Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.6/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th June, 2018 at 4:32 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
scars

I use this to reduce or get rid of any minor scars and it really does work, this product also hydrates the skin and leaves it feeling very soft

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
8th April, 2018 at 8:02 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Over rated

Wouldn’t bother buying this again. It’s not cheap and didn’t make any difference to my stretch marks or other scars. It doesn’t seem to absorb very quickly so you’re left feeling greasy and oily for ages after application and it’s thin consistency means more always comes out of the bottle than you need. The smell is sickly sweet and overpowering. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
3rd April, 2018 at 8:54 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
It's ok

I used this both times I was pregnant. Great for moisturising and the itchiness but does not stop stretchmarks. It does smell nice and is easily absorbed so doesn't leave skin oily for long and is easily washed from hands. In saying that I am too afraid to not use it.. even though it didn't stop stretchmarks, I wonder if they would have been worse if I hadn't used this. Will be using third time around for sure.

Tips: Sometimes bottle over pours so be wary.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
30th January, 2018 at 9:32 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Doesn't work, but it moisturises

This product is very moisturising, and leaves my skin feeling nice and soft, but it didn't help my scars.

I have a scar on top of my belly button from when I was pregnant (I had my belly button pierced when I was younger and the top hole made my skin pull upwards). I used bio oil throughout my pregnancy and afterwards but it didn't seem to prevent the scar and nor has it seemed to help it.

I think there are other, more natural, oils out there that I will use in future pregnancies as I'm not sure bio oil is all it claims to be.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
27th January, 2018 at 11:44 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I still have stretch marks...

I used this on my stretch marks for a while but it did absolutely nothing. I would not recommend as it is quite expensive and actual doesn’t work. It smells good and feels good when you put it on but it takes ages to absorb and make your clothing stick to you. Unfortunately I can not recommend buying it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
20th January, 2018 at 11:30 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Ehhh

Personally the product didn't really help with my stretch marks, only made my skin very oily and wet. I have since found other products to help but am slightly disappointed this didn't. It worked well on scarring such as acne scars but that wasn't my sole reason for buying this product.

Tips: i used at night time so that my oily skin wasn't affected by anything else and it had time to sink into my skin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th December, 2017 at 9:58 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great for pregnancy!

I have used this product many times over the years but never appreciated it quite so much as I did during my pregnancy. My belly grew enormous very early on and was incredibly itchy from around 5 months. The Bio Oil helped dramatically with the skins elasticity and calmed the itch, although I found it a little too oily to use right before bed. I made it all the way to 9 months without a single stretch mark however my little one was 3 weeks overdue and stretch marks appeared in the last 10 days around the bottom of my belly. I have consequently been using for 6 months post birth and have seen a dramatic reduction of pink colouration along my c-section scar and the stretch marks. I find it a little too heavy to use on my face however on my belly it has been remarkable. If used on my chest on a daily basis I find small spots appear so only use occasionally on the rest of my body. It has a lovely clean and appealing scent.

Tips: Put a squirt or two in the bath before you get in or apply over body whilst wet when getting out the bath and pat dry. Let oil absorb before dressing to avoid oil marks on clothes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
13th November, 2017 at 11:58 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Okay product

This product did not work on my stretch marks, however it did help with my scars and helped moisturise my skin. I still use this daily, however I would not hesitate replacing this product with other oils.

Tips: I usually apply the oil at night, and found this worked for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
20th July, 2017 at 7:28 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Didn't do much...

Tried this a few years ago when the lady at the pharmacy recommended this for pigmentation.

It is very thick and doesn't absorb into my skin easily above all I don't think it did much at all to aid in my pigmentation fading. Time helped more.

Won't use it again as it didn't do what I had expected.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
20th July, 2017 at 11:43 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not convinced

I purchased this a while ago to use on my facial scars but it just doesn't work for me.

I would apply to my face every night, massaging into my skin with clean fingers but I just kept finding I would break out in the areas I was using it in. I would start using it, break out, stop using it then repeat this process over again. I was never able to use it long enough to see if it really was making a difference.

Perhaps on different parts of the body it works better but I have not had any luck with it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

Are You in the Market for a new Hair Dryer?

I am actually...how did you know?!

view results

Review of the Day
caz
Amazing regime
Love these two products!! Hair is hydrated which is something I’ve always struggled with in winter.… more »