Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Colgate Optic White Toothpaste review

Colgate optic white toothpaste review
Overall rating from 288 reviews so far:
3.0/5
Would use it again?
3.3/5
Did it do what it said it would?
2.9/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
2.8/5

COLGATE Optic White toothpaste removes stains that ordinary toothpaste does not. COLGATE Optic Whtie toothpaste contains the whitening ingredients that dentists use. Delivers 3 shades whiter teeth after 4 weeks continuous use.


 

Website www.colgate.com

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Colgate optic white toothpaste review

Colgate Optic White Toothpaste review

Reviews

Overall rating:
1.0/5
25th July, 2015
2 members found this review useful
Needs to come with a warning

In theory this sounds good. 3 shades whiter teeth? Yes please!

I love the metallic red tube this comes in it looks pretty and makes me want to use it. I love the real minty flavour of this it's quite strong and reminds me of the imperial mints. It leaves my teeth feeling very clean for hours afterwards better than any other toothpaste I have used. But I will unfortunately never use it again. It has left my teeth and gums so sensitive nearly every tooth has been aching and my gums have felt like they are burning. It's really thrown me because I hardly ever get sensitive teeth generally only if I eat ice cream too fast. I think it could be the hydrogen peroxide that's causing the sensitivity because I have never experienced this before with normal toothpaste. Never ever again! I will leave the whitening to the dentist.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
-Bex-
20th September, 2015

Yes I'm all fixed now Chelsea the sensitivity toothpaste worked wonders. It took a week or so but I got there xx

chelseaadelaide
20th September, 2015

I hope this has cleared up for you now Bex x

-Bex-
30th July, 2015

Honestly Julieal it was horrible I had to go to the dentist. I thought I needed lots of fillings and he said there was nothing wrong with my teeth thankfully and put me on a sensitivity toothpaste and strengthening paste.

Julieal
30th July, 2015

Nothing is worse that over sensitive teeth -this is good to know

Overall rating:
2.0/5
20th September, 2015
2 members found this review useful
Buyer Beware!

Always striving for whiter teeth, I used the Colgate Optic White toothpaste for two months, with no visible difference in the whiteness or brightness of my teeth. I used this toothpaste morning and night, and sometimes cleaned with a standard toothpaste afterwards as I didn't feel minty fresh with the Optic White alone. I noticed no sensitivity after using this product - something I did experience with the Crest Whitening Strips.

Two months after using this toothpaste I had been reading reviews and saw lots of warnings about whitening toothpastes (not just the Optic White) making people break out around the chin area. This was at a point where I had very clear skin, but had had a month of 5-8 blemishes all in one spot, on one side of my chin. I immediately stopped using the toothpaste, and they cleared up pretty quickly. I don't want to say that it WAS the toothpaste, but it may be something to watch out for.

The bonus to using this toothpaste was that I took more care brushing my teeth. Envisioning whiter teeth certainly makes you brush for longer!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.3/5
3rd February, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Not as good as it says :(

I used this toothpaste for a six month period when it was first released. I really was left disappointed as I saw no new whiteness at all. I am not a smoker, but I do like my one to two cups of coffee a day, so I certainly do not have pearly whites!! I think this product was overrated when advertised. I did test two full sized tubes, so in my experience, I would have to say a no to this. I paid $8.99 a tube. The taste is lovely, almost like that at the school dental nurses office. So for taste, it was lovely. The tube itself has been designed to easily be able to scrape the absolute last out. Also the packaging is very fancy and enticing.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.3/5
22nd May, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Colgate Optic White Toothpaste

I've used two tubes now.

My teeth are def alot whiter.

They feel very clean and polish after brushing with optic white.

I think this is the toothpaste I'll stick to from now on.

It does do what it says.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
22nd May, 2014
1 members found this review useful
OK for the price

I have been using this toothpaste for several months now – I think I have noticed my teeth being slightly whiter but not dramatically. I have however tried the new pen and have noticed a difference with that. I will keep using it because I’d rather use a tooth paste that slightly whitens as opposed to not at all. It does the job and just takes like your typical minty toothpaste!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
shirlb
2nd June, 2014

Think I should try this. I agree with you, rather some whitening than none at all.

Overall rating:
2.3/5
30th June, 2014
1 members found this review useful
If you're looking for fresh breath then try this..

There has been so much hype built up around this toothpaste with television commercials going insane and every media channel throwing this around I was not convinced to go out and buy this because my days of falling for media hype is long over!

It was just my luck I received 2 full sized tube of this toothpaste and quite happy that I could give this a go for free and not feel like I've been shot in the foot by the media once again.

