, and love your tip about Foxy!! I will give that a try :)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th November, 2015 at 5:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My "go to palette when I'm in a hurry" palette

This is the palette I mostly use when I don't have much time to make my mind up on how I want my eye make up to look! With only 6 amazing shades there are fewer ways to design a look compared to the palettes with twice the colors.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th August, 2015 at 8:04 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great on-the-go, in-a-hurry product

I wasn't about this when I bought ut, simply because I already had the Naked Palette. However, I've found myself reaching for the Basics palette more often than the full size because it has the exact shade I need for a complete look. If I'm going out after work or at night, this goes in my bag with a small blending brush because the shades I need to turn work neutral into night smoky are in there. Great, great product. I've never had problems with fallout or creasing, and they're extremely easy shadows to work with.

Tips: Throw into your carry-bag with an extra brush and a mascara for touch-ups or transformations during/after the work day. xxx

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Does your foundation last all day?

Does your foundation last all day?

No, I have to touch up at least once during the day!

view results

Review of the Day
dani7331
Gentle Gel
I really like this gel cleanser. I have always been a fan of the Micellar water, so it was exciting to try something… more »