Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Bio Oil

Bio Oil
Overall rating from 481 reviews so far:
2.6/5
Would use it again?
2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would?
2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website www.bio-oil.com

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Bio Oil

Bio Oil

Reviews

Overall rating:
2.0/5
15th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Doesn’t live up to its hype... for me anyway

I bought bio oil for stretch marks mainly. After giving birth to my daughter, I had a few stretch marks on my stomach, but I found that the best ‘cure’ for stretch marks, in all honesty, is just time. Over time, they’ve faded naturally and are now no longer a major issue for me. But I know for a fact that bio oil had nothing to do with that as I gave up on it after giving it a good trial. Time was the only thing that helped me with stretch marks. So I’d give bio oil a mark of one kiss out of five for helping me with that particular skin issue.. Ditto with uneven skin tone and scars. To be fair, I don’t have many scars and my skin tone is pretty even overall, but still ... for any minor problem patches, I found bio oil did absolutely zilch for me in those areas.

One area I DO think this oil is useful in is with extremely dry or ‘dehydrated skin’, which is one of the other claims it makes on the packaging. It does moisturise well and soften the skin. It feels pretty greasy when you apply it and it does take a while to absorb, but it’s very hydrating. So it’s for that reason I’d personally give this oil two kisses out of five. Because it works well as a moisturiser. But I agree with one of the other reviewer’s comments below that it’s just a ‘glorified moisturiser’ because any other really good-quality, reputable moisturiser can also help with dry skin, you don’t necessarily need to rush out and buy this oil if you have dehydrated skin. In fact, a fair few other oils can also help hydrate the skin - not just bio oil.

Two kisses.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th October, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Absolutely Swear By it!

I love this product so much its results are incredible I used on visible acne scars and stretch marks and was already seeing results after one week. I recommend to all my friends with scarring for various reasons and swear by it.

Tips: Definitely apply just at night and wash face with water in the morning as being an oil it can make your face feel all oily and gross.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
27th September, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Bio oil

The best thing about bio oil is that it can be found nearly in all your local supermarkets and shopping malls.

At first when i tried bio oil, i really disliked the smell... Still slowly getting use to it. My skin had been very sensitive to mosquito or sandfly bites for the past few years.. eventually it bruises upon scratching, or even scars if i overdo it. I heard a lot about bio oil how its good for getting rid of scretch marks amd scars, so i decide to try it out on my bruise marks, which i only used once a night after shower, as i just couldn’t ignore the oily smell.

After a few months of using bio oil, my uneven skin tone have not improved.... so i guess either it’s not very effective for large scars from a wound, or maybe it just takes time to for it to do its thing. It didn’t say it’s effective immediately afterall.. so i didn’t expect much from it.

Although it didn’t work like magic for my uneven skin tone, I think it’s still ok to use on any dry skin patches as a body oil.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
22nd August, 2018
1 members found this review useful
Healing Oil

I had surgery that left me with a 10cm scar on my belly.A friend suggested this oil as she had used it on stretch marks that she had.I say had because it had vanished for her.I began to use this and to my surprise , after a month of regular 4 x daily use,I saw the remarkable improvement as my scare lightened and eventually disappeared.

Tips: Use on warm freshly washed skin. I usually put a warm face towel in my skin before applying.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
13th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Didn't work for me

I had high hopes for this product. I used this on my stretch marks not couldn't see a difference after using it all day every day. Its very oily and takes a while to absorb. I didn't like the smell either. It's just a glorified moisturizer.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
10th July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
I shudder just thinking about it!

Bio oil. Sounds quite natural - but its got so many ingredients, like seriously, there are over 25 ingredients It seems excessive when you can use something like olive or argan oil.

The base is mineral oil, which is essentially liquid paraffin. Gross!

I used this to tackle stretch marks when I was younger. I tried it again recently because you know, I was a judgey teen. My teenage self was right to hate it. It doesn't absorb, it just sort of sits on the skin. I had no results at all, other than my skin feeling greasy and oily.

If I could - I'd give it zero!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
7th July, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Over priced let down

WARNING - Stay away from Bio Oil if you have sensitive skin! I broke out in major hives after using it once. My skin burned on applying, I was told it would sting a little as that's the citrus factor? Which I'm still quite unsure if that is true. After a wee while the slight burning sensation wore off. I became itchy & uncomfortable. I washed my skin thoroughly but due to it being an oil, I really struggled to remove it all. It took almost a week for my reddened skin to return back to it's previous condition. For some people, I hear great stories, even some of my friends, but for me personally it was a total waste of money. I passed the bottle onto a friend & have been sworn against it ever since. It was kind of my own silly fault for purchasing a full sized product when I have sensitive skin, but everything I heard had been so good. Not for me. Won't buy again.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd June, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Bio Oil saved my baby body

As a 38 week pregnant woman, stretch marks were one of my fears with pregnancy. I started using Bio Oil as soon as i noticed my bump growing and I am happy to say I have ZERO stretch marks! Now this could be also based on genetics but I know Bio Oil has played a huge part.

Tips: Apply generously after a bath or shower, when your skin is at its softest. And enjoy!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th June, 2018
0 members found this review useful
scars

I use this to reduce or get rid of any minor scars and it really does work, this product also hydrates the skin and leaves it feeling very soft

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
8th April, 2018
0 members found this review useful
Over rated

Wouldn’t bother buying this again. It’s not cheap and didn’t make any difference to my stretch marks or other scars. It doesn’t seem to absorb very quickly so you’re left feeling greasy and oily for ages after application and it’s thin consistency means more always comes out of the bottle than you need. The smell is sickly sweet and overpowering. Very disappointed

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No