Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Beauty Vault - Aug
The Beauty Vault - Aug
Chi Chi Glamorous Eye Palette - Bases
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.4/5

Chi Chi Glamorous Eye Palette - Bases

Overall rating:
4.4/5

Chi Chi's collection of velvety soft, highly pigmented eye shadows are easily blended to create individual looks. They may be worn sheer or dramatic, wet or dry to reflect your mood or desire.

Pack Size: 12 shades

RRP:  $26

Availability:  Farmers, leading pharmacies and department stores

Website: http://www.chichicosmetics.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
13th April, 2017 at 3:46 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Chi Chi Bases

Total value for money!

I own this Chi Chi palette amongst a few others and this is the one I have totally trashed! It is just so suitable for everyday wear, I really need to throw it away and buy a replacement. And I would buy this again!

I often find palettes lack lighter shades so I sought out this palette to solve that problem. And it was a great move! The lighter shades are great for daytime wear; natural looking and a way to brighten up the face (...when you haven't had enough sleep to do so naturally).

The shadows are reasonably long lasting and don't smudge too badly (a primer can help with this). I find they blend really nicely and the shades are beautiful. I personally LOVE the rosey hue to these shadows and they go really nicely with the other Chi Chi palettes (and generally any other palette). The lighter shades in this palette can also make great bases for any darker shadows you plan on applying.

All in all, I will definitely be repurchasing! This is a really great palette for the money and there are often sales on this brand at Farmers (which makes this palette a steal)!

Tips: Use an eyeshadow primer to make these last longer!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
12th December, 2016 at 10:31 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
pretty but very subtle

I actually gave this away in the end as the colours were just far too soft for me.

Chichi Glamorous Eye Palette's are a go-to for me for cheaper palettes that are still high quality. I have one myself, have gifted another to Mum, and would happily consider these at any stage in the future (especially in Australia where they're way cheaper!). The range of colours is always on point.

Bases was a mismatch purchase between what I'd actually use and what was on offer - essentially I got this free when I bought the Taupes palette I gave Mum. The range of base colours is pretty and very soft and subtle, going through the spectrum of colours to use as the base of a neutral look. The thing is, I don't wear neutral looks often, and many of these, while pretty, disappeared on my lid as they're just too subtle. A friend ended up with this, and it suits her far better.

The shadows are decent quality with minimal fallout, and I find that they're easy to use. Pigmentation of this particular palette isn't a key focus, but they're definitely not highly pigmented, being intended as base shades. As with all Chichi shadows, they last well but are removed easily from both brush and lids.

If you're wanting super subtle colours, a starter set or you genuinely DO want base colours to add to, this is an option. It just wasn't right for what I suit/use.

Tips: swatch swatch swatch to be sure of what you want.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
17th March, 2016 at 9:34 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing & Inexpensive eyeshadows!

These are my go to eyeshadows. The colours are amazing and they last all day if you have applied a primer underneath and used with a dampened brush.

Tips: Dampen the eyeshadows for a better colour that lasts a lot longer!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th March, 2016 at 9:02 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing palette

This is my favourite drug store palette! Truely amazing. Long lasting, amazing pigment and looks flawless when applied! This palette is perfect for a more subtle look. I would totally purchase this again in a heart beat!

Tips: Use a primer to make it last longer

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
7th December, 2015 at 9:37 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great palette, but...

I have a few chichi palettes, and they are excellent quality but I don't thinkI get the pigment pay off that others do. This palette is excellent if you want very subtle looks, or bases for a more dramatic look, but there almost needs to be a little variation in the tones or something. Even a matte medium brown would have been awesome, that way you could take it travelling without having to take an extra palette. Loved the pale cream colour, used it up completely. Probably my most used palette, but to be honest I haven't used it a lot in the last 8-10 months due to having more variety in other palettes.

Tips: If you want better payoff, use any of the shadows with a damp brush - they are AMAZING wet, like a whole new palette.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
13th July, 2015 at 2:10 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Base-ically beautiful!

I need to have all the Chichi palettes so that is the reason why Bases is a part of my makeup draw besides the fact that its absolutely gorgeous! I find that the Chichi palettes deliver on quality and pigmented shadows on a budget. I have always found that the cases they come in is quite flimsy and have broken in my makeup bag in the past. The other thing I dislike is the pathetic little sponge applicators that comes with it. In my opinion when you have such a great product why wouldn't you put a better quality applicator in it or perhaps not at all. The inclusion of these applicators hurts the view I have of the Chichi palette a bit. For $31.99 I expect a little more.

I love the colours in this palette. They make great bases to a smokey eye just like it's name suggests or the colours make a great look alone. Either way it's a win, win situation. I use real techniques brushes to apply this so I get the best application possible but find that the eyeshadow has a bit of fall out which ends up on my clothes. The colours are matte with a bit of shimmer in them to make the eyes pop. I love applying the shadows wet because it gives the colour a little bit more intensity for those glam sessions.

I find that the shadow often shifts and settles in the creases of my lids which is annoying. I find dusting a finishing powder on them makes them stay a little bit longer. The shadow usually stays on for the entire day with the exception of it making its way in to my creases. The colours can be mixed to make new looks which is the fun part of having such a versatile palette like this. You will not be disappointed when you buy this palette. It's definitely worth the money and the quality is there. Great for those on a budget who want a good palette of eyeshadows.

Tips: Throw the applicators out as soon as you get them. They don't do the palette any justice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
8th July, 2015 at 3:36 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing for the price

I got one of these because I had seen a couple youtube videos saying it was a dupe of the Naked palette so thought would give it a go. I got the bases one and was pleasantly surprised. The colours are pigmented and do not crease and can be blended so what more can you ask for the price. There are 12 colours and I not only use them as a base but also wear alone to give a more subtle look. Love this palette and thinking about purchasing another just have to decide which one

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
27th June, 2015 at 8:15 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Cheap but great quality

Why bother following the hype and buying the Naked palettes when you can enjoy something cheaper and just as good. The other chi chi palettes such as the neutrals one have great colours and this is really worth the money. The eye shadows stay on for a fair amount of time and didn't crease on my eyes like most eye shadows do. It's perfect if you're just starting out or experimenting with make up!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
6th May, 2015 at 11:30 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Perfect for those on a budget

This palette has 12 gorgeous highly wearable shades. I use this palette regularly and have found the eye shadows are easily blended with good pigmentation apart a couple. However, for the price this is an amazing palette which I definitely recommend. I will be buying the other chi chi palettes soon!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd March, 2015 at 3:36 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Chi Chi Glamorous - BASES

Love this palette. Good price for the quality and number of shades. Love how you can see all the colours through the lid.

Good range of colours, exactly as the name states, bases, mostly pretty subtle, a palette I use for an everyday look. They go on well and blend well. I have found it to last pretty well throughout the day aswell.

Would definetly recommend. i'm gunna consider buying other Chi Chi palettes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Does your foundation last all day?

Does your foundation last all day?

No, I have to touch up at least once during the day!

view results

Review of the Day
dani7331
Gentle Gel
I really like this gel cleanser. I have always been a fan of the Micellar water, so it was exciting to try something… more »