Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Braun July
Braun July

Bio Oil

Bio Oil
Overall rating from 497 reviews so far:
2.6/5
Would use it again?
2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would?
2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website www.bio-oil.com

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

Bio Oil

Bio Oil

Reviews

Overall rating:
3.0/5
12th July, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Works well for stretch marks - not for scars

I found this helped with stretch marks with regular use but it made no difference to my scars. It’s not exactly cheap if you’re using it every day which is what is recommended. I’m also not a fan of the packaging - it just looks like a pharmacy product! What’s inside the packaging is obviously more important but I also like my beauty items to look pretty! Even though it’s an oil I had to used quite a bit of product at a time.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
31st May, 2020
0 members found this review useful
An ok product

Purchased to help with some of my facial scarring, I only saw a minimal improvement. These are some old scars so I'm not too sure if they were too old to really help and if the product might help better with newer scarring.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
28th May, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Helps

I hear this a lot, that Bio Oil is supposed to magically remove scars, but they never claim to be able to do that. It’s not possible. Look it up, scars may fade and become paler, but they’ll never completely go away. Stretch marks are types of scars, and they’re pretty difficult to avoid during pregnancy. Bio Oil claims to help the APPEARANCE of scars and stretch marks. Anyway, I’ve noticed that Bio Oil did help the stretch marks and scars on my legs fade and grow paler, as well as a nasty scar my cat gave me on my arm. I like the smell of the oil and that it doesn’t leave your skin feeling oily and gross. It absorbs quite quickly and dries well. It’s quite dear, but I manage to make my bottles last ages.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
4.0/5
25th May, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Bio Oil

I used this when pregnant with both of my children as a preventative from stretch marks. It worked for me or it may be genetics? I used this in the shower to get a good coverage but I did find that it would irritate my legs so I used it on areas where stretch marks may appear. I don't think it would get rid of stretch marks that are already there, mainly as a preventative. It isn't cheap to buy and there are likely to be other options out there now. I can't review on scars or uneven skin tone.

Tips: Use in the shower

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
29th April, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Bio Oil

This oil is available from the Warehouse for about $29, it's quite expensive stuff. There was a near identical product right next to it that retailed for $4 and I bought a bottle of that too!

It applies smooth and has a light fragrance. I adore the peach colour of this and appreciate that the oil is easily absorbed into the skin. It was nice and did provide some relief from my seasonal allergy itching as well as spared me from pregnancy stretch marks but I don't feel like the results justified the price because of the near identical product I purchased the same day provided the same results for a fraction of the price.

Tips: Best used straight after a bath or shower when your skin is still wet. Go to the Warehouse if you're looking for this, you might find the cheaper version like I did.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.3/5
16th February, 2020
0 members found this review useful
Oily

I haven't noticed much difference in my skin (i only use it on my face) aside from less dryness especially in my nose which become flaky in dry weather aha. I was hoping i would look like a baby after using this but thats quite unrealistic. it has a smell to it i haven't smelt before but its not too bad. Because it's an oil i do look oily when i wear it so i dont use it during the day which might be why i haven't noticed much of a difference. My friend who uses this product, however, says she noticed her skin was becoming more even in tone but she uses this more frequently than I have. I'd definitely recommend if you have a dry nose to try this.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
1.0/5
13th September, 2019
0 members found this review useful
If I could, I'd rate it zero!

Ingredients - why have 1 pure oil when you can have a squillion ingredients that will just clog your skin and break you out?!

My main issue with bio oil (other than the fact its petro-chem central), is that there are so many ingredients, and none particularly nice. I'd rather use a nice rosehip or organic oil blend.

Results - I used this to try and prevent stretchmarks with my first child - it did not work. And yet, after using a rosehip oil with my second I was left with LESS stretchmarks.

So in short. It doesnt work and its chock full of ick.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
15th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Bio Oil review

After seeing Bio Oil advertised as an excellent product I thought I would give it a try. It has a pleasant smell. It works nicely on dry skin by leaving it silky smooth. It did not reduce the appearance of scars and stretch marks. It's just a good body oil.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
3.0/5
15th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Bio oil

Its a very soothing oil its smells really nice and i love the peachy pienk colout. However after a couple of night of using it i start getting a rash. I have stoped and started using it agaim and every time the same thing happens. I have very sensetive skin tho.

Its a bit thin aswell i jave used better bio oils for scaring. I couldent tell that it did anything for my skin.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.
Overall rating:
2.7/5
23rd July, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Didn't get any results

I got it when I was pregnant to help prevent stretch marks.. I applied it on belly many times during the day especially during the end of pregnancy and didn't find any valid reason to use it again and again... Just normal oil..

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
This review is the subjective opinion of a Beauty Review member and not of Beauty Review Limited.

HAVE YOU SIGNED UP YET?!

We're eliminating Bad Beauty Buys...one review at a time!

It's so easy and fun to join in with NZ's biggest beauty guide!

(1) SIGN UP - (2) Earn Beauty Points for every beauty product you review - (3) Exchange your points for FREE beauty products!

Sign Up Today!