I definitely love the packaging of this toothpaste and looking at the supermarket shelves this toothpaste definitely jumps infront of you first with it glossy metallic box and bright red. If anything is a winner, its the box. The size of 110g is pretty decent and one tube has me and hubby going for close to a month now which to me is always a sign of good value for money.

I like that you dont need a huge amount this paste for it to foam up and give your mouth a decent cleanse. I use a thin line down my toothbrush and its more than enough for me to get a good brush. When you place this toothpaste in your mouth you have to be prepared for a mint explosion! Yes, the first time I used it my eyes started watering because the mint flavour is really intense and lingers for what seems to be forever on tongue. After using it for some time, the taste and intensity no longer bothers me and I really enjoy the explosion of freshness left behind in my mouth after brushing!

Now for the important questions... Does it work? 3 shade lighter teeth in 4 weeks? Well my teeth weren't stained before using this toothpaste but they weren't the shade of bone china either. I've taken photos of my teeth before using the toothpaste which is now almost 4 weeks as directed, and sadly I dont even see a 0.5 shade lighter never mind 3 shades.

I'm not quite sure if I will re-purchasing this toothpaste in future for $8 and just a mint explosion it seems abit pricing. Perhaps this toothpaste works wonders on teeth that are severely stained but if you have teeth that not stained but not quite dazzling white either I'm not sure that this toothpaste is going to work for you.

Tips: Your eyes may water the first time you use this toothpaste so just use a small amount to begin with.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
1.0/5
27th August, 2014
1 members found this review useful
Never using this ever again

I used this toothpaste until the tube was empty, I was intrigued by the ads on TV for this toothpaste so I thought i'd give it a go considering it was only $8.

First of all I noticed that my teeth felt mega clean compared to what they normally do with other tooth pastes, this is what I liked about the product it made me feel super squeaky clean, but this unfortunately didn't help this product with winning me over.

I found that my skin around my chin and mouth area was getting a lot of pimples - I am someone who only gets pimples if it's that time of the month or if I've tried something new and my skin doesn't like it. At this point I hadn't tried anything new as in makeup/skincare minus the toothpaste.. So when I finished the toothpaste I noticed my skin cleared up again - there must be something in it for this to be happening as I never break out for no reason. This is mainly why I don't like the product.. Has anyone else experienced this?

As for the claims that it brightens/whitens your teeth - maybe a wee bit but not as much as they seem to claim in the ads and packaging.

The packaging is really nice for a tooth past I found it cool how it stands up by itself - I will never use this again unfortunately

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.0/5
13th December, 2020
1 members found this review useful
Made my lips very dry

At first I was just using this on average once a week, but I wasn't seeing any difference so I switched to using it every day. After a couple of weeks my teeth looked the exact same but my lips were dry and chapped. I do get dry lips sometimes but normally a lip balm solves the problem. In this case I tried multiple different lip balms and nothing was healing my lips. It wasn't until I stopped using this that they got better. I can't say whether my teeth would have looked whiter it I'd have been able to keep going, but I am doubtful.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
17th June, 2013
0 members found this review useful
Optic white, alright.

I've been using this toothpaste for 1.5 months now. I brought it basically straight after i saw the first advertisement on tv for it. I'm pretty much a sucker when it comes to teeth whitening products. I was very pleased with the results within the first 2 weeks but now, after that time haven't seen much change. I'll keep using it and hopefully i'll see whiter teeth again! Taste is a bit off when you first start it but you'll get used to it - i guess it's less minty than other toothpastes.

Tips: Use a little more tooth paste than you usually would and brush for a bit longer for better results.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
karenmarie280
3rd July, 2013

Thanks, I'm keen to try this & like that you have been using it for quite some time, so you have a good idea of exactly how well it works & if the end results will be realistic. Sounds like a good starter for whiter teeth & not too pricey.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
3rd July, 2013
0 members found this review useful
Colgate Optic white toothpaste

This product was great! It definately helped whiten my teeth, but four shades whiter in four weeks? Im not so sure, maybe with continued use. In the media there has been some talk about how some companies have been putting high levels of flouride in toothpastes (to whiten teeth), these high levels can actually kill bacteria in your mouth, even the good ones, so it is always best to be cautious when buying a whitening toothpaste. This brand, im happy to say has safe floride levels.

Tips: use your finger to massage the toothpaste on your teeth if you dont feel like brushing. the more you use, the brighter your smile will get

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.
xjayloux
8th July, 2013

Will do the finger trick for touch ups! Good idea!

Thousands of Trial Team Spots are Coming Up!

How to increase yours chances of getting on a Trial Team:

1. Make sure your Beauty Profile is up to date!
2. Place some recent reviews showing us the kind of informative reviews you write.

Find a Product to Review Here!