Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Beauty Vault - Aug
The Beauty Vault - Aug
Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.6/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
1.0/5
13th August, 2018 at 10:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Didn't work for me

I had high hopes for this product. I used this on my stretch marks not couldn't see a difference after using it all day every day. Its very oily and takes a while to absorb. I didn't like the smell either. It's just a glorified moisturizer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
10th July, 2018 at 7:40 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I shudder just thinking about it!

Bio oil. Sounds quite natural - but its got so many ingredients, like seriously, there are over 25 ingredients It seems excessive when you can use something like olive or argan oil.

The base is mineral oil, which is essentially liquid paraffin. Gross!

I used this to tackle stretch marks when I was younger. I tried it again recently because you know, I was a judgey teen. My teenage self was right to hate it. It doesn't absorb, it just sort of sits on the skin. I had no results at all, other than my skin feeling greasy and oily.

If I could - I'd give it zero!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
7th July, 2018 at 2:57 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Over priced let down

WARNING - Stay away from Bio Oil if you have sensitive skin! I broke out in major hives after using it once. My skin burned on applying, I was told it would sting a little as that's the citrus factor? Which I'm still quite unsure if that is true. After a wee while the slight burning sensation wore off. I became itchy & uncomfortable. I washed my skin thoroughly but due to it being an oil, I really struggled to remove it all. It took almost a week for my reddened skin to return back to it's previous condition. For some people, I hear great stories, even some of my friends, but for me personally it was a total waste of money. I passed the bottle onto a friend & have been sworn against it ever since. It was kind of my own silly fault for purchasing a full sized product when I have sensitive skin, but everything I heard had been so good. Not for me. Won't buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd June, 2018 at 4:40 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil saved my baby body

As a 38 week pregnant woman, stretch marks were one of my fears with pregnancy. I started using Bio Oil as soon as i noticed my bump growing and I am happy to say I have ZERO stretch marks! Now this could be also based on genetics but I know Bio Oil has played a huge part.

Tips: Apply generously after a bath or shower, when your skin is at its softest. And enjoy!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th June, 2018 at 4:32 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
scars

I use this to reduce or get rid of any minor scars and it really does work, this product also hydrates the skin and leaves it feeling very soft

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
8th April, 2018 at 8:02 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Over rated

Wouldn’t bother buying this again. It’s not cheap and didn’t make any difference to my stretch marks or other scars. It doesn’t seem to absorb very quickly so you’re left feeling greasy and oily for ages after application and it’s thin consistency means more always comes out of the bottle than you need. The smell is sickly sweet and overpowering. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
3rd April, 2018 at 8:54 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
It's ok

I used this both times I was pregnant. Great for moisturising and the itchiness but does not stop stretchmarks. It does smell nice and is easily absorbed so doesn't leave skin oily for long and is easily washed from hands. In saying that I am too afraid to not use it.. even though it didn't stop stretchmarks, I wonder if they would have been worse if I hadn't used this. Will be using third time around for sure.

Tips: Sometimes bottle over pours so be wary.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
30th January, 2018 at 9:32 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Doesn't work, but it moisturises

This product is very moisturising, and leaves my skin feeling nice and soft, but it didn't help my scars.

I have a scar on top of my belly button from when I was pregnant (I had my belly button pierced when I was younger and the top hole made my skin pull upwards). I used bio oil throughout my pregnancy and afterwards but it didn't seem to prevent the scar and nor has it seemed to help it.

I think there are other, more natural, oils out there that I will use in future pregnancies as I'm not sure bio oil is all it claims to be.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
27th January, 2018 at 11:44 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I still have stretch marks...

I used this on my stretch marks for a while but it did absolutely nothing. I would not recommend as it is quite expensive and actual doesn’t work. It smells good and feels good when you put it on but it takes ages to absorb and make your clothing stick to you. Unfortunately I can not recommend buying it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
20th January, 2018 at 11:30 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Ehhh

Personally the product didn't really help with my stretch marks, only made my skin very oily and wet. I have since found other products to help but am slightly disappointed this didn't. It worked well on scarring such as acne scars but that wasn't my sole reason for buying this product.

Tips: i used at night time so that my oily skin wasn't affected by anything else and it had time to sink into my skin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Does your foundation last all day?

Does your foundation last all day?

No, I have to touch up at least once during the day!

view results

Review of the Day
dani7331
Gentle Gel
I really like this gel cleanser. I have always been a fan of the Micellar water, so it was exciting to try something… more »